Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Re: Plant Process Operator Job

Postby De Dragon » November 17th, 2013, 3:56 pm

Curtms wrote:I heard be late 3 times you get a warning letter?

That's nice.

Postby De Dragon » November 17th, 2013, 5:13 pm

trinihub wrote:
damion_m_k wrote:
0xy1 wrote:IPSL just had a major salary increase from what i heard.

I can confirm that!!

The increase puts them on par with other companies on the estate. Average of 14% increase across the board

Iz so? I hadda link up wit meh bredrin dem who wukkin dey and mek ah lime. :drinking:

trinihub

Postby trinihub » November 17th, 2013, 9:30 pm

^^^Yup..life sweet too bad....nobody gonna leave now!

the_guy_you_need_to_know

Re:

Postby the_guy_you_need_to_know » July 30th, 2014, 12:16 pm

SkettellGod wrote:
dreadman wrote:most companies in the Pt lisas industrail estate accept students from UTT rather than from trinzuela or ITT....so if u are gonna do PPO....go wit UTT

Its true that the UTT diplomas/certificates are more recognised in the industries, which i think is crap.
You should ask yourself this question first before starting, Am i going to remain in trinidad until i retire or am i going to be seeking employment abroad later on?
if you'll be seeking employment abroad, i say go with the city andd guilds certificate.

Calleocho pm me your contact info, i know a few places.

i say do both, you have to remember the more marketable you are, the better your chances. some companies like utt some like city and guilds. with a combination of both you are unstopable

**JSJ**

Postby **JSJ** » August 1st, 2014, 7:36 pm

Tuners, i recently completed my degree in Process Engineering from Utt. I also have a diploma in Industrial Instrumentation from the same institution. I am currently looking for a job in an Operations trainee position as i have no field experience. I know Ipsl, Yara and PPGPL (just to name a few) process plants takes on operators, but i am not sure when they do so. i am currently looking at the papers and carribbeanjobs.com for any openings. I thank you guys in advance for any assistance provided.

Postby De Dragon » August 2nd, 2014, 10:36 pm

**JSJ** wrote:Tuners, i recently completed my degree in Process Engineering from Utt. I also have a diploma in Industrial Instrumentation from the same institution. I am currently looking for a job in an Operations trainee position as i have no field experience. I know Ipsl, Yara and PPGPL (just to name a few) process plants takes on operators, but i am not sure when they do so. i am currently looking at the papers and carribbeanjobs.com for any openings. I thank you guys in advance for any assistance provided.

There is no designated time for hiring. People leave, get fired, resign etc all the time. Apply to all the companies and see what responses you get.

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » January 14th, 2015, 2:00 pm

PPGPL looking for Tech1's at the moment. I believe it's 2 - 3 vacancies.

Postby sMASH » January 14th, 2015, 4:06 pm

THey pay super good. Never really have vacancies.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » January 14th, 2015, 4:20 pm

I'm currently looking for an Operation Technician job as well. I have field experience from BG BF, also have some knowledge in C&I and Mech department. I have an advanced diploma in offshore production operator training and also a Plant Tech Diploma. If anyone need someone to fill the above position, I will be glad to.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » January 25th, 2015, 3:23 pm

**JSJ** wrote:Tuners, i recently completed my degree in Process Engineering from Utt. I also have a diploma in Industrial Instrumentation from the same institution. I am currently looking for a job in an Operations trainee position as i have no field experience. I know Ipsl, Yara and PPGPL (just to name a few) process plants takes on operators, but i am not sure when they do so. i am currently looking at the papers and carribbeanjobs.com for any openings. I thank you guys in advance for any assistance provided.

u ever got thru??

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 25th, 2015, 3:42 pm

Boy once overtime runnin u makin epic paper....

But if no overtime
D salary still nice and shift decent dependin on which company u workin

konartis

Postby konartis » January 25th, 2015, 5:10 pm

nos_specialist wrote:Boy once overtime runnin u makin epic paper....

But if no overtime
D salary still nice and shift decent dependin on which company u workin

I hve a partner who is a ppo...makes alot of money, upwards of 20k monthly, ten years in the job...if he takes call out, alot more!

sdawkcab

Postby sdawkcab » August 14th, 2015, 11:40 am

Hey guys, just trying to get some info. I'll be pursuing this field soon and was wondering what the job market is like currently. For someone with no experience, how difficult is it finding employment? And also, how difficult is it finding decent employment?

Thanks

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » August 14th, 2015, 12:35 pm

sdawkcab wrote:Hey guys, just trying to get some info. I'll be pursuing this field soon and was wondering what the job market is like currently. For someone with no experience, how difficult is it finding employment? And also, how difficult is it finding decent employment?

