Car ploughs into cyclists on Beetham killing two, injuring many

foots

Re: Car ploughs into cyclists on Beetham killing two, injuring many

Postby foots » November 10th, 2018, 1:57 pm

@Dizzy28 : Yes, for long distances, cycling is impractical if a shower is not available. That is unless you have an ebike, which augments your pedalling and leaves you as sweaty as you would have been if you took a long walk. I do believe that spending 3-4 hours daily several times a week for a 40km round trip is also impractical though. With respect to our temperatures, yes they are hotter than Europe. Their summer-days are just as hot as our every-days, and as it happens, the largest turnout of bicycle commuters in Europe is during those very same hot summer days. Perhaps because riding a bike in the hot sun is not as unpleasant as walking slowly in the same hot sun. In practice, while actually riding the bike, the heat is not as much of an issue, as the breeze you get from riding keeps you cool as the sweat evaporates. You do sweat alot when you reach your destination and are no longer moving swiftly along.

@ Agent 007 : A shirt and tie are optional. We all work at a public hospital, so there are a few showers available and some areas are air conditioned. This makes it a lot less sketchy. You right about a fancy bike not being feasible, and an old mountain bike does the job well. Wrt your argument about club cycling being largely for an elite group, I stand corrected. Never looked at it that way before. The entire tragedy really is a learning experience for us all.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 10th, 2018, 1:58 pm

Les Bain wrote:A little after 7:15 this morning, heading west after Trincity lights I encountered a large group of cyclists. They were accompanied by a panel van with sponsor logos (as well as a club/team logo) and 2 police escorts: one to their rear and a scout higher up, who would act like the traffic light breaker to let the group sail through red lights.

What was interesting today is the group occupied 2 lanes; drivers would have to make do with the right lane or be waved off by the police or the team van driver. Thought they were the group involved in the accident but the report states it happened before 7.

Anyway, a lot of the commenters on social media parroting what I've seen on a few highway signs that cyclists aren't allowed on the highway. Fair enough, but why are these "illegal cyclists" allowed bike cops and in the case of what I saw this morning, 2 highway lanes?

Saw them and found it strange they occupied two lanes instead of one granted it was a big group. They were WB headed to Valsayn traffic lights.

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2018, 2:57 pm

The cops usually block the extra lane when approaching intersections and exits

Reason being is there have been many instances of drivers cutting across from the rightmost lane to try and exit left
In some case like approaching np by bhagwangsingh they will block all three

I guess some errant drivers are to blame for this
Peter pays for Paul

Postby matr1x » November 10th, 2018, 5:25 pm

There aren't supposed to be cyclists on the highway. They look for trouble

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 10th, 2018, 5:26 pm

agent007 wrote:Foots,

1. While I applaud you for doing the healthy thing by using bicycles to head into pos on a morning, I am willing to bet that you are not using a professional road bike. It is not feasible to use such a bike used by an avid member of the cycling community to simply head to and from work on a weekday. This sounds a bit shady though, I would never doubt people cycle to work but not how do you all deal with being sweaty by the time you reach to the air conditioned office? Or is it, casual riders who use regular bicycles to head into pos on a weekday have non shirt and tie jobs?
2. The cost of a professional road bike is a lot more than a conventional mountain/bmx bike so therefore, for the non enthusiast, such professional cycling bikes are not readily accessible to the wider 98% of the population. We much rather buy a nice mountain bike for $1,000.

Some things to note, I cycle to work everyday, in my case I work out in the field and the company vehicle doesn't have any AC since the AC belt burst plus I am in the sun most of the time so I sweating all day so it eh even matter if I go to work sweating. I also still go with a change of jersey anyways.

You do not need an expensive roadbike, infact a roadbike is a bad idea for traffic since your head is down, a hybrid bike meaning a road bike that has some mountain bike features is great for commuting you can also use a mountain bike with slick tires and it does the same thing.

