Ripe Chenette

Re: Guyana’s Vice President Bharath Jagdeo says that “T&T is falling apart.”

Postby Ripe Chenette » March 25th, 2022, 8:31 pm

mero wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
mero wrote:Boy fork he eh.

Man ain't even presi. VP and all that greasy talk?

he was president for 2 terms and he put laws in place that limit the term of a president to 2 terms. he basically still running the country under cheddi and janet jaggan style of govt and ali is just a puppet president.
K but fork he still.

Maybe i slightly more patriotic than some a allyuh eh but no Guyanese ranking on we like dem reach suddenly
Is not that they reach, is how far we fall

Postby sMASH » March 25th, 2022, 8:35 pm

if guyana turn out to be jess like we,, doesnt elevate our nonsense we had for govt over the last few decades.
lewwe see if they will take they money and open mega stadiums to use once in a while, or hospitals, schools, roads and bridges.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 25th, 2022, 9:00 pm

bluefete wrote:Those who live in glass houses should not throw stones!

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/2022 ... ftQsC1tYNU

Jagdeo accused of bribery, corruption after terminating contract with Chinese firm
Feb 10, 2022 News

Kaieteur News – Days after it was revealed that the contract between China State Construction Engineering Corporation Limited (CSCEC) and Guyana, to build the $53.7B New Demerara River Bridge has been terminated, Vice President, Bharrat Jagdeo has taken the spot light for allegations of massive corruption and bribery with the Chinese.

Vice President, Bharrat Jagdeo being interviewed by the reporter from Vice News

During a recent interview with the American news agency, Vice News, Jagdeo was asked whether he accepts bribes and specifically by Chinese companies seeking infrastructure and other development projects in Guyana.

In a stuttering response, the Vice President explained that the allegations were false.

The journalist asked, “What about in your government? Do you accept bribes?” Jagdeo said, “No I don’t,” after which the reporter explained that after speaking with numerous Chinese sources, information is pointing to “bribery” as the only way to get business done locally.

“We’ve spoken to a number of Chinese business people in Guyana who said that you do accept bribes. In fact, they said it’s the only way to get business done…to bribe you.

One Chinese businessman we talked to involving timber logging told us that basically, as long as the Vice President is okay with it, its fine.

He just needs to get one phone call to whoever is in charge and they’ll get it done right away. The real big boss is the Vice President. Everything goes under the table. The whole country is like this,” she said while quoting her source.

In response the VP said, “I can’t comment on that” proffering that it was a mere anonymous person who made the allegations, which could have even been fabricated by the media group.

He went on to say that if the source was named, it would have substantiated the allegation.

The journalist then questioned Dr. Jagdeo about his relationship with a Chinese national named ‘Su’. The Vice President affirmed that he is a friend of the gentleman who happens to be his tenant.

“Su? Oh Su? My relationship? Nothing.

He is a tenant in my place, yeah. He is a friend of ours. His father was here from many years ago,” the VP fumbled.

The American reporter then went on to explain that Su said through his relationship with Dr. Jagdeo, he is able to get any deal done.

“Su told us that if you want to get anything done in Guyana, you need some hookups. I’m very close friends with the Vice President and the other officials.

The Vice President and I share a very close relationship. Also if we do the business, he’ll help out no matter what…he’s really treating us as close brothers. He’s already trying to help us as much as possible.

Of course I need to give back to him in return,” she said, while regurgitating what was reportedly said to her.

While Jagdeo said he is unaware of the “giving back” aspect, he said his business style extends to not only China, but any other company that approaches him to invest.

“I help out as many people as I can. That’s totally accurate what you read there, unbelievably accurate. It’s accurate.

So I help people out but it doesn’t mean for consideration. It does not mean for bribe because I believe that we have a mission to help as many people as possible (to) move forward in this country,” the VP stated.

The reporter however, went on to point out to Dr. Jagdeo that the agency is in receipt of copies of contracts between Chinese companies and ‘Su’, whom she referred to as the “middle man”, that have been used to keep the VP’s hands clean.

“Su has shown us very lucrative contracts between himself and Chinese state-run operations to develop big infrastructure projects in Guyana. He told us that China State Construction Engineering Corporation helped the Chinese company to make a deal. Up to now they pay me $500,000…”

Again, Jagdeo declined to comment, saying that the allegations were false.

He then suggested that the Integrity Commission, which is yet to be installed should probe the allegations.

He said, “The best way to do this is not to have me investigated, but write the Integrity Commission. The Integrity Commission should get all of this.

They should be able to access what my assets are then see if I can’t account for any of the assets.”

On Tuesday evening, the Vice President hosted a press conference to convince the nation he is not corrupt or involved in the bribery allegations.

New DHB contract

The Chinese company, China State Construction Engineering Corporation Limited (CSCEC), which was listed as one of the beneficiaries of underhand business with the VP, recently had a contract to build the four-land high span bridge across the Demerara River terminated.

