Re: Choice of Car

Postby MaxPower » June 6th, 2019, 5:42 am

Rel men recommending this Toyota Aqua boi.....suppose OP is a Tub now

death365

Postby death365 » June 6th, 2019, 8:40 am

MaxPower wrote:Rel men recommending this Toyota Aqua boi

Aqua is the new Tiida - sub 100k and readily available at most foreign used places.

BTW the interior sucks that electronic instrument panel is the worse i have seen in years. Its truly Fulgy

Postby MG Man » June 6th, 2019, 10:28 am

eliteauto wrote:
sharonr12 wrote:Thanks everyone. I am looking gas efficiency and a budget max of $175000. I do a lot of driving but i only intend of keeping thevehicle for 2 yrs - 3 yrs max.

Buy ah Aqua and stop pretending

could get the fully fully Aqua and still save 90K of your budget

mussy suffering snobbyitis
I find the Aqua is the perfect commuter...small for parking, hybrid efficiency and (to my eye) stylish, but is trindad, so 'eah daz dem poor ppl car'

Postby Spitfir3 » June 6th, 2019, 10:47 am

kia and resale value don't belong in the same sentence op
if you're only keeping the vehicle 2-3yrs then is probably better to not over extend, personally i'd go with one of these

Honda Vessel- best looker, most e-pips, most expensive
Fielder Hybrid- easiest to resell, more storage space
Aqua-cheapest option, the rear kinda fugly but it should serve you well in your 3yr tenure at a fraction of the cost

Postby aaron17 » June 6th, 2019, 1:22 pm

Question : Should I fill up normal gas near a cng fill area? Hmm near a bomb?

Postby MaxPower » June 6th, 2019, 1:37 pm

aaron17 wrote:Question : Should I fill up normal gas near a cng fill area? Hmm near a bomb?

You ever fill gas in Laventille?

Postby De Dragon » June 6th, 2019, 3:08 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Pics of yourself so that we can advise better?

Nah she doh want no tusty man sufferer to see her pics Pallos....move along. Anyway a good used or Roro Toyota Corolla or hybrid will serve you well.

Once again, no one said sheit, yet here you are :roll:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 6th, 2019, 8:38 pm

pinkz wrote:With your budget you shud screw all those sheitty cars that cant get good resale value/mpgs/parts...you can get a low milage hilux vigo champ for that kinda money..diesel giving you abt 650kms per tank(approx
$190)..resale value holds on toyota and you can drive the "smooth" roads of tnt in peace without worrying abt suspension

On a side note..kia is crap..aftersale service is poor..resale value is toots..i have a coworker currently kia a 2016 sportage and the abs module gone and its costing 13k to replace and they dont have in tnt..dey have to ship it in..she's been travelling for the last 2 months
Can the vehicle be driven as is without a functioning ABS module. Just take it a little easier

pinkz

Postby pinkz » June 6th, 2019, 8:58 pm

She was advised to drive it as is but she said the brakes keeps locking up when she's driving
kamakazi wrote:
pinkz wrote:With your budget you shud screw all those sheitty cars that cant get good resale value/mpgs/parts...you can get a low milage hilux vigo champ for that kinda money..diesel giving you abt 650kms per tank(approx
$190)..resale value holds on toyota and you can drive the "smooth" roads of tnt in peace without worrying abt suspension

On a side note..kia is crap..aftersale service is poor..resale value is toots..i have a coworker currently kia a 2016 sportage and the abs module gone and its costing 13k to replace and they dont have in tnt..dey have to ship it in..she's been travelling for the last 2 months
Can the vehicle be driven as is without a functioning ABS module. Just take it a little easier

Postby rspann » June 6th, 2019, 9:05 pm

Tell her to message me. I have a 2017 model for parts.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » June 6th, 2019, 9:12 pm

pinkz wrote:She was advised to drive it as is but she said the brakes keeps locking up when she's driving
kamakazi wrote:

If it is randomly locking by itself that is dangerous... If it is locking when she pressing the pedal, she driving too agressively.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » June 7th, 2019, 4:52 pm

Expect the clock spring to malfunction- throws on airbag light and controls on steering wheel had a mine of their own, door seals cracked, leaking a/c line that dripped water in the footwell. and the list went on and on.

All the stealership had to say is "Well Mr Pointman-IA, these kind of things happen."

And mine you, my Clio that was 12 years old never suffered sheit like that.

amd-dude wrote:My wife has a 2014 Rio (70,000km) and so far no issues, just regular maintenance. No rattling or anything feeling loose, just as others said the resale value isn't good but she has no plans to do so, she's just gonna run it till some major issue occurs like tranny going or something so then she will upgrade and sell this one as a parts car for cheap.
OP.. Trust your financial instincts. Go Toyota and smile for the next 5 years.

