What's the last good book yuh read??

dude2014

Re: What's the last good book yuh read??

Postby dude2014 » September 30th, 2016, 9:32 pm

Rambo, even before it became a movie. Only saw the movie in June this year. It was almost like reading the thing while looking at the movie.
Did not have cell phones back then and TV was scarce.
So it was JT Edson, Robert Ludlum's Metarese Circle, doh forget Agatha Christie, Mills and Boons.
Muir Marshall in Exchange Lots in Couva was a must for DC comics long before they started to make Avengers, Batman, ETC. movies.

But one of the best was ....... FANNY HILL ...... GET IT AND READ. Yuh sure as hell aint gonna miss Tuners

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 30th, 2016, 11:09 pm

A wrinkle in time (Madeleine L'Engle)

Postby gt4tified » October 24th, 2016, 9:07 am

The Monk who sold his Ferrari

Postby Monk BANzai » October 24th, 2016, 12:50 pm

14793709_10157754915145529_1637243092_n.jpg

14825552_10157754917200529_438139786_n.jpg

14813500_10157754915875529_763095347_n.jpg

14825645_10157754918590529_246365456_n.jpg

given the Cazabon Carnivhaul mas fiasco....hadda dust off an old beauty....funny... im yet to see the connection between MakaFarlen and Cazabons pieces..zero...nada stylistically or otherwise...

Postby MG Man » October 30th, 2016, 8:39 pm

nice ched revival
finally got around to reading 'The Picture of Dorian Gray' by Oscar Wilde.....can't believe I never read his work before....his style of writing is awesome....his attention to vivid detail in how he paints every setting really brings his words to life

Postby rollingstock » October 30th, 2016, 8:57 pm

The Holy Bible KJV

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » October 30th, 2016, 8:59 pm

Fartin Hard by Alan Lard

Postby crazybalhead » November 1st, 2016, 11:26 am

Ah reading A history of seven killings by Marlon James now. Nice book so far, some raw action.

Set in the 70's it's a semi fictional account of Jamaica around the time Bob Marley got shot. Centres around some characters, from Bob himself to some dread badman.

Postby crazybalhead » November 5th, 2018, 1:07 pm

Guuude, forgot about this thread, read so many since the last one here. Currently reading "For the Love of pan" a book written by a former classmate and now Dr., Prithiviraj Bahadursingh. A short novel highlighting the plight of people in Trinidad and Tobago with differently abled kids, and the frustrations/ challenges and rewards they encounter.

All of the proceeds from the sales of the book go to charity to help these kids, but it's also for awareness, particularly of autism.

I did the cover artwork for it.

Enjoy folks and keep commenting.

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » November 6th, 2018, 9:43 am

Rich Dad's Prophecy by Robert T Kiyosaki ,,, its a book on financial literacy but i call it a modern day horror novel lol ,, very good read indeed though

Kinday

Postby Kinday » November 6th, 2018, 9:48 am

I revisited a classic - The Richest Man in Babylon by George S Clason

Nice thread revival

Postby meccalli » November 6th, 2018, 10:01 am

Postby crazybalhead » November 7th, 2018, 2:39 pm

meccalli wrote:Image

Meant to read this, will do so soon.

All41

Postby All41 » November 8th, 2018, 12:39 am

Jack Higgins

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » July 31st, 2019, 10:51 am

Sapiens, A Brief History of Humankind
Yuval Noah Harari

Currently reading
:arrow: Home Deus, A Brief History of Tomorrow
Yuval Noah Harari

:arrow: The fault in our Stars
John Green

Next on the List
21 Lessons for the Century
Yuval Noah Harari

I highly recommend that everyone takes a read of Sapiens, for someone that never researched history in any meaningful way( from a holistic stand point) , i would say that this book is a pretty solid place to start.

Yuval is one of the most riveting thinkers of our time and he was some very interesting insights as it relates to us and where we stand.

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » July 31st, 2019, 1:23 pm

rule by SECRECY - Jim Marrs. Actually, how the NWO spins the world. A must read for those who see the world through the Conspiracy Theory lens.

Postby MG Man » July 31st, 2019, 3:48 pm

thinking to read Sphere next...saw the movie a couple times so the book is probably better, yeah?

Postby maj. tom » July 31st, 2019, 3:52 pm

yeah the book is much better. All Michael Crichton books are better, including Jurassic Park. You should read Airframe just because of the amount of factual research he did for that book. It's more a less a real account of how the NTSB and the aircraft manufacturer (like Boeing) does an investigation on a crashed aircraft.

Postby rollingstock » July 31st, 2019, 5:53 pm

maj. tom wrote:yeah the book is much better. All Michael Crichton books are better, including Jurassic Park. You should read Airframe just because of the amount of factual research he did for that book. It's more a less a real account of how the NTSB and the aircraft manufacturer (like Boeing) does an investigation on a crashed aircraft.