$1000 TTD bikes are garbage and won't last you more than 6 months before being completely destroyed. My bike is a $3000 Fuji Nevada which is a cheap entry level bike I have already done 1600 miles on it since I bought it beginning of this year. Infact earlier this year someone opened his car door on me near the junction and I was almost killed I ended up in the hospital but only for an xray. Took me 2 months to heal from the accident.

As has been stated it is legal to ride on all the highway except the Southern Highway.

Riding on the highway is also still the safest place to ride, far less chance of being killed on a highway than a mainroad as amazing as it sounds. This is due to traffic, people opening their doors on you while riding and cars and trucks turning and not seeing you.

There are 2 tuners here who continue to post stuff on tuner praying for me to get killed by a vehicle, I have noticed in a number of threads they post stuff saying how they wish I get killed while riding.

This won't deter me from doing what I love, life is all about a gamble. Traveling in a car can get you killed just as easy as cycling

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 10th, 2018, 6:08 pm

If i have to ride somewhere, I use backroads as much as possible.

And I ride on the side of the road facing the traffic. Because if I see a car coming I pull to the side. I always assume that cars are going to bounce my MC.

If There is a pavement thats where I ride also. You hardly encounter pedestrians tbh. And if I do I either go down into the road or into a yard.

As a cyclist you are basically a fast pedestrian, you dont have the same type of rights as a car and no protection from falling.

Cyclists really are some entitled people doh.

Postby meccalli » November 10th, 2018, 6:24 pm

Very unfortunate, one of uncles knows Joe well and spoke to him this morning at their warm up in the oval, learnt he was feeling tired and had two minds about going out today.

Postby Gladiator » November 10th, 2018, 7:14 pm

1. While I applaud you for doing the healthy thing by using bicycles to head into pos on a morning, I am willing to bet that you are not using a professional road bike. It is not feasible to use such a bike used by an avid member of the cycling community to simply head to and from work on a weekday. This sounds a bit shady though, I would never doubt people cycle to work but not how do you all deal with being sweaty by the time you reach to the air conditioned office? Or is it, casual riders who use regular bicycles to head into pos on a weekday have non shirt and tie jobs?
2. The cost of a professional road bike is a lot more than a conventional mountain/bmx bike so therefore, for the non enthusiast, such professional cycling bikes are not readily accessible to the wider 98% of the population. We much rather buy a nice mountain bike for $1,000. On special.
3. Based on the above, only enthusiasts and those who can genuinely afford the bike to be part and parcel of this 'clique-ish' community are the ones doing the island-wide runs with their respective teams/clubs. This community in case you did not know are members of the 1 and 2 percentile of this country.
If anyone doesnt believe me, go to any cycling meet/event or check their fb pages and see the surnames attached to this.
4. Based on 3 above, there are enough influential people who are vexed by today's news and rest assured, we will be hearing of changes in due course.
5. Be it as it may, our driving discipline in this country is too immature which is exacerbated with poor road infrastructure. I don't care how deep your love for cycling is, I don't care what the colour of your skin is, I don't care if you're a chef or an engineer at BP or a child of a 1 percenter, if anyone chooses out of their own free will to cycle on our nations roadways including highways whether with or without an escort, you're taking a huge risk, moreso than the typical risk of entering your motor vehicle and commuting to pos on a morning.
6. Our roads are swamped with gridlock traffic on a daily basis and the cycling community are not bound by a time per say to enjoy their sport/hobby. As long as they have the support from the TTPS, they will be more important than the rest of us by occupying a lane or two in a 3 lane stretch, which contributes more commuting delays to the driving public.
7. Wrt today, the driver of that silver Kia Spectra may still be charged with involuntary manslaughter whether he passed the brethalyser test or not.
8. This is a learning lesson to all of us, to avoid trouble and to not go looking for it, always exercise caution especially around sea lots residents and cyclists etc. Not all of our lives are equally important by the state.
9. On a morning for a particular time frame, the right lane around the QPS is dedicated to cyclists where drivers must give way. This has caused unnecessary traffic delays on many occasions.
10. I sure would like to ask the CoP, how does a cycling club get that right to summon uniformed police officers to escort a love for a hobby to inconvenience the population and when in genuine need for assistance, we are told that the station does not have a vehicle to respond to emergencies.