During his interview, Jagdeo suspected, “Maybe the Chinese company that did not get their agreement that they wanted here, maybe they are the ones who told you, or, it could be just a fictitious thing.”

CSCEC was selected to construct the bridge since government found the company’s bid to be the most impressive, during the procuring process. In fact, Cabinet gave its no-objection to the project back in November last year.

The Chinese company submitted the lowest bid, to the tune of US$256,638,289 under the Design-Build-Finance (DBF) model.

Nonetheless, it was only a few days ago that government concluded the company’s bid was no longer favourable.

During the interview Jagdeo said, “we have just terminated the negotiations with them (CSCEC) because the cost of financing is too high.”

To this end, he signalled that the second lowest bidder would have been engaged. In October last year tenders were received from four companies for the construction of the new Bridge.

The firms were China Gezhouba Group Company Limited, which submitted two financial proposals of US$387,566,116 and US$491,810,000, China Road and Bridge Corporation in joint venture with Peutes and Calzadas Infrastructuras SLU (China and Spain) which submitted bids US$340,698,473 and US$ 364,160,202, China State Construction Engineering Corporation Limited which submitted a bid of US$256,638,289, and China Railway Construction Corporation International Limited who is in joint venture with China Railway Caribbean Company Limited; and China Railway Engineering Bureau Group Company Limited submitted three financial proposals of US$260,852,464, US$260,852,464 and US$300,000,000.

People here not doing the same thing?

Postby zoom rader » March 25th, 2022, 9:02 pm

sMASH wrote:if guyana turn out to be jess like we,, doesnt elevate our nonsense we had for govt over the last few decades.
lewwe see if they will take they money and open mega stadiums to use once in a while, or hospitals, schools, roads and bridges.
Chinese and IMF will make sure they go broke.

VII

Postby VII » March 25th, 2022, 11:08 pm

Thank you ,they have to be very careful and should be more humble , their track record stinks more than T&T's .

It's as if they're declaring some sorta victory already,or looking for some kinda revenge . Don't be surprised if they turn out to be the train wreck they're wishing for T&T to be..

neilsingh100 wrote:We should ask back for all the loans we forgive because they couldn't pay. Guyana no different than T&T, in one budget they spend all the oil money they earned on infrastructure projects which we all know will be wasted and stolen. Guyana did not even earn US$1 billion in oil revenue as yet but lecturing us.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 26th, 2022, 4:11 am

Couva Point Lisas Chamber of Commerce head Mukesh Ramsingh also said the Chamber does not agree with Jagdeo’s comments.

“Our economy is still not yet fully opened and a lot of persons are back to work,” he said in reference to Jagdeo’s suggestion there were not jobs available.

Ramsingh said T&T is far from falling apart. In fact, he said prior to the pandemic there was a shortage of labour. However, he said the construction sector is picking up once again and once T&T fully reopens, this country should start to see growth.

this mukesh is one kant. construction sector will grind to a dead stop because steel in shortage cause china in lockdown, cement gone up, blocks gone up cause US $ non existent. he feel new iron will make steel for TT? how the MC in gods name this clown get elected as head Chamber of commerce. fertilizer, chemicals, nearly every mc thing come from china. We going down , down , down under this raging bull.

Postby Chimera » March 26th, 2022, 5:24 am

Lol why jagdeo doh hull he gay muddaskunt.

He's racketboss in guyana.

Postby MaxPower » March 26th, 2022, 5:54 am

Easy easy Trinis….

Man say allyuh in a hot mess and allyuh just beating up and fighting for who better than who when both of allyuh are two sheit holes.

I think many of you panzies just can believe it that Guyana has a great chance of doing alot better than T&T. Imagine that na…..all the bad talk Trinis love to bad talk others. Remember T&T was the laughing stock and the jackass in the Caribbean for this pandemic.

T&T like to macoo and talk down on others too much when they themselves aren’t too far off and in my books the worse of the worse.

Do better T&T.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » March 26th, 2022, 6:56 am

MaxPower wrote:Easy easy Trinis….

Man say allyuh in a hot mess and allyuh just beating up and fighting for who better than who when both of allyuh are two sheit holes.

I think many of you panzies just can believe it that Guyana has a great chance of doing alot better than T&T. Imagine that na…..all the bad talk Trinis love to bad talk others. Remember T&T was the laughing stock and the jackass in the Caribbean for this pandemic.

T&T like to macoo and talk down on others too much when they themselves aren’t too far off and in my books the worse of the worse.

Do better T&T.

Excellent post MaxPower. Seems like a lot of people on here can't handle the truth.

Postby Kenjo » March 26th, 2022, 7:13 am

daring dragoon wrote:
Couva Point Lisas Chamber of Commerce head Mukesh Ramsingh also said the Chamber does not agree with Jagdeo’s comments.

