SOME Lazy Covid-19 Teachers

elec2020

Re: SOME Lazy Covid-19 Teachers

Postby elec2020 » April 23rd, 2020, 6:57 pm

^ the long and short of my response is that... imo... their are very few cases where physical intervention is required... i doubt that was the motive behind the spike in cases... also as man... why stay in an abusive relationship... or a relationship where u feel that u need to use your hands to convey a point... that is a toxic situationnthat rarely ends well

Postby bluefete » April 23rd, 2020, 8:56 pm

Could someone get this to the MoE and to Faris, please?

88sins wrote:Easy fix really, at least from the teachers position.
Almost all schools have internet access, and those that do most have desktops.
Solution-declare all teachers "essential workers", and make them report for duty at the schools they assigned to, and they must now use the school's internet and desktop to log on and connect with students remotely and teach the class. School practically empty but for the teachers, so social distancing won't be a problem, and the computer not costing them anything and the internet already there.

And let them know, any that decline to comply need not report for duty when things return to normal, since they'd have effectively abandoned their jobs.

Postby 88sins » April 23rd, 2020, 9:40 pm

@ blue, it could work ,but TTUTA will have a issue with that eh.

I mean, after all, lewwe keep it real, that particular union serves little other purpose than to be a thorn in the heel of progress.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 24th, 2020, 12:05 am

I am simply asking how many of you know a teacher, are a teacher or are related to a teacher? TTUTA is not the only issue. Schools have issues. Board schools and private schools all operate differently. MOE influence into all schools is limited to due boards etc. Then you have parent's mentality and secondary school kids mentality (some not all). So don't beat up on the teacher as the teacher is not the roadblock to the administration of education.

When the MOE says school is out until September, carteblanche, and offer no guidance on what to do in the interim, that's the teacher's fault, right? When the government stops the school laptop programme effectively limiting a student's ability to have access to technology, that's the teacher's fault? When a board does not equitably spread MOE funds into all schools within its purview and some schools become more prestigious than others, that's the teacher's fault right?

Teacher's in Trinidad are grossly underpaid and grossly misrepresented by others who feel that they have too much vacation and who believe that they are glorified babysitters.

Yes there may be teachers who fall off the face of the earth in covid19, but the system is at fault for causing this. You also have to consider how many teachers have their kids too and are in the same boat regarding education of the child. Last time I checked, teacher's are allowed to have families and they are not there for the use of the rest of Trinidad who will like to have kids.

Remember, the most important person in a child's education is the parent. You can have the best teacher but if the parents are not committed to the education, there will be failure. So before people blame teachers, do some introspection and determine if you are responsible for you child's successes or failures and try to make what you want of your child at home.

QM

Postby QM » April 24th, 2020, 6:44 am

Teachers are too lazy, unions or not. If they cared about the students they would work. Some have been working but the rest are too complacent and think they country should pay them regardless.

We should always remember those who became teachers are two categories.
1. Those with passion who actually wanted to be teachers. (5%)
2. Those who couldn't get any other jobs, and eventually settled for teaching. This group will also go onto have private lessons at home and not teacher properly at school. (95%)

On another note, they should ban all private lessons, those extra classes just stress out children. If teachers are held accountable, they won't need extra classes. Some teachers even go so far as to say they will cover that topic in the private classes.

Postby matr1x » April 24th, 2020, 8:28 am

OP is kind of stupid.

MoE did not supply anything, and the lesson plan system is jacked up. Also, the online learning platform is the pits. Crashing like a joke. It also discriminates against poor families.

Parents have to step up and actually do their job. Teachers can guide you but parents can teach.

Max likes to talk down trinis but their employers who make real money for years suddenly in problems? The problem is not the employees it's a bad employer.

Lemme guess, the answer is vene?

All vene have to do is present their registration card for relief. Trinis have to present ids, last pay slip, proof of previous employment. A real disgrace.

It's time for trinis to find and drag the venes out and send them back. By force.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 24th, 2020, 9:25 am

carluva wrote:I am simply asking how many of you know a teacher, are a teacher or are related to a teacher? TTUTA is not the only issue. Schools have issues. Board schools and private schools all operate differently. MOE influence into all schools is limited to due boards etc. Then you have parent's mentality and secondary school kids mentality (some not all). So don't beat up on the teacher as the teacher is not the roadblock to the administration of education.

When the MOE says school is out until September, carteblanche, and offer no guidance on what to do in the interim, that's the teacher's fault, right? When the government stops the school laptop programme effectively limiting a student's ability to have access to technology, that's the teacher's fault? When a board does not equitably spread MOE funds into all schools within its purview and some schools become more prestigious than others, that's the teacher's fault right?

