Rottweiler Kills Child in Tacarigua

coltspeed

Re: Rottweiler Kills Child in Tacarigua

Postby coltspeed » September 13th, 2021, 7:07 am

daring dragoon wrote:what ever happened to the insurance for dangerous dogs in the dangerous dogs act? again as usual in TT nothing is enforced.
If we blame the government for this incident Impsburg might come out with a dog tax.

tarzan

Postby tarzan » September 13th, 2021, 8:23 am

currently owner of an American bully, he is the most docile animal you will ever come across, very lazy and very loving, intimidating as f%&k though , its how you grow up the dog , these idiots who normally own these dogs give them aggression training and create them into monsters , by nature they are very nice animals rotts are very nice animals also, it all according to how you grow them up imo

Postby Redman » September 13th, 2021, 8:26 am

Sad situation for all.
RIP kid,
Granny have to live with it.

Postby aaron17 » September 13th, 2021, 8:45 am

Rip...
Did Granny put the dog in the kennel? She have training and experience with those dogs?

Postby j.o.e » September 13th, 2021, 8:53 am

tarzan wrote:currently owner of an American bully, he is the most docile animal you will ever come across, very lazy and very loving, intimidating as f%&k though , its how you grow up the dog , these idiots who normally own these dogs give them aggression training and create them into monsters , by nature they are very nice animals rotts are very nice animals also, it all according to how you grow them up imo

Not doubting you but I personally know someone who said the same thing about their dog until it attacked their family member. At the end of the day dogs are animals and we wrongly humanize them you can never put your head on a block. Dogs are capable of doing things out of character

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 13th, 2021, 9:43 am

j.o.e wrote:At the end of the day dogs are animals and we wrongly humanize them

This
We want or expect them to be something they are not or may not be

dogg

Postby dogg » September 13th, 2021, 10:02 am

So after reigning terror on your neighbourhood, you only put it down after it killed another of your dogs??
He was a good boy? Dem wicked?

Phone Surgeon wrote:All them rott does trip off

Good upbringing or not.

I had a truly evil one

She start to kill neighbor dogs and bring them home and eat them

a morning she sit down over the body of one of our dogs eating from the chest cavity.

Put her down after that.

dogg

Postby dogg » September 13th, 2021, 10:05 am

I feel rotts have a crazy gene. A dog breeder partner of mine had his face almost bitten of by HIS rott. He beat it to death with a piece of pipe. His backyard looked like horror movie scene.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 13th, 2021, 10:27 am

This

Some dogs are, my retriever won't hurt anybody, you can do what to what to him and he'll leave you alone.

My pompek on the other hand, I kinda fraid that dog.

Temperament and upbringing is important, but ultimately dogs (all dogs, even my Retriever) can have their buttons pushed to attack.

Children need to be taught how to interact with dogs and dog psychology needs to be taught. Putting dogs in kernels is cruel, not interacting with them and playing with them is cruel. Can you imagine how deranged a human who grows up in a cage not interacting with other humans would be?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 13th, 2021, 10:49 am

Les Bain wrote:Not a fan of big breed dogs, but this is what happens when ketch ass people want stereotypical badman dogs and lack the proper surroundings to keep it.

Those owners should be charged with manslaughter, plain and simple.

Another reason to keep a fairly large hammer in your house.

Charge the owners for what exactly? Owners not even in the country. Dog was doing what it was trained to do(protect its property). Ask granny why she carry the youth in the yard in the first place. Ask granny why she didnt secure the dog. Allyuh doing like the dog run away and acted out....

Postby Les Bain » September 13th, 2021, 10:55 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Not a fan of big breed dogs, but this is what happens when ketch ass people want stereotypical badman dogs and lack the proper surroundings to keep it.

Charge the owners for what exactly? Owners not even in the country. Dog was doing what it was trained to do(protect its property). Ask granny why she carry the youth in the yard in the first place. Ask granny why she didnt secure the dog. Allyuh doing like the dog run away and acted out....

Dealing with guard dog is housekeeper duties?

Postby timelapse » September 13th, 2021, 11:03 am

This.

VII

Postby VII » September 13th, 2021, 11:03 am

And you looking for cuss lol..

Listen this is my experience with very expensive Dutch bloodline Rotts, my very own lunged and bit Horace James' daughter on the beach while she sat on a towel unprovoked in the 90s as I was walking him on a leach.

Always attacking freinds and freindly strangers, and sometimes when I tried to rein him in he would turn on me, all these things made me stop trusting him and moved him from home and assigned him to a business compound for night duty where he did very well and died of old age and natural causes, and this was a genuine rott with a coat almost as thick as a shepherd. Also had a female which was not as bad , had another younger male that was displaying similar tendencies as the bigger one , sent him to a compound too, other people that I knew with genuine rotts expressed similar sentiments and concerns.

