.::The Official Nokia Thread::.

Irfy

Re: .::The Official Nokia Thread::.

Postby Irfy » August 24th, 2011, 11:46 pm

Yea, I say lemme join it. I had an account but I don't think I ever use it. And I didn't like the username. I say d nokia thread go be a decent place to start. I use a N81 8GB and N91 Mini and they besss.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 25th, 2011, 12:04 am

Have you used an android device or iphone? because you saying that n97 is bess. Just my 2 cents

Irfy

Postby Irfy » August 25th, 2011, 12:18 am

Actually you have a point. I am thinking of trading in the N97 for an android or the E7. Android's stuff is open to developers!! Plus there's angry birds. The N97 i can do without, but IMO the N81 is a really good phone in terms for music i guess

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 25th, 2011, 12:29 am

im sticking with nokia now since this new symbian belle upgrade. I like where its going

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 25th, 2011, 1:02 am

Me too^ I'm still waiting for my dream device :D A Touchscreen with a slide up qwerty keyboard that comes with a good OS :P

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 30th, 2011, 12:32 pm

Symbian Belle is very impressive :O

What's with Nokia and the Fixed Focus cameras?! :x

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 30th, 2011, 1:06 pm

^^tbh, i really dont like nokia camera phone pics so having the best camera on a phone isnt a selling point to me

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 30th, 2011, 1:25 pm

Nokia does not belong in the touch screen market.
Symbian sux on it.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » August 30th, 2011, 2:28 pm

I owned an iPhone 3gs and the pic quality on the Nokia E7 is much better. based on the reviews on the Symbian Belle, I think Nokia just made a bold step in touch screen arena. Its very smooth with no page turn lag.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 7th, 2011, 5:54 am

N9 hit stores a few weeks ago. idk if it can be used in TnT because it requires a micro sim.

BTW another leak:

http://www.gsmarena.com/wp_mango_nokia_sea_ray_leaks_again_to_be_called_nokia_sun-news-3234.php

Postby nemisis » October 7th, 2011, 8:02 am

bmobile have micro sims available

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » October 7th, 2011, 11:09 am

19 days till nokia world...

cah wait

Postby dougla_boy » October 7th, 2011, 11:29 am

i am getting and n8 next week....but i gotta get a new housing for it, my n900 is in need of repairs.....loved the n900 but it huge man.....and heavy, but i love it.....

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » October 7th, 2011, 12:41 pm

original_lollybob wrote:19 days till nokia world...

cah wait

x2.

Really want to see what their windows phone offerrings are. I've seen several rumours/ reports circulating online but I want to see the official stuff!!

Postby Ted_v2 » October 7th, 2011, 12:44 pm

reviews on a 5800? nokia?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » October 7th, 2011, 1:46 pm

excellent phone

current owner myself...

might have one for sale depending on what comes out of nokia world on the 26th :D

Postby Ted_v2 » October 7th, 2011, 2:01 pm

original_lollybob wrote:excellent phone

current owner myself...

might have one for sale depending on what comes out of nokia world on the 26th :D

any faults?

what about the touch screen? its accurate?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 7th, 2011, 4:50 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
original_lollybob wrote:excellent phone

current owner myself...

any faults?

what about the touch screen? its accurate?

Current user here also.

It's a resistive touchscreen so don't expect anything great from it. As a result, texting will be slower. Well basically typing.

It runs on Symbian S60. I have no problems with it except for the crappy browser that comes on all symbian phones so I suggest you download and install Opera. Also you should do a firmware update when you get the phone.

Overall I think it's an awesome phone :D
Last edited by Ronaldo95163 on October 7th, 2011, 8:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » October 7th, 2011, 8:44 pm

symbian 60 is pretty decent.. lil slow at time

firmware must be updated to 51.x

as for the horrible lame crappy browser... instal Opera... really... u must

other than that i jus run the following critical (to me) apps and im very content

N-Desk
i-SMS
Key Lock screen
Opera
Foursquare
Whatsapp

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » October 9th, 2011, 10:24 pm

Quick question for all you Nokia enthusiasts, if you had to choose between a 5800 and a N97 mini, what would you pick and why?

Looking for some user input, tired of all the same old review sheit

jsm1985

Postby jsm1985 » October 10th, 2011, 9:19 am

hoverauto wrote:Quick question for all you Nokia enthusiasts, if you had to choose between a 5800 and a N97 mini, what would you pick and why?

I know you asked about those 2 phones specifically, but why? They're both over 2 years old, use resistive screens and don't run the current software (Symbian Anna/ Belle) and are underpowered/ specced for 2011.

To answer your question between the 2, the N97 mini is better due to having more phone memory space, which can run out on the 5800.

You can find a similar handset in Nokia's 2011 lineup and I guarantee your experience will be much better.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » October 10th, 2011, 11:08 am

^
maybe he gettin a local used option for a good price?

but to the original q

Quick question for all you Nokia enthusiasts, if you had to choose between a 5800 and a N97 mini, what would you pick and why?

Im a 5800 owner twice (dropped one, bought back a new one) and i love it. Like jsm says, its older now so it really cant keep up with the modern smart phone offerings.

Like i was telling soundboy64 earlier, u must update the firmware and the browser, install a few essential apps and you good to go.

but if u looking to buy a brand new nokia touchscreen smartphone... there are much better options.

the N8 (symbian v3), N9 (MeeGo) or if u wait a few weeks, the first 'Microkia' offerings...

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » October 10th, 2011, 4:21 pm

jsm1985 wrote:
hoverauto wrote:Quick question for all you Nokia enthusiasts, if you had to choose between a 5800 and a N97 mini, what would you pick and why?

I know you asked about those 2 phones specifically, but why? They're both over 2 years old, use resistive screens and don't run the current software (Symbian Anna/ Belle) and are underpowered/ specced for 2011.

To answer your question between the 2, the N97 mini is better due to having more phone memory space, which can run out on the 5800.

You can find a similar handset in Nokia's 2011 lineup and I guarantee your experience will be much better.

The reason I'm looking at that kind of option is ONLY due to price. Getting them at excellent prices. I will eventually buy a newer, high end model, but for now I'm looking for something cheap.

I've always been a fan of Nokia, mainly for their camera and loud speaker capabilities (I think I'm going deaf so i need a loud phone, lol)

I presently have a 2G iPhone with flawed custom software and a busted loud speaker, so it frustrating the feck out of me.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » October 11th, 2011, 1:37 pm

love my nokia 5530 its been tru 2 ex gf and being lost in pigeon point rel reliable cah go wrong wit a nokia touch screen

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » October 11th, 2011, 4:45 pm

^^i too had a 5530...really good phone. Only complaint is that the speaker isnt loud while talking and the texting isnt the best experience.

Postby RASC » October 11th, 2011, 4:51 pm

More and more leaked specs and pics of the upcoming Nokia 800 "searay" keep popping up online. Can't wait... Nokia world is nearly upon us people :D

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » October 12th, 2011, 12:03 pm

i doh think that N800 leak is real... i mean nokia already had an N800 thing...

but i really hope i am not disappoint

cah wait for nokia world

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 12th, 2011, 3:09 pm

When is Nokia World BTW?

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » October 12th, 2011, 3:48 pm

oct 26