Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown

Re: Businesses that closed in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown - Truth Report

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 27th, 2020, 5:59 pm

hindian wrote:Most of the entertainment industry still shut down, sound system, decorators, promoters etc still feeling it and I am still home as a result. I've been relying on my trades to keep me going because there seems to be no Indication as to if and when things going to start back up.

I see life on the bright side

Covid shut down most businesses and many will never return?

Well on the bright side, no more retards passing with music truck waking up sick people, people with babies sleeping etc while parading for no good reason but to disturb the peace with authorization from the Police of all people. Imagine Trinidad is a place where you can get a letter from the police to legally disturb the peace for literally no good reason at all, who knows what racket does go on behind the scenes really.

Another bright side? almost none ah we going to get the nasty seasonal flu because some disgusting excuse of a human being doesn't have the dignity to cover his stink dutty rancid mouth when he cough or sneeze, now all ah them hadda wear mask.

Another bright side? no more Carnival, which BTW is the Devil's culture. All them office girls who like to play they high class then whining on vagrant covered in mud for Carnival no more of that. No more retarded music truck waking me up on Carnival Monday.

Another bright side, all them dutth Trinis who refuse to brush their teeth, now they hadda wear mask and cover that dutty breath.

Look on the bright side padner, that is all you can do.

Another bright side? no more bars hopefully most of them shut down so less drunk driving on the road, cancel all party so less innocent people will lose their loved ones cause some retard decided to drive while drunk.

Covid can be a blessing if you know where to look

Re: Business Cookie Crumbles - Truth Report

Postby paid_influencer » June 27th, 2020, 7:04 pm

kuchurV2 wrote:9)Radical Designs

A few more alleged to go

them closed? because i seeing plenty people walking around with "Radical | Design" masks/chin covers. I would think them doing better than everybody else right now.

Ched title was changed to say COVID, but plenty places was struggling with cash flow way before 2020. PNM economy 2015-2020 is real dismal failure. The COVID interruption at least prompted government to:

(1) pay the VAT refunds owed to small/medium businesses
(2) work with banks to offer loans with deferred payments.

The VAT refunds thing is particularly glaring and really shows how PNM economic policy is non-existent. I do not know how a government can defend breaking the law to hold people's money for years and acting like it is a relief measure to pay the money owed.

I have a feeling many businesses holding on with loans. When the loan money run out and bank need payment... :drinking:

Numb3r4

Re: Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown - Truth Report

Postby Numb3r4 » June 27th, 2020, 7:20 pm

The doubles vendor for my general area isn't coming as often as before.

sniff.....

I'm holding on but.....

For how long....

I don't know.....

Oh, Fatherland, Fatherland show us the sign
Your children have waited to see

Heh Heh!!

Re: Businesses that closed in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown - Truth Report

Postby Rovin » June 27th, 2020, 7:43 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
hindian wrote:Most of the entertainment industry still shut down, sound system, decorators, promoters etc still feeling it and I am still home as a result. I've been relying on my trades to keep me going because there seems to be no Indication as to if and when things going to start back up.

I see life on the bright side

Covid shut down most businesses and many will never return?

Well on the bright side, no more retards passing with music truck waking up sick people, people with babies sleeping etc while parading for no good reason but to disturb the peace with authorization from the Police of all people. Imagine Trinidad is a place where you can get a letter from the police to legally disturb the peace for literally no good reason at all, who knows what racket does go on behind the scenes really.

Another bright side? almost none ah we going to get the nasty seasonal flu because some disgusting excuse of a human being doesn't have the dignity to cover his stink dutty rancid mouth when he cough or sneeze, now all ah them hadda wear mask.

Another bright side? no more Carnival, which BTW is the Devil's culture. All them office girls who like to play they high class then whining on vagrant covered in mud for Carnival no more of that. No more retarded music truck waking me up on Carnival Monday.

Another bright side, all them dutth Trinis who refuse to brush their teeth, now they hadda wear mask and cover that dutty breath.

Look on the bright side padner, that is all you can do.

Another bright side? no more bars hopefully most of them shut down so less drunk driving on the road, cancel all party so less innocent people will lose their loved ones cause some retard decided to drive while drunk.

Covid can be a blessing if you know where to look

ED like u didnt see in d papers this wk sometime that carnival 2021 is a go ..... :|

Re: Businesses that closed down in Trinidad & Tobago due to Covid-19 lockdown - Truth Report

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 27th, 2020, 7:58 pm

^ Doh worry they go cancel that Devil's Party once Covid start to rise again. Same way in America Covid is rising when everybody decided to go party.

