Man have his own statue bro, injun doh wait for PNM handoutsSlartibartfast wrote:De Dragon wrote:Redman wrote:Why not name it after some one who ACTUALLY contributed their life to the performing arts?
people act as if the politicians did anything more than talk some sht and sign some docs.
It eh their money,land,labour or talent that got it done
Sadly, that and all would devolve into a partisan fight. Imagine if they propose Beryl McBurnie, UNC people say "she PNM" Sundar Popo? PNM say "he UNC"
Doesn't Sunar Popo have something named after him in SAPA? I may be wrong I just vaguely remember seeing his name somewhere when I drove past.
Slartibartfast wrote:De Dragon wrote:Redman wrote:Why not name it after some one who ACTUALLY contributed their life to the performing arts?
people act as if the politicians did anything more than talk some sht and sign some docs.
Sadly, that and all would devolve into a partisan fight. Imagine if they propose Beryl McBurnie, UNC people say "she PNM" Sundar Popo? PNM say "he UNC"
Doesn't Sunar Popo have something named after him in SAPA? I may be wrong I just vaguely remember seeing his name somewhere when I drove past.
K74T wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:De Dragon wrote:Redman wrote:Why not name it after some one who ACTUALLY contributed their life to the performing arts?
The Sundar Popo (Sundarlal Popo Bahora) Theatre
Rovin wrote:1 day we might see allyuh chutney lovers demanding a monument for ravi b .......
Slartibartfast wrote:K74T wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:De Dragon wrote:Redman wrote:Why not name it after some one who ACTUALLY contributed their life to the performing arts?
The Sundar Popo (Sundarlal Popo Bahora) Theatre
Yeah thats the one. I cool with that.
Redman wrote:Regrello said he not interested in renaming the Auditorium...allyuh cherry picking
Dizzy28 wrote:Redman wrote:Regrello said he not interested in renaming the Auditorium...allyuh cherry picking
He was small minded enough to have expressed the thought of being unhappy with the original name.
Damage control statements after the fact doesn't negate any latent intent he may have.
De Dragon wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:Redman wrote:Regrello said he not interested in renaming the Auditorium...allyuh cherry picking
He was small minded enough to have expressed the thought of being unhappy with the original name.
Damage control statements after the fact doesn't negate any latent intent he may have.
The mistake that you made was attempting to criticize a PNM mayor..............
Redman wrote:No the mistake is taking a single line out of a whole statement and forming a divisive position based on the lowest common denominator.
It's lazy.
THE AMPHITHEATRE at NAPA’s South campus in San Fernando should have been named in honour of Calypsonian Black Stalin instead of Chutney legend Sundar Popo.
So said San Fernando mayor Junia Regrello who told the Express that this was his recommendation years ago when he was the MP for San Fernando West during the construction phase of the South campus.
However, with the change in govrnment to the Peoples Partnership administration, the theatre was officially named the Sundarlal Popo Bahora auditorium in honour of the Barrackpore resident and his contribution to the musical artform in Trinidad.
But according to Regrello, Leroy “Black Stalin” Calliste, who celebrated his 77th birthday on Republic Day, should have had that honour.
Regrello said the Calypsonian must now be given such an honour before his death as he has made valuable contributions locally, regionally and internationally.
He said: “when I was the MP when construction started that was my recommendation. It was based on the fact that Stalin was born at Library Corner, so he’s a San Fernando boy. Stalin represented San Fernando and the calypso artform from the south tent and he has been doing that for the past 50 years. He represented us all over the world, he has awards and certificates. His music is timeless, his music will continue to be a reference point and to when we look at the history of Trinidad and Tobago. Stalin’s material is really profound. He is the only san Fernandian who won the national monarch calypso competition and internationally. Stalin has an honorary degree. We don’t want to honour Stalin when it’s too late.”
Regrello said the theatre should not be renamed nor is he recommending a change to the name.
Instead, he insisted that what needed to be done was to honour Stalin for his contributions in San Fernando.
He said he is not discrediting the contribution made by Sundar Popo, however, “give Stalin his due.”
He said there are some options where the council is making recommendations for a tribute for Stalin.
Get caught up with news from the news leader
Subscribe now and get access to the Trinidad Express E-paper
Regrello said: “It has nothing to do with ethnicity or politically. In my mind, as politicians when we come into power we make decision on certain criterion factors and that is the mistake we make. We must move ourselves from the political thing and have a prospective that is balanced and increase the contributions by these individuals and sometimes we lose that trend of thought and make decisions based on politics or ethnicity and that is what I disagree with and that was the context it was said.
Leave Sundar alone he made his contribution. Let’s not wait till Stalin is gone, let’s honour him now and this was the time to do it. Monday was his birthday and I said it in that context.”
He added that he has “tremendous respect” for Sundar Popo and his contribution to the art form and though the decision to name the theatre after Sundar Popo was “an error in judgement.”
“We have to be mature in our thinking. We have to give credit where credit is due. So Stalin being a San Fernandian was the recommendation made. What I am doing now is not to discard what is being done, let us fix it now before it is too late,” he said.
Among the five times Black Stalin has won the Calypso Monarch, in 1995, he won the Calypso Monarch title with his “Tribute to Sundar Popo” in honour of his friend and fellow musical artiste.
maj. tom wrote:The Hon. Keith Rowley ferry vessel.
zoom rader wrote:Regrello is a racist and that's plain and simple .
Men in here still trying to justify Regrello.
zoom rader wrote:Regrello is a racist and that's plain and simple .
K74T wrote:zoom rader wrote:Regrello is a racist and that's plain and simple .
Pot calling kettle black. Lmao.
Redman wrote:Worry about what you think he implies-ignore what he has said.
But I see you in good company-carry on.
K74T wrote:zoom rader wrote:Regrello is a racist and that's plain and simple .
Pot calling kettle black. Lmao.
De Dragon wrote:Redman wrote:Worry about what you think he implies-ignore what he has said.
Oooh guilt by association, how mature!
Well PNM apologists like you would fail to see the denigration of Sundar Popo to promote Black Stalin as normal. Regrello came across as a racist political hack, no matter what he said. Why not call for some other suitable honour for Stalin? Why does it have to be at the expense of Popo?
You cannot make inflammatory statements decrying an already made decision that you didn't support, and then claim to have no ulterior motive.
Redman wrote:De Dragon wrote:Redman wrote:Worry about what you think he implies-ignore what he has said.
Oooh guilt by association, how mature!
Well PNM apologists like you would fail to see the denigration of Sundar Popo to promote Black Stalin as normal. Regrello came across as a racist political hack, no matter what he said. Why not call for some other suitable honour for Stalin? Why does it have to be at the expense of Popo?
You cannot make inflammatory statements decrying an already made decision that you didn't support, and then claim to have no ulterior motive.
Oddly multiple people who were there took a more balanced approach.Some agreed some didn't....none really felt it was based on race.
The man expresses an opinion...and all you see is a rascist attack.
Again lazy.
His statement fully explained his position.All you call for is in the statement already delivered.
You ignore the majority of the info to infer the rascism and politics.
Lowest Common Denominators.
Regrello is a plain racists, he expose himself just like.Redman wrote:Just point out where his statement used race.
Not your interpretation.
His words.
Giving his entire speech equal weight... You show where he ill spoke Sundar Popo and his race.
Use his words....not your spin.
I would be grateful...