Windows 10

Re: Windows 8.1

Postby M_2NR » November 2nd, 2013, 5:33 pm

Hear the greatest.

So i don't know if I posted about this but all of my metro apps crash. So i contacted them and first thing the rep mentioned was that if it was a file corruption issue, I had to pay $99 to upgrade my service plan to premium. Good news is, it wasn't. (As I tested previously)
Bad news is... my account for some reason or the other is corrupt and nothing they can do to fix it. So the rep created a new local account and was like here is your new account :| and proceeded to transfer all of my data across... :|
I'm there like :wtf:
Windows 8.x FTW
/cs;b

Postby wagonrunner » November 2nd, 2013, 9:54 pm

i don't know what to say. other than clearly my marketing needs improvement.
2014 plan doh.

Postby maj. tom » November 11th, 2013, 6:38 pm

just so today Windows 8.1 start to crash. and Blue Screen of Death!! And runtime error run32.dll. over and over about 5 times i had to reboot. very slow. 100% RAM and Disk usage.

I swear like I was using Windows ME again yes. All kinda f*ckery that I haven't seen since 2001. This 8.1 thing is a complete mess, 50% sytem slowdown and crashing.

Start to panic. how i get a virus! this eh no virus.
for no reason i uninstalled the intel graphics drivers and running on the generic windows drivers and it seems to have stabilized... for now.

Postby maj. tom » November 26th, 2013, 8:19 pm

had to rebuild the entire index because the search bar wasn't yielding any results in file explorer.

Postby S_2NR » November 26th, 2013, 8:23 pm

windows 7 crew checking in

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » November 26th, 2013, 10:16 pm

Running 8.1 on several office computers to select users and working good so far. Running win 8 on about 20 machines in the office and stable we no reports of ever crashing.

Office use so office 2013, Internet explorer and level solitaire lol

brickman

Postby brickman » November 27th, 2013, 12:32 am

Been very happy with 8.1 so far,use it on my laptop & netbook with no issues at all.They are already working on 8.2 to be released early next year.

Postby ismithx » November 27th, 2013, 5:13 am

S_2NR wrote:windows 7 crew checking in

windows 7 fi life dawg!

until i get a new laptop, may switch to mac in the future

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 4th, 2014, 11:21 am

not sure if this will be seen here, but,

http://www.engadget.com/2014/02/04/saty ... osoft-ceo/

Satya Nadella has been appointed new MS CEO

Postby Ted_v2 » February 4th, 2014, 8:31 pm

got windows 8 on a touch screen laptop on saturday.
got windows 8.1 today in a update.

its less laggy but i didnt really dig up too much.
still have windows 7 on my desktop. Will not upgrade ever.

Postby stev » February 4th, 2014, 10:20 pm

original_lollybob wrote:not sure if this will be seen here, but,

http://www.engadget.com/2014/02/04/saty ... osoft-ceo/

Satya Nadella has been appointed new MS CEO

Also, Bill gates steps down as chairman to focus on new Microsoft products:

http://www.eyeonwindows.com/2014/02/04/ ... -products/

Steven Ramadar

Postby Steven Ramadar » February 4th, 2014, 10:25 pm

Windows 8.1 or 8 does not lag, if u chose express settings during the initial setup your laptop/desktop will lag because of all the background procesees.

Postby stev » February 4th, 2014, 10:30 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:got windows 8 on a touch screen laptop on saturday.
got windows 8.1 today in a update.

its less laggy but i didnt really dig up too much.
still have windows 7 on my desktop. Will not upgrade ever.

its microsoft....u dont have a choice :lol:

eventually u would make the switch...

check out the things u can do in windows 8 that u cant do in windows 7. :wink:

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » February 4th, 2014, 10:54 pm

Any of you guys who upgraded from Windows 8 to 8.1 have problems opening the Windows Store app?

When I click it, I keep getting the busy sumbol and it stays on the green screen. Tried a few of the fixes that came up when I googled it, but no luck. Seems to be a known issue though.

Suggestions???

Postby maj. tom » February 4th, 2014, 10:56 pm

How many people and government computers still running XP and they swear that they will never upgrade? They have no idea how much OS security, connectivity and integration with the internet has advanced with every new OS.

Microsoft will officially stop supporting XP this year 2014, and that means there are billions of machines for hackers to exploit when they find the new backdoor in Internet Explorer or NET framework. I say spend the money and upgrade your system and OS every 3-5 years at least.