I have high hopes that Covid will be our turning point to cancel the donkey wine and the music trucks disturbing the peace with support from law enforcement to BREAK THE LAW.

Talk about a Banana Republic sh!t hole yes.

Hopefully this trend continues, nobody these days eh dying from drunk driving lunatics, imagine getting a call in the evening only to hear your mother or father or son or daughter was murdered in a vehicular accident by a drunk driver because he went to fete to party and had too much to drink.

Covid is a blessing in some ways even if it may kill us.

Close down all them bars, let us find something more productive to do.

Alcohol is the death of a fruit it is the devil's drink ask any pastor they will tell you, the Quran is more clear on this

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 27th, 2020, 8:07 pm

ED.......bars reopened and people drinking and getting drunk faster

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2020, 8:26 pm

rowlee say today he be pulling them up as many violations

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 27th, 2020, 8:33 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:ED.......bars reopened and people drinking and getting drunk faster

The Honorable Prime Minister has asked businesses to refuse customers who do not wear a mask, to make it mandatory.

Why then are Bars allowing people to sit and drink? and with a mask you can't sit and drink, let people buy their drinks and go their way. The Bar will still make money, the government too slack on this. There shouldn't be any socializing this isn't something essential we are already seeing the madness taking place in USA as states reopened people started to go to bars and fete and just so COVID cases skyrocket. Now they have to shut down AGAIN!!!

The Honorable Prime Minister should be reminded that this could happen to us if cases start to rise because of allowing people to sit and socialize in bars etc. Then we would be in the real latrine when that happens

We won't recover from a second shutdown, it will be the end of Trinidad. Let us put the upside down Donkey Wine to rest and do something safer and more productive.

Postby SR » June 27th, 2020, 8:39 pm

Many have taken advantage of the covid pandemic to close thier doors downsize or break leased contracts

If you had a fancy store in a mall guaranteed you were not living paycheck to paycheck

Postby zoom rader » June 27th, 2020, 8:42 pm

SR wrote:Many have taken advantage of the covid pandemic to close thier doors downsize or break leased contracts

If you had a fancy store in a mall guaranteed you were not living paycheck to paycheck
You spotted it , nice

Postby eliteauto » June 27th, 2020, 9:01 pm

pugboy wrote:Lot of home chefs with delivery have popped up with the lockdown

eliteauto wrote:Uncorked liquor store Tragarete Road is also closing, small business development needs more focus now. Home based community services are key now
I was surprised that some restaurants even bothered to reopen for dine in, considering that they started doing prepackaged meals that were selling via delivery or through gourmet stores. To me this reduced overheads, streamlined supply chains and presented an opportunity to move from an expensive storefront to a cheaper location to just do meal prep. I see Taste Vinoteca is pushing in home meal preparation service and take away gourmet food more than dine in

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2020, 9:52 pm

yes, why bother paying the 1% a very high rent to just barely make a profit after paying a bunch of staff.

the upside is that the consumers now realise that you can often get better quality out of a small operation and not have to think only the big restaurants can make decent product which is often not the case.

I have a padna who start up a chinese dimsum delivery service on weekends and getting plenty orders.

eliteauto wrote:
pugboy wrote:Lot of home chefs with delivery have popped up with the lockdown

eliteauto wrote:Uncorked liquor store Tragarete Road is also closing, small business development needs more focus now. Home based community services are key now
I was surprised that some restaurants even bothered to reopen for dine in, considering that they started doing prepackaged meals that were selling via delivery or through gourmet stores. To me this reduced overheads, streamlined supply chains and presented an opportunity to move from an expensive storefront to a cheaper location to just do meal prep. I see Taste Vinoteca is pushing in home meal preparation service and take away gourmet food more than dine in

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2020, 9:55 pm

a lot of the smaller stores with multiple locations in the various malls make a profit for the owners only because of the numbers of stores
some months one store is in the red and others balance it up.

SR wrote:Many have taken advantage of the covid pandemic to close thier doors downsize or break leased contracts

Postby nervewrecker » June 27th, 2020, 10:29 pm

FordeG wrote:

I agree, people need to start changing their business models!

My ex gf used this model, she accommodated clients at home. But with the covid there were less people outside so a lot less women set appointments as they just stayed home and remained indoors (no need to dress up).

Also, most didn't want to be around people for fear of infection. Not sure if store location changed but she and her fiance rather quiet these days esp since he only recently came back out to work but had a major salary cut.

