Re: Former Prime Minister Basdeo Panday has died

Postby pugboy » January 1st, 2024, 9:43 pm

wonder if anr waiting for him by the gates

wing

Postby wing » January 1st, 2024, 11:06 pm

Kickstart wrote:Bas said

Open the Jail I know my cell, I ant afraid of no jail.

He pleaded guilty when PNM tried to set him up with fictitious charges.

Police raided his house, and PNM police rough him up. Even PNM MPs was upset with this raid.

Hypocrites on tuner giving him RIP, you will see even more Hypocrites in the media coming out to praise him.
That's rich coming from you and the evil queen. Backstabbing neemakharams, the whole lot of you. I doubt he will even rest in peace, having died knowing what that witch and her minions did to his party.

Postby j.o.e » January 2nd, 2024, 2:30 am

RIP Mr. Panday. People like zoom will come here and call me a PNM and not know me and Bas were closer than most people could ever be. Rest good silver fox

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 2nd, 2024, 6:03 am

If you win three times that's a hattrick

If you lose 3 times thas a Patrick

What a man. Rip

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » January 2nd, 2024, 6:16 am

Is there somewhere one can find evidence of this 'run de country on $10 a barrel of oil'.....or the oft-quoted '$6 a barrel'?

Because since 1995,the best I can find is that oil prices dipped to about twenty-something dollars a barrel during his tenure.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 2nd, 2024, 6:36 am

Year low 1998 was 10.82

Yet there was no complaining, no drastic increase in taxes, the roads were well paved, and the murder rate was kept under 100

What a man . Best PM ever.
Screenshot_20240102_063230_Chrome.jpg

Postby 16 cycles » January 2nd, 2024, 7:01 am

RIP Silver Fox...

Postby adnj » January 2nd, 2024, 7:04 am

Closing oil prices in 1998 hit a low of $10.82; or $20.25 when adjusting for inflation.

Closing oil prices in 2020 hit a low of $11.26; for an inflation adjusted price of $13.49.

In real dollars, the price in 2020 was more than 30% below the price in 1998.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 2nd, 2024, 7:10 am

Difference was that the average low every year between 1995 and 2000 never crossed 22 dollars

Between 2020 and 2023 average low was between 39 and 94

That is a vast difference

And as I said we now under huge pressure with taxes and the price of gas while the country was actually well run and happy during 1995 and 2000. So much so that UNC won the election in 2000

Postby paid_influencer » January 2nd, 2024, 7:24 am

wing wrote:

Police raided his house, and PNM police rough him up. Even PNM MPs was upset with this raid.

Hypocrites on tuner giving him RIP, you will see even more Hypocrites in the media coming out to praise him.
That's rich coming from you and the evil queen. Backstabbing neemakharams, the whole lot of you. I doubt he will even rest in peace, having died knowing what that witch and her minions did to his party.

usurper

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » January 2nd, 2024, 7:24 am

wing wrote:

Would not make a difference. People like you vote for the PNM tribe and made this country a mess.

Postby adnj » January 2nd, 2024, 7:29 am

PariaMan wrote:Difference was that the average low every year between 1995 and 2000 never crossed 22 dollars

And as I said we now under huge pressure with taxes and the price of gas while the country was actually well run and happy during 1995 and 2000. So much so that UNC won the election in 2000
Oil production in 1998 was about 120K BBL/D.

In 2020, oil poduction was about half of that at 60K BBL/D. Current oil production is lower still.

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2024, 7:41 am

when did the lng bonanza start to make the oil money look like pocket change ?

adnj wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Difference was that the average low every year between 1995 and 2000 never crossed 22 dollars

In 2020, oil poduction was about half of that at 60K BBL/D. Current oil production is lower still.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » January 2nd, 2024, 7:44 am

But also look at the state of the country now

Murders close to 600

Then was less than 100

Look at the roads

Taxes going up. Utilities going

We are in one big mess

My argument is that he did a good job with the country during that period with the resources available

This period not so much

Postby mero » January 2nd, 2024, 7:56 am

Lol 2nr losers cyah even respectfully mourn Bas without talking bout Rowley and who go celebrate when he dead.

Nontheless RIP Bas, You were charismatic and cheerful and played a significant role in T&T politics.
However you were still a convicted sentenced criminal.

