eliteauto wrote:Took about 30 mins to access the site after the 12:00pm "launch" almost 3 hours later some of my daughter's classmates are now getting their results
redmanjp wrote:would love to know how this year results compare to last years which was supposedly affected by pandemic school closures
paid_influencer wrote:redmanjp wrote:would love to know how this year results compare to last years which was supposedly affected by pandemic school closures
me too. who placed 1st is a kinda useless thing since somebody had to come first. that is not achievement for the govt to be celebrating.
but the % that fail, how the median scores changed, what % scores is for a first-choice pass, now that is useful information. hopefully they give we that
Gladiator wrote:paid_influencer wrote:redmanjp wrote:would love to know how this year results compare to last years which was supposedly affected by pandemic school closures
me too. who placed 1st is a kinda useless thing since somebody had to come first. that is not achievement for the govt to be celebrating.
but the % that fail, how the median scores changed, what % scores is for a first-choice pass, now that is useful information. hopefully they give we that
The govt don't "celebrate" the 1st place, but its an accomplishment that should be recognized
paid_influencer wrote:Gladiator wrote:paid_influencer wrote:redmanjp wrote:would love to know how this year results compare to last years which was supposedly affected by pandemic school closures
The govt don't "celebrate" the 1st place, but its an accomplishment that should be recognized
disagree. The SEA was never designed for that purpose - the top places announcement is a harmful sideshow for all involved
paid_influencer wrote:Gladiator wrote:paid_influencer wrote:redmanjp wrote:would love to know how this year results compare to last years which was supposedly affected by pandemic school closures
disagree. The SEA was never designed for that purpose - the top places announcement is a harmful sideshow for all involved
Gladiator wrote:paid_influencer wrote:Gladiator wrote:paid_influencer wrote:redmanjp wrote:would love to know how this year results compare to last years which was supposedly affected by pandemic school closures
I don't think it was... entire villages celebrated with their top students. It made them proud and increased the comradery amongst neighbors. Many top performing but needy students received sponsors from private sector for books, clothes etc. The Govt also gave a scholarship for the top place.
I agree. This innovation was fairly recent and seems to be just for bragging rights among parents and schools. All the years prior with CE and early SEA never had this obsession with top 100 or whatever. And now it has become political when the minister revert to the old system and the lawyers(we know their affiliation) get involved.paid_influencer wrote:Gladiator wrote:paid_influencer wrote:redmanjp wrote:would love to know how this year results compare to last years which was supposedly affected by pandemic school closures
redmanjp wrote:CNC3: 58% got more than 50% in 2023 compared to 37% scoring more than 50% in 2022
Orrr...now seeing your political bias...carry onpaid_influencer wrote:redmanjp wrote:CNC3: 58% got more than 50% in 2023 compared to 37% scoring more than 50% in 2022
this is very good news for the whole country. I telling allyuh Dolly is the best MoE we get in a long time, better than Kamla or Hazel even.
maybe that 2022 SEA had some problems with the exam itself tho. that is a very big outlier
Actually you know little of what you speak of, the common entrance always had a top 100 list and the first 3 or 5 students got medals in the independence day award ceremony.wing wrote:I agree. This innovation was fairly recent and seems to be just for bragging rights among parents and schools. All the years prior with CE and early SEA never had this obsession with top 100 or whatever. And now it has become political when the minister revert to the old system and the lawyers(we know their affiliation) get involved.paid_influencer wrote:Gladiator wrote:paid_influencer wrote:redmanjp wrote:would love to know how this year results compare to last years which was supposedly affected by pandemic school closures
paid_influencer wrote:allyuh fellas talking about that top 10 list and ent realize people want to scrap the whole exam and concordat too
paid_influencer wrote:maybe that 2022 SEA had some problems with the exam itself tho. that is a very big outlier
paid_influencer wrote:allyuh fellas talking about that top 10 list and ent realize people want to scrap the whole exam and concordat too
redmanjp wrote:paid_influencer wrote:maybe that 2022 SEA had some problems with the exam itself tho. that is a very big outlier
it was poor performance due to pandemic school lockdowns
triniterribletim wrote:They don't want to give out the $1000 dollars to Top 100 students anymore. Simple as. Save money on the awards ceremony at the LRC as well.