Teacher's in Trinidad are grossly underpaid and grossly misrepresented by others who feel that they have too much vacation and who believe that they are glorified babysitters.

Yes there may be teachers who fall off the face of the earth in covid19, but the system is at fault for causing this. You also have to consider how many teachers have their kids too and are in the same boat regarding education of the child. Last time I checked, teacher's are allowed to have families and they are not there for the use of the rest of Trinidad who will like to have kids.

Remember, the most important person in a child's education is the parent. You can have the best teacher but if the parents are not committed to the education, there will be failure. So before people blame teachers, do some introspection and determine if you are responsible for you child's successes or failures and try to make what you want of your child at home.

Agreed. Also One has to factor in that not all schools are "DISTANCE LEARNING READY"

IT elements :
pc/laptop/tablet
INTERNET - many many families do not have this utility as we take for granted. It is seen as a luxury for many.

Social factor:
Supportive family does not exist everywhere

I have 2 sisters who are teachers one for a Prestige Boy Secondary School. and Distance Learning was an easy transition. Forms 4-6 (maths and IT)

Other sis works for a Board school. If half her classes have internet that is plenty. So even though they use some Online means to reach students not the whole class can get the information. ( Physics, Integrated Science )

SOME Lazy Covid-19 Teachers

Postby MaxPower » April 24th, 2020, 11:20 am

matr1x wrote:Max likes to talk down trinis but their employers who make real money for years suddenly in problems? The problem is not the employees it's a bad employer.

All vene have to do is present their registration card for relief. Trinis have to present ids, last pay slip, proof of previous employment. A real disgrace.

It's time for trinis to find and drag the venes out and send them back. By force.

Hello matr1x,

Thanks for you input, and please note that my comments below are not directed specifically to you or anyone on this forum.

I persistently talk down and belittled most Trinis because they deserve it. Havent you seen their despicable behavior in this pandemic?

It is quite clear that the suffering public has a problem with employers making “rel money”. So the automatic Trini mentality is to use their jealous traits to behave the way they do. So yeh, blame the employer for everything.

Allyuh Trinis always have an excuse NOT to work. Trinis are programmed to get full pay for little or no work, an example being public servants. But hey, blame the Govt.

I really dunno who you petty Trinis feel allyuh fooling na . Ok fine, there are some crappy employers, but there are also very good ones. Employ a Trini under both of them, and the attitude is the exact same. - piss poor punctuality, nasty personality, incompetency, poor hygiene, smart shotting, carnival prioritizing wastes.

The answer is not entirely Vene. They aren’t the greatest thing around and some, some, are worst than Trinis. However, most Venes do work harder than Trinis and thats why Trinis beat up...because thats what allyuh Trinis do. Always fighting down anyone that’s better off, how pathetic.

As you can see for yourself, and don’t tell me you haven’t noticed, is a blatant preference/demand for Venezuelans. Again, they are not perfect but it is better than what is available. So rather than Trinis complaining and crying that no one cares about, they should use this as a lesson learnt to better themselves. But LMFAO, that ain’t happening! So fine, STAY allyuh mc right there...work still going on.

“All vene have to do is present their registration card for relief. Trinis have to present ids, last pay slip, proof of previous employment. A real disgrace.” - Well....GET the id, GET that pay slip, GET the proof and stop maccooin Venes. What allyuh want? Fairness? Allyuh only want fairness when it works in allyuh favor. Get with the times. Disgrace? More like Deserved.

“It's time for trinis to find and drag the venes out and send them back. By force” - again, allyuh Trinis thinking all wrong, but u cant help it because of that embedded mentality. Why, instead of using force, cant you all work harder and gain back confidence in the business community? But look at it this way...the Venes came here and drag Trinis out their jobs without even lifting a finger. Thats game.

Get busy, Get productive.

Postby matr1x » April 24th, 2020, 1:42 pm

You are living in la la land.

The pnm stole so much and gave unfair advantage access to Syrian businesses. Why work hard when it's going to be stolen by corruption. Why slave when you are not getting basic services?

Why are trinis being treated like second class citizens? Why are employers getting away with underpaid workers? Because venes don't pay taxes.

Why should trinis be traitors to their own?

It's like being robbed and being criticized for having and issue with it.

It's time for trinis to make venes regret leaving Venezuela.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 24th, 2020, 1:46 pm

These are very unfair and unfounded statements.