I own all his books, never read airframe because it didn't really fit into his genre and the base of the storyline didn't seem interesting. Until I ran out if reading material a night and had to take a sheit. Both legs went numb and the toilet seat left a groove on my asscheek. End up staying up the entire night and finishing the book.

Postby zoom rader » August 1st, 2019, 9:33 am

Indian time ah come.

Selwyn Cudjoe
cudjoe1.png_w%3D500.cf.jpeg

Postby rspann » August 1st, 2019, 11:24 am

From Mason Hall to Whitehall. By shitkickers.

Postby De Dragon » August 1st, 2019, 11:32 am

How to Lie, Cheat, Steal and Fool People to Win Elections by the PNM

Postby zoom rader » August 1st, 2019, 11:45 am

De Dragon wrote:How to Lie, Cheat, Steal and Fool People to Win Elections by the PNM
I read that book in 2015, I though it was comedy

PNM%252Bmanifesto%252B2015.jpg.cf.jpeg
PNM%252Bmanifesto%252B2015.jpg.cf.jpeg (16.69 KiB) Viewed 3346 times

Postby st7 » April 21st, 2023, 10:33 pm

recently got into Brandon Sanderson.

started with the first book from The Stormlight Archive series called The Way of Kings (380k words or ~1000 pages). no idea how i finished that in 3 weeks but his writing flows so well, and it isn't tasking. the vivid imagery is captivating and feels like you're watching a tv show. genre is epic fantasy.

after that i started Warbreaker which is half the size and also really good. both books i'd give 5/5.

I'm on the 2nd book from Stormlight now which is closer to 1100 pages, and that going real good too.

Postby Country_Bookie » April 3rd, 2024, 10:37 am

“This has been my story to write,” says Ingrid Persaud of her new novel The Lost Love Songs of Boysie Singh. Hotly anticipated after the international success of Love After Love — which won Persaud the 2020 Costa Book Award for Best First Novel — The Lost Love Songs of Boysie Singh will be published next month, and Persaud will be a headline author at the 2024 NGC Bocas Lit Fest, running from 25 to 28 April.

Set in Trinidad in the 1940s and 50s, The Lost Love Songs of Boysie Singh tells the story of the notorious gangster, hanged in 1957 for murder — and four women whose lives were shaped by proximity to him. Through the distinctive and compelling voices of Popo, Mana Lala, Doris, and Rosie, Persaud writes a story of persistence and survival that is also a portrait of a society in rapid evolution.

Now based in Britain, Trinidad-born Persaud will return for the Caribbean launch of the book, appearing at the NGC Bocas Lit Fest on Saturday 27 April, in the midst of a packed programme of events.

“Although Boysie Singh was executed well before my birth, the terror he invoked stalked my childhood,” says Persaud. “Every time I touched the text, it touched back. Within my own family in Cedros I uncovered stories. And there was the time Boysie Singh preached to a crowd outside my maternal great-grandmother’s shop in Arouca.”

She adds: “I went initially to learn about one notorious man, and I came away with a far richer understanding and empathy for the women who made me what I am today.”

The 2024 NGC Bocas Lit Fest includes several sessions featuring new books — both fiction and non-fiction — that reflect on, revisit, or reinterpret aspects of Caribbean history. In addition to Persaud, festival attendees can look forward to seeing and hearing authors like Trinidadian-Canadians Dionne

Brand and Rabindranath Maharaj, Haitian-American Edwidge Danticat, and St. Lucian-Canadian Canisia Lubrin — all acclaimed prizewinners. Other highlights are the launch of new books by the late Professor Gordon Rohlehr and Seepersad Naipaul, as well as a showcase of new authors, a special focus on speculative fiction, plus a rich array of discussions, performances, workshops, and more.

For Caribbean writers living outside the region, the NGC Bocas Lit Fest is an opportunity to reconnect with audiences at home. “The Lost Love Songs of Boysie Singh is a book about Trinidad, and it is only right and proper that it should be launched at Bocas a mere three days after UK publication,” says Ingrid Persaud. “I can’t wait to find out what people think of it. Hopefully it will be the start of more conversations about women in our society, about crime, and about our history.”

Her message to readers in T&T? “Everything I write is a barely disguised love letter to Trinidad.”

Take Two
Ingrid Persaud (The Lost Love Songs of Boysie Singh) and Soraya Palmer (The Human Origins of Beatrice Porter & Other Essential Ghosts) share their new novels about tempestuous families, dangerous loves, and a longing for freedom, in conversation with Teresa White.

Saturday 27 April | 2.30–3.30 pm • Old Fire Station

[img]https://www.bocaslitfest.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/Untitled-2.png[/img]

Good to see more local literature coming thru. Just wondering how much the actual history will be skewed in favor of artistic license.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 3rd, 2024, 10:49 am

Wife got me the full works of Poe, just have not gotten around to reading it yet. it's the size and weight of a gawddamn concrete block.