Local history Thread

Postby Maserati » January 23rd, 2008, 12:43 pm

^the road to the devil's woodyard still in that bad condition?

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2008, 12:46 pm

it supposed to have been paved some years ago
I haven't been since I was like 7 or 8 years old
That place used to creep the sheit outta me.........I heard it's now only safe in groups

tunerlime? :lol:

Postby SR » January 23rd, 2008, 12:50 pm

road still not so great
pas thru it a couple years ago on a rally run

but good idead for a :know yuh country" tuner lime

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2008, 12:52 pm

^^^^yeah boi SR, some ah de tunerlime contingent cud use ah mud mask

Postby SR » January 23rd, 2008, 12:57 pm

yu pickin on feuners again

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2008, 12:59 pm

I was thinkin larafan, buh since yuh point that out :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2008, 1:06 pm

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaanywaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyy

another interesting spot in south is the old railway tunnel in Tabaquite.....don't know much about its history, but it's pretty cool

There's a WW2 bunker peeping out the side of a hill in Claxton Bay....looks like a munitions bunker somebody exposed by accident while doing an excavation.....not sure if it was ever opened....anybody know more about this?

...........I know a giy who uncovered some old cannons in Rio Claro, of all places.....the kind you would notmally find defending acoastal garrison.......not sure if they ever removed them tho.........

Postby SR » January 23rd, 2008, 1:12 pm

probably moved long tim now

how about a tuner lime to the military museum

would be a good place to start since we on world war 2 etc

how many people know the importance of chaguarams for world war 2 and what was kept there

as well as macaripe

Postby tr1ad » January 23rd, 2008, 1:13 pm

the govt decleared it a historical site and that was the end of it

they were supposed to open it up but it never came to pass as yet...

which part of rio claro mg?

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2008, 1:30 pm

SR, not a bad idea
The curator is a cool dude and he is amazingly knowledgeable.....

tr1ad, not sure of the exact location...the problem was getting a hiab or crane off the road to lift them......those mortar cannons are HEAVY...........nobody moving them so easy

Here's one...........in the remote reaches of Brasso Seco village is a turn-of-the-century STEAM-POWERED steam roller.........we think they left it there after paving the original road......been there so long that trees have grown up around it and it's trapped.......not to mention the thing is huge.........you need TRUCKS to move the pieces after you disassemble it and cut down a few trees! Funny thing is, it is prolly still under government ownership :!: The village itself is really nice.....quiet, picturesque, and is the start of the Madamas and Double River Falls trails............I always enjoy talking to the locals.............it's a dying village tho.....it's tiny and the young folks are leaving to seek employment in the towns.....agriculture and subsistence just not cuttin it..........tragic

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » January 23rd, 2008, 1:35 pm

MG Man wrote:aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaanywaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyy

another interesting spot in south is the old railway tunnel in Tabaquite.....don't know much about its history, but it's pretty cool

There's a WW2 bunker peeping out the side of a hill in Claxton Bay....looks like a munitions bunker somebody exposed by accident while doing an excavation.....not sure if it was ever opened....anybody know more about this?

...........I know a giy who uncovered some old cannons in Rio Claro, of all places.....the kind you would notmally find defending acoastal garrison.......not sure if they ever removed them tho.........

wayss cool !! didn't kno abt the cannons in rio

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2008, 1:36 pm

few people do............it was an accidental discovery............nobody really sure why they there, cuz there's no evidence of fortifications

Postby Greypatch » January 23rd, 2008, 1:43 pm

i want to go down and see that roller...

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2008, 1:47 pm

me too.............Kamikaze's dad is the one who did the detective work to track it down....he really wanted to unearth and restore it.....he's a real Steam Engine buff :!:
I'll call him and see what we can arrange

IMPREZZING

Postby IMPREZZING » January 23rd, 2008, 2:04 pm

SR wrote:probably moved long tim now

how about a tuner lime to the military museum

would be a good place to start since we on world war 2 etc

how many people know the importance of chaguarams for world war 2 and what was kept there

as well as macaripe

Submarines i think.

