Cheap and smelly leg and thigh chicken quarters

Re: Cheap leg and thigh chicken quarters

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 24th, 2016, 6:10 pm

Iz a man like to bite up my bone and suck the lowjarh from inside the middle.

Yard fowl or haymc

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 24th, 2016, 6:16 pm

Leg and thigh should be banned for smelling and tasting fresh in general.

Breast and wing FTW!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 24th, 2016, 6:22 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Leg and thigh should be banned for smelling and tasting fresh in general.

Breast and wing FTW!

Pretty much why I only buy breast and wing on the whole. KFC leg and thigh does smell pretty fresh even though its local. But still atleast it ain't the foreign. Every one of those chinese restaurants who now only sell leg and thigh lost a sale from me won't eat that sheit even for free.

Postby pugboy » February 24th, 2016, 7:06 pm

I have a recipe for grilling which uses minimal seasoning, no green seasoning
Which would amaze anybody esp when used on leg,thigh
It does use vinegar as an ingredient

zoomedic

Postby zoomedic » February 24th, 2016, 8:49 pm

A good point ,
I was wondering if its chicken at all ,

I see men and women with they " tyson leg and thigh , box around Christmas time waiting for transport , you know how long time ppl used to be moveing with they christmas tree ,

Chineses ppl who cook them leg and thigh , dont eat that , but they go sell it ,
They aint care who dead or badly wounded

Its your natural choice to get In on a deal with cheap
Dumping , or not man go eat it

It even have a cheeper brand than the tyson and if you check out them chineses not even using the tyson they going under with a next brand ,

Just now it go hav chicken paste in a tube and men go stock up for a chance to be cheap
If you check it that mut be the Zika viruses in a box for a $100.

What about bird flu swine flu, ??

I go stick to my corn beef at least, I don't know what it was that was grined up , and put in . Them tins , so I dont have to 2worry , just eat it and be happy
Or and it could be eaten with bread , crix , macoroni , rice etc ?

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » February 24th, 2016, 9:38 pm

forkin pics nao

Re: tyres

Postby supercharged turbo » February 25th, 2016, 12:08 am

Was wondering about that foreign chicken this week.If muslims does only eat chicken from them places that Darul Uloom certified,does that mean that those places selling chickens that weren't "injected" with hormones?

Postby *KRONIK* » February 25th, 2016, 5:49 am

supercharged turbo wrote:Was wondering about that foreign chicken this week.If muslims does only eat chicken from them places that Darul Uloom certified,does that mean that those places selling chickens that weren't "injected" with hormones?

Yes....it will mean that those places get their chickens from either: arawak
Fine chioce
Or a certified halal depot in the area.

So the "eating out" places for muslims kinda limited

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » February 25th, 2016, 9:45 am

Those leg and thigh chicken quarters are poison yea.
I rather catch a manicou and eat.
Or some fry dry herring with a cold mackeson :evilbat:

Postby supercharged turbo » February 25th, 2016, 10:08 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Was wondering about that foreign chicken this week.If muslims does only eat chicken from them places that Darul Uloom certified,does that mean that those places selling chickens that weren't "injected" with hormones?

Fine chioce

So all arawak chicken then have no hormones in it?

Postby RBphoto » February 25th, 2016, 10:28 am

dogg wrote:
RBphoto wrote:Dogg have a bone to pick.

dread, I just picky with food.
I don't even buy pricemart's frozen pork, and i'm a pork man.

Dogg, If I was a pork man I would eat every part of myself (yes every part). But You are a dogg. Don't go for free Chinese food ever!!..its a trap!!!

Postby *KRONIK* » February 25th, 2016, 11:31 am

supercharged turbo wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

Fine chioce

So all arawak chicken then have no hormones in it?

Well if thats what arawak say!

But most local chickens come from the 3 major suppliers

Arawak (halal)
WGM who markets as FineChoice (halal)
Nutrina farms

Local chicken depots buy live chickens from either of the above companies and they slaughter and sell afterwards.

In terms of what goes into the feed and the chickens i cant say as those are usually closely guarded secrets by the companies

Postby supercharged turbo » February 25th, 2016, 11:48 am

That is what I want to know.What exactly are they feeding them?Is it straight feed or are they mixing it with something else?Those farms need to be more transparent and not covered in a shroud of secrecy.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » February 25th, 2016, 12:20 pm

Support yuh local Chinese restaurants and fack away with dem greasy fried cheeken fass food Kay EFF Cee.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » February 25th, 2016, 12:38 pm

^^^^^
What in Chinese restaurants is local killa, they using foreign leg and thigh and the chinese not from Trinidad.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 25th, 2016, 2:28 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:That is what I want to know.What exactly are they feeding them?Is it straight feed or are they mixing it with something else?Those farms need to be more transparent and not covered in a shroud of secrecy.

