Will there be Trinidad Carnival in 2021?

Re: Will there be Trinidad Carnival in 2021?

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2020, 9:20 am

so they could finish buy up the whole block of properties by rosalino st?

have a lot of other small businesses who need help more.

trump showed how his handout was biased towards businesses which did not need it.

Dizzy28 wrote:They would want it. Last year or maybe a bit older Dean Ackin asked for government incentives for band leaders him self included.
pugboy wrote:if they cancel are they gonna give the bands, soca artistes, party promoters, boat owners a subsistence grant ?

Postby Dizzy28 » April 29th, 2020, 9:34 am

I think Gypsy mistaking revenue generated with GDP contribution. And all revenues must be offset with costs anyhows to get a true picture of the benefit.

And TT$2b seems like a very optimistic prediction of GDP contributed even with the multiplier effect.

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2020, 9:55 am

they will never put carnival in a less than positive light

carnival is essential as it helps throw off any issues the country is having for a few months

Postby Gladiator » April 29th, 2020, 10:28 am

So on the whole Carnival making so much money for the cuntry argument .... Carnival is a purely a consumption based festival, food, alcohol, rubbish (costumes that throw away after 2 days), and paraphernalia (promotional materials, flag, rag, cup and all the other crap which end up in the landfill).

All of these commodities have to be imported since we make none of them here... of course we need USD to import these things. However people that pay for these things and consume them during Carnival time pay for it in local TT currency (which is useless money). 90% of the fete tickets, mas ban sales etc are in all in TTD

Does Carnival really make economic sense? We take hundreds of millions in forex to import fancy food, fancy alcohol, mas rubbish and the like that patrons of these "parties" pay for with TTD. At the end of the Carnival week it all ends up in the landfill or in the toilet....

Are we in retrospect sheiting away our oil money???

Not to mention the wastage. I coordinate a few fetes and to see 2.4 Milllion TTD spend for a 6 hour party and half of the food and drink end up in the dust bin, makes one wonder how is this sustainable? At some point in time an importer would have had to get USD to import all that crap that is just consumed in excess or wasted.... is our "culture" really so wasteful.

And to add insult to injury, after all the promoters and band leaders make their millions of TTD for Carnival they go to Sterling and Richmond and buy a fancy ride with their Carnival earned TTD, which those companies had to use even more forex to import the fancy cars.

We are in a downward spiral and may see the end very soon if we continue along with this excess and wastage...

Postby zoom rader » April 29th, 2020, 10:37 am

Men now learning what I have been saying for years. Ban Carvinal

Postby maj. tom » April 29th, 2020, 10:57 am

I can't say ban carnival and our culture and freedom of speech and social commentary it has brought us. From the Canboulay riots to the 1970 Revolution started out as carnival displays.

But i'm sure it can be re-organized in some way to benefit more people who participate. With more transparency and equal share for more people. Every year it's always some issue on how the true cultural aspects of it like the pan-men never have enough money to go around. It's too much of sexual exploitation over-commercialization these days with too much wastage that seem to have lost the meaning of the celebration.

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2020, 11:01 am

the concept of carnival has always been good
but it has also allowed certain sectors to own the feeding trough fully supported by the govt

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2020, 11:04 am

Let it fund itself.

Postby Rovin » April 29th, 2020, 12:56 pm

sMASH wrote:Let it fund itself.

str8 to d head of d class !

jes like all other major festivals even d religious 1s : it shud pay for itself, even if ppl choose to donate to it of their own free will , it shud never be a burden to taxpayers ...

:agrue:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 29th, 2020, 8:33 pm

Postby Chimera » April 29th, 2020, 9:01 pm

I doubt carnival gonna even be quarter as big as it usually is. People gonna be scared for a while.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 29th, 2020, 11:13 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I doubt carnival gonna even be quarter as big as it usually is. People gonna be scared for a while.

I agree and it won't make sense to even bother hosting it if the vibe not there, either delay it or cancel it till 2022. The Carnival come-back parties will be epic!

Postby shogun » April 29th, 2020, 11:45 pm

Wouldn't mind if they found a way to still hold a few of the more cultural events though. Calypso Monarch competition for example. Not sure how they'd do it though. But yeah, definitely makes zero sense in 2021.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 30th, 2020, 6:04 am

shogun wrote:Wouldn't mind if they found a way to still hold a few of the more cultural events though. Calypso Monarch competition for example. Not sure how they'd do it though. But yeah, definitely makes zero sense in 2021.

Stick fighting 8-)

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 30th, 2020, 2:57 pm

Why we talking about Inshan on Carnival2K21 thread?

Postby Country_Bookie » April 30th, 2020, 4:34 pm

If carnival is cancelled, will ppl be required to work on those days? Since carnival Monday and Tuesday are not public holidays.

Ah mean we done get so much holidays the last 6 wks but is trini 9 day memory.

Postby MaxPower » April 30th, 2020, 7:17 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:If carnival is cancelled, will ppl be required to work on those days? Since carnival Monday and Tuesday are not public holidays.

Ah mean we done get so much holidays the last 6 wks but is trini 9 day memory.

Hello Country_Bookie,

Yes they should be required to work.