Oh and don't upgrade by layering a new OS onto an old one. That causes a real mess in a short time. You computer will slow down and conflict and crash and all the ghosts in the machine will come out with chaos.

Install a new OS with a clean install on a reformatted disk.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » February 5th, 2014, 7:05 am

Didn't Microsoft try to play that card about stopping supporting Windows XP in the past? And they changed that because of the amount of corporate users who won't upgrade. I don't think they just stubborn, but they won't run to an OS that isn't solid as XP?

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 5th, 2014, 8:29 am

I just had a battle with my boss over this explained the possible ramifications if we don't at least upgrade our all our machines to 7Pro at least, rolled out 8.1 to a few users and received feedback but the hard headed man refuses to pay for the upgrades or any necessary training, what is one to do. Informed them in writing that if there are any consequences to this decision I am not accepting liability, I am already a one man show don't plan on being a spectacle.

Postby wagonrunner » February 5th, 2014, 9:10 am

maj. tom wrote:How many people and government computers still running XP and they swear that they will never upgrade? They have no idea how much OS security, connectivity and integration with the internet has advanced with every new OS.

Microsoft will officially stop supporting XP this year 2014, and that means there are billions of machines for hackers to exploit when they find the new backdoor in Internet Explorer or NET framework. I say spend the money and upgrade your system and OS every 3-5 years at least.

Oh and don't upgrade by layering a new OS onto an old one. That causes a real mess in a short time. You computer will slow down and conflict and crash and all the ghosts in the machine will come out with chaos.

Install a new OS with a clean install on a reformatted disk.

the last support for XP was service pack 3 released on April 21, 2008. With no new updates since then. What support exactly is being stopped for existing XP systems? And what new vulnerabilities will be created? :roll:

Postby maj. tom » February 5th, 2014, 10:54 am

no new updates for XP since 2008? Didn't Microsoft have weekly automatic updates and on going support for the system that they supported? And when a new vulnerability was discovered didn't they apply patches to fix the security?

You mean that they just released SP3 and left it alone? And new vulnerabilities aren't and weren't created by installing software made for Window 7/8 on XP, like Adobe Flash and IE 10, etc? You know, code that was written to interact a certain way with a kernel and framework but would not work as the programmers intended on older systems that it wasn't written for? And hence Microsoft had to scurry out updates and patches to just to fix that tiny flaw that new essential software made which left the entire system open?

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/end-support-help

Microsoft has provided support for Windows XP for the past 12 years. But now the time has come for us, along with our hardware and software partners, to invest our resources toward supporting more recent technologies so that we can continue to deliver great new experiences.

As a result, after April 8, 2014, technical assistance for Windows XP will no longer be available, including automatic updates that help protect your PC. Microsoft will also stop providing Microsoft Security Essentials for download on Windows XP on this date. (If you already have Microsoft Security Essentials installed, you will continue to receive anti-malware signature updates for a limited time, but this does not mean that your PC will be secure because Microsoft will no longer be providing security updates to protect your PC.)

If you continue to use Windows XP after support ends, your computer will still work but it might become more vulnerable to security risks and viruses. Also, as more software and hardware manufacturers continue to optimize for more recent versions of Windows, you can expect to encounter greater numbers of apps and devices that do not work with Windows XP.

Postby wagonrunner » February 5th, 2014, 11:02 am

great. so on boxes that work with their current software suites in their current environments which aren't web dependant (yes IE is left behind at 8, but there is chrome and firefox for that), these new threats are?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 5th, 2014, 11:29 am

maj. tom wrote:
If you continue to use Windows XP after support ends, your computer will still work but it might become more vulnerable to security risks and viruses. Also, as more software and hardware manufacturers continue to optimize for more recent versions of Windows, you can expect to encounter greater numbers of apps and devices that do not work with Windows XP.
I still have over 50 units running XP. I have no intention of changing them this year. I also replaced my last 98 system last week (yes, Jan 2014).... with an XP unit!

Heck, I had a 286 running just a couple years ago without issue.

No need for "Panic Mode". You only need to upgrade if it is fundamental for continuing operations.
Last edited by Computerman on February 5th, 2014, 11:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » February 5th, 2014, 11:47 am

Well I'm sure that Microsoft assumed that all these machines would be internet connected and dependant on internet security. But they just have to be corporately responsible to their customers with this warning anyway, right?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 5th, 2014, 11:54 am

maj. tom wrote:Well I'm sure that Microsoft assumed that all these machines would be internet connected and dependant on internet security. But they just have to be corporately responsible to their customers with this warning anyway, right?
As should you be with your clients. Would you recommend they upgrade if there really is no need to do so?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » February 5th, 2014, 12:04 pm

Computerman wrote: You only need to upgrade if it is fundamental for continuing operations.

