88sins wrote:adnj wrote:^^ Nice.
As an aside, I am all for a gravity + pump system for those times that you lose power.
But you don't need your entire reserve capacity to be elevated. A small tank near roof level will still give you enough water pressure.
Funny joke.
90% of the time, this doesn't work, and 9% of the time it does it doesn't work well. Only in 1% of applications does it function properly.
Because most residential homes water lines are at largest 3/4" pipe, coming out of a 3/4" outlet and feeding into the 1 1/4 intake of the pump, and before that water reaches inside the it must first overcome the combined resistance of all the 90 degree turns in the system and most importantly the pumps impeller, as well as the reduced bore of angle valves that most people use to connect taps and toilets to their system.
Only way to get a totally power independent flow would be to first get the tank high enough to build sufficient pressure, then split the line at the tank outlet, and run one to the pump intake and then the other on the pump outlet with a check valve to stop the flow from entering the pump via the pump outlet. This way, your system will only have to overcome your 90 degree turns and reduced line bores, and once the base of the tank is above the highest outlet in the house you will get a pump free gravity fed supply from your reserve to the shower and every outlet below it.
88sins wrote:adnj wrote:^^ Nice.
As an aside, I am all for a gravity + pump system for those times that you lose power.
But you don't need your entire reserve capacity to be elevated. A small tank near roof level will still give you enough water pressure.
Funny joke.
90% of the time, this doesn't work, and 9% of the time it does it doesn't work well. Only in 1% of applications does it function properly.
Because most residential homes water lines are at largest 3/4" pipe, coming out of a 3/4" outlet and feeding into the 1 1/4 intake of the pump, and before that water reaches inside the it must first overcome the combined resistance of all the 90 degree turns in the system and most importantly the pumps impeller, as well as the reduced bore of angle valves that most people use to connect taps and toilets to their system.
Only way to get a totally power independent flow would be to first get the tank high enough to build sufficient pressure, then split the line at the tank outlet, and run one to the pump intake and then the other on the pump outlet with a check valve to stop the flow from entering the pump via the pump outlet. This way, your system will only have to overcome your 90 degree turns and reduced line bores, and once the base of the tank is above the highest outlet in the house you will get a pump free gravity fed supply from your reserve to the shower and every outlet below it.
alfa wrote:88sins wrote:adnj wrote:^^ Nice.
Funny joke.
The one issue I see with that is that the gravity flow will have to overcome the force of the check valve spring on the pump outlet side which it may not be able to do. Better to use a lock off valve and keep closed when not in use. What I did was simply run a bypass line from the suction to discharge side of the pump with said lock off valve in the middle
88sins wrote:RedVEVO wrote:
Gravity feed works when there is no electricity .
The base does not have to be high since you already have 1000 gallon pressure etc.
Someone ordered a jackass?
Dear King Toolumhead Jr.
A tank on level ground, no matter the volume, will not "Gravity feed" into a house. At best some water will get to the lowest tap, and when the water level in the tank reaches the level of that tap that's the end. Couple that with the fact that OP already has a pump, so it's just a matter of building a base and connecting the tank to the existing system.
Look some free advice.
Stick to what you good at, taking piggy in yuh bambam in lieu of paying rent & begging your landlord to not evict you.
Know yuh strengths, and stay in your lane.
maj. tom wrote:Here's the thing. People are creating threads because they need info. Valid info that will stand up in the years to come. When you Google a problem related to Trinidad, Trinituner comes up and all the wealth of information is documented by experience and people educated on the topic.
Here comes a troll RedVEVO, telling people all the wrong info. Over and over, in every single thread he does that. People looking for genuine help are only met by pages upon pages of this ignorant fucktard expounding his damaged psyche. And jeezus is this boy broken and abused and molested. It's quite frustrating to have to scroll through, sift through all this sheit to get the valid info. Oh he won because he's trolling? People fell for the bait? It's not even mildly amusing anymore. There are threads to do that. Not the ones where people require information. There is proper internet etiquette for communication in 2020; it's not 2003 when the internet now started. You see other people getting on like this clown'scunt? If you look at RedVEVO's post history, every single one of his posts is inaccurate and people have to stop the discussion and inform the readers that what he posted was wrong. There was a time when mods created a RedVEVO thread for him to play in because of the nonsense he does.
And after a while, after all this nonsense over and over, the people with the experience and education will shut down. Why bother to even post anything if it will be hijacked and then lauded by RedVEVO and his admirers? Why bother to type anything to help someone else? Then those people just sign off, the actual valuable contributors on Trinituner just stop. Over the years many, many stalwart old-time tuners with so much knowledge to share have done just that. They're gone, they just read sometimes and sigh at the usual dotish nonsense allowed. Why should they even bother to log on and type anything here?
Again, mods here seem to like this behaviour. More views, more data mining, more targeted ad hits, more revenue right?
maj. tom wrote:Here's the thing. People are creating threads because they need info. Valid info that will stand up in the years to come. When you Google a problem related to Trinidad, Trinituner comes up and all the wealth of information is documented by experience and people educated on the topic.