I always thought they paid for this!!!

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2018, 7:28 pm

Rohan say cyclists gonna be able to ride on highways soon

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2018, 7:30 pm

It’s paid for and at overtime rates outside of regular work hours

Motorbike traffic cops are not station cops

Gladiator wrote:

2. The cost of a professional road bike is a lot more than a conventional mountain/bmx bike so therefore, for the non enthusiast, such professional cycling bikes are not readily accessible to the wider 98% of the population. We much rather buy a nice mountain bike for $1,000. On special.
3. Based on the above, only enthusiasts and those who can genuinely afford the bike to be part and parcel of this 'clique-ish' community are the ones doing the island-wide runs with their respective teams/clubs. This community in case you did not know are members of the 1 and 2 percentile of this country.
If anyone doesnt believe me, go to any cycling meet/event or check their fb pages and see the surnames attached to this.
4. Based on 3 above, there are enough influential people who are vexed by today's news and rest assured, we will be hearing of changes in due course.
5. Be it as it may, our driving discipline in this country is too immature which is exacerbated with poor road infrastructure. I don't care how deep your love for cycling is, I don't care what the colour of your skin is, I don't care if you're a chef or an engineer at BP or a child of a 1 percenter, if anyone chooses out of their own free will to cycle on our nations roadways including highways whether with or without an escort, you're taking a huge risk, moreso than the typical risk of entering your motor vehicle and commuting to pos on a morning.
6. Our roads are swamped with gridlock traffic on a daily basis and the cycling community are not bound by a time per say to enjoy their sport/hobby. As long as they have the support from the TTPS, they will be more important than the rest of us by occupying a lane or two in a 3 lane stretch, which contributes more commuting delays to the driving public.
7. Wrt today, the driver of that silver Kia Spectra may still be charged with involuntary manslaughter whether he passed the brethalyser test or not.
8. This is a learning lesson to all of us, to avoid trouble and to not go looking for it, always exercise caution especially around sea lots residents and cyclists etc. Not all of our lives are equally important by the state.
9. On a morning for a particular time frame, the right lane around the QPS is dedicated to cyclists where drivers must give way. This has caused unnecessary traffic delays on many occasions.
10. I sure would like to ask the CoP, how does a cycling club get that right to summon uniformed police officers to escort a love for a hobby to inconvenience the population and when in genuine need for assistance, we are told that the station does not have a vehicle to respond to emergencies.

I always thought they paid for this!!!

Postby 16 cycles » November 10th, 2018, 8:14 pm

Hope one day we get proper infrastructute for cycling in general e.g. to and from work...or for general fitness..

RIP to the fallen and speedy recovery to the injured...

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » November 10th, 2018, 8:30 pm

pugboy wrote:Rohan say cyclists gonna be able to ride on highways soon

When you have money, you can get laws changed to your liking. Ask Mapau and the Syrians...

Postby 16 cycles » November 10th, 2018, 8:34 pm

I'd welcome laws that are pro cyclists for the greater good....even if the pressure comes from 1%...

foots

Postby foots » November 10th, 2018, 11:02 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:If i have to ride somewhere, I use backroads as much as possible.

And I ride on the side of the road facing the traffic. Because if I see a car coming I pull to the side. I always assume that cars are going to bounce my MC.

If There is a pavement thats where I ride also. You hardly encounter pedestrians tbh. And if I do I either go down into the road or into a yard.

As a cyclist you are basically a fast pedestrian, you dont have the same type of rights as a car and no protection from falling.

Cyclists really are some entitled people doh.

I also used to ride facing the traffic, a long time ago. It seemed sensible to do so, as that was how I was taught to walk along the roadway.

