was vex..... but happy now

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 26th, 2006, 7:31 pm

^^ now goin to tell him dat.. ever heard of tuning?? building a boxs to specs??

check out de ICE forum.. post up all yuh questions.. u will get GOOD answers!

SurGTR

Postby SurGTR » January 26th, 2006, 9:40 pm

findout what the amp pushing and get a sub that is less power 200w amp better to use a 50-75 w speaker

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 27th, 2006, 11:48 am

noobie wrote:So people really use the whole "5.1" thing from their speakers?

Are they arranged properly around you at the computer, or are all 4 speakers placed facing you by the monitor?

What's the point of all the expensive 5.1 stuff if you don't have speaker stands behind you for the two rear speakers?

noobie they are arranged around you... the surrounds come with longer wiring and in some systems are wireless..
try playing need for speed ona good surround sound system :twisted: :twisted:

[quote="neocyst"]I also waz considering to replace the sub in my z-680 !!(provided i'll get more out of it though)
Any sugestions?

to neocyst:
chiney said the z680 sounds really well....i wouldnt really change it unless it went bad (like mine)

pioneer said:dude remember whichever sub you buy...the specs of the box have to be right...cant jus fling ah 8" in there and expect it to be all good.

pioneer for now i'm just missing my music :( :( so i`m putting in a temporary decent sub...and i`m sure the 8" will sound better than the 4" logitech with a 8" piece of passive radiator...eventually i`ll build a whole new box for it though.

noobie

Postby noobie » January 27th, 2006, 12:41 pm

noobie they are arranged around you... the surrounds come with longer wiring and in some systems are wireless..
try playing need for speed ona good surround sound system Twisted Evil Twisted Evil

Oh I know how they are supposed to be arranged. But I also know that most people don't arrange them that way.

And I'm wondering, if you don't have the rear speakers properly placed (and spaced) behind you, whether there is any point in a 5.1 setup. Is it possible to place the two rears facing outward, but infront of you,for example.

I recall Dell shipped a set of speakers (Cubes) which were 5.1 but the Rear could attach to the tops of the Front speakers, but would be at a 45 degree angle to the lower speaker. Does that setup make any sense at all?

Also, the only setup commonly used with Computers that I know of which has wireless remotes is from Logitech (The 5000 or 5500 or something like that?).
Do you know of any others?

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 27th, 2006, 11:10 pm

i think i know the dell cubes u talking about..i checked them out online ...bleh!
it has a surround sound effect but isn`t really 5.1.they arent that powerful and to stack them is basically to save space.

with the 5.1 you have the centre channel, front left and right channels, rear left and right. so encircling you that is the best way to install it. if all the speakers are in front of you they would never have the same effect.
i dont play my system out loud home when i am alone sometimes because the surrounds around me are so good i keep jumping up hearing imaginary extra sounds and noises.. :lol: :lol:
some systems have no remote (like mine), others have a wired remote eg altec lansing 641, and others have a wireless remote.... sometimes with wireless speakers (high end models though)

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 27th, 2006, 11:21 pm

i found a speaker i think could work.. 8 ohm 8 inch... brand is red sun or red fire or something like that. padna demo`ed it in the store and said it sounding good...small power too ,about 200watts max? will find out...

neocyst
Location: lookin' for love in all the wrong places....and lovin' it!

Postby neocyst » January 28th, 2006, 2:12 am

^^Keep us updated bout ur lil project dey!

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » February 1st, 2006, 8:15 am

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 1st, 2006, 9:23 am

who vex.... lorse. :lol: :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 27th, 2006, 2:31 pm

well it looks like logitech have to be d most unreliable brand of speakers! something bound to go wrong with it! :?

i have the Z5300 system for jus over a year now, and yesterday i realise the front/right channel stop working. all the speakers are working fine, it's just that there's no output from that channel :?

anybody could recommend someone i could carry it to fix by now?

(i should have stuck with altec lansing yes. i have a 3 speaker altec system 7 years now and nothing never went wrong with it, still sounds excellent...)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 27th, 2006, 3:16 pm

yeah only from that channel. all the other channels working

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » February 27th, 2006, 4:27 pm

IC = intercooler? :mrgreen:

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 8th, 2006, 4:04 pm

well i installed the speaker..it is a 8 inch sound barrier....about two months ago...hooked it up... wasn`t sounding too hot..after investigating i realized that air was escaping as it wasnt fitting flush..so i widened the cutout area and squeezed it in flush

when i played it again..there wasnt much difference...and some frequencies were even sounding better with the 4 inch!.. i wqas wondering what did i do wrong? wired it back to front?

playing around with the controls this morning.. i accidentally turned off the matrix mode..and behold! bass came flowing like never before!! :P

i think that with the enhanced mode..all teh power was going to the surounds...and the amount of power the sub needed it wasnt getting..

so i`m just tuning it now..all the while before i thought i actually broke in the speaker

:? :?

hoping to get some pics up later :twisted: :twisted:

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 8th, 2006, 5:15 pm

ah just read somebody bloody vex... wham got sand in yuh vagina?

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 28th, 2006, 3:07 pm

weyy pios, like u rel kno ur audio man..i ha the same situation as nismo dere..dunno if the amp blow or sub gone thru cuz d bass still playin but rellll soft n it soundin like it the sub buss or sumtin..:S which 5.1 systems u recommend? was thinkin bout gettin the 5500 too but now i gettin 2nd ideas.. :?

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » October 28th, 2006, 4:31 pm

dood wha u bitchin for a passive radiator is an accepted setup...

my friend had a polk audio :D setup with 4 6 inch and a 12..

1 day we opened it up and forun out that it was a passive radiator setup... the air actually moves the 'subwoffer'...

thrust me the amount of design that actually went into the making of that enclouser u'll be surprised...

the polk setup jams till today... and still sounds gr8...

my advice is read whatever your buying... don't just assume that 'passive radiator' is some fancy performance part... i'm shure it's stated somewhere...

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » November 23rd, 2009, 12:31 am

well i wire up a 10 inch sub in box to the sub wires...and my roof shaking once more...

i realized the speaker i bought before was a mid bass speaker and not a sub :lol: :lol: