A Mom mauled to death by pet Rottweiler ...

Re: A Mom mauled to death by pet Rottweiler ...

Postby sMASH » January 21st, 2021, 12:27 pm

sMASH wrote:rottweilers can work very well for u, until they turn against u. ask patrick manning.

as a person who had all kinds of animals with all kinds of backgrounds, each animal is different, nurture and nature play parts in how animals behave.
some dogs have personalities that u can dictate them. others dont. normal people dont have that ability to sus out characters. is when u make a miss, its easier to handle a small dog that bad, than a big dog that bad.

I know quite a few miniature bull terriers that would easily disprove this :lol:

i didnt say 'easy' i said 'easier' :(

Postby SR » January 21st, 2021, 3:01 pm

I know the old white man who hand in a sling personally
His dogs are every well trained to protect him.

Postby Chimera » January 21st, 2021, 3:06 pm

they not trained enough to know not to leave his side and run down a random stray on the beach though.

Postby MaxPower » January 21st, 2021, 3:49 pm

timelapse wrote:88 is a person who knows what he is talking about.I could not have said it better.The one or two times my big male decide he want to play man and raff at me and my wife, I rest a bite on his ear.Never stepped out of line with us again.

SMASH , I don't remeber seeing any dogs when I checked you last time.You still have at home, or they by the other location?

Yeh boi,

If it’s one thing my boy 88 knows his dogs putting all ole talk aside.

Catastrophist

Postby Catastrophist » January 21st, 2021, 4:27 pm

rip tanty

dogs get very attached to their masters and look up to them for guidance
you think dogs dont get frustrated, angry, anxious and depressed when neglected
if your parents neglected you as a child you would do things to get their attention
dogs are like little children
ive had pitbulls that never got aggressive towards me or my family members or have any temperament problem
however one of my dogs decided a day she would growl at me when i pick up her food bowl
i hit her a slap and said stop with a stern tone
she never repeated this action again
i had more than one dog so they didnt get lonely when i am not home
when i got up in the morning i would go outside, socialize with them, change water, sometimes bathe them, go for a run with them and feed them
in the evenings my siblings and i would wild play with them, play fetch and just chill with them
whenever im doing some work outside they would always be stuck up on me following me all over
after all that they would get fed again around 6pm
they would all sleep until like 11pm
from 11pm to 6am when i get up they would be alert

88 is very correct in his post
tanty did not realize the dog no longer respected her
you need to be vigilant with your dogs so you can pick up sudden temperament changes which must be corrected immediately

Postby 88sins » January 21st, 2021, 5:06 pm

SR wrote:I know the old white man who hand in a sling personally
His dogs are every well trained to protect him.

That's what he thinks

Postby Chimera » January 21st, 2021, 5:56 pm

just hadda roll with 2 stray dog to distract his dogs and then he gone tru

Postby 88sins » January 22nd, 2021, 6:42 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:just hadda roll with 2 stray dog to distract his dogs and then he gone tru

not even all that. just drop one stray cat in front of them & see what happens

JaiTech

Postby JaiTech » January 22nd, 2021, 12:48 pm

Hopefully the truth comes out about this story because rottweiler are like big kids to their owners and very protective

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » January 22nd, 2021, 12:58 pm

I too found this story a bit odd...like parts missing.
How does a dog just 'turn on you jus so' so fiercely while feeding it?

Rottweilers, while they are an aggressive breed typically do not turn on their owners to the extent that they would want to maul you to death. Yes, for every breed there will be outliers that go against the norm, but selective breeding tends to breed out undesirable traits. Of course any dog may give you a bite if antagonised, but then (usually) it's all love after.

It's a sad situation that will stir up more unnecessary enmity against the breed, and against 'attack' dogs in general.

With aggressive breeds, learning to 'read the room' as it were, is vital to ownership.

Postby 88sins » January 22nd, 2021, 1:58 pm

@ Arcmanov
There is usually more in the mortar than just the pestle. and there's not really any "aggressive breeds" just specimens of different breeds that show varying degrees of aggression for varying reason, and have varied capacity to cause serious damage.

