Are We Serious about Fixing Crime in T&T?

Re: Are We Serious about Fixing Crime in T&T?

Postby Ben_spanna » February 15th, 2021, 11:16 am

j.o.e wrote:Trinis are lawless. Just look at the comments on social media when police ticket or charge people for smaller crimes. Instead of kudos the police are accused of being wicked. Crime is politicized, people feel when they get a ticket for speeding is the govt taking their money, same people will cry when a reckless driver mows down their family.
Trinis need a big stick over them to do the right thing all the time. Savages

Look at the profiles of the people who post when that happens, its all people who see nothing wrong with small crimes, they see nothing wrong with illegal activity, more that 3/4 of them cannot spell or write properly ... they themselves are the big part of the problem.....

Postby teems1 » February 15th, 2021, 11:29 am

Ben_spanna wrote:
j.o.e wrote:Trinis are lawless. Just look at the comments on social media when police ticket or charge people for smaller crimes. Instead of kudos the police are accused of being wicked. Crime is politicized, people feel when they get a ticket for speeding is the govt taking their money, same people will cry when a reckless driver mows down their family.
Trinis need a big stick over them to do the right thing all the time. Savages

Look at the profiles of the people who post when that happens, its all people who see nothing wrong with small crimes, they see nothing wrong with illegal activity, more that 3/4 of them cannot spell or write properly ... they themselves are the big part of the problem.....

It's not that people see nothing wrong with the small crimes.

It's just that it appears to be the only thing the police force is capable of doing. Making revenue for the government when they are allocated the biggest share of the national budget.

If crime was under control and citizens felt safe, then they surely would not mind as much paying a speeding ticket.

Postby MG Man » February 15th, 2021, 11:33 am

We can’t even fix our dutty habits Image

Postby bluefete » February 15th, 2021, 11:36 am

^^^ Thank you.

We need a total culture change.

Postby MG Man » February 15th, 2021, 11:42 am

dem so does siddong and complain about the state ah de country but give them a chance and I guarantee you they taking bribe and setting up family with contracts
Nuttn eh fixing anytime soon

Postby bluefete » February 15th, 2021, 11:49 am

MG Man wrote:dem so does siddong and complain about the state ah de country but give them a chance and I guarantee you they taking bribe and setting up family with contracts
Nuttn eh fixing anytime soon

We need a brand new government with the best interest of T&T.

But as you say: Nuttn eh fixing anytime soon

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 15th, 2021, 11:49 am

bluefete wrote:^^^ Thank you.

You mean like if you go to a first world country and walk up to a woman in a party and start rubbing your crotch against her that could be deemed as sexual assault or some other sexual crime?

But if you do that locally it's generally ok because tiefing a wine is we culture?

And the worst part is that even after explaining simple concepts like this trinis still unable to grasp that tiefing a wine could be deemed as sexual assault.

Postby MaxPower » February 15th, 2021, 11:50 am

viedcht wrote:Hello Max
I agree with your view on vigilante involvement in stymieing criminal activity in Trinidad and Tobago, for I believe no politician/person-in-position-of-power to effect change has the borllz to do what is needed to properly curb crime. We need to cull the population of criminals.
MaxPower wrote:T&T needs vigilantes to track down rapists and remove their penis.

Hello viedcht,

Thanks for you input.

This is what law abiding citizens as us have to resort to thinking in this direction.

Many will not agree, but we are not getting justice and as a result, those responsible must pay.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 15th, 2021, 11:51 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Long and short answer is NO!

To even start to tackle our crime problem, corruption within
TTPS
TTR
TTCG
PRISONS
LICENSE OFFICE
IMMIGRATION
CUSTOMS
JUDICIARY

Must be addressed and I guarantee we will see a DRASTIC reduction. Fyi its very simple to deal with these places because if you all notice I left out one agency under the MNS where corruption is NON existent because of their policies. This leaves me wondering why that agency's policies cannot be employed across the board. It's simply because we do not want to fix our problem!!

Allyuh smart, so id leave you all to guess the agency I speak of.
Nice list but Gov't and Judiciary need to top that list because thats where corruption starts

Postby MaxPower » February 15th, 2021, 11:53 am

MG Man wrote:We can’t even fix our dutty habits Image

Absolutely disgusting.

But hey its Trinis so pretty much expected every where they go.

Anyways i seeing Carib and KFC...could just imagine that Trini breath...yuck!

