You will likely see driverless vehicles long before a rail system. Both will reduce or eliminate taxi and truck driver jobs.EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Imagine a country like Trinidad still doesn't have a modern rail system, not complaining just find it pretty funny how corrupt the system is and people accept it just fine and dandy.
At this point a mass transit system cannot be possible because it will put too many taxi drivers out of business and on the breadline. Rapid Rail is something that should have been started years ago, the PNM driver in work told me if they didn't kill Manning we would have had a Rapid Rail by now
RedVEVO wrote:^^
Rail System will NEVER put taxi drivers etc., at a loss or out of a job ..
eliteauto wrote:juggernaught wrote:So my question is things only hard for them taxi drivers alone? What horse feces I hearing look how long the working public salaries have never been adjusted to the high cost of living and then these sons of beaches wanna increase the fare because they losing out? Man that’s just greed for real, I nor the traveling public never gone and tell you to buy a frigging Serena or noah
That's a pretty narrow-minded opinion, what does public sector salaries have to do with an entrepreneur that invested money to provide a service? A businessman does not go into business for the purpose of charity he goes in to make money. In a country with no reliable mass-transit system, larger capacity vehicles are the better bet, it's the norm internationally
juggernaught wrote:eliteauto wrote:juggernaught wrote:So my question is things only hard for them taxi drivers alone? What horse feces I hearing look how long the working public salaries have never been adjusted to the high cost of living and then these sons of beaches wanna increase the fare because they losing out? Man that’s just greed for real, I nor the traveling public never gone and tell you to buy a frigging Serena or noah
That's a pretty narrow-minded opinion, what does public sector salaries have to do with an entrepreneur that invested money to provide a service? A businessman does not go into business for the purpose of charity he goes in to make money. In a country with no reliable mass-transit system, larger capacity vehicles are the better bet, it's the norm internationally
It’s not narrow minded if you think about it you know, a lot of the traveling public are people of this nature, do you think they would be happy to know they constantly fall at whims of money hungry taxi drivers who simply wanna make a mil off transporting people in a car hmmm I think not..fuel prices are somewhat justifiable over a certain period but not what they tryna do here, think about it this way an entrepreneur of any type knows his customers are the reason he actually gets a opportunity to provide a service and gets income from that, so the LAST one to take a hit would be them the customers but it seems to me that taxi drivers don’t wanna bear the brunt of ANY overheads. “Keep customers coming back not take advantage of them, because you would make a dollar today but not tomorrow”
1.Take taxi from Gas to San dodaxt0r wrote:hey while on d subject of taxi, ah never travel to or from gasparillo to d airport, anybody know d different taxis ah go hv to take? plz doh tell me call a taxi, dem thing is for big boy ah mean like with taxi/maxi on stand.
rspann wrote:Writing without capitals and punctuation marks and asking for directions.
Coincidence ?
Southmen most often know how to travel.rspann wrote:That , zr and maps.. . Could be autocorrect? Or the things he considers important ?
That was natio MO.
You know PNM to ever build anything on time and budget?RedVEVO wrote:^^
The Rapid Rail is the solution .
New York and London where I lived and worked , you did not need a car ..
There were efficient rail transport to anywhere ..
From Surrey to WaterLoo took 20 mins ..
Via car it would of been virtually impossible .
Most trini like the fact they get there fast, u are a rare breed to value ur life88sins wrote:maj. tom wrote:lol so they reducing passengers and raising the fare to compensate, but yet no word of passenger safety like seat-belts for all passengers. Inertia does stop by magic after the front seat ent? What about child seats for baby passengers? As registered taxi drivers, should they all not have a child seat in the trunk to attach to a regular seat for when there is need to buckle up a child? Nothing wrong with paying a passenger fare for that safety service. Trinidad forever have backward sheit laws that never protect its citizens eh?
And they eh talk about how taxi drivers always speeding and zig zagging like Mad Max hog warriors? They culling the traditional jackass taxi driving with this fare raise? If Arrive Alive ever needs proof for their campaign, just follow a POS/Curepe to Sando taxi at any hour with a dashcam.
AYE
boi, several years ago I had the misfortune to have to take a taxi to arima, and little did I know the driver was pushing hard for the CvNT of the Decade Award in the jackass driving category. He start driving like a ass from by maritime flyover, tailgating, speeding, shoulder driving, zig-zag all over the place. I asked him one time to slow down & follow the laws of the road. He responded in the manner I expected a jackass would, "if yuh eh like how I driving yuh could come out here yunno".
Me eh say a word after, I just pull out phone & start to record the rest of the trip.
Reach arima, I walk out the car, & I tell him I eh paying him. He start to cuss & come out d car,& I tell him, let us go in d station & see if the police decide I should pay him for endangering my life & If they do decide I should pay him after watching the video of his driving on my phone, I would & tip him $100.
That was the fastest I ever see an a$$h0le jump back in a taxi & drive off cussin.
You spent time in the two cities with the best rail systems in the Western hemisphere. And each are one hundred times larger than San Fernando.RedVEVO wrote:^^
The Rapid Rail is the solution .
New York and London where I lived and worked , you did not need a car ..
There were efficient rail transport to anywhere .. and everywhere .. in mins
From Surrey to WaterLoo took 20 mins ..
Via car it would of been virtually impossible .
Can't put a cost of what the UK rail system cost, cause it's been there for over 150 years. They just keep upgrading it as the years goes by.redmanjp wrote:but how much that rail system cost?
I will say it more simply for you...zoom rader wrote:Can't put a cost of what the UK rail system cost, cause it's been there for over 150 years. They just keep upgrading it as the years goes by.redmanjp wrote:but how much that rail system cost?
If PNM had kept our rail and did the same as the UK by upgrading then we would have had better transportation.
The only reason why PNM killed our existing rail was because of car dealers and taxi drivers
What studies show this?adnj wrote:I will say it more simply for you...zoom rader wrote:Can't put a cost of what the UK rail system cost, cause it's been there for over 150 years. They just keep upgrading it as the years goes by.redmanjp wrote:but how much that rail system cost?
If PNM had kept our rail and did the same as the UK by upgrading then we would have had better transportation.
The only reason why PNM killed our existing rail was because of car dealers and taxi drivers
There isn't enough of a population on this island to support a rail system of any significance.
zoom rader wrote:What studies show this?adnj wrote:I will say it more simply for you...zoom rader wrote:Can't put a cost of what the UK rail system cost, cause it's been there for over 150 years. They just keep upgrading it as the years goes by.redmanjp wrote:but how much that rail system cost?
There isn't enough of a population on this island to support a rail system of any significance.
So you saying that PNM was wrong to start Rapid Rail or continue with it?adnj wrote:zoom rader wrote:What studies show this?adnj wrote:I will say it more simply for you...zoom rader wrote:Can't put a cost of what the UK rail system cost, cause it's been there for over 150 years. They just keep upgrading it as the years goes by.redmanjp wrote:but how much that rail system cost?
Lots of info out there correlating population size and density versus light rail cost and success.
Suffice to say that everything that you said is wrong regarding rail and guided vehicles for mass transit.
You will conclude with adequate research that:
.. Age of the investment does not affect overall costs much.
.. Population density is a crucial measure of success.
.. Subsidies are required for nearly every system.
.. About 28,000 ppl/sq mi (45 ppl/acre) is the about minimum population density for success.
Once 28,000 ppl/sq mi has been reached, light rail makes sense because of the productivity gains for the work force. It appears that by comparison San Fernando has a density of only 6700 ppl/sq mi. Trinidad has a population density that is one-tenth of that.