Riding in the opposite direction of traffic means that drivers coming out of side streets won't see you (they are not looking for vehicles coming from the wrong direction). I believe ED knew someone who was killed by a truck in such a manner. The link below explains the dangers of riding against the flow of traffic. Take a look.

http://www.virtuousbicycle.com/BlogSpace/go-with-the-flow

Riding on the sidewalk has its own dangers as well. It is sometimes the safest option if the traffic is moving far too fast for a bicycle to keep up with though. Cars pulling out of driveways can smack you. The uneven/undulating nature of pavements means that the bike's pedal can also strike the ground unexpectedly and throw you off balance, into the roadway. Check out item #3 on the link below.

http://bicyclesafe.com

@Effectic - Real glad to hear that you still riding to work man.

kstt

Postby kstt » November 11th, 2018, 12:28 am

Laws are there for a reason.

Just like vending it is illegal

Postby RedVEVO » November 11th, 2018, 12:42 am

Can someone confirm Joe Brown ( one of the cyclist hit ) died ?

He is the prominent Chef from Jaffa Restaurant .

Postby RedVEVO » November 11th, 2018, 12:51 am

" .. Popular Chef Joe Brown and a BP employee Joanna Banks were killed on Saturday morning when a car ploughed through a group of bicycle riders on the Beetham Highway .. "

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... aa832.html

https://www.facebook.com/jaffaattheoval/

R.I.P. Joe

kstt

Postby kstt » November 11th, 2018, 3:44 am

Instead of defending the "who's who" cyclists for an illegally activity people should be demanding manslaughter charges against the club and other cyclists.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » November 11th, 2018, 6:37 am

Strange how Rohan so quick to comment on this issue. I mean practically every road in this entire country filled with potholes but he ain't business about fixing it, even though he is the minister of transport, but he quick to talk about letting cyclists ride on de highways.

Well we all know who balls he gargling...

kstt

Postby kstt » November 11th, 2018, 9:43 am

^^^^ quick to legitimise an illegal activity

Postby RedVEVO » November 11th, 2018, 9:55 am

What illegal activity ?

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2018, 10:49 am

how many cyclists killed other road users forthe year?

kstt wrote:Instead of defending the "who's who" cyclists for an illegally activity people should be demanding manslaughter charges against the club and other cyclists.

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2018, 10:50 am

heard a rumor that one day in the future cyclists are going to take to the roads en masse where ever they are legally allowed to ride
the law also allows them to take up an entire lane two abreast(two cyclist side by side)

brace for it and keep dinner mints in then car.........

Postby goalpost » November 11th, 2018, 11:20 am

Kstt its not illegal

Postby teems1 » November 11th, 2018, 11:41 am

goalpost wrote:Kstt its not illegal
It's not illegal on the highway unless there are the proper protocols in place. Police escort and tail vehicle etc.

We're those things there yesterday?

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2018, 12:12 pm

you dont need police escort to cycle on crh

for the nth time
its only ubh which does not allow cyclist, moped, pedestrians

if you read the laws, only ubh is actually classified as a highway.....
the others are considered roads

teems1 wrote:
It's not illegal on the highway unless there are the proper protocols in place. Police escort and tail vehicle etc.

whizzard

Postby whizzard » November 11th, 2018, 12:19 pm

I wish I could ride to work, but other than reaching to work sweaty and having to worry about rain, it just isn't safe and laws or not that remains a fact.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 11th, 2018, 2:20 pm

pugboy wrote:you dont need police escort to cycle on crh

for the nth time
its only ubh which does not allow cyclist, moped, pedestrians

if you read the laws, only ubh is actually classified as a highway.....
the others are considered roads

teems1 wrote:

Same speed limit on CRH as UBH/SHH though regardless of classification

Postby Redman » November 11th, 2018, 2:35 pm

Pugboy
So what's the H for in the CRH ?

Postby pugboy » November 11th, 2018, 2:42 pm