:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 6th, 2012, 5:52 pm

Like there was a special on saw blades :)

You know how long i ent see flare nut wrenches...cool

Have you tried the sharpshooter stapler yet? How is it? Can my wifey use one with her girly hands? Been lookin to get a staple gun but have to consider her using it.

Postby X_Factor » April 6th, 2012, 7:02 pm

i have the TR150 (the yellow one)...and it doesnt take much force to fire, but anything bigger than a 12mm staple you will have to tap in the top as it doesnt go all the way in wood...

i really pick up the tr45 because of the price really....it was like 2 for 5US with the discount, and i gave my aunt who has a lesson business to use on her boards etc..
so it was say 2.50US for 1...insane i say....

i picked up the irwin and the diablo for 6$ each in home depot and the porter cable for 3$.....

any person who likes tools would have been in heaven!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 6th, 2012, 9:22 pm

man say is 1 of d happiest days of he life yes ... :lol: ... but u buy some nice tools there .... :)

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2012, 9:57 pm

boy, I found about 3-4 circular saw blades the other day, all unused

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 7th, 2012, 8:43 am

Any compressor experts in here? I wanna do some small painting. Now when I say small, I mean like speaker boxes, trim panels etc Whats the smallest volume tank I should consider and what psi/cfm rating and also, what type of gun? (gravity feed etc)?

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 7th, 2012, 11:22 am

I know a few people using 150psi/4 cfm@90psi 5-10 gal compressors to do furniture painting etc so that size should be fine.

Get a good low pressure gravity feed gun and you on. Don't get a HVLP gun as those need quite a bit of air volume that a small compressor won't be able to push.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 7th, 2012, 7:19 pm

Much thanks for the advice. The diy bug is an expensive but satisfying one. After the compressor, all I need is a table saw and I`m good for a while.

UltimateCustomizing

Postby UltimateCustomizing » April 9th, 2012, 11:32 am

for light work a pricesmart compressor (coleman) might do the trick
but if you are looking to get a reliable compressor Quincy is the way to go

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 10th, 2012, 8:05 am

http://www.amazon.com/s/node=552802/ref ... 0_pe_epc_/

Saw an email from amazon saying today they got 60% off on hammer drills if anyone needs one btw.

Postby r3iXmann » April 12th, 2012, 10:42 am

anybody here have experience with electric impact wrenches? i wanna order a relatively entry level one (around 100us or less) but im not familiar with the brands etc.

i dont need it for anything fancy, just to do routine/repair work on my car

Postby X_Factor » April 12th, 2012, 11:36 am

well, u see i was in that same position before i went away 2weeks ago...
i almost bought one, but the size of the electric impact wrench makes it almost impractical to use for routine car work to change parts as it would not fit in tight spaces.. maybe except for taking off wheels or unless the parts are on the ground
the air guns are about 5-6" in length where as the electric types are double if not more in length

but, if its practical for u, the cheapest i was looking at was a dewalt 7.5amp @ 150USD on amazon

i've seen the the cordless versions with the 18v LI ON batteries take off wheel nuts easily and they are alot smaller but about 100US more

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » April 12th, 2012, 12:38 pm

since we on the topic for tools where would i get these items at a good price with warranty,however does it make sense getting some the stuff online or purchase all locally?

here goes:

sawzall
3-ton Jack
Jack stands
chop saw
brand name tool set

Postby X_Factor » April 12th, 2012, 3:22 pm

honestly, u hadda shop and do ur research...
sometimes online will be cheaper, sometimes u might snag it locally for about the same price, give or take a 100 or so

the Jack and Jack stands, locally ofcourse...someone told be bobby's in bamboo has a good deal on jack stands

brand name tool set, check farfan for the channel lock kits, if u ask, u may be lucky and get a 10% off as well....

lipstick war

Postby lipstick war » April 12th, 2012, 4:57 pm

ill take a day and pass by,but thanks for the info!

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 12th, 2012, 6:28 pm

Also consider shipping costs for online purchases.

Jack and stands are basically "ole iron" and can weigh upwards of 30 lbs. A chopsaw is also quite heavy.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » April 13th, 2012, 3:09 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:considering adding a MIG welder to my assortment, any suggestions?
This is what I bought a few years ago---> Image
Sanctifier wrote:Great price, quality, spare parts service and reviews on workshop forums.
It's the heavy duty unit. Smaller models are available to suit your application.

Link--> HTP MIG 2400.