QM wrote:Teachers are too lazy, unions or not. If they cared about the students they would work. Some have been working but the rest are too complacent and think they country should pay them regardless.

Teachers have a job to do. How can they effectively do their job if the tools are not in place by the MOE to execute learning in these times? Prestige schools may do well in these times. After all, they get extra funding and donations from parents and this goes towards making the school "prestige". Teachers are not lazy.

Are they compensated for the correction of work that they do outside of school hours, when the latter is dedicated to teaching?

During vacation, are they compensated for the time that they put in to plan lessons?

If students give attitudes that are roadblocks to educating them, because said students pick that up from home, is it the fault of the teacher that he/she cannot effectively educate the student despite trying novel approaches?

Are teachers compensated for using their personal phones, data plans and minutes to deliver presentations at school and for using the same to reach out to students and parents to ensure that education continues at home?

When a "caring" teacher buys school supplies out of pocket, supplies ranging from pens and paper to technological solutions, are they compensated for that?

A teachers's job is to teach. Caring is a by product of teaching which comes about through reciprocation from students and parents. If a student/parent has no interest in education, how can a teacher effectively educate and then how can you force a teacher to care for the student if the student/parent cannot care for himself/herself? It parallels with leading the horse to water, or teaching a man to fish...

All teachers are not lazy. It is just at the executive level of the MOE, School administration, Board level etc, decisions are made which ripple down to the staff level and affect the teachers. This is precisely the same thing that happens in business. Does and employee choose to be demotivated? No - he/she gets that way usually because of some breakdown in the workplace.

If anyone is lazy, it is parents who believe that the teacher is a babysitter and need to look after the kids while the parent is out making money. Parents who do not support the education at home are the lazier ones (simply by not reading what your kid did in school or ensuring that homework is completed). Across the board, there are far more lazy parents and students than there are teachers.

QM wrote:We should always remember those who became teachers are two categories.
1. Those with passion who actually wanted to be teachers. (5%)
2. Those who couldn't get any other jobs, and eventually settled for teaching. This group will also go onto have private lessons at home and not teacher properly at school. (95%)

... based on what? a research paper you did? or through conjecture theory? Do you know that there are many schools that are understaffed resulting in an over allocation of teachers' times resulting in these teachers having to do more outside of normal school hours? But yet, teaching services commission has a long waiting list of teachers waiting on placement that cannot be reduced due to some bureaucracy at the service commission, MOE, the Board of a school or the school administration itself.

Did you know that the requirements to become a teacher are far more stringent than some of the requirements in other sectors such as oil and gas, sales, marketing etc.? Plus there is the ongoing training required each time a syllabus changes or through advancement of self (via DipEd or Masters in Education). But becoming a better teacher benefits the teachers, right? In no way are these benefits passed on to the students?

QM wrote:On another note, they should ban all private lessons, those extra classes just stress out children. If teachers are held accountable, they won't need extra classes. Some teachers even go so far as to say they will cover that topic in the private classes.

You have a valid point regarding extra lessons as this is a real issue. But as a society, the education system is examination-centric. It is not about quality of education. It is always about covering a syllabus in time for an exam. In doing so, if some students are not moving as quickly as others, wouldn't extra lessons help prepare them for this great exam? Again, MOE guidelines is based on covering a syllabus. If there was more responsible care in the quality of education, then maybe things would be different. But again - that is the teacher's fault and he/she is to blame.

TTUTA serves in the interest of the teacher as they recognize these issues and try their best to defend the teachers in consideration of these and more.

The teachers have a job to do, like the rest of us. But like the rest of us, their effectiveness in the discharge of duties is hampered just as other employees' due to the decisions made at the top. Fix the top and the real problem and you will see how education will reform in this banana republic. But until such time, just like monkeys eating bananas, lets blame teachers as this is the scapegoat for parents' incompetencies (not a word, I know, but still useful in this context) to do the needful with their kids.

Parents are the bigger problem, not teachers.

Postby MaxPower » April 24th, 2020, 2:22 pm

matr1x wrote:
Why work hard when it's going to be stolen by corruption. Why slave when you are not getting basic services?

Why are trinis being treated like second class citizens? Why are employers getting away with underpaid workers? Because venes don't pay taxes.

Why should trinis be traitors to their own?

It's like being robbed and being criticized for having and issue with it.

It's time for trinis to make venes regret leaving Venezuela.

Exactly bro,

Dont work and dont slave, its fine...no one is forcing you. Do you see any employers begging for Trinis to work? Dont need them bro, plenty Venezuelans around to pick up the slackness.