They are VERY unpredictable and easily triggered, you bathing them they acting up, taking them for a swim they acting up ,cutting their claws they acting up, you hugging them they acting up, that shouldn't be accepted as normal behaviour..

Don't gimme that expertise on everything bull$hit and tell me I'm uninformed, I had the best rotts money could buy, the best Dobermans, Staffordshire Terriers and German shepherds also , none of them as unstable as the rotts, got fed up of big dogs in general especially after ccoming home to discover my home was broken into and all our expensive stuff gone while they wagged their tails, dogs are effective security in certain situations but easy to fool and distract if there's more than one intruder operating, eventually changed residence and had English Cocker Spaniels to be more compatible with a growing young family, and when they died out we went to Huskies and never regretted it , best dog experience ever..

Every fool knows how a dog is brought up has a lot to do with it, even a human being ffs, but that's not always the case, many dogs and humans are brought up well and are still dangerous, many dogs and humans are brought up badly and are not, what I can tell you is I have owned enough dogs to single out Rotts as the most unpredictable and dangerous to the wrong people.

The dog that killed the old lady a couple years ago was also rott, you seem to be the misinformed one here pal..

VII wrote:I ain't know but neighbor is family too ..no dog should want to kill any toddler..

Rotts are good watchdogs and that's it , they have no problem biting the hand that feeds them or attacking the child or mother of the hand that feeds them..

And I'm talking from experience..

sam1978 wrote:Did it belong to the family or a neighbor?

You are very misinformed, and your experience is very limited. And I'm talking from experience, after decades of breeding, raising, and training that specific breed. Are they a guardian breed? Yes, most definitely, one of the best and most protective ones there are. And that's why careful selection of where you get a pup from (knowing about it's genetic makeup based on parents and grandparents traits), temperament testing and conditioning, obedience training, socialization, etc. is important.
But I suppose it's easier and simpler to say "dem dog does trip".
Last edited by VII on September 13th, 2021, 11:46 am, edited 8 times in total.

Postby gastly369 » September 13th, 2021, 11:11 am

Uncle has 5 mount olympus rots and 3 kids 12 8 and 5.
Dog has guarded those 3 kids and house already from potential kidnapping and bandits

Youngest kid was running out to front gate to person calling them and dogs bolted out and stood ground between kid and them in seconds..car bolted with they saw adults and dogs

They rump and play together( pulling paws ears rough play) from birth as well 6 years plus now never once those dogs turned on them even tho the dogs are always on watch for any behavioural issues exp with kids...exp with rots as common as it is to get as a pet they have tendencies and its in their genes

Postby Chimera » September 13th, 2021, 11:18 am

Can't trust kids around big breed dogs. One day they might grab or pinch the wrong area and dog will trip off and that's the end of the child. Always friendly highly trained dog could easily trip.

VII

Postby VII » September 13th, 2021, 11:21 am

Especially Rotts...thanks..

Phone Surgeon wrote:Can't trust kids around big breed dogs. One day they might grab or pinch the wrong area and dog will trip off and that's the end of the child. Always friendly highly trained dog could easily trip.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 13th, 2021, 11:25 am

Les Bain wrote:

Dealing with guard dog is housekeeper duties?

Steupseeee....Granny should have been more responsible if you ask me. Allyuh quick to blame owner and dog.

Postby Les Bain » September 13th, 2021, 11:36 am

Lemme tell you something anecdotal shakes...

Someone I know was applying for housekeeper work. Very frequently she met with families who expected work that went beyond even a vague definition of housekeeping. Some families appear to believe the stereotype that housekeepers poor, uneducated and so joyful to make a pittance they will do anything you ask.

Not casting aspersions on the family that employed granny, but granny was supposed to secure dog as much as she was supposed to have the grandchildren with her.

VII

Postby VII » September 13th, 2021, 11:45 am

That's the reason I moved the big one from home because it would've been me or him..I envisioned the same bloodshed you described there..cooking good saw dust and mixing it with the best chow, regular vet check ups all the best care products and you acting up..nah man..

dogg wrote:I feel rotts have a crazy gene. A dog breeder partner of mine had his face almost bitten of by HIS rott. He beat it to death with a piece of pipe. His backyard looked like horror movie scene.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 13th, 2021, 12:52 pm

An innocent life has been lost and some fvking stupid Trinis arguring and complaining that the media referred to the dog as "IT" wtf kind of Karens do we have here now!!!!??

Postby Redman » September 13th, 2021, 1:07 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:An innocent life has been lost and some fvking stupid Trinis arguring and complaining that the media referred to the dog as
"IT"
wtf kind of Karens do we have here now!!!!??

Wouldn't Cujo be better?

agent007

Postby agent007 » September 13th, 2021, 1:08 pm

This reminds me of an elderly woman who was mauled by her dog in La Seiva, Maraval just over 8 years ago. What is the status of the Dog Control Act? Can someone advise?

VII

Postby VII » September 13th, 2021, 1:45 pm

Just saw this and totally agree with your points, and yes Pompeks are among the worst..if they were big they would also be among the most deadly..not very smart dogs either..most small dogs aren't smart .

English Cocker Spaniels are among the smartest and
best small dogs you can get..

Retrievers, Labs, Huskies etc even Shepherds are the real deal in big family dogs but good sense must always prevail with any dog for the best results..

Dohplaydat wrote:

This

Some dogs are, my retriever won't hurt anybody, you can do what to what to him and he'll leave you alone.

Temperament and upbringing is important, but ultimately dogs (all dogs, even my Retriever) can have their buttons pushed to attack.

Children need to be taught how to interact with dogs and dog psychology needs to be taught. Putting dogs in kernels is cruel, not interacting with them and playing with them is cruel. Can you imagine how deranged a human who grows up in a cage not interacting with other humans would be?

Rottweiler Kills Child in Tacarigua

Postby MaxPower » September 13th, 2021, 2:02 pm

Sigh feeling it for that poor dog.

Really heartbreaking.

Postby 88sins » September 13th, 2021, 2:22 pm

VII wrote:And you looking for cuss lol..

Listen this is my experience with very expensive Dutch bloodline Rotts, my very own lunged and bit Horace James' daughter on the beach while she sat on a towel unprovoked in the 90s as I was walking him on a leach.

Always attacking freinds and freindly strangers, and sometimes when I tried to rein him in he would turn on me, all these things made me stop trusting him and moved him from home and assigned him to a business compound for night duty where he did very well and died of old age and natural causes, and this was a genuine rott with a coat almost as thick as a shepherd. Also had a female which was not as bad , had another younger male that was displaying similar tendencies as the bigger one , sent him to a compound too, other people that I knew with genuine rotts expressed similar sentiments and concerns.

They are VERY unpredictable and easily triggered, you bathing them they acting up, taking them for a swim they acting up ,cutting their claws they acting up, you hugging them they acting up, that shouldn't be accepted as normal behaviour..

Don't gimme that expertise on everything bull$hit and tell me I'm uninformed, I had the best rotts money could buy, the best Dobermans, Staffordshire Terriers and German shepherds also , none of them as unstable as the rotts, got fed up of big dogs in general especially after ccoming home to discover my home was broken into and all our expensive stuff gone while they wagged their tails, dogs are effective security in certain situations but easy to fool and distract if there's more than one intruder operating, eventually changed residence and had English Cocker Spaniels to be more compatible with a growing young family, and when they died out we went to Huskies and never regretted it , best dog experience ever..

Every fool knows how a dog is brought up has a lot to do with it, even a human being ffs, but that's not always the case, many dogs and humans are brought up well and are still dangerous, many dogs and humans are brought up badly and are not, what I can tell you is I have owned enough dogs to single out Rotts as the most unpredictable and dangerous to the wrong people.

The dog that killed the old lady a couple years ago was also rott, you seem to be the misinformed one here pal..

VII wrote:I ain't know but neighbor is family too ..no dog should want to kill any toddler..

Rotts are good watchdogs and that's it , they have no problem biting the hand that feeds them or attacking the child or mother of the hand that feeds them..

And I'm talking from experience..

sam1978 wrote:Did it belong to the family or a neighbor?

You are very misinformed, and your experience is very limited. And I'm talking from experience, after decades of breeding, raising, and training that specific breed. Are they a guardian breed? Yes, most definitely, one of the best and most protective ones there are. And that's why careful selection of where you get a pup from (knowing about it's genetic makeup based on parents and grandparents traits), temperament testing and conditioning, obedience training, socialization, etc. is important.
But I suppose it's easier and simpler to say "dem dog does trip".

See that mountain of manure you just posted there? After all that, you really still didn't say squat.

Because you are making a broad blanket statement about an entire breed, based on your singular personal experience with one dog that you owned.
Me, I got nuttn to prove to you or anyone else, not on this forum, or irl. But it seems like you find yourself with a need to display your ignorance and idiocy.
Your post proves one thing very clearly tho.
That you were then, and still are now, an idiot. And I state this as fact. Because a jackass such as yourself, would never figure out, that not all large breeds are natural guardians, and even among those that are, training both in obedience and bite work are necessary to make them into effective efficient guard dogs that are capable of stopping a man.
But nah, a kakahole like you thinks "ah spen real morny on a big dawg so it go be real bad and meh whole place safe cuz he dey and I eh hadda do nuttn else jes feed him". And you surprised when your dotish ass get rob and the dog wasn't a deterrent. :lol:

Boy, if you was ever dotish you would have been smarter then than you are now.
I done, go pet yuh parakeet.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 13th, 2021, 2:47 pm

I honestly have no experience with Rots, but my neighbors gentle Italian mastiff once killed a puppy that entered their yard. It was sad but I don't blame her, that's her instinct.