Agreed

Using XP on my work machine, runs fine still. Pushing for a upgrade but I don't need it really.

Still exploring 8.1 on my rig and enjoying it so far. It's definitely a bit smoother than 7 and I really like the start menu app/program display as well as the additional shortcuts. I still have my win 7 install but seeing you could make 8.1 run exactly like 7 I think that should be considered if you're studying to upgrade. Looking fwd to see what 9 has to offer.

Postby stev » March 4th, 2014, 6:26 pm

Windows 8.1 Update 1 goes RTM: Mouse and keyboard users can’t wait for April 8

Microsoft has signed off on the final version (the RTM) of Windows 8.1 Update 1. According to one of our internal sources, the new version of Windows 8 is on schedule to be released on April 8, just after Microsoft’s Build conference. You will probably be glad to hear that most of the changes in Windows 8.1 Update 1 are focused on making the OS usable for mouse-and-keyboard users. Basically, this is Microsoft’s rather desperate extension of an olive branch to those who still haven’t upgraded from XP or Windows 7 — the originally touch-centric approach of Windows 8 obviously wasn’t the critical success that Microsoft needed, and so now the company is scrambling to pick up those beleaguered desktop PC users before it’s too late.

Leaked screenshots from the RTM build of Windows 8.1 Update 1 yet again come from Wzor (Russian). According to Wzor, the full build string is 9600.17031.WINBLUE_GDR.140221-1952, and it was compiled on February 21. The screenshots don’t appear to confirm any new details, other than details of the Update’s installer (it’s around 800MB, and it’s being called a “Feature Pack” rather than a Service Pack). It’s still unknown what name the Update will actually be released under — it might be Update 1, or it might be Spring Update.

Feature-wise, Windows 8.1 Update 1 is focused mostly on improving usability for mouse-and-keyboard users. Metro apps now exist on the Desktop taskbar, Metro apps now have the standard Windows-style title bar at the top (allowing you to easily close/minimize), and non-touch devices will now have the Power (shutdown, restart, suspend) menu available from the new Start Screen (pictured top). For both touch and non-touch devices, there will also be a new Search button available on the Start Screen (it’s the same as the Search button on the Charms bar, as far as we know). For better or worse, you can now also right click a Start Screen title to interact with it.

While it isn’t 100% confirmed, we believe that Windows 8.1 Update 1 will boot straight to the desktop for non-touch users. Some early builds also altered the file associations for non-touch users, so that your laptop/desktop PC doesn’t randomly flip into Metro mode when you open a photo or audio file.

Finally, Windows 8.1 Update 1 will also see a reduction in the system requirements. Update 1 will require just 1GB of RAM and 16GB of storage — yes, very similar requirements to Windows Phone 8 — with the hope of encouraging the production of cheaper Windows tablets. Combine this with the recent news that Microsoft is also looking at giving away Windows 8.1 for free, and it would seem that the company is all-in on growing its anemic market share, by hook or by crook.

http://www.extremetech.com/computing/17 ... or-april-8

also, I got the Office 2013 Service Pack 1 update today.....not sure how long it was out.

Postby st7 » March 4th, 2014, 7:12 pm

i would upgrade, but i love not having the start button on the task bar and i am a non-touch user! i usually keep my task bar to the right side of my screen and i treat the bottom left Start screen as a second desktop to quickly access apps instead of navigating to them.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » March 4th, 2014, 7:34 pm

Recently upgraded to win 7 on my work laptop from win xp... XP served me well till last month...that being said win 7 is faster than win xp on the same hardware.. Dell D620 with 3gigs ram.

BrandonSingh

Postby BrandonSingh » March 4th, 2014, 7:39 pm

Anyone else getting random Explorer.exe crashes? lol

Postby Ted_v2 » March 4th, 2014, 8:18 pm

Getting a few glitches online.

I think it was a add on. I removed it and it seems to be working fine

Postby stev » March 4th, 2014, 8:45 pm

BrandonSingh wrote:Anyone else getting random Explorer.exe crashes? lol

at any random moment....check your processes and see if there are more than one instances of explorer.exe running.