But you’re only saying “it’s time it’s time for Trinis” .....im guessing you mean to unite? Stand up?.....hahahahah good luck with that broski.

Trinis are losing their country to Venezuelans and its only them have to power to change that. Allyuh just too damn lazy, complacent and bad mind to even bother to try.

Aint no La La land here mate, this is reality. You may not like it, but you know it.

rebound

Postby rebound » April 24th, 2020, 3:05 pm

Correct. I dont see how they are not holding the employer accountable and constantly downing on the employees.

When an employee do what they want without consequense or instruction who supposed to stop it? Not the employer?
matr1x wrote:OP is kind of stupid.

MoE did not supply anything, and the lesson plan system is jacked up. Also, the online learning platform is the pits. Crashing like a joke. It also discriminates against poor families.

Parents have to step up and actually do their job. Teachers can guide you but parents can teach.

Max likes to talk down trinis but their employers who make real money for years suddenly in problems? The problem is not the employees it's a bad employer.

Postby matr1x » April 26th, 2020, 1:11 pm

I think max is as lazy as the trinis he looks down on.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 26th, 2020, 1:29 pm

Teachers these days are not like what it was long before, now they aint care one f*q. Just do the bare basics and get out from there and go teach their lessons on evenings and collect their cash.

i went to a somewhat prestige school, imagine at the closing of my business class a day where a new topic was just started, the teacher said she would continue this in her lessons later that evening. i was like what the forq. My dad wasnt working for much money, mom couldnt drive me to the classes so i honestly couldnt go.

manged to scrap up all passes and left secondary school but i never went lessons at all, now looking back at it, it would of allowed me to have better grades. But then again, all the jobs i got and have currently wasnt due to my o levels passes and i didnt do CAPE. i did alot of other stuff however.

Postby matr1x » April 26th, 2020, 2:14 pm

If any of you became a teacher, you would be crying like a little bi**h. Parents don't do their job.

Postby 88sins » April 26th, 2020, 10:30 pm

matr1x wrote:If any of you became a teacher, you would be crying like a little bi**h. Parents don't do their job.

Maybe,

But I dare say about 95% of teachers don't do their job either.
End result =the kids get screwed over x2

Postby Ted_v2 » April 27th, 2020, 12:03 am

that is the only comeback all them teachers does have, my teacher was dread back in the days, im talking at a techanical school.
used to have to put phones in a box upon entry and had to actually pay attention, a day somebody phone ring and the man putout the entire class oui. about 65% of the class didnt complete the two year program but the man was really a good fella, and did his absolute best to teach the class. Some yutes needed some hard slap honestly but his approach had them walking out the door.

Postby matr1x » April 27th, 2020, 2:54 am

When you can be openly threatened as a teacher and the systems in place are beyond pathetic to handle those situations, why put out 110%?

carluva

Postby carluva » April 27th, 2020, 9:11 am

All these percentages being quoted in this thread... What are they based on?

Unless you know a teacher or perhaps are one, you'll never know the challenges of being a teacher in this country, many of which contribute to the incorrect public perception and negative rhetoric geared towards the same.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 27th, 2020, 9:23 am

carluva wrote:All these percentages being quoted in this thread... What are they based on?

Unless you know a teacher or perhaps are one, you'll never know the challenges of being a teacher in this country, many of which contribute to the incorrect public perception and negative rhetoric geared towards the same.

I lived with (still do to some extent) a teacher. My sister is a head of department in a government secondary school and she stays by us during the week for an easier commute. Unless she is an overall outlier which in her school she is not teachers have it real nice.

And I have seen her payslip and teachers are pretty well compensated as a public servant relative to the general population not counting the non pecuniary benefit of almost 4 months at home. Being a rural school in an outlying district the bank time is actually 1 full day off and not 1/2 day, 14 casual days (wtf) and the usual 14 sick days.
And I challenge any teacher to try and dispute Easter/July/August/Christmas is not holidays. No teacher plans work for 2 full months.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » April 28th, 2020, 8:42 am

the only reason private/prestige schools are better is because the parents and family support systems of the students are better. Having worked for both i can simply say the parents and the lack of upbringing is the problem with public schools. The teachers there are working against multiple factors which contribute against there actual job which is teaching.