That's why we need to educate owners on how to raise dogs.

I have seen far too many dog 'lovers' lock up their dogs in kennels all day, or others that never touch or barely interact with the dog.

My cousin is a prime example, his beautiful Shepard was chained all day, no mental or physical stimulation, basically a prisoner, the dog whenever they let him go would run rampant and often start digging up plants and making mess.

Their solution was to stop letting go the dog entirely, dog went mad and after two years started attacking them. They ended up putting it down. And he will be a next one saying, 'them dog does trip'.

Postby 88sins » September 13th, 2021, 3:12 pm

When people with no clue what they doing with an animal, take on the responsibility for that animal and intentionally remain clueless, it easier to blame the animal for it's failure than themselves for failing the animal and setting it up for failure.

VII

Postby VII » September 13th, 2021, 3:58 pm

Broad blanket statements amd generalizations again huh?

Amazing you can rubbish real life events to your real life non events...why aren't other dogs killing kids and old ladies ? The old lady was killed by a rott a few years ago also..I'm certain there are other people who aren't experts and 'Pack Leaders' like yourself with dogs and those things don't happen .

Listen let me repeat it, Rotts especially are very unstable dogs and very unpredictable to the point of being predictable.. they can be triggered and when they do they can lose control more than most other big dogs..

You're an expert at nothing pal..and to the Rott's credit he wasn't there when my house got broken into, he was already relegated to the business compound . There were 2 Doberman, 2 Staffordshire Terriers and 2 Shepherds all in pairs in 3 separations, the thieves distracted the ones that were in the area they went in

I don't need guard dogs now I have more effective and deadly security tools at my disposal just over 20 years now, and more than one .

Our dogs are pets and only pets and damnn good loving and intelligent pets that we consider members of the family, in fact they're so good that my 19 y.o son makes over 30 grand a litter for himself when he breeds them, with great reviews, follow ups and expressions of gratitude from his clients and their families..

Carry on you expert and Dominant Pack Leading Alpha dog lol..NOT.. Later boy..

88sins wrote:When people with no clue what they doing with an animal, take on the responsibility for that animal and intentionally remain clueless, it easier to blame the animal for it's failure than themselves for failing the animal and setting it up for failure.
Last edited by VII on September 13th, 2021, 4:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby timelapse » September 13th, 2021, 4:00 pm

Shepherds/Akitas/Mallinois or GTFO for me

Postby bluefete » September 13th, 2021, 4:04 pm

You serious? I had a Pompek for 10 years and she was the bestest, bestest guard dog I ever had.

She also had a memory like an elephant. Let me share 3 stories with you.

1. When she was about 6 months old, we had 2 people (father and 18 year old son) doing some work
in the yard. One day, I came home and she was only barking at the son. Turns out the son had broken into our home and stole the money that we had put aside to pay them. The father had gone out to get somethings and left the son alone. This was the first and only time our home was broken into.

2. When she was about 1 1/2 years, my next door neighbour helped me put in a gate to keep her away from the front of the yard. For the next 8 1/2 years she gave that man hell anytime she saw him. Sometimes, he used to come out quietly in his back yard and she would bark and jump as if she wanted to climb the wall to get at him. That behaviour continued until she died.

3. Would you believe that same Pompek alerted me one morning, to a bandit who was in that same neighbour's home? She had a normal bark but around 2:30 a.m. I woke to the sound of a very different kind of bark and when I checked she was only looking at the neighbour's house. This was not the "jumping over the wall, I want to bite you", kind of bark. It was one bark every five seconds. I saw a window open in the front but thought that he had forgotten to close it. Given the time, I did not want to wake him. I rechecked before going back inside and the window was closed. Around 5:30 a.m. my neighbour called me to say that someone had broken into his home!!!

I had other dogs before but nothing at the level on which that Pompek operated and she was so loving. She always had a sense of who was family and who was not.

VII wrote:Just saw this and totally agree with your points, and yes Pompeks are among the worst..if they were big they would also be among the most deadly..not very smart dogs either..most small dogs aren't smart .

English Cocker Spaniels are among the smartest and
best small dogs you can get..

Retrievers, Labs, Huskies etc even Shepherds are the real deal in big family dogs but good sense must always prevail with any dog for the best results..

Dohplaydat wrote:

This