“Our economy is still not yet fully opened and a lot of persons are back to work,” he said in reference to Jagdeo’s suggestion there were not jobs available.

Ramsingh said T&T is far from falling apart. In fact, he said prior to the pandemic there was a shortage of labour. However, he said the construction sector is picking up once again and once T&T fully reopens, this country should start to see growth.

this mukesh is one kant. construction sector will grind to a dead stop because steel in shortage cause china in lockdown, cement gone up, blocks gone up cause US $ non existent. he feel new iron will make steel for TT? how the MC in gods name this clown get elected as head Chamber of commerce. fertilizer, chemicals, nearly every mc thing come from china. We going down , down , down under this raging bull.

Where is the rest of the world getting this same steel from though ? It’s only trinidad getting from China ?

Postby timelapse » March 26th, 2022, 7:32 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol why jagdeo doh hull he gay muddaskunt.

Gay people don't have opinions?

Postby hover11 » March 26th, 2022, 7:35 am

MaxPower wrote:Easy easy Trinis….

Do better T&T.
X10000

Two sheit hole countries arguing who better than who , when they both in pretty bad state due to corrupt politicians and poor leadership

Postby zoom rader » March 26th, 2022, 7:57 am

Eliteauto will be most upset that you attacked the alternative lifestyle community

Postby Chimera » March 26th, 2022, 8:02 am

timelapse wrote:

Gay people don't have opinions?
The fact that he behind alot of major racket in guyana is why he shouldn't have an opinion.

Google pradoville and pradoville 2.

Postby Chimera » March 26th, 2022, 8:03 am

He just like rowley tho.
When they get back in power they does dismiss all cases against them and disband whatever units investigating it

Postby Rovin » March 26th, 2022, 11:15 am

read ppl comments on d express fb story , i doubt allyuh go believe panday, kamla & unc name called blaming them for what he saying .... pee nmites eh play they sickening , blaming unc for what another country president saying

d man is 100% right in warning his ppl to learn from their past & not make mistakes others made & to also stand up for d rights of his ppl when they go foreign to work\live ...

Postby Chimera » March 26th, 2022, 11:17 am

overall he right now, he cud still hull he skunt.

you would see plenty trinis would be the major beneficiaries of guyana fortunes though lol

Postby De Dragon » March 26th, 2022, 12:19 pm

While he is 100% correct that we pissed away our fortunes from oil/gas. it is in extremely poor taste to besmirch the name of a fellow country like that. It also shows that he isn't quite attuned to his own country's history of receiving large amounts of loans via T&T, which were never repaid, and had to be written off. Besides, he is our version of Weekes, so he cud haul he MC!
Last edited by De Dragon on March 26th, 2022, 12:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » March 26th, 2022, 12:20 pm

How long has trinidad been a banana republic now?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

Postby De Dragon » March 26th, 2022, 12:21 pm

hover11 wrote:How long has trinidad been a banana republic now?

Ever since the LFD RFD PNM started running things :|

Postby adnj » March 26th, 2022, 12:23 pm

Guyana has a largely traditional economic system in which the majority of the population engages in subsistence agriculture, and the allocation of available resources is made on the basis of primitive methods. Guyana is a member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

https://globaledge.msu.edu/countries/guyana/memo

Postby bluefete » March 26th, 2022, 12:29 pm

^^^ Well he is right in that respect.

Postby pugboy » March 26th, 2022, 12:30 pm

you have to remember that for decades guyanese were and still treated as low class folks by the rest of caricom. they are serious hustlers and tricksters.

so apart from their bad internal politics they have serious chips on their shoulders

i can remember in 80s seeing them in the airport with their crocus bag suitcases and ppl laughing at them. serious stigma issues

Postby mero » March 26th, 2022, 12:32 pm

So basically WTN, Guyanese edition.

Postby 88sins » March 26th, 2022, 12:34 pm

This thread gave me my daily laugh.

The president of a country that has been in shambles for the better part of 60 years, with an abominable track record and zero indication of turning that trend around 180 degrees, claiming that this country falling apart.

What happen, like he want to go into a career in comedy when the people kick him out of politics or sumn?

FuadAdnan

Postby FuadAdnan » March 26th, 2022, 12:46 pm

Chad Bharrat Jagdeo

Virgin Keith Rowley

Postby zoom rader » March 26th, 2022, 12:55 pm

hover11 wrote:How long has trinidad been a banana republic now?
Since 1956 , when the red government ruled

Postby zoom rader » March 26th, 2022, 12:57 pm

mero wrote:So basically WTN, Guyanese edition.
Injuns are better in running a parlour to a country.

Kwame better off working for injuns

Postby mero » March 26th, 2022, 1:12 pm

mero wrote:So basically WTN, Guyanese edition.
Injuns are better in running a parlour to a country.

Kwame better off working for injuns
Explain with use of examples