Tenants Vs Landlords

DMan7

Re: Tenants Vs Landlords

Postby DMan7 » August 27th, 2023, 2:38 pm

No one ain't tell them Jail has free rent or what?

Postby pugboy » August 27th, 2023, 2:47 pm

yeah but last meal is at 2pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 27th, 2023, 4:52 pm

Just wait until property taxes are introduced and rent goes up

Postby gastly369 » August 27th, 2023, 5:08 pm

Redvevo is prob de Tennant union president....

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » August 27th, 2023, 5:17 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Just wait until property taxes are introduced and rent goes up

Why rent must go up?
Why can't landlord absorb the property tax in his cost structure..

Postby adnj » August 27th, 2023, 5:17 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:I honestly just amazed at the mindset of the tenants on the group. Is like they vex they hadda rent from people and pay them

Not only that...

Seeing in that same group tenants advising others to live out the security deposit instead of paying the last month's rent :?

There are landlords out there that are renting with only one months' rent as a security deposit?

Oh, that's so sweet.

Postby MaxPower » August 27th, 2023, 6:13 pm

Landlords,

Charge your price, keep your price and have your properties in order.

#sayNOtosufferers

Postby gastly369 » August 27th, 2023, 8:22 pm

MaxPower wrote:Landlords,

Charge your price, keep your price and have your properties in order.

#sayNOtosufferers

Let them use Mc Donalds free WiFi to voice their views on social media....

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » August 27th, 2023, 8:34 pm

A lot of these tenants coming out from unruly areas and wanna live in nice place but vex about price. Push them back in their red district. Had a female officer rented by my mother and had her girlfriend staying to help with rent. She ended up getting caught with the girlfriend man in bed and they fight and mash up the apartment. Guess who payed for it. She lucky I ehh went and report at her work only cause she a single mom.

Postby pugboy » August 27th, 2023, 8:38 pm

what about asking for previous landlord referrals?
they might hesitate one time

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 28th, 2023, 6:24 am

AlphaMan wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Just wait until property taxes are introduced and rent goes up

Why rent must go up?

Nice joke...1 in every 20 landlords may do that. When taxes do hit other businesses one can hope that they would absorb costs as well right ?

WRONG!!!!

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » August 28th, 2023, 10:39 am

And here I was considering renting my place once construction is completed.

With the type of attitude I hearing from local, it might be best I turn it into an Airbnb.

Postby teems1 » August 28th, 2023, 10:43 am

AlphaMan wrote:

Why rent must go up?
Because that's the way the world works. The people with the least leverage end up paying.

Postby zoom rader » August 28th, 2023, 10:47 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:And here I was considering renting my place once construction is completed.

With the type of attitude I hearing from local, it might be best I turn it into an Airbnb.
Don't give up,

Properly screen ur Tennants and get the right fit.

With Airbnb u get on and off income. Rental is fixed according to ur lease

Postby The_Honourable » August 28th, 2023, 10:55 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:And here I was considering renting my place once construction is completed.

Don't give up,

Correct.

Advisable to let an attorney that specializes in real estate & property law go through your lease agreement to make sure there are no loopholes. Many landlords out there use a generic copy paste agreement that results in conflict at times.

Postby pugboy » August 28th, 2023, 11:24 am

a good agent can help screen them beforehand and request referrals, job letters

if you put up a sign on the main rd “apt for rent”
you will get the sufferers

airbnb can be headache if you not accustomed to keeping the place like a hotel

Don't give up,

viedcht

Postby viedcht » August 28th, 2023, 3:59 pm

It have some greasy landlords, I eh go deny dat. But some ah dem tenants feel like is H D fakkin C dey renting from

Talking bout dem... Why struggling people don't just go squat in some of those hdc structures and empty government land? If you desperate and destitute enough the government shouldn't have a problem right? They supposed to take care of you!

Postby pugboy » August 28th, 2023, 4:12 pm

first question to ask some of them is if they know who they parents are
that will weed out a lot of them

Postby 88sins » August 28th, 2023, 7:03 pm

Currntly in the process of construction of new 8 unit building, so lemme drop my 2 lead shillings in d mix.

