Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

djblademan

Postby djblademan » April 10th, 2009, 1:27 am

hahah the usual i always watch my babies before i sleep & first thing in d morning after i stretch.
Try tetra colour bits & the tetra pond koi sticks (multi-mix) i prob spend about 200 monthly on food for them boggars. Well later there Rebelb14, i gonna watch em & ZZZzzz....

badmanbopeep

Postby badmanbopeep » April 10th, 2009, 10:05 am

om fellas, to all d tuners wiy aquascapes, how do i get started? what do i need, in terms of the floor bed and such? it looks real nice thinkin bout puttin one together myself. one question, when i put fish in there, how do i clean the tank?

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » April 10th, 2009, 10:54 am

Check Fishy bizniz the man helpful and he prices good. But a planted setup is basically an environment u creating. it should be self sustaining with minimal need to clean tank. Like a cycle nah.

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... &&start=20

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » April 10th, 2009, 11:07 am

djblademan ah go try and post a video soon of d pond.
also how big does that Colombian shark get and whey ah could get to buy.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » April 10th, 2009, 12:15 pm

In about 2 months or so I should be starting back breeding so I'll post up pics when I do, I just need to get 13 Ponds, 30 6' Aquariums and over 40 other tanks cleaned and prep'd :|

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » April 10th, 2009, 12:45 pm

/\/\ Horse yuh want help. Trinituner Fish Keepers Excursion whenever you ready

djblademan

Postby djblademan » April 10th, 2009, 5:39 pm

rmtuner,boy they comes in like once or twice for d year. They can get up to a size of 1 foot or more about 15 inches...
but mind you they need a content of salt in their tank they're brackish water fish...
I awiat you video dude...wanna see that pond in live video recording.

badmanbopeep, it all starts with wat type of fish you wanna mind. could go cichlids or tetras if yuh looking at eco-systems. with plants & stuff to self maintain & have a natrual environment jus as Rebelb14, said. you will hadda mind tetras & loaches & stuff not goldfsh. but you could ask all your questions here & we could help.
wat size tank you looking for & wat fish you wanna mind.... let us know.

allyuh like goldfish? some how i hate them...dont know why?
who else feels like me towards them?

badmanbopeep

Postby badmanbopeep » April 10th, 2009, 10:41 pm

well is goldfish i have in d tank self. but i lookin to put together a naxt tank for a different room in d house na. lookin at sometin 3 to 4 footish. would hav done the same ting as the previous one, lil gravel, filter some plastic plants an ornaments. but i see some pics ah tuner post of ah scape an it look rel good so i say y not.

anywayz loaches i dont mind, however cichlids i hate. so wat kinda floor bedding i lookin at?

wat bout filtration? anytin special?

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » April 10th, 2009, 11:53 pm

if you now starting to do a planted setup i think is bess to start off small like 3 foot for the most. it would be hard to maintain a big tank with plants especially if u dont know what yuh doing as yet.
I myself starting a planted setup for the first time. really into discus now.

bedding and filtration stuff i not too sure bout. I personally not worried bout that when is time for them thing is straight by Fishy bizniz. Plants as well.

I looking for plants that grow straight out of the aqaurium what u guys know of, locally?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 11th, 2009, 1:13 am

djblademan, nice setups yuh hav runnin dey dred...

rmtuner, will also be awaitin the vids, even though i already saw it in person...

djblademan

Postby djblademan » April 11th, 2009, 1:52 am

thanks Ryan

badmanbopeep if you going planted with loaches & stuff... go caura or some river & collect some natrual substrate in the river bed... that is the most perfect option of substrate for a live planted tank or discus. But make sure you go to a very clean part of the river like way up closer to the areas where theere arent much cook ups & drunken limes.... so the gravel would be the cleanest possible free from any human germs & wat not...you could boil it if you feel jus to be sure.
In this way you save on cost & this obviously is very natrual & its best for plants natrually.
This has worked well for me in a few customers tanks & mines as well.
A ang on Jebo 508 will be good for your setup.
why yuh hate cichlids for dude? they're pretty, doh tell meh is cause they does kill each other?
anyone who says cichlids kill each other is cause they aint provide the appropiate home for them or your tank over crowded.
My cichlids tank coming soon.
ryan you have more steups i believe... where the vids?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » April 11th, 2009, 9:04 am

Rebelb14 wrote:/\/\ Horse yuh want help. Trinituner Fish Keepers Excursion whenever you ready

Boy believe it or not, I more or less maintain all of that on my own :(

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » April 11th, 2009, 10:02 am

I have a Paco to sell....offers invited. (it's attacking the other fishes in the Aquarium)
I would take some pix when i get a chance....
It's about 12" long...

badmanbopeep

Postby badmanbopeep » April 13th, 2009, 11:04 am

djblademan, so i lookin at the rel fine sand-like substrate, some loose gravel too....right? how thick should my bed be? now, bout the actual plants. what u recommend? remember i'm a rookie at this, so i lookin at a group of plants that looks good together but a bit easy to manage. but beside the occasional trimming, any set of special treatment?

badmanbopeep

Postby badmanbopeep » April 13th, 2009, 11:09 am

or an bout dem cichlids.....is not exactly dat i dont like dem. dey pretty, dont get me wrong. is just dat i didnt kno dem was so tempramental. i bought a pair one time an put dem wit my goldfish an dem time start nibbling dey tail an chasing dem an ting. an i doh like nuttin harrassing meh precious goldfish.....so i give dem away. :wink:

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 13th, 2009, 4:17 pm

djblademan, yea i hav a few remainin, i got rid of sum of the aquariums dem to start salt but i will post sum pics wen i get home weekend...

