*** The OFFICIAL Government Achievements Thread*** (UNC/PP EDITION 2010-2015)

Re: *** The OFFICIAL Government Achievements Thread***

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 3rd, 2014, 7:55 pm

Seems like we need to notify Oxford and tell them relocation now means decentralization

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 3rd, 2014, 8:13 pm

Anybody in this thread ever had to drive/travel through chaguanas?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 3rd, 2014, 8:18 pm

de_dougla_smurf wrote:Anybody in this thread ever had to drive/travel through chaguanas?

Lol, very good question, in my case it was absolute hell being in standstill traffic, would leave home early and still end up late.

Postby rfari » April 3rd, 2014, 8:35 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
de_dougla_smurf wrote:Anybody in this thread ever had to drive/travel through chaguanas?

Lol, very good question, in my case it was absolute hell being in standstill traffic, would leave home early and still end up late.

Hush ollur cornt. Lee dem jesso. Ent dais how dey want it?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 3rd, 2014, 8:52 pm

rfari wrote:

Hush ollur cornt. Lee dem jesso. Ent dais how dey want it?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 3rd, 2014, 9:25 pm

Sharma porking Singh should be counted as an achievement.

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 3rd, 2014, 10:40 pm

de_dougla_smurf wrote:Govt fires minister who cant control his unruly public outbursts.

Again.

Postby desifemlove » April 4th, 2014, 6:35 am

yes.

Only mash up part is Montrose. ALWAYS traffic dey. All other parts like Charlieville, downtown, is cool to drive through.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 4th, 2014, 7:03 am

desifemlove wrote:

yes.

Only mash up part is Montrose. ALWAYS traffic dey. All other parts like Charlieville, downtown, is cool to drive through.

whut?? You sure you know where you speaking of. Charlieville doesn't usually have much traffic, Montrose is a hit or miss sometimes according to the time. Longdenville apart from the bad roads toward the brick factory is somewhat clearer and "downtown" is a mess especially as you come off the flyovers and also the main road with the market

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 4th, 2014, 7:32 pm

Every road leading in and out of Chaguanas always has traffic every weekday from 7am to 9pm thanks to senseless one-ways, senseless traffic lights every 250m, senseless traffic wardens trying to get traffic flowing on main road while minor roads suffer and overall senseless planning.

Charlieville always has traffic now thanks to the genius that put traffic lights at Pierre Rd. intersection and there is also traffic leading to Munroe Rd flyover. Even more senseless are the restrictions placed at all roads leading to Charlieville Feeder Road leading to the highway at rush hour on mornings.

Yay for making it more congested and annoying by relocating gov't offices right in the middle of it all.

*Achievement unlocked*

Frustrate Chaguanas West residents for liking Jack Warner.

Postby rfari » April 4th, 2014, 8:09 pm

Just now dey go move piarco airport behind caroni savannah

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 4th, 2014, 11:50 pm

15 ministers fired from cabinet since 2010.

A no non-sense administration that is clearly holding its ministers to high levels of integrity, ethical and moral standards.

*slow clap*

Postby UML » April 8th, 2014, 8:14 pm

Solar interest in TT
By Sasha Harrinanan Thursday, April 3 2014

TWO of the world’s leading solar panel manufacturers, based in China, are “keenly interested” in investing in a solar technology park in Trinidad, says InvesTT President, Racquel Moses.

“We had one-one-one meetings with two of the top companies during our visit to China in late February. They were keenly interested in the investment because it would mean reduced shipping costs to customers in South America, and access to the Caricom market where energy costs are high.”

During a recent interview with Business Day, Moses said global players would also find Trinidad an attractive option for expansion because of the relatively cheap cost of energy, since “the manufacturing process is energy-intensive while shipping is very expensive.”

Currently InvesTT is providing the un-named Chinese companies with information and sending them a lot of results from its year-long feasibility study. There has also been a mutual “answering of questions back and forth,” Moses revealed.

What’s next? More face-to-face meetings in China, sometime between now and June, followed by a site-visit to Trinidad.

“We’re securing the estimated 250 hectares needed, we’ve started the application for a certificate of environmental clearance (CEC) and so on, so that by the time the investor is ready to say ‘yes’ and sign on the dotted line, we would have all of our ‘ducks in a row’,” Moses stated.

The solar technology park, expected to attract up to US $1.8 million in investments, would see the construction of four factories - a polysilicon plant, a metallurgical silicon plant, a float glass plant and a photovoltaic plant, “so that the production of one feeds into the production of the other.”

While the meetings in China yielded the expected results — keen interest in setting up shop locally, InvesTT also intends to make a sales pitch to other leading solar panel manufacturers. “Four of the targeted companies are in Asia, one is in South America and another in North America. We believe this would absolutely make sense for them, based on their profit and loss structure. So we’re taking it on the road, looking for four different investors.” Moses said it is possible that one Chinese ‘mega’ investor would choose to invest in all four plants “as a way to diversify their production but we are looking for four investors, the best in each type of manufacturing.”