Thanks

Ipsl talk done 8-)

konartis

Postby konartis » August 14th, 2015, 7:40 pm

my cousin is a PPO tech 4, he gets around 22k full pay, not sure what is after tax, but he does say that with call out, is alot more...he has 11 years in the work

khandman

Postby khandman » August 14th, 2015, 10:36 pm

Depends on the plant u working in. Where i work, a tech 4 makes a lot more than 22k. But u does have to really work hard for your money. Not like ipsl and some other plants where is alot of nice time. 12 hour shift is 12 hours of work. Night or day.

sdawkcab

Postby sdawkcab » August 15th, 2015, 9:21 am

Thanks guys. Those answers don't really tell me how the job market is, but I guess it will have to do.

I'm an EMT currently, so long shifts aren't new to me. I've asked around where the best place to do it is, and I've heard Trinzuela, UTT and Kenson come up. Most people I've asked recommended Kenson, and UTT. From what I've read in the earlier pages of this discussion, UTT sounds like the better school where employment is concerned, but that was discussed in 2009. Six years have passed since then, is that still the case?

Postby nervewrecker » August 15th, 2015, 11:53 am

Ppo was a big thing back then. With the slow down as of recent not sure how your chances are with getting a job.
Heard many say kenson does only promise employment afterwards and most get to find out its not true. The selection process is not fair bit let's not go off topic on that. It was discussed in another thread.

If anyone has a course outline for ppo from utt can you post here or pm me BTW? A pal was asking for it.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » August 15th, 2015, 4:21 pm

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 15th, 2015, 7:56 pm

khandman wrote:Depends on the plant u working in. Where i work, a tech 4 makes a lot more than 22k. But u does have to really work hard for your money. Not like ipsl and some other plants where is alot of nice time. 12 hour shift is 12 hours of work. Night or day.

sounds like a Urea Plant :lol:

Postby sMASH » August 15th, 2015, 8:07 pm

There is a slow down locally. Whqt may help is that regionally and internationally the feild is still growing. Some locals fill those spaces. So their departure would leave some vacancies behind.
The feild is somewhat saturated now, just like any other feild.

Me, I may think of trying my luck internationally, which may leave one vacancy in the future.

Postby zoom rader » August 16th, 2015, 1:59 am

biggy82 wrote:
khandman wrote:Depends on the plant u working in. Where i work, a tech 4 makes a lot more than 22k. But u does have to really work hard for your money. Not like ipsl and some other plants where is alot of nice time. 12 hour shift is 12 hours of work. Night or day.

Ah the ole Fertrin days, used to enjoy working there. It was always busy and a great place to learn your craft.

khandman

Postby khandman » August 16th, 2015, 5:28 am

biggy82 wrote:sounds like a Urea Plant :lol:

Nah, DRI plant. Direct reduced iron.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 16th, 2015, 7:03 am

Petrotrin

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 17th, 2015, 8:37 am

biggy82 wrote:

Ah the ole Fertrin days, used to enjoy working there. It was always busy and a great place to learn your craft.

actually was the best place I ever worked. ppl think outside totally better than trini but in truth, only the money better. HR and other things tend to be shite, cos the powers that be feel " well ah paying you good money, HYK and take it" :roll:

HR actually works for you in trini (as hard as that might sound to you all)

masonic1221

Postby masonic1221 » August 18th, 2015, 3:50 pm

Where would hire you if you have no experience?
C.x.C- Mathematics,Technical Drawing,Social Studies.
Pre-University-Programme-(maths,physics chem etc)
C.P.O certificate from UTT.

steverandolph

Postby steverandolph » August 18th, 2015, 4:36 pm

Fellas have an interview for junior level ppo in atlantic coming up, anyone willing to share the type ofmquestionsnthey might ask, thanks

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 18th, 2015, 4:54 pm

masonic1221 wrote:Where would hire you if you have no experience?
C.x.C- Mathematics,Technical Drawing,Social Studies.
Pre-University-Programme-(maths,physics chem etc)
C.P.O certificate from UTT.

most of the estate have intakes of trainees at least once a year.

make some calls or drop in your resume.

Postby zoom rader » August 18th, 2015, 4:56 pm

steverandolph wrote:Fellas have an interview for junior level ppo in atlantic coming up, anyone willing to share the type ofmquestionsnthey might ask, thanks

Buy some Interviewing type books or start searching the net for questions.

They will most likely ask questions like,

Tell me about a time you did so and so or how you face an angry Co worker.

They will want to test your behaviour towards work and solving problems and I don't mean work problems. They want to see how you interact with fellow employees.

They want to know how you can overcome your faults.

It's a long topic, do some research and be prepared for them to drill you. Don't try to lie they will spot it a mile away.

They put you under stress to see how you can handle it.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 18th, 2015, 6:21 pm

Looking to come back land now, biggie link meh nah.