Phoenix

For the love of fishes

Postby Phoenix » April 13th, 2009, 8:24 pm

Hi guys, been following the adventures of you great fish enthusiast. I must say, I have seen some really great stuff on here and the ideas that are discussed can only come from guys with a true love of fish.

I have been a bit sceptical about discussing my fish fetish with you lot but after reading 17 pages of post, I now think that you guys will support me in my madness and I feel I have now finally found a forum to call home.

To begin, I have always loved fish and from the age of nine I have been dabbling in some form of fish rearing or the other . Thirty years later and not waning from the habit, I find myself keeping a 75 litre aquarium with 4 gold fishes and a 1000 litre pond with an assortment of cold water fish.

My stock includes one common carp, 4 rudd, an assortment of koi carp, a golden orfe and numerous gold fishes.
In this forum, I would like to share ideas on fish matters with other enthusiast.

One of the biggest problems that I have faced with rearing fish outdoors is the problem of disease on initial setup i.e fin rot fungus . Also, there is the factor of cost, you can go as far as your money will take you with this. Barring these issues, I would say that it is quite a relaxing and enjoyable thing, the time that I have invested is now worthwhile as I was able to part with some stock and make quite a nice profit.

Of course I know that this will not go on forever, I may soon have to give it all up as the wife is wanting to use the garden space to put an extension. But, I will probably downsize and hold on to just a precious few.
Has anyone had problems of disease as I have had on intial setup? And what about cost, do you guys think that fish rearing is restrictive because of this?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 13th, 2009, 9:46 pm

Phoenix, cost is the biggest factor in rearing fish...these issues should be dealt wit..there should be like a club for all fish lovers with membership givin us discounts and stuff...

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » April 13th, 2009, 10:23 pm

Speaking of cost, anyone know the price of a 175-200g glass tank?
anyone has a used one they want to sell?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » April 13th, 2009, 10:38 pm

Ok here is videos of the pond:
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/hZtKhRvoS6c&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/HGo0PCh6_fk&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>
Last edited by rmtuner on March 13th, 2010, 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Phoenix

Postby Phoenix » April 14th, 2009, 8:00 pm

Ryan99tt -I agree fully with this idea of a fish members club and all the rest of it. There is a lot of money to be made if someone with the right idea can set up this type of thing. I am not in a position to comment on the present shops. But my experience tells me that what's needed are not only businesses that can give you the best price but also businesses that can offer sound advice to fish keepers.
I have seen many fish lovers falter because they started without proper guidance, in the end some become disheartened. There is nothing worse than going all out to make your pond/fish tank the best and then losing your stock because of something that is preventable.
In my own experience, I spent quite a bit of money trying to cure a disease that was claiming at least 4 kois weekly. In the end I found a shop that was willing to give me advice instead of trying to sell me products that I did not need. It turned out that there was a bacteria living in the pond plants and after getting rid of the plants and doing a complete clean with ordinary diluted household bleach, my problem just went away, I have not lost any in the past 4 yrs apart from Herons occasionally having the odd one or two.
So you see, it is best to have advice first before spending money. On the issue of fish clubs, you will find that there are enough guys in here who will support this. Does anyone here actually own a fish shop or involve in selling fish/ products? Often times, these individuals will be aware of existing clubs and may possibly be helpful in organising this.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » April 14th, 2009, 8:32 pm

/\ What were the plants planted in?

slimshiney

Postby slimshiney » April 15th, 2009, 9:52 am

Just a question..for the fish lovers....I don't know anything much about them..but i do have some cois...a friend told me to try the pro plan puppy chow....if i wanna em "shoot" up....anyone can confirm this...i know the chow is very high in protein...and i saw his fishes who is on the chow...(they growing rlly fast)....

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » April 15th, 2009, 10:00 am

slimshiney wrote:Just a question..for the fish lovers....I don't know anything much about them..but i do have some cois...a friend told me to try the pro plan puppy chow....if i wanna em "shoot" up....anyone can confirm this...i know the chow is very high in protein...and i saw his fishes who is on the chow...(they growing rlly fast)....

I does give mine dog chow sometimes too.
I think is the Purina brand.
If yuh see how dey does raft it.

Phoenix

Postby Phoenix » April 15th, 2009, 8:02 pm

AGENT RORO, The plants were planted in pond pots and suspended from the sides of the pond.

Postby pugboy » April 15th, 2009, 11:32 pm

I have a couple brand new eugene danner filters if anybody interested
they are 600gph
old school box hanging on the outside with siphon tubes

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » April 16th, 2009, 9:13 am

pugboy wrote:I have a couple brand new eugene danner filters if anybody interested
they are 600gph

wah price yuh callin?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 20th, 2009, 7:04 pm

like nobody else postin up dey vids or evrybody busy studyin fuh exam....

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2009, 7:44 pm

to be honest i really have no idea what to sell them for
also i have to find them, they are somewhere in storage
but they are brand new

rmtuner wrote:
pugboy wrote:I have a couple brand new eugene danner filters if anybody interested
they are 600gph

wah price yuh callin?

djblademan

Postby djblademan » April 22nd, 2009, 11:53 am

Hey fellas i was alil busy for awhile.....
hows the critters everyone?
I was reading tru the last page & someone was highly reccommending a fish club & stuff.....
all i can say is "" geat idea"""
im in full support!

good buy poeple by the way:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 74#3405774

rm i hadda check out your video still i cant view vids & stuff on this shetty gov'nt network here its blocked....
tonight i'll lay down my comments....