Postby MG Man » February 15th, 2021, 11:58 am

I once had people mock and heckle me at that same spot, because I started picking up all the trash I saw
Truly remarkable how the self-perceived 'respectable' people in this country really are

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 15th, 2021, 12:04 pm

Most trinis don't understand pride and accountability.

There is an attitude of entitlement and 'thas not meh job' mindset that pervades out society. Imagine I hired a person paying 18k a month to do a job and the man after 3 weeks ain't do sheit and tell me I didn't supply training etc. Dude you have a masters degree, your job is to freaking learn how to do it, it's literally in the job scope that you'll be learning as work on your own using free or low cost online training.

I've said it many times in the last couple weeks.

Our politicians, particularly PNM politicians do not have any accountability.

The media is soft on them, they know they can literally do nothing and still win.

And don't think I'm not putting any blame on Kamla, the UNC is always heavily critized but that means they must come good to win.

However, the UNC is run by absolute idiots who are more out of touch than the PNM.

UNC would have won by a landslide if they had better MPs last election, he'll they could have ran with the exact same 2015 slate and win by a landslide.

It was obvious to the population Kamla picked a pack of losers and nobodies who were simply loyal to her.

We need change.

We need to demolish our political institutions, namely the UNC, the PNM isn't going anyway.

But man if a party of minds like Vasant, Palo Kernanhan, Kevin Ramanarine, hell even bring in some former PNM intellects like Mariano Browne etc.

You'll see how fast this party will grow and perhaps dominate over the UNC and PNM in pure popularity.

Postby 88sins » February 15th, 2021, 12:20 pm

viedcht wrote:Hello Max
I agree with your view on vigilante involvement in stymieing criminal activity in Trinidad and Tobago, for I believe no politician/person-in-position-of-power to effect change has the borllz to do what is needed to properly curb crime. We need to cull the population of criminals.
MaxPower wrote:T&T needs vigilantes to track down rapists and remove their penis.

hope you're just as vocally supportive when someone accuses you of something & you're surrounded by an angry mob in the streets that aims to see you surgically castrated with a dull rusty cutlass and beaten to within an inch of your life on the spot.
What you're proposing is you committing a criminal offense against someone you perceive is a criminal in order to attempt to discourage others from possibly committing crime in future. So instead of having 1 criminal & 1 victim, you now have a minimum of 2 criminals (you, the one you assaulted, and anyone else that chooses to assist/join you in your criminal act of assaulting them), and a minimum of two victims (yes, he is now your victim, and you gonna make a jail for what you did to him). You see the fly in the ointment yet?

Everyone is potentially a criminal, the only variances being the severity of the crimes we may commit, & I pretty confident in saying damn near every human on this big blue marble with the exception of infants has already committed at least one crime in their life, whether knowingly or in ignorance. That being said, what you wanna do? Lock up everyone on the planet? Because short of that, it eh easy for a 3rd party to stop one human from killing & harming other living things, including other humans. Police & gov't (3rd parties) can't stop you from killing your wife in your home if you decide today is the day she supposed to dead, or your next door neighbor, or a random person on the road. The one responsible and in the position to make sure that you are not successful in your homicidal endeavor at that moments, is your intended victim. They alone have to decide whether or not to stay alive by either stopping you, or escaping from you.

But this is Trinidad, the land where a peaceful citizen wanting to be able to have the tools with which to defend themselves is restricted to the extent there's almost no difference from being prohibited, while a seasoned criminal can use whatever he wishes to in order to end your existence, all while the 3rd parties sit with their own thumbs planted firmly up their asses while they wait for you to become another statistic.

Postby Redman » February 15th, 2021, 12:34 pm

We are a Narco economy-since the 80s.

If we dont accept that then we spinning top.

Postby matr1x » February 15th, 2021, 1:01 pm

Redman wrote:We are a Narco economy-since the 80s.

If we dont accept that then we spinning top.

Our true Venezuelan connection. Doh ask the vees what in the crocus bags

Postby SMc » February 15th, 2021, 1:53 pm

I agree with what was said in the video and personally believe change can & will be made but whats really disappointing is some of the responses that have come through on this thread is people saying it cant be done, others saying we need vigilante justice and well others doing what they think makes them liked-just spamming the thread.

The whole thing as about change, but it seems everybody else is in the wrong so 'why should I change' mentality outweighs everything else.

apole69

Postby apole69 » February 15th, 2021, 2:33 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Long and short answer is NO!

