6 weeks to study for 2 cxc subjects, advice welcomed

Dragist

Re: 6 weeks to study for 2 cxc subjects, advice welcomed

Postby Dragist » November 20th, 2018, 2:44 pm

Dude Past Papers is 2 words , once you put your mind to it and do the time you should be good .

Postby nervewrecker » November 20th, 2018, 5:41 pm

philliprock wrote:i have math pastpapers which is roughly 18pastpapers i have.
and social studies which is around 40pastpapers.
i have been busy with work and dealing with a death of a very close friend it just seems i cant take exmas stress, but yet i need to pass my exams.
i seem to be procrastinating alot... i cant stop it...
do you think i have enough time to get a solid 80% or onwards? since im working full time my grades/performance in class is struggling.
much thanks for good advice please

shoot me a pm later and / or a contact number and I will give you a few tips.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 20th, 2018, 11:08 pm

kM_89 wrote:Sounds very possible , just cram and pop an adderall or two.

there's adderall in trinidad?

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » November 20th, 2018, 11:16 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

Goes under the name concerta locally .

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 21st, 2018, 12:39 am

Phil. You need to focus. And concentrate om your work. Of ypu from the sando area I could give u a Lil help out in the maths. We have to do papers and I could try to explain where you went wrong

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 21st, 2018, 12:40 am

I only have till the beg of Dec if u need that assistance

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 21st, 2018, 2:53 am

kM_89 wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

Goes under the name concerta locally .

concerta is methylphenidate. adderall is amphetamine

adderall to concerta is like mercedes to fiat

Postby timelapse » November 21st, 2018, 1:46 pm

man ask for cxc help and getting a lesson in pharmacology, great is the 2nr yes

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 21st, 2018, 3:23 pm

Dragist wrote:Dude Past Papers is 2 words , once you put your mind to it and do the time you should be good .

i hope so, now bussin meh head fuh a x axis y axis question :shock:
and thanks!

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 21st, 2018, 3:29 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:I only have till the beg of Dec if u need that assistance

yes i dont mind the extra help,

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » November 21st, 2018, 3:34 pm

timelapse wrote:man ask for cxc help and getting a lesson in pharmacology, great is the 2nr yes

Dunno who was teaching the cxc man but I was replying to the guy who thought adderall was concerta. If knowledge is not your thing, you could stay ignorant.

Postby timelapse » November 21st, 2018, 4:02 pm

Kewell35 wrote:
timelapse wrote:man ask for cxc help and getting a lesson in pharmacology, great is the 2nr yes

Dunno who was teaching the cxc man but I was replying to the guy who thought adderall was concerta. If knowledge is not your thing, you could stay ignorant.

Relevance to the topic?

orangelancer

Postby orangelancer » November 21st, 2018, 10:01 pm

A link to some past papers

https://trinidadpastpapers.com

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 22nd, 2018, 12:45 am

6 Weeks is plenty time OP
Now is Jan exams you writing so you'd have a 3rd paper to do I believe.

Yall have SBAs for maths now?...back in my time there was a talk that they wanted to introduce it.

Anyways if you have the math paper 1s learn off the answers. The questions repeat wholesale. We used to finish Paper 1s in 5 minutes for both CAPE and CSEC (not joking).

For paper 2 practice, just do out all the question 1s then 2s, 3s etc...

Never did social studies before but I assume it's alot of reading. So do that and make plenty notes and learn them off while doing the past papers.

philliprock

Postby philliprock » November 22nd, 2018, 1:19 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:6 Weeks is plenty time OP
Now is Jan exams you writing

thanks, for the good words. sometimes when i do maths, i look online but sometimes a paper takes so long to complete... very un-appeasing.
for social studies, yea its basically cramming BUT now they do essays for the last 2 questions on paper 2. which is challenging, i did english and passed but social studies essays seems like a different beast, not that i can handle. :) topics on tourism, communications, that sorta thing.

i finished school in 2009 and that time paper 3 for maths and a SBA was rumored. now i have to face it.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 22nd, 2018, 2:08 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:For Maths just focus on one topic at a time. So do all the questions on one topic for like 5 past papers in one night. Then do all the questions on that same topic for another 5 past papers the night after. Then move on to another topic and repeat until you do all the questions in the first 10 past papers.

Once you comfortable with the work try doing 1 full past paper per night. Do it open book with no timer. Aim to fully understand and perfect your work. When you get closer to the exam date start doing past papers under "exam conditions". Closed book and with a timer.

You don't have to structure it exactly like that cuz I know your time is tight but the you can stick with the general idea of focusing one topic at a time first and then doing full past papers and then doing everything under exam conditions.

Don't get caught up trying to memorise everything in the text books. Once you read it through once and understand it just knock out as many past papers as possible. The nice thing about maths is that every question has a fixed answer and all of the information that you need is in the question. So understanding is more important than memorising. It gets a lot easier the more you do it as you realise it's the same thing over and over again.

PM me if you get stuck with anything in maths and need some help.

Good advice. Can't really speak to the Social Studies, but taking a systematic approach should definitely help with the Maths. I'm not sure if January exams have MCQs but if they do, beat those MCQs daily. When I wrote CXC and even CAPE, there were answers you could have shared without even reading the entire question, just because of the how often the questions repeat themselves. Feel free to PM me as well if need be.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 4th, 2020, 4:31 am

When you're in uni doing 5 A-level courses in one semester (3 months), with 5 textbooks and 5 projects, you're going to look back at your baby CXC courses and laugh at yourself. I guarantee it.

death365

Postby death365 » September 4th, 2020, 1:09 pm

FrankChag wrote:When you're in uni doing 5 A-level courses in one semester (3 months), with 5 textbooks and 5 projects, you're going to look back at your baby CXC courses and laugh at yourself. I guarantee it.
Tru tha!!! Worst yet if u want to do ur mba/msc or other masters