My $0.02¢

Postby r3iXmann » April 13th, 2012, 11:47 am

X_Factor wrote:well, u see i was in that same position before i went away 2weeks ago...
i almost bought one, but the size of the electric impact wrench makes it almost impractical to use for routine car work to change parts as it would not fit in tight spaces.. maybe except for taking off wheels or unless the parts are on the ground
the air guns are about 5-6" in length where as the electric types are double if not more in length

but, if its practical for u, the cheapest i was looking at was a dewalt 7.5amp @ 150USD on amazon

i've seen the the cordless versions with the 18v LI ON batteries take off wheel nuts easily and they are alot smaller but about 100US more

ah..makes sense. i'll just grab a cheap one and get some other tools then

Postby Chimera » April 13th, 2012, 12:36 pm

i cant find my black and Decker cordless drill since sunday :(

and thats probably the tool i use the most

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 13th, 2012, 3:29 pm

Tool Store has a Milwaukee sale on now.

There's a big ad in the newspaper with prices.

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 14th, 2012, 5:47 pm

Fellas I'm looking into doing my own tune ups and was wondering if 4 jack stands would be necessary or just 2? I saw the post above about Bobby's in Bamboo, but if anyone knows where I could get them at a reasonable price in South I'd really appreciate it.

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » April 14th, 2012, 6:35 pm

ive used 2 for years without any problems.i have 4 though

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 14th, 2012, 8:56 pm

Thanks man.

Anyone knows where I may be able to get them as well as an oil filter wrench in South?

Would you all recommend using an oil filter wrench though? Or can I just unscrew/tighten it with my hands?

Postby X_Factor » April 14th, 2012, 9:43 pm

u'll need a filter wrench, there are many types...u'll need the best suited for ur car wrt to size and workable space

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 14th, 2012, 10:31 pm

Southern Wholesale Stores (SWS) has both.

Funny story, i had to remove the filter on my car that would not come off just this morning.

Got 2 filter wrenches, one too big with a sliding joint and one like a cross between a vice grip and a bike chain.

Honestly have no idea how someone uses the bike chain one, i pelt it aside after my 20th try and went screwdriver and hammer on the blasted filter, which BTW would have been much easier with jack stands and a freaking bigger jack.

Moral of the story, make sure to get a wrench that fits your filter and one that is easy to use in the space you have. Also if you plan to do anything more than change tires, get a bigger jack than those small 2 ton ones. They are friggin useless if you need to get UNDER the car.

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 14th, 2012, 10:58 pm

X_Factor wrote:u'll need a filter wrench, there are many types...u'll need the best suited for ur car wrt to size and workable space

Thanks for your input.. Well the car is a Nissan B12, engine is a QG15DE so the filter is mounted perpendicular to it at the back. Any suggestions?

Strugglerzinc wrote:Southern Wholesale Stores (SWS) has both.

Funny story, i had to remove the filter on my car that would not come off just this morning.

Got 2 filter wrenches, one too big with a sliding joint and one like a cross between a vice grip and a bike chain.

Honestly have no idea how someone uses the bike chain one, i pelt it aside after my 20th try and went screwdriver and hammer on the blasted filter, which BTW would have been much easier with jack stands and a freaking bigger jack.

Moral of the story, make sure to get a wrench that fits your filter and one that is easy to use in the space you have. Also if you plan to do anything more than change tires, get a bigger jack than those small 2 ton ones. They are friggin useless if you need to get UNDER the car.

They're located on Union Road, Marabella right? You know the prices by chance? Thanks again.

It's that same 2 ton jack I have. lol. Guess I'll have to add a 3 ton jack to the list then.
But wait, if I'm using jack stands would a bigger jack still be needed?

Postby X_Factor » April 15th, 2012, 10:39 am

u hadda look at the lifting height of the jack as well to make sure it goes up high enough
the torrin 2 ton goes about 12"?....

i use this on my b14 and it works perfect
http://www.amazon.com/OEM-25320-Oil-Fil ... 18&sr=8-11

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 15th, 2012, 5:39 pm

The jack stands at SWS were $140 for a pair, 2.5 ton. Didn't get the price for the filter wrenches as i thought i was set with the two i already had.

Good thing i didn't buy those.. :?

Postby pioneer » April 15th, 2012, 5:39 pm

ppl actually need filter wrenches in this day n age?

Postby Chimera » April 15th, 2012, 5:46 pm

i hadda buy back a cordless drill yes :(

it look like a worker pick it up n gone wid it

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 15th, 2012, 5:50 pm

NR8 wrote:Fellas I'm looking into doing my own tune ups and was wondering if 4 jack stands would be necessary or just 2? I saw the post above about Bobby's in Bamboo, but if anyone knows where I could get them at a reasonable price in South I'd really appreciate it.

If you want I have a pair of 2ton stands nbib I never used.

http://www.amazon.com/Torin-T42002-Jack ... 510&sr=8-6

^^Those iirc, will sell them for $200

Located in south.