In terms of feed:
Nutrimix makes and supplies their own feed for contract farmers
But the feed the send is not the same that they sell to agri shops. The marketed feed come with an ingredient list.

WGM makes their own feed too but they dont market it. Its strictly for their comtracted farmers.
No ingredient label on these.
But they market their chicken as hormone and steroid free.

As for arawak...i have no experience there...but i know they make their own feed too and dont market outside of their contracts.

The other feed producers: National Flour mills and Mastermix are both used mainly by private farmers. Both carry ingredient lists too.

As for the use of hormones i doubt they use any locally
Steroids not sure if any is added to the feed

Postby K74T » February 25th, 2016, 2:38 pm

BRZ wrote:Support yuh local Chinese restaurants and fack away with dem greasy fried cheeken fass food Kay EFF Cee.

Nah. Roti FTW.

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » February 25th, 2016, 5:58 pm

I pass by curepe today and see a tiny dog with a huge bone on the sidewalk infront papa johns i could of swear it was human like wtf and if u see how red it was my stomach turn and i walk away

dogg

Postby dogg » June 17th, 2016, 1:10 pm

Looks like my concern wasn't paranoia!!

http://www.looptt.com/content/trinis-eating-pet-meat
There is the possibility that chicken considered in developing countries to be ‘pet meat’ is being sold on supermarket shelves in Trinidad and Tobago.

Speaking during the Joint Select Committee meeting on Finance and Legal Affairs on the second inquiry into food fraud Robin Phillips, President of the Trinidad and Tobago Poultry Association, said in developed countries like the United States the shelf life of chicken is 180 days from the date of slaughter, however that policy is not enforced locally.

With the recent closure of China and Russia to markets of US chicken, Phillips explained that a glut in the market has ensued, pushing prices down for chicken pieces, particularly which have exceeded the 180-day limit and cannot be sold in the US.

Postby eliteauto » June 17th, 2016, 1:47 pm

nice try Poultry Assoc, nice try

Lance

Postby Lance » June 17th, 2016, 2:03 pm

There is a certain degree of deception regarding the name of that association. It gives the impression as though they lobby for the all the value chain actors in the domestic poultry sector.

A more fitting name would be the "Trinidad and Tobago Poultry Processors Association".

JF.K

Re: RE: Re: Cheap leg and thigh chicken quarters

Postby JF.K » June 18th, 2016, 5:55 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
dogg wrote:
this!
it smells like it was thawed out, left out for a day at room temperature and then refrozen!

Yup I bought $27 in that leg and thigh first time at Trini Style here in St Helena next to them is Ali's meat shop I believe same people own the 2. (They sell $27 worth minimum because they know you ain't coming back once you taste it)

Went home and clean it, smelling like rotten hog ass, so I say wow maybe I not using enough vinegar well I load it with vinegar same thing I then soak it again in LIME. SAME THING smell like ass, I put it to bake I say maybe it has to cook properly to get rid of the smell.

I make one bite and my god never have I eaten something so disgusting in my life. I spit it out and dump everything, never touched imported meat since that day. Infact is that what cause me to almost turn vegan. But I go buy my fine choice $13 calypso at the local mini mart when I wanna make a small cook or I buy a whole chicken at the local poultry shop. Atleast I know my health safe who dotish enough to support all them fast food outlets selling this nasty meat let them go right ahead padner.

The most amazing things is...
You tried all those methods to get the "ass smell" out and it didn't...
But you still decided to put the chicken in your mouth?
Nah dred. LOL

JF.K

Re: RE: Re: Cheap leg and thigh chicken quarters

Postby JF.K » June 18th, 2016, 6:13 am

pugboy wrote:tbh tyson and those big meat processors are very heavily monitored in the US
chicken probably does have a different taste to local but
very likely the local handling is at fault to a large extent

thawing a case of meat pieces frozen together as a block is no easy matter
they probably leave it outside to melt overnight or something
which will have the outer pieces melted to room temp long before the inside pieces
all kind of spoilage happening.

IMO being heavily monitored doesn't mean that the chicken is not pumped with hormones and chemical to just "blow up" in a few weeks...
That alone should make people stay away.