ACT DA FOOL

Postby ACT DA FOOL » June 7th, 2019, 6:24 pm

What about the Kia Niro? This site has no reviews or information.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » June 8th, 2019, 12:32 pm

Forget them crap cars and get either a fielder wagon hybrid or an aqua or just buy a corolla from the years 2013-2016 you guaranteed no issues and good gas mileage

Postby Les Bain » June 8th, 2019, 7:41 pm

If aqua is poor people car, Toyota gets props for making good looking poor man's car. Like ulyuh forget the 1st gen Accent and them Daewoo and Proton from the same period.

Postby SR » June 9th, 2019, 6:19 pm

Whats the average cost now of a fielder wagon hibrid?

Postby maj. tom » June 9th, 2019, 6:22 pm

$90-105k RORO depending on the year.

Postby rspann » June 9th, 2019, 6:23 pm

I saw them for $108g. That's the regular ones. The fully loaded is around $140-$150 g.

Postby gastly369 » June 10th, 2019, 3:01 pm

death365 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Rel men recommending this Toyota Aqua boi

Aqua is the new Tiida - sub 100k and readily available at most foreign used places.

BTW the interior sucks that electronic instrument panel is the worse i have seen in years. Its truly Fulgy
Bring tuk tuk go be de new tiida

1cc

Postby 1cc » October 31st, 2019, 5:34 am

Do NOT buy anything with KIA on it!!! Ignore the good reviews, the price, the features. If you plan to sell within a few years then the lack of resale value doesn’t make it worth it. Thank me later.

Postby goalpost » October 31st, 2019, 6:16 am

Sold a Kia Sportage and Sorento a few years back quite easily. Never had technical problems with them.
Wife driving a Kia Sorento again for the last 2 years, again no problems
Will recommend a Kia.

Postby aaron17 » October 31st, 2019, 6:31 am

I have a friend sorento auto hold brake went out. Hard to get the park.expensive too

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » October 31st, 2019, 7:04 am

Kia is not the problem but the dealer. Hear similar stories about Audi.

Postby hydroep » October 31st, 2019, 7:39 am

Kia and Hyundai...good service when they're new but used is a crap-shoot.

Pardner bought a used Tucson and between the cost of the vehicle and the amount he's spent on repairs he could've bought a good foreign used unit.

But some people just like a certain vehicle (or rather just like to ketch their arse)...:|

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 31st, 2019, 5:45 pm

The main problem with Kia is Southern Sales itself.

A lot of problems crop up because most people assume that the servicing they paying for would coverall the regular maintenance work, but in fact they fall woefully short.

If you buy a car from SS, keep in mind that they do not do tyre rotations, battery/alternator checks, or anything for the suspension. I know a few people well that get dead battery days after servicing, not realising the terminals corroded up and the battery swell.

Choice of Car

Postby MaxPower » October 31st, 2019, 7:00 pm

Its only sufferers bash Kia.

Sufferers dont EVER see the dealership unless its a free 1000km service. But dey eye big and they MUST have that new car but cant afford to maintain it.

But yes, SS is sheit,

rebound

Postby rebound » October 31st, 2019, 8:40 pm

I know some would disagree but, Toyota's Service has been excellent for me and well, the vehicle itself is known to be reliable as well.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 1st, 2019, 12:15 am

rebound wrote:I know some would disagree but, Toyota's Service has been excellent for me and well, the vehicle itself is known to be reliable as well.
Know that saying ignorance is bliss. If you saw what was done to your vehicle... You might say something different; or they probably change, but I doubt that.

I've seen their work and their "specialized tools". It's probably worse for someone who can do servicing themselves to see amateurs or people who don't care about your property work on your vehicle. Then again most external mechanics are worse but they charge accordingly.

Probably best if you never know.

Postby RedVEVO » November 1st, 2019, 12:21 am

sharonr12 wrote:Hi Everyone,

So I am new to TriniTuner and need some advice.

With reviews from the Kio Rio 2019, KIA Cerato 2019, Ioniq 2019 and Honda City 2019 whats your best bet in order.

I am seeign reviews on the Honda City with customers complaining of rust etc. Which would would have a better resale value? I was looking at roll on & roll off but i'm not sure if i should or just go new brand at a reasonable price.

Thanks in advance fo ryour feedback.

A Tuner bump this ched .. :?:

So what car did you eventually buy ?

Was it a Toyota ?

Check out CRISM.COM

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » November 1st, 2019, 3:06 pm

Worst to Best
Top five from 6:00

And the euros: Audi, BMW, Benz....."endless money pits"