Why Buy when you can LEASE? Ah boy Massy Motors...

l33t2

Re: Why Buy when you can LEASE? Ah boy Massy Motors...

Postby l33t2 » December 13th, 2018, 11:37 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Most new cars built weak and on a budget I find.
Gimme and older car in better condition anytime.
Only new vehicle I could have seen myself buying was the isuzu dmax

Stats would prove you wrong. Cars are getting more and more reliable. The only advantage older (and I mean like 15+) cars have is maintaining and fixes issues yourself is far easier.

buscax

Postby buscax » December 14th, 2018, 1:20 am

Anyone know what the average cost is to lease a vehicle?

Postby j.o.e » December 14th, 2018, 2:39 am

The firm always wins. Massy would’ve crunched those numbers to ensure that. Remember they are gonna sell the car after to you or someone else after you’ve paid to maintain it for the period. Their will also be penalties at the end for damages.
However as stated above people who NEED to have the latest every couple of years , might as well.

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2018, 6:18 am

its not rocket science, stuff like wear and tear etc would all be factored in statistically

just like an all inclusive party caters for the folks who plan to eat and drink out the dollar value

j.o.e wrote:The firm always wins. Massy would’ve crunched those numbers to ensure that. Remember they are gonna sell the car after to you or someone else after you’ve paid to maintain it for the period. Their will also be penalties at the end for damages.
However as stated above people who NEED to have the latest every couple of years , might as well.

Postby nervewrecker » December 14th, 2018, 6:37 am

Cars come with 1 radiator fan and no temp guage these days
l33t2 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Most new cars built weak and on a budget I find.
Gimme and older car in better condition anytime.
Only new vehicle I could have seen myself buying was the isuzu dmax

Stats would prove you wrong. Cars are getting more and more reliable. The only advantage older (and I mean like 15+) cars have is maintaining and fixes issues yourself is far easier.

Sent from my SM-G950F using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2018, 8:02 am

yeah boy, them tiida have no temp gauge except for a little light
which by that time it a bit late

Postby *KRONIK* » December 14th, 2018, 9:04 am

pugboy wrote:yeah boy, them tiida have no temp gauge except for a little light
which by that time it a bit late
I doh understand that yuh know
The light does come on when the head gasket done blow

(ノ`⊿´)ノ

Postby eliteauto » December 14th, 2018, 9:26 am

wonder if they leasing the Santa Fe

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 14th, 2018, 9:37 am

eliteauto wrote:wonder if they leasing the Santa Fe

They still bringing that? Hardly seeing any on the road...

Postby MaxPower » December 14th, 2018, 9:49 am

Leasing is not for sufferers.

Postby eliteauto » December 14th, 2018, 10:05 am

ADONI wrote:
eliteauto wrote:wonder if they leasing the Santa Fe

They still bringing that? Hardly seeing any on the road...

2019 in stock IIRC, price is hot hence slow down in sales

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 14th, 2018, 10:11 am

Quick question in the US requirements for entering a lease are pretty much non existentant. I assume there would be some job letter requirement here?

Trying to find out for a friend who gives lessons and makes around 15k off the books can't qualify for loans easily.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 14th, 2018, 10:11 am

Somebody go lifestyle and lease a Jimny please. Just lemme know when yuh upgrading.

Thanks

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 14th, 2018, 10:13 am

Tell him go register his business and get his affairs in order. Same experience with a friend of mine and everything worked out within a year
l33t2 wrote:Quick question in the US requirements for entering a lease are pretty much non existentant. I assume there would be some job letter requirement here?

Trying to find out for a friend who gives lessons and makes around 15k off the books can't qualify for loans easily.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » December 14th, 2018, 10:18 am

nick639v2 wrote:Tell him go register his business and get his affairs in order. Same experience with a friend of mine and everything worked out within a year
l33t2 wrote:Quick question in the US requirements for entering a lease are pretty much non existentant. I assume there would be some job letter requirement here?

And tell him pay his facking taxes too.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 14th, 2018, 10:19 am

^^ Tru dat!!

Postby RedVEVO » December 14th, 2018, 10:34 am

Leasing cars has been done in TT since dinosaur times by companies .
It's is just a long term rental.

Is like a HDC house . You own nothing and then you dead.

Who just wake up on this phenomena ?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » December 14th, 2018, 10:39 am

Company leasing happens i know. The total cost from a company lease i know of handles insurance, maintenance and vehicle cost.
Having Massy do their own insurance and financing, as well as servicing has potential to bring cost benefits.
The fact is that vehicles are a depreciating asset, so leasing is a good option because most people these days prefer to change their car after a couple years for whatever reason.