My partner initially convince me that was "Ah Real Deal", so I had decided to try it...
(Tyson "Halal" Chicken)

First of all..
I wasn't sure if those pieces came from an animal called a "chicken".
The Leg & Thigh pieces were so huge that when I imagined the entire size of the chicken based on the pieces that I had... it was real scary.
I was thinking people could buy that, instead of dogs, to guard their house.
That just goes to show how much chemical you really eating.
But in Trinidad... "that is d real ting".
Cause we eye big.. and everybody always want d bigger piece.
So the ting selling.

The next issue was the amount of fat on one piece.
I don't think I ever saw that amount of fat on chicken in my life. It took me over 15 mins to clean one piece!

Thirdly... each piece was severely "damaged" with frost bite. It looked as though these things were frozen for so long that any quality of chicken meat that it should have, was gone... hence the reason why people saying it have no taste.

Combine all these concerns I had, to add with the smell I started getting while cleaning it... I decided to cut my losses and pelt that sheit away.
I wouldn't even spite a dog to give him that thing to eat!
Last edited by JF.K on June 18th, 2016, 6:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby meccalli » June 18th, 2016, 6:26 am

JF.K wrote:The Leg & Thigh pieces were so huge that when I imagined the entire size of the chicken based on the pieces that I had... it was real scary.

Cornish cross get very big, very fast.

jones81

Postby jones81 » June 18th, 2016, 7:01 am

randolphinshan wrote:Those leg and thigh chicken quarters are poison yea.
I rather catch a manicou and eat.
Or some fry dry herring with a cold mackeson :evilbat:

^^^^^^ that is the real deal :D fry dry herring with a lil peppah sauce and mackeson ..... yuh eating ting to make boy chirren padna :D :D :D .

JF.K

Postby JF.K » June 18th, 2016, 7:03 am

Based on what I was told...
Chickens that were given hormones is still permissible to eat (by muslims) once slaughtered properly. So I guess it being Halal or Haram has nothing much to do with growth hormones being used or not.

If you ever worked in a med to large poultry and see these commercial chickens grow up first hand...
You will know for a fact that All Chickens are fed something to make them "blow up in size"..
Either in the feed or injection.
And the injected chemicals are usually done in the thigh...
This is probably a reason why the Tyson thighs have excessive fat and why 'healthy eaters' prefer the breast over a thigh piece.
Seeing chicken "blowing up" ridiculously fast while living in the worse conditions is a clear sign of hormone use.
Especially when the chicken grows to a size that it cannot walk.
Sometimes even dying because it cannot reach the feeder.

Most of our local poultry farmers pay absolutely no attention to the requirements of a chicken pen.
This causes chickens to just watch another chicken and start eating them while they are alive... even when their feeders and water are full!
In almost almost every local commercial chicken pen I have seen this.
I have returned to pens to see only the (carcass) bones of other chickens lying around while other chickens still keep picking at it.

Local farmers are simply all about money and the demand for their poultry always outweigh the size/design of their pen.
In the lawless country that we live in without and controls or checks done, we are given chickens to eat that grew up in the most savage conditions most of which already developed cannibalistic behaviors.
This by itself is concerning, aside from the hormones.

This website shows requirements and resulting behavior if they are not met:

http://articles.extension.org/pages/66088/feather-pecking-and-cannibalism-in-small-and-backyard-poultry-flocks

Like I said... most pens, if not all, do not have close to the required conditions.

Postby nervewrecker » June 18th, 2016, 8:02 am

Thought was just me alone find that imported chicken taste like sh!t. Second time I take my time and cook it but it tastes horrid. Thought was my cooking :(

I tend to stick to where Muslims buy when it comes to food.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » June 18th, 2016, 8:18 am

Narvin dad in Belmont fresh chicken he kills ,cleans and cut up on site , warm in bag.

Postby Gladiator » June 18th, 2016, 7:09 pm

eliteauto wrote:nice try Poultry Assoc, nice try

Seems like they get through.... Goopie Scoon get ketch hook, line and sinker.

$100 chicken here we come... Jus Luvin this Gov't

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2016, 7:24 pm

unfortunate that all leg/thigh chicken parts get labelled as being expired
there are a wide variety of distributors selling these chicken parts and most are from very large meat processors
like tyson etc, some of the most regulated and monitored companies in north america moving millions of lbs of all kind of meat annually

one of the bigger issues is that these chicken parts are usually sold in a big single frozen package in a box
them fast food places very likely just leave the whole box to that and the outer pieces will reach room temp fast and spoil easier