Teachers not there to fix your child behavior that's the parents problem but too often school is viewed as a daycare for kids and young adults as it is essentially FREE, not to mention if you do decide to go an extra mile and discipline them the same parents who not training the child coming in school to beat yuh or cuss out.
If the same parent had to pay a cool 15,000 per term per child you would bet the first misbehavior or nonsense they act up with is one time dey getting dey culo straighten out. Parents of students of these types of school, especially private, heavily involved with their children development (Versus parents who only involvement is to beat teacher and drop child to school) with school and extra-curricular activities and the teacher often go wayyyy beyond the call of duty.

While MoE was floundering around and still is there are some private schools that continued learning without missing a beat (while they were some hiccups as expected with a new system) and constantly in contact with parents to ensure learning objectives are met with weekly updates on changes due to the pandemic.

I really wish i had the money to send my kids that kinda school, because having seen the varying quality of education , on offer firsthand it seems public schools are like a Syrian warzone (Who would want to teach or attend school there) that more concerned on safely reaching end of day/term rather than actual education.

The people who argue that teachers in these public schools lazy have no idea what it is to work in such a place, heck even deciding to be a teacher is more courageous than being a police or soldier because yuh can't lash back or arrest or effectively do anything against your tormentors (students & parents) so it is essentially a thankless and fruitless task.
Would you come to work with joy and give 1000% knowing that is your reality?

Postby Redman » April 28th, 2020, 8:53 am

Privatise education.
And if it is that kids today are under different issues....it's the schools responsibility to adapt.

But MOE has failed since the 1990s.

Privatize the education system

Postby Redman » April 28th, 2020, 9:45 am

So using the school population off of some statistical site.(UNESCO)..and current fees for a private primary school, and a guess at a secondary school run privately it looks like 3B to privatize all primary and secondary schools.

I pay 3500 per term for private primary.
They do every thing with that -pay teachers maintain etc etc etc.

Screen Shot 2020-04-28 at 9.39.28 AM.png

Just as an indicator....Min of Education got 7.5B out of which

Garcia said personal expenditure remained the single largest expense at $2.71 billion. This figure encompassed salaries for people from Early Childhood Care and Education (ECCE) to the primary, secondary and tertiary levels; the technical vocational sector; the national examination council on scholarships; and advanced teacher training.

Baldhead

Postby Baldhead » April 29th, 2020, 10:50 am

Forget the lazy teachers...what about the lazy parents who don't study their children.
What about these APPARENT lazy teachers who cannot reach parents or even their students???
:?:

Postby MaxPower » April 29th, 2020, 12:11 pm

The majority of teachers in T&T are LAZY.

Dunno why DF allyuh cant understand that and stop looking for a million excuses for them.

How do all the best teachers do it?

Don’t they work under harsh conditions and situations AS WELL and STILL fight through and get the job done?

What are they doing that the rest of the LAZY AF teachers aren’t?

Have to start evaluating the performance of these “teachers” and fire/discipline/salary cut as necessary.

Wastes.

Postby 16 cycles » April 29th, 2020, 12:38 pm

For non-involved parents during usual school term, their kids may be even at a greater disadvantage at the end of all of this.....

Sad thing is when the kids whose parents aren't involved come out of school, there may not be enough basic jobs to sustain them causing a strain on society - all of us...

aidan

Postby aidan » May 11th, 2020, 10:12 am

Parents too forkin lazy. They expecting teachers to babysit they kids over zoom too. My wife is a secondary school teacher and doing her classes online and it is alot more work than classroom setting in terms of preparation, but for some reason she likes the children and doing her best to help them. And it have dotish disrespectful donkey parents who want to harass her and say she need to give they child more attention. If was up to me I would tell them rock so but it will reflect negative on the school. Hope none of allyuh on here is parents like that.

Postby Dave » May 11th, 2020, 10:18 am

Kudos to your wife and all the teachers who changed the way the game is played.
I have seen some of the said parents reacting not too nice towards teachers who had to rethink the entire way education is delivered literally overnight.
It was a big unfair imo cause half of them couldn't do any better if thrown into similar situation given some of the comments they make, shows how far down the road they really are.
It all boils down to discipline of the parent to the child and managing time as I know many parents also working from home and are being asked to do more.
This isn't a time for blame game cause guess who gets left out.....the ones who didn't ask to be here.

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2020, 10:55 am

padna whose niece going a top prestige primary school in POS say last week
they make them do a lil basic exam, everybody fail bad when they should have had 100% pass
the school start to panic and trying to interview parents and kids etc

it seems that many kids brains switch off and in full vacation mode even though they doing the video classes

Postby hydroep » May 11th, 2020, 12:06 pm

And they talking about holding CXC regional exams in July. Those results gonna be interesting...:|