Postby RedVEVO » December 14th, 2018, 10:53 am

Massy will now "mama guy " every citizen and offer you low payments but you own nada .

Soon Trinidad will become a communist society .

Then we will mostly likely see the return of Klim Milk and a cookie in primary schools .

Postby MaxPower » December 14th, 2018, 11:11 am

A few years ago it was about 7000/mth to lease a Volkswagen Jetta.

Postby RedVEVO » December 14th, 2018, 11:14 am

The strategy is to take the money from the poor and give it to to rich .

Via a low monthly payment .

Trinidad is a communist society .

Postby *KRONIK* » December 14th, 2018, 11:26 am

Cant wait to get my versa

Postby Monk BANzai » December 14th, 2018, 11:40 am

geez allyuh cud over think boy... its the same system that those who work in Oil and gas have known to be existing forever...

Simple example:
Triple D's leases a Xtrail to BG/BP/TSTT for you Mrs Oil n Gas worker to sue. depending on the company, you may or may not get a fuel card with it, but Triple D's is responsible for the following: Maintenance, Insurance, road side assistance. Towards the end of the lease period (normally 3 years) you, Mrs Oil n Gas Employee has the option of buying the Xtrail at the Book value in "as is condition". You then have a vehicle and can then enter into a new lease with Triple D's who will repeat said process.

You can then flip said X trail (which is in tip top condition)..make a money and move on. Also..if yuh smart..yuh cud find out the service costs of your vehicle and save towards it..so you have three years of service money put down which (im sure) by that time you can use to purchase those "big dollar replacement" parts that wud need changing as the car reached 100k km.

The exception to this is with "fleet leases" where a team is leased a set of vehicles but ends up all over...those are auctioned off. Mostly Courier vehicles/loaner vehicles that you use when your car in service falls in this category.

Whats different with Massy (And Furness and Ansa Finance)? depends on the type of lease you get. some give you service but you're responsible for insurance or vice versa.

The issue is the price point. I've inquired and found out that some companies leases a NP300 for $8K a month..and thats not a Fully Fully moggel.

Local Petro and Comms industries changing up...so they doing so as well... not to mention that if you observed...Massy just completed a promotion to try and get their fully Fully NP300 stock reduced (they had 200 units that simply wasn;t moving) ...its a smart move on thier part to get their stock reduced.

To read the chest-beating opinions here tho ...wow.

Postby pete » December 14th, 2018, 12:06 pm

Difference with a company and a private individual is they can use the lease payments as a tax break.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 14th, 2018, 12:14 pm

I laugh at ppl buying new cars every couple of years....haven't had to make a car payment in over 10 years and loving it....my car writes me a cheque every month

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » December 14th, 2018, 12:21 pm

I thought when you lease a car the company supposed to take care of maintenance costs as well

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 14th, 2018, 1:19 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
nick639v2 wrote:Tell him go register his business and get his affairs in order. Same experience with a friend of mine and everything worked out within a year

And tell him pay his facking taxes too.

Lol is a she, and she's actually an accountant too eh. She eh paying no taxes.

Postby pugboy » December 14th, 2018, 1:45 pm

And I guess a private person using his salaried income which already taxed too

A lot of them new cars on the road are company paid cars as a perk for middle mgmt employees to reduce paying corporation taxes.

pete wrote:Difference with a company and a private individual is they can use the lease payments as a tax break.

Postby nervewrecker » December 14th, 2018, 4:27 pm

Lol at maintenance on rentals from the firm. Is the cheapest replacement parts they use.
Half time oil change interval long gone and nothing done.
Shocks gone, bushings shot, sensors fail, ac have issues.
I know from a fact, first hand experience. Abs sensor faulty and they insist that how abs does wuck. I look like 17 so meem know nuttin bout van and car. I donno when a battery dying, tyre defective, tyre smooth etc. Told them next time tyre fail I leaving the damn vehicle where it is and take a taxi out of there.
They gave us vehicles and the jack cant fit under the pickup if it get a flat. Had to take my own stuff and change the damn tyre for dey mc.

Postby toyolink » December 14th, 2018, 4:54 pm

One area of concern would be definitely the requirement that all maintenance costs be borne by the leasee .
A proper definition of maintenance costs should be sought up front so that a full understanding of the financial impact is appreciated and can be factored in.
Hopefully, items normally covered by warranties ie sensors, major mechanical, electronics and certain internal finishers wont be captured under routine maintenance.
As with everything happening in the domestic market, full disclosure must be addressed.
BTW, How will disputes be resolved during the term of the agreement?
Remember when big companies and the wealthy lease they have muscle and significant moral suasion, hence disputes are handle by the leasor more 'delicately'.