T&T must get more productive.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » April 30th, 2020, 7:43 pm

Lol some real haters in here boy, same will biggup foreign culture, dance Hall reggae and rock crap(all of which I like, but local thing first) over local vibes. Anyways... Don't think there will be one, at all from recent developments within the bigger camps and I agree there should not be any. They will use this time to evolve, just like everything else. Carnival is a money machine... So allot of ppl who are not directly involved OR don't think they're involved may feel a pinch come Jan Feb and March, it has a serious trickle down effect in revenue for businesses.

Postby rspann » April 30th, 2020, 7:53 pm

MOH say no more shaking hands and kissing again , ever . This is the new normal . No crowds at sporting events . So then ,no carnival ever again ?

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2020, 8:01 pm

so no contact sports basketball football ?

Postby Dizzy28 » April 30th, 2020, 8:02 pm

Till a working vaccine and assuming some random Wang don't eat a pangolin or bat again
rspann wrote:MOH say no more shaking hands and kissing again , ever . This is the new normal . No crowds at sporting events . So then ,no carnival ever again ?

Postby rspann » April 30th, 2020, 8:14 pm

Never again !

Postby zoom rader » April 30th, 2020, 8:24 pm

pugboy wrote:so no contact sports basketball football ?
Only PNM political meetings will be allowed for folk to assemble in mases.

No_Name

Postby No_Name » May 3rd, 2020, 10:42 pm

Rovin wrote:
sMASH wrote:Let it fund itself.

str8 to d head of d class !

jes like all other major festivals even d religious 1s : it shud pay for itself, even if ppl choose to donate to it of their own free will , it shud never be a burden to taxpayers ...

:agrue:

Damn rite, let dem promoters etc, take some mas feathers n tickle dey rass n see if dey go hear $ching $ching...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 4th, 2020, 5:04 am

pugboy wrote:so no contact sports basketball football ?

there goes CPL :|

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 4th, 2020, 1:08 pm

eurotuner wrote:Lol some real haters in here boy, same will biggup foreign culture, dance Hall reggae and rock crap(all of which I like, but local thing first) over local vibes. Anyways... Don't think there will be one, at all from recent developments within the bigger camps and I agree there should not be any. They will use this time to evolve, just like everything else. Carnival is a money machine... So allot of ppl who are not directly involved OR don't think they're involved may feel a pinch come Jan Feb and March, it has a serious trickle down effect in revenue for businesses.

Yup many people don't realize how much business and money carnival generates. But leave them.

Either way, we can't have Carnival next year, no vaccine, recession in we tail and no vibe.

But don't worry, C2k22 will be epic.

Postby Gladiator » May 4th, 2020, 1:26 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
eurotuner wrote:Lol some real haters in here boy, same will biggup foreign culture, dance Hall reggae and rock crap(all of which I like, but local thing first) over local vibes. Anyways... Don't think there will be one, at all from recent developments within the bigger camps and I agree there should not be any. They will use this time to evolve, just like everything else. Carnival is a money machine... So allot of ppl who are not directly involved OR don't think they're involved may feel a pinch come Jan Feb and March, it has a serious trickle down effect in revenue for businesses.

Yup many people don't realize how much business and money carnival generates. But leave them.

Either way, we can't have Carnival next year, no vaccine, recession in we tail and no vibe.

How exactly does Carnival "generate money".... if hypothetically we take $100 million USD out of the system to import food/drink/costumes for Carnival and then sell the fete/band/party tickets in $TTD to the tune of $300 Million TTD how is the forex being recovered? Do we have enough "tourists" coming and spending their USD here to recover all the money spent on Carnival?

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2020, 1:34 pm

boy you asking hard questions
i always thought the same but was shame to ask them questions

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 4th, 2020, 1:57 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

How exactly does Carnival "generate money".... if hypothetically we take $100 million USD out of the system to import food/drink/costumes for Carnival and then sell the fete/band/party tickets in $TTD to the tune of $300 Million TTD how is the forex being recovered? Do we have enough "tourists" coming and spending their USD here to recover all the money spent on Carnival?

Your way of thinking is way too simplistic. Firstly, imagine we didn't import food and drink at all. Who loses out there?

Fete promoters, delivery men, bar tenders, caterers. They all profit from sales. Like literally all retail in Trinidad.

It's not about recovering Forex, who the ass taught you economics? It's about Economic activity and circulation.

Now let's think about the Forex received. We have 40k visitors over this period who would put in at least 1.5k USD each into our economy. That's 400M TT 'recovered'. And it's likely much more than that. In my experience visitors here will pay 10k average in accommodation and/or fetes, then another 5k in costumes. That's average, I not even counting all the thousand of foreigners who will pay 40k TT a week to stay in One Woodbrook Place, buy front line costumes and hit 5 fetes and jouvet for Carnival week. Not to mention all the food and groceries they buying too.

But again, it's not really about that. It's about the associated economic activity. There are tens of thousands of people who earn money from carnival season. These same people now take their money and spend in our local economy.

Generating more business, more taxes and more economic growth.

That's what carnival is about, economic growth and stimulation.

Especially as oil and gas isn't likely to ever go back up and we just killed most of the economy due to Covid-19, Carnival is absolutely needed and any smart government would enhance, improve and market this festival heavily from 2022 onwards.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 4th, 2020, 2:10 pm

Daran aka dohplaydat...once you believe in something...never let people sway you....go fort and play yuh mas bredda