To even start to tackle our crime problem, corruption within
TTPS
TTR
TTCG
PRISONS
LICENSE OFFICE
IMMIGRATION
CUSTOMS
JUDICIARY

Must be addressed and I guarantee we will see a DRASTIC reduction. Fyi its very simple to deal with these places because if you all notice I left out one agency under the MNS where corruption is NON existent because of their policies. This leaves me wondering why that agency's policies cannot be employed across the board. It's simply because we do not want to fix our problem!!

Allyuh smart, so id leave you all to guess the agency I speak of.
Nice list but Gov't and Judiciary need to top that list because thats where corruption starts

That's all well and good, but true change must start with the education policy from primary school and carried through out to Uwi. Actions have consequences: some short term,some long term, We must be made to explore the results of all intended actions in order to determine if this is what we really want.
Our society is based on the quick fix and usually expedient solution .Case in point is the AG: always wanting to pass new laws when we have ample laws in place.
Critical thinking must be encouraged and society must accept that the popular decision is not always the best one.
Lastly, government must stop campaigning ,once they are elected and get down to improving the lives of all citizens !

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2021, 3:05 pm

you cant even get the police to charge ppl for littering

we caught a truck dumping a whole load of rubbish by us and the caroni police laughed at us and said they them fellas from the area and doh worry about them

Postby redmanjp » February 15th, 2021, 3:32 pm

viedcht wrote:Excise criminals from society.

not a permanent solution, even if u do that more will be bred. but maybe the pandemic may show us where to start. cut out all the drunken sexual behavior associated with fetes and carnival and partying in general that leads to unwanted pregnancies and single parent families. and hold men accountable when they impregnate a female and make him act like a father and bring up their boy children instead of being a hit-and-run sperm donor!

just like a rape suspect can be compelled to give DNA to match the crime scene the same thing should apply when a female is pregnant.

check d stats on the % of criminals who grew up without a father you will see what i mean.

yes the entire criminal justice system needs revamping, but the problem starts from in the home.

Postby SMc » February 15th, 2021, 4:31 pm

pugboy wrote:you cant even get the police to charge ppl for littering

we caught a truck dumping a whole load of rubbish by us and the caroni police laughed at us and said they them fellas from the area and doh worry about them

Why not report to another station, or even a Facebook post with some pictures? Not everyone will give a shiit but somebody may pick it up and run with it and we at the stage where we can't rely on massive change all at once to get us back on track its small shifts or incremental gains that will do us better in the long-term

Postby redmanjp » February 15th, 2021, 4:38 pm

SMc wrote:
pugboy wrote:you cant even get the police to charge ppl for littering

Why not report to another station, or even a Facebook post with some pictures? Not everyone will give a shiit but somebody may pick it up and run with it and we at the stage where we can't rely on massive change all at once to get us back on track its small shifts or incremental gains that will do us better in the long-term

or send it to gary number, tel him u reported it but the officers did do sheit

Postby 88sins » February 15th, 2021, 5:27 pm

redmanjp wrote:

not a permanent solution, even if u do that more will be bred. but maybe the pandemic may show us where to start. cut out all the drunken sexual behavior associated with fetes and carnival and partying in general that leads to unwanted pregnancies and single parent families. and hold men accountable when they impregnate a female and make him act like a father and bring up their boy children instead of being a hit-and-run sperm donor!

just like a rape suspect can be compelled to give DNA to match the crime scene the same thing should apply when a female is pregnant.

check d stats on the % of criminals who grew up without a father you will see what i mean.

yes the entire criminal justice system needs revamping, but the problem starts from in the home.

I hear u, but who paying for that when dem loose goose that would push anything stiff up in dey cyat come up preggers after taking 60 different plick over the course of a month and they eh even sure about half of them name much less how to find them to get DNA from them? You volunteering to foot d bill?

Easier to make examples, lock up all females that belly big and can't 100% sure ID the spawns sire on the first try, and if the man that they claim is the father turns out to not be him said female should be made to pay for the costs (for the testing, legal costs, and compensation to the man too).
Do that and you will see how fast they go pull up their own socks and learn that it have serious consequences to their slack actions.
As to the deadbeat dads, every week you neglect to provide for your spawn, is a stroke with the birch and a week inside with hard labor, and each refusal to do the hard labor gets you 2 strokes from the cat.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 15th, 2021, 5:35 pm

Orrr Do like China and limit a maximum of 2 children per family/household. If there's a 3rd child the family/household has to pay for that child and not from the welfare of the state.

