When is the best time to check your engine oil to get a good reading?

I check it when my engine is cold( sits for a long time)
100%
I warm up my engine at operating temperature, then I wait til it cools down to check it
No votes

Total votes: 15

Re: When is the best time to check your engine oil to get a good reading?

Postby Dave » April 22nd, 2022, 3:52 am

Let me echo the same sentiments being shared about diesel oil having more detergents.
When I do a service on a vehicle and sludge is an issue from missed changes, diesel oil works wonders in cleaning the engine up.
Don't allow it to remain for a regular change interval but as soon as the oil discolors, it should be changed not too soon after. A cleaning of the valve cover when using the diesel would also help remove some of the heaviness of the sludge and not make the engine work harder when all the crud has become loose.

Postby De Dragon » April 22nd, 2022, 6:32 am

Nevarrrr, bad man doh check oil.

Postby j.o.e » April 22nd, 2022, 7:35 am

European car weekly.Japanese car never

hindian

Postby hindian » April 22nd, 2022, 9:49 am

Dave wrote:Let me echo the same sentiments being shared about diesel oil having more detergents.
When I do a service on a vehicle and sludge is an issue from missed changes, diesel oil works wonders in cleaning the engine up.
Don't allow it to remain for a regular change interval but as soon as the oil discolors, it should be changed not too soon after. A cleaning of the valve cover when using the diesel would also help remove some of the heaviness of the sludge and not make the engine work harder when all the crud has become loose.
I share the same view as well but I usually use a half quart of transmission fluid in with the old oil ever so often. Drain and replace with correct oil after running it about half hour or so . Aint fail me yet on a Hyundai Matrix doing close to 300k on the original engine

Postby adnj » April 22nd, 2022, 8:20 pm

agent007 wrote:It also depends on the vehicle you drive and the age of the engine. Some engines consume oil which is normal operation like some boxer and rotary engines.

Do some research so you would know if your engine is more at risk to oil burn or not. It is important to pour the correct viscosity/body as per manufacturer specs.

0W-20 and 5W-30 are common for most new/modern fuel injected, direct injected, forced induction and hybrid vehicles.

Recently a particular dealership poured 10W-30 in a new turbocharged engine doing 20,000kms. After 2 months, I decided to check the dipstick and saw that almost half the oil was burnt. The dealership's response to this was basically to doh hot yuh head cause if the engine mash up, they would replace it for free since I have evidence that they did the wrong thing.

Again I underscore, make sure the correct body is poured into your engine. These modern engines with sophisticated valve timing systems, twin cam heads and 4 valve per cylinder etc require proper lubrication and pouring thick oil into the engine would not help it at all.

Stop driving off as soon as you cold start the engine. Let the operating temperature regularize first and allow the oil to properly reach the head before you simply drive off hard or start to rev up etc.

If you're lucky enough to have a 4E-FE, 5A/4A-FE, 1G-FE, 1/2JZ-GE, GA15/16DE, SR18/20DE, RB20/25DE, 4G63, B16A and K20A then kindly ignore. We understand those engines can run like Swiss watches even if you pour sand and water in them lol.
All engines consume oil - all of them - but at different rates. Boxer and rotary engines have looser tolerances on piston rings and apex seals that allow a thicker oil film residue in the combustion chamber.

Postby adnj » April 22nd, 2022, 8:26 pm

aaron17 wrote:I always don't check it when it reaches operating temperature even though the manual says it. Only cold.
What is the purpose of checking it at operating temperature? Even if we are in a warm climate?

It appears that you have confused two different things.

Engine oil level should be checked when the engine is switched off and cool.

Automatic transmission fluid should be checked with the engine is at operating temperature and while the vehicle transmission is in park.

Check fluid when parked on a level surface.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » April 22nd, 2022, 8:28 pm

Rotaries inject engine oil directly into the combustion chambers from factory
adnj wrote:
agent007 wrote:It also depends on the vehicle you drive and the age of the engine. Some engines consume oil which is normal operation like some boxer and rotary engines.

Do some research so you would know if your engine is more at risk to oil burn or not. It is important to pour the correct viscosity/body as per manufacturer specs.

0W-20 and 5W-30 are common for most new/modern fuel injected, direct injected, forced induction and hybrid vehicles.

Recently a particular dealership poured 10W-30 in a new turbocharged engine doing 20,000kms. After 2 months, I decided to check the dipstick and saw that almost half the oil was burnt. The dealership's response to this was basically to doh hot yuh head cause if the engine mash up, they would replace it for free since I have evidence that they did the wrong thing.

Again I underscore, make sure the correct body is poured into your engine. These modern engines with sophisticated valve timing systems, twin cam heads and 4 valve per cylinder etc require proper lubrication and pouring thick oil into the engine would not help it at all.

Stop driving off as soon as you cold start the engine. Let the operating temperature regularize first and allow the oil to properly reach the head before you simply drive off hard or start to rev up etc.

If you're lucky enough to have a 4E-FE, 5A/4A-FE, 1G-FE, 1/2JZ-GE, GA15/16DE, SR18/20DE, RB20/25DE, 4G63, B16A and K20A then kindly ignore. We understand those engines can run like Swiss watches even if you pour sand and water in them lol.
All engines consume oil - all of them - but at different rates. Boxer and rotary engines have looser tolerances on piston rings and apex seals that allow a thicker oil film residue in the combustion chamber.

Postby adnj » April 22nd, 2022, 9:35 pm

kamakazi wrote:Rotaries inject engine oil directly into the combustion chambers from factory

IIRC Mazda rotaries injected oil right at the intake port before the compression cycle, not during combustion.

Postby redmanjp » April 22nd, 2022, 11:27 pm

Mercenary wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:D bess time to check is when the the oil light come on and yuh see smoke coming from under the bonnet.

my oil light hasn't come on in ah while, even with the key in the ON position before starting engine :roll:

Postby Dave » April 23rd, 2022, 5:00 am

Lol bulb or sensor.
Was probably on so long the bulb blew out.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » April 23rd, 2022, 11:26 am

What oil change intervals yall use?

I really do have a sludgy engine that im trying to clean out, go try out these things too.

Postby Dave » April 23rd, 2022, 11:42 am

Wynn's and Amsoil sell oil flushes that isn't kerosene in a bottle.
A 15/40 diesel oil with a quick change As it darkens can be useful.
Change interval is dependant upon brand and filter choice.
Btw I have used a chubby bottle of kerosene in an engine for a clean up. Don't drive it nor rev and drain about 10mins after. Kerosene is still cheaper than buying a flush that is kerosene.

Postby Chimera » April 23rd, 2022, 11:51 am

Zalos wrote:What oil change intervals yall use?

I really do have a sludgy engine that im trying to clean out, go try out these things too.

anytime yuh driving and yuh start to hear like it have a jehovah witness sending a bbm message under the bonnet...knocking and pinging....

it mean is time to change the oil

Zalos

Postby Zalos » April 23rd, 2022, 12:05 pm

Dave wrote:Wynn's and Amsoil sell oil flushes that isn't kerosene in a bottle.
A 15/40 diesel oil with a quick change As it darkens can be useful.
Change interval is dependant upon brand and filter choice.
Btw I have used a chubby bottle of kerosene in an engine for a clean up. Don't drive it nor rev and drain about 10mins after. Kerosene is still cheaper than buying a flush that is kerosene.

Yeah I run some kerosene already, and doing a quick oil change 1st.
Is a Honda, en go dead :lol:

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 23rd, 2022, 12:07 pm

I can't say I agree on the QG's. Those were garbage imo as we had 2 and both struggled to return 260kms per tank and we tired change MAFS and coil packs. The 16 was local from an Almera without catalyst and the 15 was from a roro Wingroad with catalyst.

Anyway, 1NZ-FE and 1ZZ-FE I totally forgot to mention. Great stuff especially the latter which boasts of some forged internals stock from the factory.

I just changed oil in a 1NZ-FE E141 Corolla that did not service since October 2019. It had Valvoline in it and a FRAM xtraguard oil filter.The oil came out like a thick molasses type syrup. Talk about it being black, burnt and very clumpy.

Filled up the engine with Amsoil 5W-30 full synthetic and paired it with a genuine Toyota oil filter and upon first crank, the engine start so easily. It was significantly quieter than before and I'm sure it runs cooler too. Due to Amsoil's excellent lubrication and cleaning characteristics, I'll run it for 6 months and do another drain. I expect the Amsoil to do a lot of cleaning inside there.

Oil level prior to full drain? On point!

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 23rd, 2022, 12:22 pm

QG's are the best the rest are substandard. Nissan always FTW as usual.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 23rd, 2022, 12:29 pm

I am willing to accept that the 2 QG's we owned for a collective period of 22 years were garbage. We apparently were the unlucky ones.

Postby rollingstock » April 23rd, 2022, 12:54 pm

4a91 ftw

Postby Dave » April 23rd, 2022, 12:58 pm

Old man had a SGL from Massy and that was one of the best cars we ever had. Changed cam and crank and air flow as per recall. Owned for 14 years.
We also had a SS B14 Sentra from Massy and that could rival the GA16. They never went Massy btw for service apart from the 1k km free service.
Neither missed a beat as far as engine performance and response. Gas was also good when my father drove.
It all boils down to knowing what you have and to me I have zero faith in any and all dealership service bays.
Subaru was just added to a failure in terms of service with an XV that was purchased but doesn't surprise me quite honestly.

agent007 wrote:I am willing to accept that the 2 QG's we owned for a collective period of 22 years were garbage. We apparently were the unlucky ones.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 23rd, 2022, 1:11 pm

What are your views on some oils that are rated for both gasoline and Diesel engines?

Wouldn’t the higher detergent content be useful in the gasoline engine while still having the required additives that are needed for a gasoline engine?

Postby Dave » April 23rd, 2022, 1:19 pm

Diesel rated oils tend to have a higher Zinc content. Zinc doesn't have an absolute value when oils are blended. Too much is bad and too little is bad.
Zinc can form deposits but is also needed for protection. Diesel engines with the higher compression would need additional zinc however newer diesel engines and their oil blends have seen less zinc being introduced into the base stock.
The donut Api symbol on a diesel or gasoline oil would say if it can be used in either.

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 23rd, 2022, 3:17 pm

Dave wrote:Old man had a SGL from Massy and that was one of the best cars we ever had. Changed cam and crank and air flow as per recall. Owned for 14 years.
We also had a SS B14 Sentra from Massy and that could rival the GA16. They never went Massy btw for service apart from the 1k km free service.
Neither missed a beat as far as engine performance and response. Gas was also good when my father drove.
It all boils down to knowing what you have and to me I have zero faith in any and all dealership service bays.
Subaru was just added to a failure in terms of service with an XV that was purchased but doesn't surprise me quite honestly.

agent007 wrote:I am willing to accept that the 2 QG's we owned for a collective period of 22 years were garbage. We apparently were the unlucky ones.

Similar for us: PBH Sentra SS; PBJ Almera SGL S-Pack

B14’s were superior in engine. The PBH transmission failed in 2010. No repairs per say with the Almeras except poor fuel economy due to coil packs and mafs and well the usual links and cradle bushings. Vaguely remember the recall issue. Back in those days, we used Castrol GTX. Talk about failure.

Rollingstock, how dare I? 4A91/92 and 4B11 were/are also good stuff. Better than the 4G13/15/18/92/93/94 SOHC garbage.

