Best doubles in T&T

Re: One doubles.........

Postby rollingstock » March 7th, 2022, 11:26 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Kelvin was the realest!!

Started going by him around 2000 when in UWI and up to now the man never forget me and my pardners faces and I don't think we were that regular of a customer by him. Always would ask for everyone by a general description (the fat one, the one who always bought a different girl etc.)

Well nothing wrong with that, when we talking about doubles we used to describe his as the stinky one.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 7th, 2022, 11:44 am

timelapse wrote:Singh's - Freeport flyover.And if yuh is a tustyman, right next to them has a vene selling doubles

Singhs yuh say??? Na mannnn

Postby Redman » March 7th, 2022, 12:11 pm

K74T wrote:
It makes my heart heavy having learnt yesterday of the passing of one of my favourite doubles men, Mr Siew Mungalsingh, better known as Kelvin of the husband and wife duo Kelvin and Rose Hot Doubles.

Kelvin sold doubles next to the Valpark Shopping Plaza and Super Pharm for decades, later moving closer to his home outside of Grand Bazaar Mall. He and his daughter Kim fed thousands of delighted patrons and together they were hallmarks of the culture and cuisine on the East/ West Corridor.

Kelvin was deeply religious. Anyone going to Kelvin and Rose for doubles would hear either the sounds of bhajans, Ramayan Yagna or UNC political meetings being played from their radio.

He was the father in the enchanting father/daughter doubles duo that many came to love, and he lived his life with humility, discipline and a gentle disposition that made him as loveable as his doubles.

On occasions when my sisters Mayantee(Emma) and Parbatie(Judy) and their families returned to our shores a doubles with variations of pepper but dominantly heavy pepper with everything was always on their agenda from"Kelvin and Rose".

On behalf of my wife Allene, daughters Swasti and and Anuradha and all those who we introduced to the "Kelvin and Rose" doubles we extend our deepest condolences to his wife Rose,children and the rest of the Mungalsingh family. Your smile and gentle, hardworking nature were the real delicacy.

Ram Naam Satya Hai.

FB_IMG_1646607837683.jpg

RIP,

Made my record of 8 doubles while waiting for a burger.

He used to hand you the doubles with his pinky up- certainly had pride in what he did.

Postby timelapse » March 7th, 2022, 4:28 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
timelapse wrote:Singh's - Freeport flyover.And if yuh is a tustyman, right next to them has a vene selling doubles

Singhs yuh say??? Na mannnn
Who would you recommend?

Postby rollingstock » March 7th, 2022, 6:11 pm

If you like Singh try George doubles by Brooklyn bar

Postby timelapse » March 7th, 2022, 6:46 pm

rollingstock wrote:If you like Singh try George doubles by Brooklyn bar
Where is that?

Postby K74T » March 7th, 2022, 6:50 pm

Woodbrook

computercentral

Postby computercentral » March 7th, 2022, 7:12 pm

Only ate that doubles when the police reached on the scene……. What drag race we come for doubles

Postby rollingstock » March 7th, 2022, 7:47 pm

timelapse wrote:
Where is that?

I joking eh. That sheit disgusting.

Postby timelapse » March 7th, 2022, 7:50 pm

timelapse wrote:
Where is that?

I leaving central to go Woodbrook for a doubles?I figured you were on sheit.

Postby rollingstock » March 7th, 2022, 8:19 pm

Central man eh.

Munroe road by the flyover, white van does be there on weekends where the vegetable stalls are.

Jerningham junction road by Pablo.

By the grounds Munroe road, both persons.

Steve on welcome road by the school.

All those are solid doubles, can't go wrong. Steve roast pepper deadly

Postby Dave » March 7th, 2022, 8:20 pm

Haha. I knew this had to be a joke.
timelapse wrote:
Where is that?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 8th, 2022, 4:38 am

all the good double men dead like same george from broklyn bar, his father doubles in the 90's was the best in POS. all them double men now making doubles cheap cheap and feel covering the taste with pepper makes them a winner. even arby ali like he hire a new cook as he probably get too old that the doubles tasting different. it stop being salty and bara not burnt and the channa more like a channa souse than doubles channa.

Postby timelapse » March 8th, 2022, 6:14 am

daring dragoon wrote:all the good double men dead like same george from broklyn bar, his father doubles in the 90's was the best in POS. all them double men now making doubles cheap cheap and feel covering the taste with pepper makes them a winner. even arby ali like he hire a new cook as he probably get too old that the doubles tasting different. it stop being salty and bara not burnt and the channa more like a channa souse than doubles channa.
Was waiting for somebody to make this point.
If a doubles requires a heap of pepper and other sauces to taste good,then the doubles by itself either tasteless or not tasting good.

hindian

Postby hindian » March 8th, 2022, 6:23 am

Agreed. That's why if i trying from someone I've never eaten from before, is just slight pepper alone I want. If it eh cut with that alone it ain't worth it IMO

Postby *KRONIK* » March 8th, 2022, 7:00 am

hindian wrote:Agreed. That's why if i trying from someone I've never eaten from before, is just slight pepper alone I want. If it eh cut with that alone it ain't worth it IMO
This man understand the science here

Postby *KRONIK* » March 8th, 2022, 7:04 am

I remember when i had my 1st doubles by Kelvin & Rose

I took my uncle to purchase a car (yes, man gone to buy a car at 10pm in the night) and he needed a transport for security reasons. M
Before we reach, man say lewwe go eat a bess doubles. So we stop off and blaze ting.

