Chopper Chat Thread

geodude

Re: Chopper Chat Ched

Postby geodude » November 1st, 2010, 2:17 pm

many when you in Macae you must bounce up one in the "finer establishments" here, right now there is a guy from Baker MWD out here on the same rig as me,

Reminds me of a funny event, i went on a rig and this girl from schlum come up to me and said are you trini so i was like yea, so she said we need to be friends and i was like, hmm i like where this is going
then she explained that everyone she knew had a trini as a friend so she wanted one too.lol

Also recently we had the Deep water Millennium here drilling for Anaradko, and that entire rig was almost trinis from what i gather, the Mudlogging crew was like 6 trinis, the mud engineers were trinis, the cementers from Halli were trini, the DD's were trini, i have have met quite a few Mud engineers form MI here also,( reminds me one of the mud engineers for MI is pretty involved in Carting in Trini so i guess you guys probably know him) hell i even meet a driller on the Deep water Navigator who was Trini and there are some trinis here involved in the oil and gas but not field operations , like a few are with a pipe testing company, them fackers crazy though

so yeah nuff ah we

Postby crazybalhead » November 1st, 2010, 2:27 pm

One of my guys is in Brazil now, but not sure what rig, has to be a petrobras one though. Underreamers. Anyway, back to the choppers.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 1st, 2010, 3:16 pm

Yup.

Eurocopter AS355 F2 TwinStar (Viper-1) and Eurocopter MBB BO105 CBS-4 (Viper-2)

Helicopters from the Special Anti-crime Unit (SAUTT) fly across the parade during Independence day celebrations at Queen's Park Savannah in Port of Spain, Trinidad August 31, 2010. Trinidad and Tobago celebrates their 48th Anniversary of Independence today.

daylife.com

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » November 1st, 2010, 3:47 pm

Was it just me or are there two BOs now?

speedbird777

Postby speedbird777 » November 1st, 2010, 5:38 pm

i'm wondering the same... is there a viper 3 or just viper 1 and 2?

lexx

Postby lexx » November 1st, 2010, 5:50 pm

yes indeed there are 2 BO's now, so it's viper 1, 2 & 3...

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » November 1st, 2010, 8:51 pm

Rooki3 wrote:
hoverauto wrote:10 points to anyone that can tell me who the guy is on the left in blue.....

I'll give you a hint: he kicks the sheit out of nature.

did you meet him???

yeah man...awesome guy, so many stories and such a good laugh, I tagged along in the support aircraft for one of the days of filming. Got more pics of him, even some with choppers in them, just to keep with this thread.

Here's one:
09092009247.jpg

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » November 1st, 2010, 9:01 pm

And another:
Edit for tuner.jpg

Postby foss » November 1st, 2010, 9:05 pm

^decent stuff man!

I noticed who it was before you even said it was him though :lol: :lol:

geodude

Postby geodude » November 2nd, 2010, 5:13 am

just thought i would add a few pics i have a of choppers, maybe you guys can try identify the models,
so here goes

IMG_0041edit.JPG

IMG_0042edit.JPG

SDC10066edit.JPG

these 2 are not mine by good pics non the less

rz412_large1.jpg

rz412_large4.jpg

and this one its not a good pic but of particular importance to me, as there is a good story behind it, i was on that chopper heading to that rig on the 21th December 2009, what happened is that one of the refueling thanks exploded causing that fire ball you see there, we were making our final approach and were pretty close to the rig, the pilots had already reduced speed considerably and then this thing exploded , why a guy was taking pics of the rig at the exact time i don't know but at least i got a pic of my near death experience
image001.jpg
image001.jpg (14.38 KiB) Viewed 4050 times

so thats a few for now
more later

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » November 2nd, 2010, 10:03 am

Great Pics guys,

Finally got my albums in order.

First one is a ferry flight from Ft lauderdale Executive airport to Mcminnville Oregon.

http://www.facebook.com/#!/album.php?aid=549384&id=590000656

Second one is the Evergreen aviation and space museum

http://www.facebook.com/#!/album.php?aid=549388&id=590000656

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 2nd, 2010, 2:50 pm

Arrived just after lunch. Leaving in the morning.

This is the same type that shall be used by the Air Guard.

AgustaWestland AW139

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 2nd, 2010, 7:43 pm

I still don't understand why the government bought a civil version (AW139) for a military SAR unit.

The military version is the AgustaWestland AW149, a medium-lift MultiMission Military helicopter.

The AW149 is suited to battlefield support, combat SAR, reconnaissance, surveillance, medical evacuation, search and rescue (SAR) and command and control support roles.

The AW149 answers a growing demand for the next generation, affordable, multi-purpose medium class helicopter, for military and government agencies.

Fully digitized and with an open systems architecture (OSA) and fully integrated mission equipment, the AW149 is designed for the modern battlefield. With a rugged construction incorporating crash-worthy features, such as up to eighteen crash-worthy troop seats and excellent access and egress, the AW149 maximizes survivability. Twin engines ensure high performance in hot and high conditions. A 4-axis auto-pilot and advanced latest generation avionics system serves to minimize crew work load.

The aircraft can also be configured to carry a variety of weapons and stores on external carriers. (Ent Manning wanted Gunships??).

Sasquat007

Postby Sasquat007 » November 2nd, 2010, 7:51 pm

norstar2k wrote:Arrived just after lunch. Leaving in the morning.

This is the same type that shall be used by the Air Guard.

AgustaWestland AW139

waz allya pplz on tuner dont stick i saw it flyin up in arima bout 2 an thing it look mad
Last edited by Sasquat007 on November 5th, 2010, 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » November 2nd, 2010, 7:59 pm

Norstar, Those aircraft were ordered almost 3 years ago... The 149 did it's first flight in Nov '09......

hot blue

Postby hot blue » November 2nd, 2010, 8:16 pm

I'm also sure there was a significant price diff!?!

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 2nd, 2010, 9:23 pm

Type Rated wrote:Norstar, Those aircraft were ordered almost 3 years ago... The 149 did it's first flight in Nov '09......

I know. But since they haven't been delivered yet................................ :wink:

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » November 2nd, 2010, 9:34 pm

That's sitting down in camden?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 2nd, 2010, 10:06 pm

pablo_tt wrote:That's sitting down in camden?

That's Piarco Airport dude, south-side, light aircraft parking area (near NP and the old ramp position #11).

PapaC

Postby PapaC » November 2nd, 2010, 10:31 pm

One of those SAUTT Choppers making some weird flight patterns in Cocoyea right now.
Circling around Cocoyea-Tarouba for about 10 mins now.
Somebody in trouble...

Not a lifelong southerner, but i don't recall much helicopters in this area.

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » November 2nd, 2010, 10:31 pm

I figure since they say they goin land based..... Scale down the type and increase the numbers! instead of 139's they can get 2ce the number of 412EP's which can be crewed maintained and supported here immediately. Not to mention thats what the Vene navy, Colombian Army and Navy .... even the Guyanese Military..... But i eh sure that one flyin.... 2ce the number of aircraft mean less down time and 2ce the coverage! IMHO

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 2nd, 2010, 11:31 pm

Type Rated wrote:I figure since they say they goin land based..... Scale down the type and increase the numbers! instead of 139's they can get 2ce the number of 412EP's which can be crewed maintained and supported here immediately. Not to mention thats what the Vene navy, Colombian Army and Navy .... even the Guyanese Military..... But i eh sure that one flyin.... 2ce the number of aircraft mean less down time and 2ce the coverage! IMHO

Agreed! It never made sense to me either. This area is Sikorsky/Eurocopter/Bell

The Bell 412EP would have been best suited as a maritime helicopter, with proved examples as you've stated.

T&T would also have been the first military unit in this hemisphere to have shipborne AW139s. Its used by Coast Guard Operators around the world from land bases. This isn't the typical shipborne aircraft.

I'd like to know who paired the two (OPV/AW139).

Oh, TR, the GDF B412 in Guyana has been DFR for 2 years now. The gov't within the last two years acquired 2 Bell 206B JetRanger IIIs for the GDF.

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » November 3rd, 2010, 8:05 pm

British bringing supplies to inaccessible areas.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 3rd, 2010, 11:55 pm

^^^ The Super Lynx crew real brave. Look how low it has sunk in the mud. The nose wheel is a good reference to the fact.

Many a MEDEVAC to the QPS onboard a S76 after it rained meant having to check the field to ensure it wasn't soft/muddy before setting her down. Otherwise it meant sinking her wheel(s) in the mud and running the risk of snapping the tricycle gear off, especially the nose wheel from the suction created from the mud, after pulling power to lift. The S76 tricycle gear configuration prevented all three wheels from fitting on the cricket pitch at the same time.

hot blue

Postby hot blue » November 5th, 2010, 10:37 pm

norstar2k wrote:
Type Rated wrote:I figure since they say they goin land based..... Scale down the type and increase the numbers! instead of 139's they can get 2ce the number of 412EP's which can be crewed maintained and supported here immediately. Not to mention thats what the Vene navy, Colombian Army and Navy .... even the Guyanese Military..... But i eh sure that one flyin.... 2ce the number of aircraft mean less down time and 2ce the coverage! IMHO

Agreed! It never made sense to me either. This area is Sikorsky/Eurocopter/Bell

The Bell 412EP would have been best suited as a maritime helicopter, with proved examples as you've stated.

T&T would also have been the first military unit in this hemisphere to have shipborne AW139s. Its used by Coast Guard Operators around the world from land bases. This isn't the typical shipborne aircraft.

I'd like to know who paired the two (OPV/AW139).

Oh, TR, the GDF B412 in Guyana has been DFR for 2 years now. The gov't within the last two years acquired 2 Bell 206B JetRanger IIIs for the GDF.

The problem is that the 412EP's are too slow!!!

Oh and don't forget JDF (Jamaican)... I believe they use the 412EP's as well.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » November 7th, 2010, 10:41 pm

Here are a couple shots I took the other day with some interesting effects added:
150225_445021146734_535886734_5765293_6419874_n.jpg
74188_445021181734_535886734_5765294_4420155_n.jpg

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » November 7th, 2010, 10:48 pm

Oh.....and one action shot, lol:
148470_446992191734_535886734_5796297_1825654_n.jpg

hot blue

Postby hot blue » November 8th, 2010, 10:47 am

didn't realise that Panama had use for so many R22's and 44's. What are they used for?
training?

triniboy92

Postby triniboy92 » November 8th, 2010, 12:38 pm

lexx wrote:yes indeed there are 2 BO's now, so it's viper 1, 2 & 3...

whats the other BO registration?

lexx

Postby lexx » November 8th, 2010, 3:28 pm

triniboy92 wrote:
lexx wrote:yes indeed there are 2 BO's now, so it's viper 1, 2 & 3...

whats the other BO registration?

IW