Postby rollingstock » April 23rd, 2022, 7:21 pm

I thought my f22b1 was bulletproof, but the 4a91 going over 320k Kms without issue, no sludge. Just trudging on.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 24th, 2022, 2:20 am

4a92 strong, the oil level you leave it at is the oil level it staying on after 8-10k km for the next change

and it excellent on gas too, usually average 580-600km on three quarter tanks between fill ups from quarter to full

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 24th, 2022, 3:52 am

Mitsubishi really shined before they axe the Lancer yes. What a shame! Those INVECS 11 4AT transmissions were pretty reliable too.

My limited data (including anecdotal) suggests that these are the top tier brands when it comes to engine oil:

Amsoil, Redline, Royal Purple, Idemitsu, Schaefer's, Motul, Valvoline, Mobil1, Pennzoil, Havoline and Liqui Moly.

I also learnt to stay far from Bosch, Purolator and FRAM oil filters. I always hear mechanics say to go oem or the only Fram they would recommend is the gold ultra synthetic.

hindian

Postby hindian » April 24th, 2022, 7:16 am

agent007 wrote:Mitsubishi really shined before they axe the Lancer yes. What a shame! Those INVECS 11 4AT transmissions were pretty reliable too.

My limited data (including anecdotal) suggests that these are the top tier brands when it comes to engine oil:

Amsoil, Redline, Royal Purple, Idemitsu, Schaefer's, Motul, Valvoline, Mobil1, Pennzoil, Havoline and Liqui Moly.

I also learnt to stay far from Bosch, Purolator and FRAM oil filters. I always hear mechanics say to go oem or the only Fram they would recommend is the gold ultra synthetic.
I just asking eh so don't kill mih but what wrong with Purolator filters? I wouldn't put a certain model Fram filter on my vehicle because of documented problems but Purolator? Not finding much info WRT issues with them.

Postby Dave » April 24th, 2022, 7:55 am

Bosch workshop filters are very entry level.
However the ones above are of a very high grade.
Purolator units are good and I use the synthetic units in my servicing and oil packages. Wix is also another top notch filter. The silver and gold Fram units are great filters as well.
The issue with filters comes about when ppl use synthetic oils and run for over 5k km and expect a regular filter or an OE unit to also go the distance. OE filters are not synthetic and dealers need to stop sticking to that misguidance all for selling their parts.
I haven't sliced a Fram unit in pieces in years so not sure if they changed their internal construction but haven't heard any bad feedback in years and they seem to be on every shelf of every parts place so ppl are using them.

Postby adnj » April 24th, 2022, 8:53 am

Dave wrote:Bosch workshop filters are very entry level.
However the ones above are of a very high grade.
Purolator units are good and I use the synthetic units in my servicing and oil packages. Wix is also another top notch filter. The silver and gold Frame units are great filters as well.
The issue with filters comes about when ppl use synthetic oils and run for over 5k km and expect a regular filter or an OE unit to also go the distance. OE filters are not synthetic and dealers need to stop sticking to that misguidance all for selling their parts.
I haven't sliced a Frame unit in pieces in years so not sure if they changed their internal construction but haven't heard any bad feedback in years and they seem to be on every shelf of every parts place so ppl are using them.
*Fram = Frame

I expect that you are the victim of autocorrect.

Postby Dave » April 24th, 2022, 9:12 am

Haha. You are correct!

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 24th, 2022, 10:07 am

agent007 wrote:I also learnt to stay far from Bosch, Purolator and FRAM oil filters. I always hear mechanics say to go oem or the only Fram they would recommend is the gold ultra synthetic.

I used to use the Bosch Distance Plus oil filters at each oil change every 10,000km and never had any issues.

I can’t get that filter anymore for my car and have switch to the Mobil 1 Extended Performance oil filters at the same interval. Mobil 1 says that filter can be used for a year or 20,000 miles (not km), whichever comes first.