I never understood the need for cucumber and lettuce tho

Postby MaxPower » March 8th, 2022, 7:30 am

Friends,

Have the salad please.

Postby timelapse » March 8th, 2022, 8:24 am

*KRONIK* wrote:I remember when i had my 1st doubles by Kelvin & Rose

I took my uncle to purchase a car (yes, man gone to buy a car at 10pm in the night) and he needed a transport for security reasons. M
Before we reach, man say lewwe go eat a bess doubles. So we stop off and blaze ting.

Dem feel is bake and shark.
Worse yet is blasted carrots.I stop buying from a good doubles man because of this sheit.Carrots in the frickin channa.wdmc.
I does eat enough salad by itself.

Postby rollingstock » March 8th, 2022, 8:44 am

Wait your uncle said lewwe go eat a Bess doubles and went there. :lol: Yuh uncle troll yuh

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2022, 8:51 am

george is still alive and well
he sells brooklyn bar on weekends
his son sells there during the week
both are subpar

their doubles was good years ago when the wife was the one behind it, after she split it was all downhill and using the subcontracted bara

daring dragoon wrote:all the good double men dead like same george from broklyn bar, his father doubles in the 90's was the best in POS. all them double men now making doubles cheap cheap and feel covering the taste with pepper makes them a winner. even arby ali like he hire a new cook as he probably get too old that the doubles tasting different. it stop being salty and bara not burnt and the channa more like a channa souse than doubles channa.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 8th, 2022, 8:56 am

timelapse wrote:
Was waiting for somebody to make this point.
If a doubles requires a heap of pepper and other sauces to taste good,then the doubles by itself either tasteless or not tasting good.

I used to only take heavy pepper no matter what. Those days done now and my current compromise is medium pepper and never meddle up in roast anything.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » March 8th, 2022, 9:27 am

doubles get too expensive now tho plus dat 6 times tables maths rel hard 4 me to count d change so i just doh go nomore i relly doh find $6 worth it for ah doubles. i go make ah sada roti if ah want to swell up n fart whole day.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 8th, 2022, 9:33 am

pugboy wrote:george is still alive and well
he sells brooklyn bar on weekends
his son sells there during the week
both are subpar

their doubles was good years ago when the wife was the one behind it, after she split it was all downhill and using the subcontracted bara

about 20 years ago i used to work in the area and he used to sell on french street by hilo at the time in front the vegetable stall opposite the school.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 8th, 2022, 9:35 am

bamfo_dennis wrote:doubles get too expensive now tho plus dat 6 times tables maths rel hard 4 me to count d change so i just doh go nomore i relly doh find $6 worth it for ah doubles. i go make ah sada roti if ah want to swell up n fart whole day.

i watching a youtube video with JB mancave and he walking to chaguanas an it still selling $5.

Postby *KRONIK* » March 8th, 2022, 9:35 am

Wait your uncle said lewwe go eat a Bess doubles and went there. Yuh uncle troll yuh
Lol

Lemme stay quiet yes
He is a tuner too

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2022, 9:37 am

yes he shared space at brooklyn bar because at one time his exwife/daughter and him /son were selling next to each other eye to eye but most ppl were buying from her so he moved elsewhere to a diff customer base

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » March 8th, 2022, 9:38 am

How come so much doubles men getting kill over these last few years? Had doubles from Kelvin and Rose once or twice , was pretty decent , would drive by now and then in the afternoon but never saw them again , now I know why. RIP

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 8th, 2022, 9:55 am

KM_2NR wrote:How come so much doubles men getting kill over these last few years? Had doubles from Kelvin and Rose once or twice , was pretty decent , would drive by now and then in the afternoon but never saw them again , now I know why. RIP

Kelvin passed away a couple days ago. RIP

IMG_7616.JPG

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 8th, 2022, 10:14 am

Here is my list:

Rich plain rd, dm
Wmr, st James
Lcm, st James
Shoppes of maraval
Cipriani Blvd
Qps opp napa (nights)
George by Brooklyn
George ex
Central Market
Uwee
Mts plaza
Opposite Medford gas station next to crime watch
Chase village by globe city
Ramsaran st chaguanas (opp market st)
Isaac Junction couva

The worst is the fella by Cipriani. The best is Medford, Isaac and uwee.

Now my taste buds could be off eh. This is coming from a guy who finds bbq Hutt and Duncan village bbq does lash hard.