She told Business Day that a typical investment takes about two years; “that’s a global standard in terms of closing an investment from an investment promotion agency,” but believes that the feasability study and other necessary ground work already completed by InvesTT would cut that time line in half.

“We did a year-long feasability study that has provided the level of detail for an investor, that we would have completed a lot of the ground work they would themselves want to do. So I am hopeful that we can close this early to mid 2015,” Moses stated.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/businessday/0,192839.html

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 9th, 2014, 6:28 am

still waiting for what was achieved by this gubbament in Toco/Sangre Grande

Postby desifemlove » April 9th, 2014, 6:57 am

desifemlove wrote:

yes.

whut?? You sure you know where you speaking of. Charlieville doesn't usually have much traffic, Montrose is a hit or miss sometimes according to the time. Longdenville apart from the bad roads toward the brick factory is somewhat clearer and "downtown" is a mess especially as you come off the flyovers and also the main road with the market

When I there I always see Montrose main traffic full. And downtown/Charlieville ent that busy. It ent a matter of rush hour either.

Postby desifemlove » April 9th, 2014, 6:59 am

had to lulz at Kamla.

Has to be a world record for the longest election campaign lol.. 13 months? UNofficially saying she building tech centre and ting in Diego..

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 9th, 2014, 7:04 am

JAMB up central, free up the north, that's how it should be.
Daily commute in and around POS easier, whenever I need to inconvenience myself and go to a government office I don't mind going to Central in standstill twaffic.

Postby UML » April 9th, 2014, 2:44 pm

e
New anti-terrorism unit formed—Griffith
Published:
Wednesday, April 9, 2014
Gail Alexander

A new National Security Special Operations Group (NSSOG) will be geared to deal with special major issues that may occur, including terrorism activities, hostage negotiation or gang warfare, National Security Minister Gary Griffith said yesterday. He detailed the work of the “Special Ops” team, which is not yet operational, as he replied to Opposition questions from PNM senator Faris Al-Rawi in yesterday’s Senate sitting. After lengthy explanations by Griffith on the team, Al-Rawi said: “Congratulations on a very excellent initiative.”

Griffith said the NSSOG was a tactical unit geared for special initiatives. The team will comprise several arms of the law enforcement agencies: Personnel from the Coast Guard, police, prisons, immigration, customs and the army. It was approved by the National Security Council and Cabinet,he said. Griffith added: “It’s a highly-trained elite unit. This (type of) unit is seen worldwide, when you have specially trained and prepared personnel for the frontlines, something you did not have in 1990.”

He said the unit would address deficiencies that occurred in 1990 when the police and army focused on different areas. The minister was referring the attempted coup by the Jamaat al Muslimeen in July 1990. Griffith added: “We are not speaking of the Special Forces or Special Branch but this is a highly-trained group that can make clinical penetration if and when required and be prepared for any type of eventuality that might occur, including hostage negotiations, terrorism activities or gang warfare.

“This isn’t a clandestine or covert unit. It isn’t a Flying Squad. It’s very open and transparent. “These men are highly trained... this is what we need to do to deal with major criminal activity in the 21st century,” Some professional training from overseas organisations is expected from the UK’s SAS (Special Air Services) or US agencies, he added. He said the team would report to the Commissioner of Police and Chief of Defence Staff but would not have constitutional cover.

Details of the equipment, uniforms, role of personnel and chain of command were now being worked out by the top supervisors, it was stated.

Another elite unit

Griffith said another unit, the Criminal Gang and Intelligence Unit (CGIU), had a mandate which included seeking to weed out rogue elements in the Police Service who may tip-off gangs or be manipulated by them. He said in 2013, out of 400 murders, 250 were gang-related and over 150 murders occurred in the last five years in Mango Rose, Duncan, Piccadilly, Nelson and St Paul’s Streets in Port-of-Spain.

Griffith said the CGIU’s work included suppressing and dismantling gangs, learning the effect of gang membership and reducing serious crimes and facilitating anti-gang education in schools. He said the Duncan Street facility had been fully operative since February.
Reiterating gangs would not get government contracts, he added: “They’re not Robin Hoods trying to help communities, they are only using communities.”
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-04- ... 94griffith

"starboy" better watch he ass dey comin!!

de_dougla_smurf

Postby de_dougla_smurf » April 9th, 2014, 5:08 pm

UML wrote:
Solar interest in TT

TWO of the world’s leading solar panel manufacturers, based in China, are “keenly interested” in investing in a solar technology park in Trinidad, says InvesTT President, Racquel Moses.

