***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

tourniquet

Re: ***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie Thread***

Postby tourniquet » January 22nd, 2013, 4:57 pm

stupes, so nobody rate Jab Tak Hai Jaan yet? :lol: I keep hearing ads on the radio about it being 9 weeks and counting in movietowne Chaguanas :S
I can only presume the meadow running, field rolling, and 'fairer complexion starboy beating the darker colored bad guy'- ing, must be of epic proportions :o

Postby Trini Hookah » January 22nd, 2013, 5:17 pm

American reviewers can't decide if I see a movie or not, esp rottentomatoes.

Postby goalpost » January 22nd, 2013, 5:17 pm

Jack Reacher was a surprisingly engrossing film. Enjoyed the mystery and final shootout was well done. Some problems with the film included:

1. The fight scene in the bathtub was bizzare and was cartoonish. Didn't fit into the entire sombre tone of the film
2. The car chase could've been a little more exciting, I guess. If they weren't going for anything spectacular, then fine, but I thought it was weak
3. For a movie which crosses 2 hours, I felt they left some loose ends, including more background into The Zec and why the hell did Emerson switch sides? He said "I had to", but no real reason was given.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 23rd, 2013, 8:58 pm

tourniquet wrote:stupes, so nobody rate Jab Tak Hai Jaan yet? :lol: I keep hearing ads on the radio about it being 9 weeks and counting in movietowne Chaguanas :S
I can only presume the meadow running, field rolling, and 'fairer complexion starboy beating the darker colored bad guy'- ing, must be of epic proportions :o

imo its over rated,first indian movie I see and only 1 gyal had ah sari. :| it was decent enuf because SRK cud pull of almost any role.last real good love story from him was Veer Zaara.

vin123

Postby vin123 » January 26th, 2013, 10:14 am

The Impossible was good.
Everybody was sniffling around me during the movie.
Great Visuals with the Tsunami.

Even greater that it was based on a true story!

Postby sMASH » January 26th, 2013, 10:40 am

gangster squad was good,

it doubled with last stand, which surprisingly good... the first scene was epic in my opinion, way more epic than for the movie it self.
but as good as it was, i can't help feeling that it was a big ad for the american car industry,,, BUY AMERICAN!!!

Postby shogun » January 26th, 2013, 2:54 pm

I'll check out Gangster Squad.

Last stand was good though?...really?

Haven't seen it....but it looks tewz-ish.

Postby shogun » January 26th, 2013, 3:01 pm

vin123 wrote:The Impossible was good.

Just looked at the trailer.

Ewan = Great actor

Definitely gonna check it out.

One of my favorites of the last couple years, is "Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" ...saw it a few times now, just a great movie. Highly recommended.

Django was alright, better than i expected, actually.

And the GF dragged me to see "Silver Linings Playbook." Wasn't that bad for a chick-flick, i guess. De Niro puts in an awesome performance and there are more than a few, funny moments.

Jennifer Lawrence is not too hard on the eyes either.

Postby mero » January 26th, 2013, 4:23 pm

^^saw the 2 versions of Girl with A Dragon Tattoo; the 2009 Swedish as well as the American version.
The American version was actually pretty descent compared to.

sMASH, care to give a lil more detail on Gangster Squad? Without giving out spoilers

Postby shogun » January 26th, 2013, 7:33 pm

Cool. Still gonna have to check out that Swedish version though. lol

vin123

Postby vin123 » January 26th, 2013, 7:59 pm

shogun wrote:
vin123 wrote:The Impossible was good.

Just looked at the trailer.

Ewan = Great actor

Definitely gonna check it out.

One of my favorites of the last couple years, is "Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" ...saw it a few times now, just a great movie. Highly recommended.

Django was alright, better than i expected, actually.

And the GF dragged me to see "Silver Linings Playbook." Wasn't that bad for a chick-flick, i guess. De Niro puts in an awesome performance and there are more than a few, funny moments.

Jennifer Lawrence is not too hard on the eyes either.

Yes, it was good, check it out!! lol

Girl with the dragon Tattoo was even funnier in the Cinema. When I went a girl came with her grandmother and when the sex scenes was going on the old lady cover the girl face!!! LOL

GWDT was real intense lol

Dunno abt the Chick flick you talking about.

Can't wait for AfterEarth!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 26th, 2013, 8:51 pm

zero dark 30 was not that bad,more of a documentary to me though,gona check out Gangster squad this week,also bullet to head.