So can we keep that Marlene death thread energy going? . So many fun quotables.

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2024, 8:02 am

that’s the reality, now is a setta excuse making imps running the country

PariaMan wrote:But also look at the state of the country now

Murders close to 600

Then was less than 100

Look at the roads

Taxes going up. Utilities going

We are in one big mess

My argument is that he did a good job with the country during that period with the resources available

This period not so much

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 2nd, 2024, 8:13 am

Where will Trinidad find a PM like this again?
A man from the people, for the people.

Hopefully this allows all the party supporters to reflect on what a relative disaster Kamla Persad-Bissessar is, compared to Bas.

My guy even has an IMDB page: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0659220/

Condolences.

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2024, 9:03 am

a man who not afraid to take questions from the public and give an answer
a man who not making excuses
a man who not hiding behind other ministers
a man who not blaming everybody else

Postby The_Honourable » January 2nd, 2024, 11:03 am

pugboy wrote:when did the lng bonanza start to make the oil money look like pocket change ?

adnj wrote:

Started I believe in 2002.

Manning set out the LNG idea and laid the groundwork after the 1990 coup. Thankfully Panday wasn't petty and continued the idea where by 1999, first cargo of LNG was shipped. Profits were "decent" at first due to a subdued market. By the 2000s during the wars, profits became obscene.

Postby maj. tom » January 2nd, 2024, 11:52 am

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » January 2nd, 2024, 12:20 pm

mero wrote:Lol 2nr losers cyah even respectfully mourn Bas without talking bout Rowley and who go celebrate when he dead.

Nontheless RIP Bas, You were charismatic and cheerful and played a significant role in T&T politics.

He appealed his case and won and was never criminal as PNM set him out to be.

Stop spreading false information hypocrite

"On 24 April 2006, Panday was found guilty on all three charges laid back in 2002, and sentenced to two years with hard labour and slapped with a TT$20,000 fine. He appealed the decision".

Postby adnj » January 2nd, 2024, 12:38 pm

pugboy wrote:when did the lng bonanza start to make the oil money look like pocket change ?

adnj wrote:

Given the number of budget surpluses during the same period, a better question would be, "Why has Total Government Debt quintupled over the last 20 years?"

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2024, 12:45 pm

boy we could say that from the first oil boom and the next one

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 2nd, 2024, 1:10 pm

Kickstart wrote:
mero wrote:Lol 2nr losers cyah even respectfully mourn Bas without talking bout Rowley and who go celebrate when he dead.

He appealed his case and won and was never criminal as PNM set him out to be.

Stop spreading false information hypocrite

"On 24 April 2006, Panday was found guilty on all three charges laid back in 2002, and sentenced to two years with hard labour and slapped with a TT$20,000 fine. He appealed the decision".

Panday freed of 11-year-old UK bank charge (Article date: 26th June, 2012)
https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... 18b37e9dd8

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 2nd, 2024, 1:11 pm

Postby redmanjp » January 2nd, 2024, 3:08 pm

Postby bluefete » January 2nd, 2024, 7:28 pm

https://medium.com/@josettenicoledeonan ... b65d491021

The Life and Legacy of Basdeo Panday
Nicole Deonanan

Unifying a Nation, Strengthening its’ Core

As the world ushered in the promise of a new year on January 1, 2024, there was a poignant note of reflection for Trinidad and Tobago with the passing of political luminary, Basdeo Panday who bid farewell to a life that has left an indelible mark on the twin-island republic

As we reflect on his recent passing, we recognize the historic significance of Panday’s role as the first individual of East Indian descent to hold the esteemed position of Prime Minister. His legacy transcends political milestones, encompassing transformative economic reforms, infrastructure development, and a dedication to addressing societal inequities. In contemplating the loss of this political luminary, we acknowledge that Basdeo Panday’s impact resonates deeply within the socio-political fabric of Trinidad and Tobago, forever shaping its collective identity.

Postby aaron17 » January 2nd, 2024, 7:45 pm

A grim way to start off 2024 on the first day of the new year.

Postby redmanjp » January 2nd, 2024, 7:56 pm

aaron17 wrote:A grim way to start off 2024 on the first day of the new year.

look at it this way, he fight 2023 like that lion he always talked about fighting - then he probably just say he make it to 2024 is time to go

RIP