Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby Damien » April 15th, 2012, 11:08 am

bhp they take your cellphone and tag it and you get it when you leaving

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » April 15th, 2012, 1:23 pm

Need to get a 2 days ...2 nights 2 days off kinda wuk

Triad and CBH....link up a bredda nah.....

Rooks.....ent BHP ban we from fishing?

Postby pete » April 15th, 2012, 4:41 pm

Mudboy wrote:
Damien wrote:all briefings that fly from piarco and camden says to switch off phones and no allowance for flight mode and you not suppose use cell phones in bhp,bp,bg,repsol platforms i doh know about the rest

Whut?..... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: take a 8

Like ya duz zone out in the briefing room or what? :lol:

AFAIK.. BP/Repsol/bhp(Production) - Personal electronic devices to be switched off around the aircraft and while in flight. Supposed to be declared upon arrival to the medic but usually they tell you to keep them in your room.

BG - No cellular phones at all. Personal elec devices off on the aircraft.

Same thing with flying in a plane, they say switch off phones but I've been on a plane with someone's phone ringing, they answer and nothing happens. Personally I prefer to obey the rules, no sense taking a crappy phone picture with a cell phone at the risk of getting reported.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 15th, 2012, 5:48 pm

Little did I know that when people wanted to get rid of you for a while and told you to find the rig photographer that it was actually rookie they were talking about.

And I believe most places say to turn off your phone for the helicopter ride and while on the rig. Trinidad and otherwise.

rookie

offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby rookie » April 16th, 2012, 2:49 am

@ Nemesis I think when they asking for guys to feed the dog on the platform you are first in line and probably still looking for sparky ! all i said am Tech that love his Nikon so is either u appreciate or move on, the rules of all them companies you calling doesn't apply to my operation!

Postby janfar » April 16th, 2012, 4:33 am

pete wrote:
Mudboy wrote:
Damien wrote:all briefings that fly from piarco and camden says to switch off phones and no allowance for flight mode and you not suppose use cell phones in bhp,bp,bg,repsol platforms i doh know about the rest

Whut?..... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: take a 8

Like ya duz zone out in the briefing room or what? :lol:

AFAIK.. BP/Repsol/bhp(Production) - Personal electronic devices to be switched off around the aircraft and while in flight. Supposed to be declared upon arrival to the medic but usually they tell you to keep them in your room.

BG - No cellular phones at all. Personal elec devices off on the aircraft.

Same thing with flying in a plane, they say switch off phones but I've been on a plane with someone's phone ringing, they answer and nothing happens. Personally I prefer to obey the rules, no sense taking a crappy phone picture with a cell phone at the risk of getting reported.

Some say it was just a conspiracy to make people use the phones on the plane... but now Lufthansa and Emirates flights allow the use of mobiles. They also have their personal on flight network which you can use for roaming while on board. Both also provide WIFI for a small fee... that kinda supports my belief in the conspiracy.

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » April 16th, 2012, 11:06 am

What Service Companies will you recommend i apply too...???

Postby pete » April 16th, 2012, 1:14 pm

Depends what field you are qualified for.

NMWG, Insertech, RBG, Score, Allied Caterers, Kenson.

Postby tr1ad » April 16th, 2012, 1:17 pm

i'll have you know that i was on a rig that had a dog ....couple of years ago..

Postby janfar » April 16th, 2012, 1:26 pm

Baker Hughes has an opening for an electronics technician... do a search on their careers website...

Postby AllTrac » April 16th, 2012, 1:28 pm

so hear nah, this is de official Rich boy/wear coverall to bar/wedding/church/sleep/palour thread?

Postby crazybalhead » April 16th, 2012, 1:29 pm

Rich boys does wear jeans and polo these days brah.

Postby wagonrunner » April 16th, 2012, 1:29 pm

tr1ad wrote:i'll have you know that i was on a rig that had a dog ....couple of years ago..

what sauce did you grill it with?
The folks actually cater to you and yuh vex.

Postby tr1ad » April 16th, 2012, 1:31 pm

it was actually a doberman, but not much meat on that so just continued feeding it

William18

Postby William18 » April 16th, 2012, 1:41 pm

Interesting thread? Doberman? Wow....

Postby AllTrac » April 16th, 2012, 1:50 pm

i just asking cause ah looking for one ah dem to marrid meh dawta and take over meh hdc loan.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 16th, 2012, 10:18 pm

rookie wrote:@ Nemesis I think when they asking for guys to feed the dog on the platform you are first in line and probably still looking for sparky ! all i said am Tech that love his Nikon so is either u appreciate or move on, the rules of all them companies you calling doesn't apply to my operation!