But a quick hypothetical scenario & question
Say you have trained property protection dogs and they are there for the sole purpose of defending your home.
And suppose someone intrudes/enters your property without invitation by you onto said property, regardless of their proposed reason for entering your property (nefarious or innocent), and that person not knowing whether or not that there are dogs on the property, whether or not said person having prior knowledge that said dogs would definitely bite anyone they do not know or are told to that is on that property.
As examples, say one person is a known thief that enters your property with the suspected intention to steal and they get bitten/killed, and the other is a person seeking shelter in order to avoid physical bodily harm form something or someone outside your property, who enters your property in an act of desperation only to be bitten/killed.

If either of those persons were attacked and seriously injured or killed, who do you think (in all fairness) should be primarily held liable for the persons injuries or death:

The dog-that did the actual damage/killing.
The owner-for keeping and training and ensuring that said dog would be capable of causing such actual damage/killing.
The intruder-for entering your property without your knowledge or consent and putting themselves in a position where the damage/killing could occur.
4-Any combination of the 3 above.

Keeping in mind, the dogs are where they should be, secured in your yard, and at no time did they leave your yard, doing what they were supposed to do according to their nature and training and owners reason for having them.

I ask, because much like so many other things in life, it ain't just cut & dry. I know that the easiest thing for all the humans to do is to just blame the dog and give all the humans involved a free pass.

So what you all think? Who'd be to blame?

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » January 23rd, 2021, 1:10 am

Rotts don't like Guyanese, they are not backwards compatible.

Postby Gladiator » January 23rd, 2021, 9:51 am

Had a relative that got a stroke, the caretaker put him in the yard to sit for a while an evening and went inside. The pet Rottweiler ate off his hand. He couldn't feel anything because of the paralysis.

Postby Dave » January 23rd, 2021, 9:56 am

That is very sad.
What happened to the relative? And the dog?

Postby MaxPower » January 23rd, 2021, 10:36 am

Gladiator wrote:Had a relative that got a stroke, the caretaker put him in the yard to sit for a while an evening and went inside. The pet Rottweiler ate off his hand. He couldn't feel anything because of the paralysis.

Hello Gladiator,

These are the consequences of cruelty to animals.

And people call themselves “caretakers”.

Hope the dog was not harmed and the contaminants flushed out his system.

Postby 88sins » January 23rd, 2021, 10:38 am

Gladiator wrote:Had a relative that got a stroke, the caretaker put him in the yard to sit for a while an evening and went inside. The pet Rottweiler ate off his hand. He couldn't feel anything because of the paralysis.

1-sounds highly unlikely that the dog would just walk up to a paralyzed person and sit and eat off a human hand. A bite or two, yeah. A good throttle, maybe. But eating it? Highly unlikely. I know that they will eat a dead human body, but that's just because the smell of decomp can be attractive to them. If it's what actually happened, if it made the news please cite it here.
2- You sure that was a caretaker? I find you using that description real loosely. Leaving a person that had a stroke and was rendered disabled because of it outside unattended is rather irresponsible and shows no signs of any care being taken.

Postby Chimera » January 23rd, 2021, 10:39 am

all dog could trip. just like any human could trip

i have small breed dogs

have one "aggressive" one that does rush everyone . i gradually introduce my nephews to them over the last few months. so now my 7 and 12 year old nephews does be happily playing with an "aggressive dog"

but randomly he will decide he eh wanna play and run them down to snap at or bite them

but they physically bigger than him so its not an issue

Postby Rovin » January 23rd, 2021, 10:56 am

bwdmc , dise why i good with a mix mongrel who cyar kill me or others ...

Postby 88sins » January 23rd, 2021, 2:21 pm

Rovin wrote:bwdmc , dise why i good with a mix mongrel who cyar kill me or others ...

Oh, so you didn't hear about the pack of mongrels that killed the old man in south some years ago.
Well, you hear about it today.

Any dog is capable of causing damage, the only differences between big or small, purebred or mutt, and an indication on how much damage an individual animal can do is size, temperament, and the training or conditioning of the animal in question.

Fun fact
When I was a kid, I had a pomeranian. Black with a silvery gray tail, beautiful little dog, but bad like d devil spawn. When he start on you, don't run, and trying to kick him would be a mistake. Because he going for yuh stones when you miss that kick.
I does still miss that lil black bastard :lol:

Postby Rovin » January 23rd, 2021, 2:33 pm

Rovin wrote:bwdmc , dise why i good with a mix mongrel who cyar kill me or others ...