Generally speaking, it's a give and take from both sides There's shiddy landlords, and crappy tenants. And there's decent parties on both sides as well. Both sides have responsibilities, and obligations, and if you agree to the terms in the lease, including the amount of rent, you have to honor your agreement, especially if you expect your landlord to do the same. If you can't, don't occupy, if the rent goes up, and you can't afford it, talk to your landlord, and if an arrangement cannot be reached, move to what you can afford. It really that simple.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 28th, 2023, 9:37 pm

Being a landlord is a risky thing here the way many tenants and posters to those facebook pages comment.

They're the type pf people you see on those car for sale pages that, though the seller may have a price that may not be in agreement, the "buyers" (who let's face it aren't buying ANYTHING) are QUICK to insult (and sometimes make threats on) a seller, instead of just walking away.

We generally have a "Champagne taste & Mauby pocket" mentality here, but we want to TELL the people that they HAVE to give them that champagne cause times are hard.

Postby 88sins » August 28th, 2023, 10:20 pm

MISHI wrote:Being a landlord is a risky thing here the way many tenants and posters to those facebook pages comment.

They're the type pf people you see on those car for sale pages that, though the seller may have a price that may not be in agreement, the "buyers" (who let's face it aren't buying ANYTHING) are QUICK to insult (and sometimes make threats on) a seller, instead of just walking away.

We generally have a "Champagne taste & Mauby pocket" mentality here, but we want to TELL the people that they HAVE to give them that champagne cause times are hard.

Want that champagne? Hadda be able to afford it. Can't afford it? That sounding like a you problem, not a me problem.
But ok, I go play along
Say I invest $. 5M of my money and build 2 units, you know how long it takes me to recoup my investment @ $2500/m? 16 years, that's how long. Now, imagine I didn't have that cash and had to borrow, and the finance company on my case. I supposed to charge what? $500? Why? Cuz you can't afford it and "times hard". Why? Your time hard, and mine soft?

Funny thing tho
The ppl who complain the most, are the ones that are the most financially irresponsible and spend the most money on the most dotishness (boat ride, weave, alcohol and lime, fete, etc), and doing things to put themselves in problems that they damn well know for a fact they cannot afford. Yuh landlord send yuh to make children? Yuh landlord anchor u in that minimum wage job? Is he put a gun to yuh head and make u go on that boat ride and spend all yuh money on the outfit and ticket and alcohol? No, no, and no.
So why is your inability to afford your rent because of your poor choices a burden he should have to bear?

Postby pugboy » August 28th, 2023, 10:39 pm

you based that opinion on a sufferer fb group?

MISHI wrote:Being a landlord is a risky thing here the way many tenants and posters to those facebook pages comment.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 28th, 2023, 11:59 pm

pugboy wrote:you based that opinion on a sufferer fb group?

Of course not.

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2023, 7:44 am

it is alleged that jack warner have numerous small apt buildings in the eastern corridor, mid to lower end of the range. i knew somebody who rented from him.

i wonder how he does handle all the sufferers

Postby Chimera » August 29th, 2023, 7:49 am

Probably have some gangster property managers who does evict yuh as soon as yuh miss.

I have a bredrin from bamboo who have several houses and cars he does rent in tobago. He have a tobago police managing it so he doesn't get any problems at all

Postby pugboy » August 29th, 2023, 8:00 am

maybe the tuner pohleece could offer services
i recall the late rspann saying he utilized a tuner cop to assist with some tenants

Postby j.o.e » August 29th, 2023, 8:48 am

Had a tenant giving trouble I went and just remove the front and back door a night while they wasn’t home. Pests does make yuh start to move like a savage

Postby Chimera » August 29th, 2023, 9:42 am

If you willing the go the gangster route yes it have plenty you could do.

The legal route is a shitty one

Have a relative where a tenant owing him 20k in rent and the court order him to pay 200 a month which he doesn't even pay

The relative didn't want to go the gangster route because he didn't want any bad publicity

Postby sMASH » August 29th, 2023, 11:25 am

Go in the panel box when them not there, make all their connections 240v, then normslize it

Postby maj. tom » August 29th, 2023, 11:39 am

So basically burn down your apartment.