Amm, calm down there. Iz just kix. And no, I never went looking for any dog, striped paint or anything of the sort. Nor have i ever been asked to really.
Besides, I did say good pics. And just like many others here I have heard them say the same thing in the briefings. Still, I know there are some people on the rig allowed to use the camera. I myself have been given permission on occasion to do so. Just relax yuhself nah.

Val

Postby Val » April 16th, 2012, 10:44 pm

Repsol allows the phone to go offshore with you.

Postby nervewrecker » April 17th, 2012, 3:57 pm

pete wrote:Depends what field you are qualified for.

NMWG, Insertech, RBG, Score, Allied Caterers, Kenson.

I not sure, can I pm my resume and you advice me? I serious eh.

Val

Postby Val » April 17th, 2012, 6:48 pm

Do you even have control of work training? UKOOA medical up to date, TBOSIET certification?

Postby pete » April 17th, 2012, 7:19 pm

Depending on the company they would send you to get your TBOSIET and UKOOA, and AFAIK only BG and BHP require UKOOA anyway.

Thing is that outside of working for the companies themselves, very few contractors would be outside for long periods of time on production platforms. Only scaffolders, painters, caterers and maybe kenson operators. Most other contractors just go out to complete one task and then come back on land or hop from one platform to the next.

rookie

Postby rookie » April 17th, 2012, 10:31 pm

Cool @ nemesis lets continue the thread

rookie

Postby rookie » April 21st, 2012, 8:56 am

Correct @ Damien down here still relaxed no relaxing there ! Is real work for real pay!

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » April 30th, 2012, 10:56 am

hey tuners ...might be a stupid question , is having "Pre sea" a must to work on an oilrig ..?????????????....................................

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » April 30th, 2012, 1:22 pm

No..to pre sea

homeboy

Postby homeboy » April 30th, 2012, 8:06 pm

13''strong wrote:hey tuners ...might be a stupid question , is having "Pre sea" a must to work on an oilrig ..?????????????....................................

You need this to work on the boat or barges.....

13''strong

Postby 13''strong » May 2nd, 2012, 9:17 am

its ironic... the saying is really through "is not who u know is who kno u"....3 weeks ago i was on the south side , my padner and i went to handle some bizz ..while down there we took a turn in at Damus Oil Limited "we always have resume's on us" :D anyway in the process of giving the security guard at the gate the envelope their was another person also there to apply ....so the security officer told us that if we don't have our BOSIET Card or any rig related qualifications they will not acknowledge us an it will just be a waste of time ....so he opened the envelopes and looked at my padner and i 's resumes and he said OK ..he opened the other person's envelope and realise he had nothing the company requested so the guard told him it won't make sense leaving it there , the person insisted it stays an told the guard someone told him to drop it in " can't recall the name he said"
tho but the guard realised the name he mentioned an took it anyway ........TUNERS currently i'm working at the piarco old terminal where i get to see these bristow choppers pickup and drop off rig workers everyday ... to my surprise i saw the exact same person i saw that day ,whom had no requirements they wanted ..in a Damus coverall ...i just watched him and laugh...cuz i just could'nt believe my eyes honestly .... smfh ...

Postby crazybalhead » May 2nd, 2012, 9:35 am

Ah have ah ad in the Guardian guises. Checkeetout. Send resumes at will.

Postby janfar » May 2nd, 2012, 9:54 am

13''strong wrote:its ironic... the saying is really through "is not who u know is who kno u"....3 weeks ago i was on the south side , my padner and i went to handle some bizz ..while down there we took a turn in at Damus Oil Limited "we always have resume's on us" :D anyway in the process of giving the security guard at the gate the envelope their was another person also there to apply ....so the security officer told us that if we don't have our BOSIET Card or any rig related qualifications they will not acknowledge us an it will just be a waste of time ....so he opened the envelopes and looked at my padner and i 's resumes and he said OK ..he opened the other person's envelope and realise he had nothing the company requested so the guard told him it won't make sense leaving it there , the person insisted it stays an told the guard someone told him to drop it in " can't recall the name he said"
tho but the guard realised the name he mentioned an took it anyway ........TUNERS currently i'm working at the piarco old terminal where i get to see these bristow choppers pickup and drop off rig workers everyday ... to my surprise i saw the exact same person i saw that day ,whom had no requirements they wanted ..in a Damus coverall ...i just watched him and laugh...cuz i just could'nt believe my eyes honestly .... smfh ...

LOL @ security guard moonlighting as HR... how professional.

Postby crazybalhead » May 2nd, 2012, 9:58 am

That bess. I going and talk to the security downstairs.