Adults were given the SEA Mathematics test, here's how they did

Re: Adults were given the SEA Mathematics test, here's how they did

Postby Rovin » April 11th, 2019, 12:09 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Premchand1976 wrote:Alot of the problems are from " new parenting " parents. Imagine a parent saying her child would be traumatised because the surround sound system during their school " movie day " was a bit loud ????? Imagine that !!!!!!!

oh the irony....but they ready to buy ipad and I this, give them at an early age....what ever happen to the days of go outside and play...last week I asked a std 4 youth...."allyuh does play pitch, catch,skying, etc etc"....man watch me like WTF I talking bout...I give the man some marbles, he was fascinated yes...

whenever I have children, old school teachings ftw...with a pinch of modern day stuff...

nowadays kids dont know anything that doesnt have a screen on it ....

Postby Rovin » April 11th, 2019, 12:10 pm

before we fight up about maths, study how so many cant even read & write english properly ...

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » April 11th, 2019, 12:17 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Premchand1976 wrote:Alot of the problems are from " new parenting " parents. Imagine a parent saying her child would be traumatised because the surround sound system during their school " movie day " was a bit loud ????? Imagine that !!!!!!!

oh the irony....but they ready to buy ipad and I this, give them at an early age....what ever happen to the days of go outside and play...last week I asked a std 4 youth...."allyuh does play pitch, catch,skying, etc etc"....man watch me like WTF I talking bout...I give the man some marbles, he was fascinated yes...

whenever I have children, old school teachings ftw...with a pinch of modern day stuff...
My kids have their tablets.......it's for a specific time of day.....they are outside on evenings after school for whatever little time before homework time. The schedule now really doesn't permit them much time during the week to get out and play outdoors....only weekends .

Having said that, at least once per week we hit the Savannah for cricket, football , a jog around the entire thing and just to romp and relax after.......I try to ensure my kids to get more outdoorsy stuff in their daily routine to prevent that " unsociable " pattern that's developing with most kids nowadays.

Their tablets also aren't for crap and games, sure they play some but most of their time they look at educational videos etc....my 6 year old is into dinosaurs alot and he's been watching things like wicked tuna, planet Earth etc.....up to yesterday.

Snacks.....another topic...for another day

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2019, 1:42 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

No.
The denominator is the amount that the numerator is divided by. If the same numerator (number) is divided by difference denominators (numbers) then the answer will be different

1/4 = 1 divided by 4 = 0.25
1/8 = 1 divided by 8 = 0.125

The answer is yes.

All fractions with a numerator of zero are equal.

Since division by zero is not defined, denominators may not equal zero but a fractional expression 0/n is allowed.

Postby zoom rader » April 11th, 2019, 2:22 pm

Seems only non supporters of this goverment doing sums

Postby Slartibartfast » April 12th, 2019, 11:40 pm

adnj wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

No.
The denominator is the amount that the numerator is divided by. If the same numerator (number) is divided by difference denominators (numbers) then the answer will be different

The answer is yes.

Since division by zero is not defined, denominators may not equal zero but a fractional expression 0/n is allowed.

Hmmm. I didn't think about that. Tricky question. If that is the correct answer then what is that question meant to test?

Postby Slartibartfast » April 12th, 2019, 11:45 pm

TheBoostLord wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
33.25+15.75 = 49m

it was 34.25 m eh, comprehension fail. but rel ppl lose marks for simple lil things like that over the years of schooling, including myself

Well look like I'm passing for my second choice again.

I wonder why we never get open book exams. In this age of the internet memorisation seems a lot less important that understanding and interpretation.

Postby matr1x » April 13th, 2019, 5:22 am

If they had it in the syllabus and the time allocation in the exam was enough to complete the question, what's the issue?

Postby adnj » April 13th, 2019, 9:03 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
adnj wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

No.

The answer is yes.

Hmmm. I didn't think about that. Tricky question. If that is the correct answer then what is that question meant to test?
That type of question tests understanding numerator vs. denominator and the Zero Property of Multiplication and Division.