Oh, so you didn't hear about the pack of mongrels that killed the old man in south some years ago.
Well, you hear about it today.

Any dog is capable of causing damage, the only differences between big or small, purebred or mutt, and an indication on how much damage an individual animal can do is size, temperament, and the training or conditioning of the animal in question.

Fun fact
When I was a kid, I had a pomeranian. Black with a silvery gray tail, beautiful little dog, but bad like d devil spawn. When he start on you, don't run, and trying to kick him would be a mistake. Because he going for yuh stones when you miss that kick.
I does still miss that lil black bastard :lol:

d fork kinda animals some of have boi :lol:

when i say mongrel i mean only 1 or 2 we keep more medium size , yea they cud rest ah bite on u but nothing to even remotely kill u , i know 1 bite to throat cud be serious/deadly but not dem kinda ting i talkin bout ....

Postby 88sins » January 24th, 2021, 5:54 pm

If you only know the real joke
Me never train him to do that. He come up with that on he own, and he was real quick and consistent with it.

Just goes to show, animals have their own skills and intelligence and knowledge and behaviors. Is up to you as the human in charge to know how to manage and channel those things, to the benefit of you and the animal

Postby Gladiator » January 25th, 2021, 8:07 pm

1-sounds highly unlikely that the dog would just walk up to a paralyzed person and sit and eat off a human hand. A bite or two, yeah. A good throttle, maybe. But eating it? Highly unlikely. I know that they will eat a dead human body, but that's just because the smell of decomp can be attractive to them. If it's what actually happened, if it made the news please cite it here.
2- You sure that was a caretaker? I find you using that description real loosely. Leaving a person that had a stroke and was rendered disabled because of it outside unattended is rather irresponsible and shows no signs of any care being taken.

The woman just roll out the old man in the wheelchair to take some sun... he lost 3 fingers permanently. He died a couple months later, not from the dog bite though.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 25th, 2021, 11:10 pm

Anybody else feel their dog racist?

Postby 88sins » January 26th, 2021, 7:08 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Anybody else feel their dog racist?

no dog is racist, but some are conditioned to distrust people of a certain ethnicity

&no , I not talking about white dogs in SA, yes, I talking about right here in T&T

Postby Dizzy28 » January 26th, 2021, 8:08 am

My neighbour had a German Shepherd and he didn't like Jews!!

8-) 8-)

Postby MG Man » January 26th, 2021, 8:23 am

no dog is racist, but some are conditioned to distrust people of a certain ethnicity

&no , I not talking about white dogs in SA, yes, I talking about right here in T&T

one of our dogs HATES kids because they taunt her...Given a chance, she will rip a child to shreds
She also hates people with hats

Postby Redman » January 26th, 2021, 9:02 am

We had a belgian shepherd that hated a specific priest...but was cool with his successor.
The dog was jet black.

One is priest white the other black.

Funny as hell cuz the dog would be vicious for a minute and then ignore the specific priest...as if just to remind him of who the devil actually was.

Postby MaxPower » January 26th, 2021, 9:08 am

I googled why does my dog only bark at black people and there was a scientific explanation.

No need to accuse our best friends of being racists.

Postby Gladiator » January 26th, 2021, 11:01 am

Hello Gladiator,

These are the consequences of cruelty to animals.

And people call themselves “caretakers”.

Hope the dog was not harmed and the contaminants flushed out his system.

Sorry boy Max the dog was taken care of better than most Vezes, it had food twice a day, a place to sleep and wasn't kept just for breeding.

Postby Rovin » January 26th, 2021, 11:17 am

how does 1 deliberately go about training his dog to not like a specific race , by using a attack dummy of d said race u doh want d dog to like ? , why wud u want to do dat , so if a different race jump ur fence d dog will jes allow him

suppose d dog became racist because of dise all d race he was presented with to attack ? , so maybe d attack dummy shud be covered so d dog cant make out race but just human form ?

animals in general pick up "vibes" from ppl & some ppl they jes wont like for reason they alone know ....