My cousin also runs her store from home but sales took a hit as most women weren't buying much of anything. She managed.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » June 28th, 2020, 6:25 am

see ah store opposite d gym in grandbazar close dong as well. positve note, i glad tuh see all dem doubles men and people selling food finally covering dey mouth when dey selling food. real years i observe the man by carlos bar aranguez selling doubles and talking all over the box while he making a doubles.

Postby pugboy » June 28th, 2020, 7:12 am

same thing with subway, another good thing is it curbs the trini bad habit of rubbing nose with side of thumb

screwbash wrote:see ah store opposite d gym in grandbazar close dong as well. positve note, i glad tuh see all dem doubles men and people selling food finally covering dey mouth when dey selling food. real years i observe the man by carlos bar aranguez selling doubles and talking all over the box while he making a doubles.

Postby RedVEVO » June 28th, 2020, 7:58 am

1. Chando Beni - Roti Place

2. Bistro Coffee Shop

So it looks like roti and coffee NOT in demand anymore ?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 28th, 2020, 9:54 am

Same owners for both.
RedVEVO wrote:^^

1. Chando Beni - Roti Place

2. Bistro Coffee Shop

So it looks like roti and coffee NOT in demand anymore ?

Postby MaxPower » June 28th, 2020, 10:30 am

Friends,

Let’s be mindful that the 1% is ALWAYS a step ahead of you petty Trinis.

Any lost income WILL be made back and allyuh does fall for it every single gawd damn time.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 28th, 2020, 11:15 am

Also heard Bite me Bistro closed their St James branch.

Also, I've spoken to a number of take out fast food places and they all said they're considering closing down by end of summer if things don't pick up.

Landlords have so far not been reducing rent by as much as they should prompting businesses to move out.

Postby matr1x » June 28th, 2020, 11:30 am

Why should they drop their rates? Businesses won't drop their prices.

Again, sufferer problems

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2020, 11:33 am

MaxPower wrote:Friends,

Let’s be mindful that the 1% is ALWAYS a step ahead of you petty Trinis.

Any lost income WILL be made back and allyuh does fall for it every single gawd damn time.
Maybe so,

but you still a hood rat and that's what they see you as.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 28th, 2020, 6:31 pm

matr1x wrote:Why should they drop their rates? Businesses won't drop their prices.

Again, sufferer problems

They should drop their rates low enough so that businesses can survive and at least pay rent. As a landlord you rather no money or some money?

A friend's store said business is down by 70% and she's doing free home deliveries, spending on online ads......she sells shoes which understandably will not make much right now, but she's starting to branch off into kids shoes (back to school) and other cheaper brands.

Even after laying off most of her staff she still losing money to rent.

Just last night she tell me she gonna look for a government job because this business might fold up soon

Postby zoom rader » June 28th, 2020, 9:27 pm

PNM should drop Vat to simulate the economy until it picks up.

The UK is about to employ this.

Postby rspann » June 28th, 2020, 9:42 pm

Nah . Tickets and taxes are the new Petrotrin .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 29th, 2020, 2:24 am

rspann wrote:Nah . Tickets and taxes are the new Petrotrin .

Nothing wrong with tickets, people need to stop breaking red lights and speeding over 100

They are killing innocent people and they don't care. Breaking a red light should come with a hefty fine and the second time you do it should land you in Jail for 10 years

Postby RedVEVO » June 29th, 2020, 3:07 am

zoom rader wrote:PNM should drop Vat to simulate the economy until it picks up.

The UK is about to employ this.

Also Gov't can drop TAX for one year ..

We are basically living on the Heritage Fund

Maybe selling oil to " you know who " was a good idea :D :D :D :D

Postby Chimera » June 29th, 2020, 6:42 am

What gone on with all those duty free stores and airport stores. Sales must be none existant.

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2020, 7:18 am

them does pay stiff rents too

Phone Surgeon wrote:What gone on with all those duty free stores and airport stores. Sales must be none existant.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 29th, 2020, 8:26 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:What gone on with all those duty free stores and airport stores. Sales must be none existant.

I have a cousin (actually its my mother's 1st cousin but she is closer in age to me than my mother so I always considered her a cousin) that works Dufry and in the early stages I think they got paid but now they not laid off but no salary coming in. She called my mother in May to ask her to ask around if anybody needed workers.

My brother in law put out a vacancy ad this past week for a loader/warehouse attendant in the Trincity area and when I asked him Saturday how the pool looking he said its a lot of former airport workers (porters, airline workers etc) applying.

It must be hard to go down to zero so fast.