*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 15th, 2009, 8:45 pm

^yep,but those do not support audio processing over HDMI,so its basically a HDMI passthrough for video alone.

Postby sharkman121 » December 15th, 2009, 9:07 pm

Pics as promised....relatively simple setup.. ive assembled much more complicated wiring audio before, so not sure wat i doin wrong.

followed examples exactly as on diagram.

back of home theater

tv setup

connections at back of tv

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 15th, 2009, 9:24 pm

^i'm guessing your still on Analog Cable TV and not Digital?

you still have a SNES,sweet!

Postby X_Factor » December 15th, 2009, 10:39 pm

by the look of that white coaxial cable and the connector at the end, its digital

if ur not getting the tv audio through the HT, did u use the TV audio signal output and send it to the input of the HT reciever? cause from the pics it looks like ur only sending the signal from the reciever to the tv

the green, blue and red rca outs (composite vid) i believe is of a higher quality than the type u use presently

how come ur not using HDMI btw?...thats the whole idea not so?
upscale 1080p and audio

Postby sharkman121 » December 15th, 2009, 11:35 pm

yeh correct...dont bother me though as i run cable thru the video, so i dont pay for cable but if i get digital cable ill have to pay for it.

super nes still working great though :)

Postby sharkman121 » December 15th, 2009, 11:40 pm

X_Factor wrote:by the look of that white coaxial cable and the connector at the end, its digital

if ur not getting the tv audio through the HT, did u use the TV audio signal output and send it to the input of the HT reciever? cause from the pics it looks like ur only sending the signal from the reciever to the tv

the green, blue and red rca outs (composite vid) i believe is of a higher quality than the type u use presently

upscale 1080p and audio

actually i am using analog cable for the reason stated above... but i am also using hdmi, if u look closely at the bottom theres two hdmi cables plugged in, one connected to the ps3 and one connected to the home theater.

not sure wat u mean tho, theres a direct video output from the ht to the tv, and then i using a separate component cable for audio (the red and white) from the home theater to the tv...along with the hdmi connection. Was kinda puzzled as to why i had to use both, i thought it would have been one or the other, but so the manual said.

Postby X_Factor » December 17th, 2009, 8:14 pm

finally got the hdmi cable and decided to hook it up and WOW
thats all i have to say, definition and clarity is sweet...not too bright...nice contrast

sharkman121, what model HT u bought dread?..cause the rear pic u took looking almost if not the same like what i have

Postby sharkman121 » December 17th, 2009, 8:59 pm

Sony Bravia DAV- DZ590K.

You have a bravia as well, if so wat model?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 18th, 2009, 9:38 am

take a look at the NEW PARADIGM Signaure SUbwoofer 25!

3000 Watts of Continuous POWER, 7500 watts Dynamic PEAK, 9 HZ in yuh arse and up to 125 Db with absolutely NO audible Distortion!

:twisted: :twisted:

THAT is SUB!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 18th, 2009, 4:19 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
X_Factor wrote:by the look of that white coaxial cable and the connector at the end, its digital

upscale 1080p and audio

actually i am using analog cable for the reason stated above... but i am also using hdmi, if u look closely at the bottom theres two hdmi cables plugged in, one connected to the ps3 and one connected to the home theater.

not sure wat u mean tho, theres a direct video output from the ht to the tv, and then i using a separate component cable for audio (the red and white) from the home theater to the tv...along with the hdmi connection. Was kinda puzzled as to why i had to use both, i thought it would have been one or the other, but so the manual said.

HDMI is BOTH audio and video

HDMI video is better than composite
HDMI audio is better than analog and even better than optical.

the HT should have an hdmi IN and an hdmi OUT

the PS3 should go into the hdmi IN and the TV should go into the hdmi OUT

you should NOT be using any analog cables in that setup other than the speaker wires

Postby X_Factor » December 18th, 2009, 4:43 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR,wrt to flows digital service, on the box, there is the traditional coax out and rca out for sound and the video
which u think has the better quality?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 18th, 2009, 6:10 pm

honestly I don't think it would matter as the content may be digital but is still only standard definition 480i anyhow

but just to nitpick - is the RCA connection component or composite?

Postby SR » December 18th, 2009, 6:27 pm

the rca output is still analog

but is better than the coax as the signal has to be modulated to a freq and then demodulated by the tv tuner to get back your audio and video

if you have a digital cable box then use the rca output and not the coax once your tv/monitor accepts the input

the "digital" from flow is only from flow to the box and the box decodes back to analog

Postby X_Factor » December 18th, 2009, 7:08 pm

its the traditional 1-rca for video and a pair for audio (L/R)

tmr i'll try it and see if its any difference

but still hdmi = wow!!

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » December 19th, 2009, 10:35 am

I just stumbled onto this thread, and just finished reading through all 11 pages! Took me 1 1/2 hrs! Great info - especially from Guru Duane. I haven't heard any talk of Harman Kardon yet? I have a HK AVR145 (?) coupled to a Polk audio RM 6500 speaker set - and it works for me. However, when I bought them 3 years ago, HDMI was just taking ground, and told myself I didn't need to go that way yet. My frickin receiver doesn't have an HDMI input :evil: , but then again nor does the Sony 36" (CRT !!! :oops: ) flat screen TV I had from before! TV still works great though - so I ain't going HDTV yet. One nice feature of the receiver is that the remote came with a built-in mic for SPL measurement, and it uses that together with a programmed pink / white (?) noise emanating from the receiver for each channel, and it automatically adjusts the speaker outputs for optimum listening.

But I kick myself in the a$$ for my receiver selection all the time. I should have invested in a 7.1 channel system instead. With those - I think you can do "dual zone" - like install two speakers in your kitchen / porch , etc, and have them playing a different source from the main 5.1 section? So I can be watching my movie in the living room, and mamie can be listening to she 103.5FM in the kitchen.... :lol: :lol:
Last edited by Tired Accord on December 21st, 2009, 4:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 19th, 2009, 11:05 am

^ exactly

I've been seriously looking at the Pioneer Elite VSX 23TXH receiver
it has 3 zones, two of them carry HDMI audio and video, the 3rd carries audio only.

So it can show food network on a small 20" LCD in the kitchen, watch a 5.1 movie in the entertainment room the big plasma and listen to music (CD, MP3 or radio) in the patio in full range stereo.

it has 5 HDMI in and two out

it also comes with a small SPL mic to test and setup the speakers.

hoping to run a set of Klipsch Quintet SL 5.1 speakers on it with a Klipsch 10" Sub or a Velodyne 10"

Using a logitech Harmony 900 remote you can control everything via RF, even the lights in the house.

dreams dreams dreams

Postby SR » December 19th, 2009, 4:54 pm

post prices nah

:twisted:

Postby sharkman121 » December 19th, 2009, 5:22 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR, the analogue cable i was talkin about is the cable from flow, as opposed to flow digital. i am actually running the HDMI. (right below red and white speaker wires in pic)

However i realise receiver only has one HDMI slot though, a HDMI out.

Still not getting audio through normal tv, only when i playing dvd's an radio thru the HT, although havent really tried since the last time...been really busy.

Postby X_Factor » December 19th, 2009, 9:01 pm

^^ i guessin my sony htib is more or less the same as its the same layout wrt to the connections

i get the cable to work, but i used the rca audio output from the flow digital box and sent it into the reciever through where you have the red and white rca's presently and i just select tv/video on the reciever

i doubt u might get it if the tv doesnt hav some sort of audio out

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 19th, 2009, 9:53 pm

me and my bro went a lil overboard today shopping,picked up a Samsung Series 5 40" for my room,he got some Klipsch RF62 floorstands,i got a Denon AVR 590 Receiver and a Pair of Klipsch RB61 Bookshelf Speakers :oops: :oops: see earlier post:

ru$$ell wrote:^far from,i am a klipsch whore though :(

Also saw a Samsung Series 7 LED TV with 240hz refresh Rate,that thing is seriously toooooo clean,i would pay to much attention to detail on stuff i'm watching,to bad it had a killer price tag or else i would have gotten it if i didnt get the audio stuff.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 19th, 2009, 11:14 pm

^ you should see a Samsung 8 Series 58" plasma with a 600Hz subfield

it cripsy yet smooooth motion

oh and you should see a blu-ray movie at 24fps
talk about that REAL cinema feel - waw!

SR wrote:post prices nah

:twisted:

http://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-Quintet-T ... B0011YZ018

http://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-Synergy-S ... 323&sr=1-1

http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-VSX-23THX ... 415&sr=1-1

Postby X_Factor » December 20th, 2009, 9:03 am

anyone interested in ah hdmi cable to buy?
i dont really need to sell it but if neone needs it who posting in the thread
hit me a pm, really cheap considering how much they charge outside
6ft, 1.3 cat, gold plated terminals, never used...i paid 180 to ship in 3 and keeping 2...so (60$)

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » December 20th, 2009, 1:45 pm

Postby X_Factor » December 20th, 2009, 4:09 pm

imo, its easier and probably cheaper to build a diy HT sub and im sure wont cost 1/4 as much as those

dry

Postby dry » December 20th, 2009, 4:28 pm

X_Factor wrote:imo, its easier and probably cheaper to build a diy HT sub and im sure wont cost 1/4 as much as those

no doubt... it's also easier and cheaper to make a corned beef sandwich instead of going to a restaurant to get a steak and it won't cost 1/4 of it.

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 20th, 2009, 9:48 pm

nareshseep wrote:http://www.svsubwoofers.com/subwoofers.htm

http://www.svsound.com/Products-sub-cyl.cfm

http://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=82558

Nice sub, seems to the best subwoofer on the market.

Thank you, never regretted the purchase! 8-)

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 20th, 2009, 9:51 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR, looking to upgrade my receiver ... Any opinions on this?

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/ ... SC-07.Kuro

Prefer electronics with a warm sound signature to play nice with the Klipsh reference ...

Postby X_Factor » December 20th, 2009, 10:37 pm

dry wrote:
X_Factor wrote:imo, its easier and probably cheaper to build a diy HT sub and im sure wont cost 1/4 as much as those

no doubt... it's also easier and cheaper to make a corned beef sandwich instead of going to a restaurant to get a steak and it won't cost 1/4 of it.

who said we using corned beef?..same steak, just made differently

a similar bash 500w powered amp costs under 250USD on parts express
and you have a choice of dayton, peerless, vifa, or car audio subs to choose from under 200USD and im pretty sure we have local guys with enough skill do design the enclosure entire which should cost less than 500USD for a really high quality build

u can probably build a decent HT sub set up for 1500.00 or so, with the hardest thing is getting the plate amp

with SWS cheapest sub starting at 500.00

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 21st, 2009, 3:35 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:

you brought them in? or got it locally?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » December 21st, 2009, 7:16 am

ru$$ell wrote:
Mr. Go Slow wrote:

you brought them in? or got it locally?

brought them in ...dual 16-46CS+ subs ... I will 'eventually' upgrade to PC-13 ultra's, but no rush for that ...

For a best of subwoofer ranking see: http://www.tweakcityaudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11