“We had one-one-one meetings with two of the top companies during our visit to China in late February. They were keenly interested in the investment because it would mean reduced shipping costs to customers in South America, and access to the Caricom market where energy costs are high.”

During a recent interview with Business Day, Moses said global players would also find Trinidad an attractive option for expansion because of the relatively cheap cost of energy, since “the manufacturing process is energy-intensive while shipping is very expensive.”

Currently InvesTT is providing the un-named Chinese companies with information and sending them a lot of results from its year-long feasibility study. There has also been a mutual “answering of questions back and forth,” Moses revealed.

What’s next? More face-to-face meetings in China, sometime between now and June, followed by a site-visit to Trinidad.

“We’re securing the estimated 250 hectares needed, we’ve started the application for a certificate of environmental clearance (CEC) and so on, so that by the time the investor is ready to say ‘yes’ and sign on the dotted line, we would have all of our ‘ducks in a row’,” Moses stated.

The solar technology park, expected to attract up to US $1.8 million in investments, would see the construction of four factories - a polysilicon plant, a metallurgical silicon plant, a float glass plant and a photovoltaic plant, “so that the production of one feeds into the production of the other.”

While the meetings in China yielded the expected results — keen interest in setting up shop locally, InvesTT also intends to make a sales pitch to other leading solar panel manufacturers. “Four of the targeted companies are in Asia, one is in South America and another in North America. We believe this would absolutely make sense for them, based on their profit and loss structure. So we’re taking it on the road, looking for four different investors.” Moses said it is possible that one Chinese ‘mega’ investor would choose to invest in all four plants “as a way to diversify their production but we are looking for four investors, the best in each type of manufacturing.”

She told Business Day that a typical investment takes about two years; “that’s a global standard in terms of closing an investment from an investment promotion agency,” but believes that the feasability study and other necessary ground work already completed by InvesTT would cut that time line in half.

“We did a year-long feasability study that has provided the level of detail for an investor, that we would have completed a lot of the ground work they would themselves want to do. So I am hopeful that we can close this early to mid 2015,” Moses stated.

This is a great business opportunity as our land is cheap and we have no environmental standards.

*roll opening credits for smelter plant 2 - solar power*

Postby desifemlove » April 9th, 2014, 7:25 pm

er...ent sorting Ministers, disciplining them, promoting, dismissing, etc. part of the PM's JOB?

Should a school teacher get special commendation for telling a disruptive student to get out de class? ent that part of s/he base job?

UNC people next saying "yeah boy, doctors iz good and deserve extra special kudos for treating, managing and curing illness.."

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 9th, 2014, 8:04 pm

I wonder if is the same quality "made in China" materials like in APAs that will be used for that Solar Park

Postby eliteauto » April 9th, 2014, 8:51 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:I wonder if is the same quality "made in China" materials like in APAs that will be used for that Solar Park

also would the maintenance schedule be the same

Postby rfari » April 9th, 2014, 8:57 pm

PP in such a hurry to put ting in place dem eh studying that. Do it, cut ribbon, photo ops/selfies, then forget about it.

Postby eliteauto » April 9th, 2014, 9:01 pm

they taking they time with the HDC gated community in Endeavour though, plenty noonoose share for lots and nothing eh build yet May rite dey yuhnno

Postby rfari » April 9th, 2014, 9:10 pm

Jess now more go jump out like dem gyal that switch on glenn and sharma. Man and woman. Nice ting bout dis pp/unc party is that dey does rell fight dong each odda. Man see he neighbour get a big contract or a nice wuk and buy a benz he go toat and make it he business to sell guns on he neighbour if he cyar buy a benz too. Plenty badmind. Motto; if I cyar be happy then f*q everybody. Nobody go be happy`

Postby rfari » April 9th, 2014, 9:18 pm

UML wrote:
Solar interest in TT

Why the secrecy? It seems like there is more than an mou between the two parties so why can't the company be named? Knowing this govt is prolly some 2-bit firm they find on alibaba.com that sell dem dreams

Postby desifemlove » April 10th, 2014, 7:47 am

hehe...Kamla tink we gullible.

I guarantee dat she go build ting in all places. 13 months doh erase 4 years of maladministration. ;)

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » April 10th, 2014, 11:17 am

desifemlove wrote:hehe...Kamla tink we gullible.

I guarantee dat she go build ting in all places. 13 months doh erase 4 years of maladministration. ;)

You stay dey and feel so. :lol: :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » April 10th, 2014, 11:29 am

CSO eh no move to chag, They at the corner of Park and Pembroke St. GIS unit not up and running yet.

Anyone heard about Calder Hart lately btw?

Postby eliteauto » April 10th, 2014, 11:56 am

Calder Hart will not be relevant till after Christmas