Here comes a troll RedVEVO, telling people all the wrong info. Over and over, in every single thread he does that. People looking for genuine help are only met by pages upon pages of this ignorant fucktard expounding his damaged psyche. And jeezus is this boy broken and abused and molested. It's quite frustrating to have to scroll through, sift through all this sheit to get the valid info. Oh he won because he's trolling? People fell for the bait? It's not even mildly amusing anymore. There are threads to do that. Not the ones where people require information. There is proper internet etiquette for communication in 2020; it's not 2003 when the internet now started. You see other people getting on like this clown'scunt? If you look at RedVEVO's post history, every single one of his posts is inaccurate and people have to stop the discussion and inform the readers that what he posted was wrong. There was a time when mods created a RedVEVO thread for him to play in because of the nonsense he does.
And after a while, after all this nonsense over and over, the people with the experience and education will shut down. Why bother to even post anything if it will be hijacked and then lauded by RedVEVO and his admirers? Why bother to type anything to help someone else? Then those people just sign off, the actual valuable contributors on Trinituner just stop. Over the years many, many stalwart old-time tuners with so much knowledge to share have done just that. They're gone, they just read sometimes and sigh at the usual dotish nonsense allowed. Why should they even bother to log on and type anything here?
Again, mods here seem to like this behaviour. More views, more data mining, more targeted ad hits, more revenue right?
linton wrote:Back to topic . I've seen some concrete tank stands with one concrete post . Does this work good ? I mean is it safe ?
Will the concrete on its base last as it's exposed to rain. I seen concrete floors crumble when left exposed with steel in it swollen and the concrete shelling out .
88sins wrote:linton wrote:Back to topic . I've seen some concrete tank stands with one concrete post . Does this work good ? I mean is it safe ?
Will the concrete on its base last as it's exposed to rain. I seen concrete floors crumble when left exposed with steel in it swollen and the concrete shelling out .
more risk of them toppling over than the concrete crumbling. better to build with a proper foundation and corner columns, so it's much more stable & you could just wall it up & have a small storeroom below for pump, tools whatever.
a rough example of what I mentioned earlier.
88sins wrote:linton wrote:Back to topic . I've seen some concrete tank stands with one concrete post . Does this work good ? I mean is it safe ?
more risk of them toppling over than the concrete crumbling. better to build with a proper foundation and corner columns, so it's much more stable & you could just wall it up & have a small storeroom below for pump, tools whatever.
pump.jpg
88sins wrote:Only if you plan on turning your pump on and off as necessary. Doing it that way, pump switch can remain on unless you need it off.
Running water out from the top is what's known as a siphon system, that's a whole other kettle of fish.
For the most part, it won't be a problem either way because the size of PVC used for household plumbing keeps the flow rates to about 20 gpm.ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:88sins wrote:linton wrote:Back to topic . I've seen some concrete tank stands with one concrete post . Does this work good ? I mean is it safe ?
pump.jpg
I saw there are pumps with waterproof housing so you can put it next to the tank on the stand then just run everything to the house. If you use "gravity feed" from the tank then to the pump at different location wouldn't it starve the pump a bit and wear it out faster rather than just putting it next to the tank on the stand where it getting direct flow from the tank?
pugboy wrote:To protect the pump from running and burning on a dry tank you should also install a float switch inside the tank
When tank has water and the switch is floating it allows the pump to run
When dry and hanging it breaks the circuit and pump does not get power.
You will need to run wire from tank to pump to implement a float switch.
eitech wrote:pugboy wrote:To protect the pump from running and burning on a dry tank you should also install a float switch inside the tank
What happens if u have a restriction on the suction side of the pump? Check valve from tank lock up for example
pugboy wrote:you have a problem then but check valves dont normally malfunction that way
if they lock up, they lockup open, eg crud jams and dont let it closeeitech wrote:pugboy wrote:To protect the pump from running and burning on a dry tank you should also install a float switch inside the tank
What happens if u have a restriction on the suction side of the pump? Check valve from tank lock up for example
pugboy wrote:there are some small float switches i’ve seen
was thinking of trying to rig one for such but haven’t gotten much thought on it.
that is the only advantage if a smarthead, they have a fault trip
pugboy wrote:the good ones not cheap because to detect dry running pump could be tricky depending on demand conditions
eitech wrote:pugboy wrote:the good ones not cheap because to detect dry running pump could be tricky depending on demand conditions
Lol for real. A gould pump not cheap too
maj. tom wrote:And after a while, after all this nonsense over and over, the people with the experience and education will shut down. Why bother to even post anything if it will be hijacked and then lauded by RedVEVO and his admirers? Why bother to type anything to help someone else? Then those people just sign off, the actual valuable contributors on Trinituner just stop. Over the years many, many stalwart old-time tuners with so much knowledge to share have done just that. They're gone, they just read sometimes and sigh at the usual dotish nonsense allowed. Why should they even bother to log on and type anything here?