Postby sMASH » January 26th, 2013, 9:33 pm

gangster squad, u get what u see in trailer, for the most part. they got the right persons for the roles. i would say nearly as good as django.

just came back from argo and hansel and gretel. just as i expected, hansel and gretel was a movie that was not needed to be made.
argo, top notch. the story was not all that, but for what it is, ben afleck did a phenomenal job. the whole cinema was pulled into the plot. hansel and gretel was ridiculed in order to get our money's worth

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 26th, 2013, 9:36 pm

sMASH wrote:gangster squad, u get what u see in trailer, for the most part. they got the right persons for the roles. i would say nearly as good as django.

just came back from argo and hansel and gretel. just as i expected, hansel and gretel was a movie that was not needed to be made.
argo, top notch. the story was not all that, but for what it is, ben afleck did a phenomenal job. the whole cinema was pulled into the plot. hansel and gretel was ridiculed in order to get our money's worth

reminds me of neighbourhood watch

vin123

Postby vin123 » February 1st, 2013, 11:07 am

Has Anyone watched Cloud Atlas??

really good movie imo but don't know how much of oyu would enjoy it but jus giving a recommendation.
Its a scifi kinda drama thriller with a kina spiritual connotation to it.
Based on a book with the same name..theres about 6 different movie plots within it..
check it out and let me know...

looking for a good fantasy or scifi movie recommendation anyone, thanks.

Postby mero » February 1st, 2013, 2:12 pm

didn't get to see Cloud Atlas yet but i was really hyped to see it, hopefully when it comes out on bluray or sum i can get it. Movie looks confusing as hell though o i'll have to hold a serious med to watch it :lol:

Sorry, can't really help out there with your request; don't really get to see that many.

Check out Luper; I really liked it except from the third quarter. You can also check out The Elevator; heard it was really good

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 1st, 2013, 2:29 pm

Yeah, I saw Cloud Atlas. You really have to pay attention and recognise the similar characters in the different plots to get the point. It comes from the same directors as The Matrix, so the philosophy is also similar, but you won't be brain-fucked like The Matrix.

vin123

Postby vin123 » February 3rd, 2013, 11:27 am

mero wrote:didn't get to see Cloud Atlas yet but i was really hyped to see it, hopefully when it comes out on bluray or sum i can get it. Movie looks confusing as hell though o i'll have to hold a serious med to watch it :lol:

Sorry, can't really help out there with your request; don't really get to see that many.

Check out Luper; I really liked it except from the third quarter. You can also check out The Elevator; heard it was really good

Yes....I was hyped also but it not that confusing :D

Okay will check out both movies

silent_riot wrote:Yeah, I saw Cloud Atlas. You really have to pay attention and recognise the similar characters in the different plots to get the point. It comes from the same directors as The Matrix, so the philosophy is also similar, but you won't be brain-fucked like The Matrix.

I find that was the best part in the plots. Trying to recognize the similar characters and see how they differed from the previous plots...

I think it was a really underrated movie

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 3rd, 2013, 11:30 am

anybody watch bullet to the head yet?

Postby mero » February 5th, 2013, 11:39 pm

8/10

soo I finally took in The Zeitgist on Netflix. Always had an open mind so nothing really offended me. Feel like some of the stuff was bs though. Movie has a lot of WOW content and really makes you wonder. Didn't take everything as a fact though.

Really good movie to watch if you're really curious and into conspiracies and stuff.
Will watch all three eventually as they're all on Netflix

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 15th, 2013, 9:21 am

saw bullet to the head,wasn't all dat.saw die hard out,must see for me.

Postby dougla_boy » February 15th, 2013, 9:29 am

die hard is chest hair growing show........

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 15th, 2013, 6:09 pm

Die hard is the realest !

Saw Hanzel and gretel gets baked last week... fairly decent drama/horror movie *bessed viewed when drunk*

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 16th, 2013, 10:12 am

ah get set up in watching safe haven,gf wanted to,so I did,wasn't bad though.

Postby rollingstock » February 16th, 2013, 11:44 am

Took een Parker last night, wasn't bad, normal Jason S. movie.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 16th, 2013, 10:36 pm

real action,less story^?

Postby goalpost » February 17th, 2013, 9:12 am

Top 5 movies is saw in 2012, in order:
1. Argo
2. Zero Dark Thirty
3. Perks of Being A Wallflower
4. The Grey
5. Looper

All really good movies.

Postby nemisis » February 17th, 2013, 10:15 am

^^^ that list depressing

Postby Trini Hookah » February 17th, 2013, 10:30 am

You saw The Grey a lil late there bai :lol:

Postby shogun » February 17th, 2013, 5:07 pm

goalpost wrote:Top 5 movies is saw in 2012, in order:

3. Perks of Being A Wallflower

Had to look that one up. Might check it out.