Postby MaxPower » February 15th, 2021, 6:12 pm

redmanjp wrote:

I hear u, but who paying for that when dem loose goose that would push anything stiff up in dey cyat come up preggers after taking 60 different plick over the course of a month and they eh even sure about half of them name much less how to find them to get DNA from them? You volunteering to foot d bill?

Easier to make examples, lock up all females that belly big and can't 100% sure ID the spawns sire on the first try, and if the man that they claim is the father turns out to not be him said female should be made to pay for the costs (for the testing, legal costs, and compensation to the man too).
Do that and you will see how fast they go pull up their own socks and learn that it have serious consequences to their slack actions.
As to the deadbeat dads, every week you neglect to provide for your spawn, is a stroke with the birch and a week inside with hard labor, and each refusal to do the hard labor gets you 2 strokes from the cat.

Agreed

Postby redmanjp » February 15th, 2021, 6:32 pm

redmanjp wrote:

the fact is national security already getting a huge chunk of the national budget due to crime- if this cuts down on the problem and reduces the number of ppl we have to feed in jail then it pays for itself eventually- perhaps a dna bank for everyone would solve the problem of not knowing who is d likely father and where he living but then that comes with privacy issues.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 15th, 2021, 6:41 pm

redmanjp wrote:

the fact is national security already getting a huge chunk of the national budget due to crime- if this cuts down on the problem and reduces the number of ppl we have to feed in jail then it pays for itself eventually- perhaps a dna bank for everyone would solve the problem of not knowing who is d likely father and where he living but then that comes with privacy issues.

DNA bank you say? I can imagine the persons responsible for managing that easily being corruptible and they taking some random persons DNA and giving it some criminal element to use at a crime scene to cover up their own crimes. At the end of the day this all comes down to the people themselves which are trained by their various cultures and their environments growing up. Once we can fix culture and social environments we can resolve alot of issues plaguing our country when it comes to crimes.

Postby Ben_spanna » February 15th, 2021, 6:42 pm

MG Man wrote:We can’t even fix our dutty habits Image

Absolutely disgusting.

But hey its Trinis so pretty much expected every where they go.

Anyways i seeing Carib and KFC...could just imagine that Trini breath...yuck!

Sadly when you are a person who cares if you happen to be there, a simple comment to the people who are littering can end in an ignorant argument or you being threatened with your life and family, because Trini that do those sort of things are the problem with our society...
And it doesn’t matter how nicely or politely you speak to those types of,people, they only see it as you embarrassing them or trying to insult them..

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » February 15th, 2021, 6:53 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
pugboy wrote:Lest not forget also one of the loudest social activist voices have closets of skeletons and does dodge the topic every time.

Who is this? Seriously?
PEA...

Really? Okay cool, thanks.

Postby 88sins » February 15th, 2021, 7:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:the fact is national security already getting a huge chunk of the national budget due to crime- if this cuts down on the problem and reduces the number of ppl we have to feed in jail then it pays for itself eventually- perhaps a dna bank for everyone would solve the problem of not knowing who is d likely father and where he living but then that comes with privacy issues.

Same would be accomplished by holding the child producers financially accountable for their actions, from the DNA testing onwards.

So that being the case, give me half a good reason why divert taxpayers funding from nat sec that benefits the entire population to spend on careless irresponsible people to help them figure out which kakahole bred which dustbin terrier in heat and to keep a record of same, particularly when those same monies could be used for more important and nationally beneficial things with greater outcomes, such as the development of industries and entrepreneurship that would provide paying jobs and aid the wider population, upgrading our damn near deplorable public hospitals, improving our education system, etc?

You want to cut nat sec budget, no argument there, butto use monies from that allocation on something like a DNA database for useless arseholes?
Look how I will never pay a cent in taxes ever again if that ever happens.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 15th, 2021, 7:45 pm

If T&T implemented these two policies 30 years ago (we can start now, better late than never), we would have been first world by now.

1. All women, regardless of financial standing, relationship status etc. get money (say $2-3000 per child) monthly to take care of these children until 18. However, under one condition, if you agree to tie their tubes within 2 years of having a child. You can have another child within the next 2 years, but no more. If they wish to reverse this procedure, that's fine, but they lose this monthly allowance. This would allow poorer women to afford childcare (rather than depending on deadbeat men), and also prevent them from have a litter of ghetto rats.

2. Similar to Panday's nest egg plan, give every child an initial investment that matures when they turn 18. However, they are only eligible to receive this if they obtain the equivalent of 5 O-level passes and do not commit any felonies as a teen.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on February 15th, 2021, 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.