Slartibartfast wrote:assassin wrote:Internationally the CA scandal was that they used people's FB data without explicit consent. If I clicked "ok" and participated in a FB quiz from CA, they accessed my friends' prelim data without the consent of my friends
The firm was deemed unethical in its data gathering.
Did CA's clients know of the firm's unethical practices and were complicit?
Did clients hire CA based on the firm's ability to gather data and conduct research based on such data?
This manipulation of the masses is an established science and has been going on for over a century. It started with Freud and was commercialized by Bernays. It was the genesis of "public relations "
Pretty much. So the question now is what can the ordinary person do to protect themselves from having their opinions easily swayed by PR specialists? I always suggest fact checking but who really has the time when you are constantly being bombarded by information?
MG Man wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:assassin wrote:Internationally the CA scandal was that they used people's FB data without explicit consent. If I clicked "ok" and participated in a FB quiz from CA, they accessed my friends' prelim data without the consent of my friends
The firm was deemed unethical in its data gathering.
Did CA's clients know of the firm's unethical practices and were complicit?
Did clients hire CA based on the firm's ability to gather data and conduct research based on such data?
This manipulation of the masses is an established science and has been going on for over a century. It started with Freud and was commercialized by Bernays. It was the genesis of "public relations "
Pretty much. So the question now is what can the ordinary person do to protect themselves from having their opinions easily swayed by PR specialists? I always suggest fact checking but who really has the time when you are constantly being bombarded by information?
stop clicking on so much damn dotish shht on facebook
Shims man, is 'OCD test' this and 'how yuh go look as ah pantyman' that
Want to feel you saving the planet? 'ermergerrd I'm not using plastic straws...boycott plastic straws'....that's how easy it is to distract a global population
Reality is humans are too lazy to be actively objective about anything. They thrive on confirmation bias, and the shadows are fully aware of that, so it's only gonna get worse
The_Honourable wrote:“The Great Hack” is a misinformed documentary about misinformation
"Perhaps “The Great Hack” is the documentary the Facebook era deserves. Like an argument on the social network, it is tedious, seemingly complicated but intellectually underdeveloped, crammed with false facts and exaggerated statistics and features several blowhards who veer between self-righteous and self-congratulatory. Like one of those arguments, nobody comes out looking good in the end."
Full Article: https://www.economist.com/prospero/2019 ... nformation
It's just PNM making noise about nutting.toyolink wrote:I am still trying to understand all the issues surrounding 'data mining and or psychological manipulation'.
What strikes me is that many of the complaints being surfaced may apply to what was commonly referred to as market research which informed how goods, services and even messages to target groups were tailored.
What is different is that public social networks are harvesting personal profiles in the background and selling the information to third parties...…..the question then becomes are they really in breach of any undertaking with those who choose to use their sites and expose themselves.
Low tech= market research
High tech= data mining?
toyolink wrote:I am still trying to understand all the issues surrounding 'data mining and or psychological manipulation'.
What strikes me is that many of the complaints being surfaced may apply to what was commonly referred to as market research which informed how goods, services and even messages to target groups were tailored.
What is different is that public social networks are harvesting personal profiles in the background and selling the information to third parties...…..the question then becomes are they really in breach of any undertaking with those who choose to use their sites and expose themselves.
Low tech= market research
High tech= data mining?
‘Different political beast’
Cudjoe on Cambridge Analytica:
Kinnesha George
Tobago West MP Shamfa Cudjoe on Tuesday encouraged supporters to watch the Netflix documentary The Great Hack, which, she said, urged Africans to stay away from the polls.
Addressing the PNM's Tobago West constituency conference at the Lowlands Multipurpose Facility, Cudjoe said it was important for every PNMmite to get the chance to see the documentary.
"If you don’t have the time to watch it in your homes, I think that we need to organise a movie night. We have to sit down as PNM people and watch that from beginning to end, because it goes all the way back to 2010. That is all our business. That is our business, we need to understand what this Cambridge Analytica issue is all about because we’re living in different times, different trends, different strategies and different political beasts.”
Cudjoe claimed the aim of Cambridge Analytica was to suppress not just the voters but African voters.“Who wants to say I’m racist, I’m calling it as it is.