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2008, 2:07 pm

yup
all those small bays were dredged to hide and park u-boats

The western part of the northern range is also dotted with hidden bunkers, some of which are rumored to be still sealed, hiding Harleys and sportscars kept by American troops stationed here :shock:

Postby tr1ad » January 23rd, 2008, 2:08 pm

i know there's an old WWII sub off of tobago

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2008, 2:09 pm

there's also a WW2 fighter plan sunk off the chaguaramas coast

Smokey

Postby Smokey » January 23rd, 2008, 4:13 pm

Don't know if this is common knowledge or not, but in Moruga, la lune side...there are old paved platforms at the top of one of the hills, where there used to be some anti aircraft artillery for the americans during WWII

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2008, 4:21 pm

there are WW2 constructs all over the country
There used to be a control tower of sorts in Couva, but it was ripped apart years ago for building materials...........

Postby Maserati » January 23rd, 2008, 4:25 pm

the military museum is worth a visit,lots of interesting stuff.
who up for a trek thru the forest to uncover some WWII bunkers?
Think between Trinidad and Tobago that area of ocean was called Torpedo Alley.

Postby tr1ad » January 23rd, 2008, 4:27 pm

d amt ah stuff under the waters is amazing

beside WWII

stuff from the 18th century

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2008, 4:33 pm

[quote="Maserati"]
who up for a trek thru the forest to uncover some WWII bunkers?
quote]

restricted access............u don't want the Army guys to catch u
Cannot even get permits under the guise of any historical society

Postby Team Loco » January 23rd, 2008, 6:05 pm

Time to find some of thos old units, fix em and dex em, like what mg man did.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 23rd, 2008, 6:09 pm

MG Man wrote:yup
all those small bays were dredged to hide and park u-boats

The western part of the northern range is also dotted with hidden bunkers, some of which are rumored to be still sealed, hiding Harleys and sportscars kept by American troops stationed here :shock:

There are a few bunkers along Morne St. Catherine Road in Chaguaramas. If I knew what they might have had in store, I probably would have tried to open up a few when I was working down there a few years back.

Postby Team Loco » January 23rd, 2008, 6:21 pm

Funny enough I was looking through a history book at briko air yesterday, written by historian Micheal Anthony. It was a complete history of trinidad,s contribution to the war. Will try to find out the name of it.

Btw, who remember the great fire of port of spain? All caused by a chemist who left his unattended lamp in his outhouse?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 23rd, 2008, 6:31 pm

I went to the Museum in POS in December 2006 to kill some time while I was waiting on my car to be serviced. To be quite honest, it was a worthwhile trip as it had some interesting information on and historical artifacts for Trinidad and Tobago.

Postby joker » January 24th, 2008, 1:19 am

there are old paved platforms at the top of one of the hills, where there used to be some anti aircraft artillery for the americans during WWII

yup.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » January 24th, 2008, 5:51 am

What they said above + Heard somewhere that Wallers used to be the base for recuperation for soldiers returning from or prepping for WWII.Used to drop them off there give them some rum to drink and let them frolick for a few weeks before sending them off either home or to fight again....thus leading to Angostura's claim to fame as they used to send them a bottle of rum each.

Also the white/cream statue that you see on the way to Maracas in Santa Cruz on the left side of the road was built by Venezuelans living in trini back in the day.They say it haunted and two slaves buried at its base along with some gold and yadda yadda but I just typing of the top of my head here.

Since we on history if anyone can get the old local tv series Cross Country for me I will gladly pay money for that...and we talking Ralph Maraj,Vashtee Achibar and the other fella whose name escapes me...that is TV series!

Postby MG Man » January 24th, 2008, 8:39 am

joker wrote:
there are old paved platforms at the top of one of the hills, where there used to be some anti aircraft artillery for the americans during WWII

yup.

can we go? can we go? huh? huh?