“Even right now it is still at work. They’re creating fake profiles, there are nameless, faceless people on the internet in thousands –not in hundreds, in thousands – to ill-speak the PNM and cause you not to go out there and vote, because they know you’re not going out there to vote for the UNC."
Cambridge Analytica was a British company which took data from social media for use in politcal campaigns on behalf of parties in several countries. It declared bankruptcy last year. It was set up in 2013 and was a subsidiary of a company called SCL.
Cudjoe said: "Just to make you sour, to make you feel the PNM is not doing anything for you – that politics is a nasty thing. They were actually saying, 'Don’t go to the polls,' but if you don’t go, and Vashti somewhere down in Siparia goes, your vote is not counted because you didn’t vote, she going out there and vote for Kamla, and all their people going out there and vote for them, while we home upset,”She urged her hearers to use their right to vote, saying, "People fought and died for that, people fought and died for democracy. There are people all over the world in certain countries that wish to taste democracy and we have it right here. Make me and my household en vote – that’s not happening in my household. You have to ensure that your household votes."
Vashti seems smart.hydroep wrote:‘Different political beast’
Cudjoe on Cambridge Analytica:
Kinnesha George
Tobago West MP Shamfa Cudjoe on Tuesday encouraged supporters to watch the Netflix documentary The Great Hack, which, she said, urged Africans to stay away from the polls.
Addressing the PNM's Tobago West constituency conference at the Lowlands Multipurpose Facility, Cudjoe said it was important for every PNMmite to get the chance to see the documentary.
"If you don’t have the time to watch it in your homes, I think that we need to organise a movie night. We have to sit down as PNM people and watch that from beginning to end, because it goes all the way back to 2010. That is all our business. That is our business, we need to understand what this Cambridge Analytica issue is all about because we’re living in different times, different trends, different strategies and different political beasts.”
Cudjoe claimed the aim of Cambridge Analytica was to suppress not just the voters but African voters.“Who wants to say I’m racist, I’m calling it as it is.
“Even right now it is still at work. They’re creating fake profiles, there are nameless, faceless people on the internet in thousands –not in hundreds, in thousands – to ill-speak the PNM and cause you not to go out there and vote, because they know you’re not going out there to vote for the UNC."
Cambridge Analytica was a British company which took data from social media for use in politcal campaigns on behalf of parties in several countries. It declared bankruptcy last year. It was set up in 2013 and was a subsidiary of a company called SCL.
Cudjoe said: "Just to make you sour, to make you feel the PNM is not doing anything for you – that politics is a nasty thing. They were actually saying, 'Don’t go to the polls,' but if you don’t go, and Vashti somewhere down in Siparia goes, your vote is not counted because you didn’t vote, she going out there and vote for Kamla, and all their people going out there and vote for them, while we home upset,”She urged her hearers to use their right to vote, saying, "People fought and died for that, people fought and died for democracy. There are people all over the world in certain countries that wish to taste democracy and we have it right here. Make me and my household en vote – that’s not happening in my household. You have to ensure that your household votes."
https://newsday.co.tt/2019/08/02/d/
rspann wrote:Do so campaign wasn't about staying away. It was about not voting pnm. Tell them no. It was meant to be an affirmative action. Shamfa twisting it around.
Plenty injun in bago to vote non PNM16 cycles wrote:What's been the voter turn out in Tobago for last few elections?
Voting PNM is safer for 1%toyolink wrote:I wonder what more dangerous, ads that attract people to consume alcohol, ads that encourage kids to eat junk foods, ads that invite people to change their cell phones every year, or ads that invite people to vote or not to vote.
Massa even used the bible to discourage rebellion from slavery by promising a better life in the hereafter.
toyolink wrote:I wonder what more dangerous, ads that attract people to consume alcohol, ads that encourage kids to eat junk foods, ads that invite people to change their cell phones every year, or ads that invite people to vote or not to vote.
Massa even used the bible to discourage rebellion from slavery by promising a better life in the hereafter.
Yeah but Bodi is an injun foodrspann wrote:Bodi prices more important though.
Most stupid people can't think on their own.hydroep wrote:All of this raises the question: "To what extent are we our own person?"
Clearly for certain demographics that eh so, and worse for the next generation...