Re: VS Naipaul dies at 85

Postby zoom rader » August 13th, 2018, 2:40 am

randolphinshan wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:Hmmm well

Goodbye and good riddance. Was a rude and pompous man.

He saw the light and escaped the PNM matrix long before anyone else saw it.

Every thing he wrote about trinidad is true, a bunch of mimic men .

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 2:47 am

randolphinshan wrote:

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 2:50 am

" .. Rowley said the Nobel Laureate was “unwavering in his resolve to tell his stories as he saw fit. Moreover, his strength of character was responsible in no small part for his renowned success .. "

" His widow, Lady Naipaul who described Sir Vidia as “a giant in all that he achieved” said he died “surrounded by those he loved having lived a life which was full of wonderful creativity and endeavor .. "

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-08- ... vs-naipaul

Postby shogun » August 13th, 2018, 5:58 am

RedVEVO wrote:
shogun wrote:Deeply flawed man with a literary gift. Such is the human condition.

How was he deeply flawed ? You are a Judge and a Priest ?

Lil youth man did you ever win a Noble Prize for Literature ?

V.S. Naipaul was a genius .

He was human and a man .

Priest???? :lol:

You seem to be under the impression that a man-made/awarded prize is any equal to basic humanity towards others?

There was no need to judge, just go read what the people closest to him, have said about him? And PLEASE stop being so defensive, to the point of desperate insecurity about everything under the sun? I already stated that he was gifted literarily. What more did you need?

It's funny you landed on my comment, when the one above mine was even more critical/descriptive? Iz almost as if you can sense that I'm trying my best to avoid you at all cost and thought it best to drag me into one of your attention grabbing tantrums?

hassanvoyeau

Postby hassanvoyeau » August 13th, 2018, 6:50 am

Naipaul (by Hassan Voyeau)

Ink
Think
Word
Nerd
Old sage
Last page

#HasuPoetry

Postby pugboy » August 13th, 2018, 7:53 am

if you read the various comments by other "experts" in the literary field
they all agree that he was very good at his writing as well as being the eccentric human being as many locally seem to think
they dont seem to marry the two together like many here though and start first sentence by saying he is an arse

it seems that locally the human ability to separate or agree on two different things at the same time and not let one cause condemnation/bias over the other is a very difficult concept to grasp or not do automatically......

never read salman rushdie but
its not unlike how many muslims blacklisted salman rushdie when he wrote his book Satanic verses
many nonmuslims also found his negative muslim writing offensive also
If salman rushdie had published his book today the worldwide sentiments would be much different.........

Postby zoom rader » August 13th, 2018, 8:06 am

This dude was a champion hoe chaiser

Miktay

Postby Miktay » August 13th, 2018, 9:30 am

like him or not...Naipaul was controversial....hiz mout din hold no warder...

Postby De Dragon » August 13th, 2018, 12:37 pm

Kant, but a brilliant kant.

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 12:39 pm

shogun wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
shogun wrote:Deeply flawed man with a literary gift. Such is the human condition.

How was he deeply flawed ? You are a Judge and a Priest ?

Lil youth man did you ever win a Noble Prize for Literature ?

V.S. Naipaul was a genius .

He was human and a man .

Priest???? :lol:

You seem to be under the impression that a man-made/awarded prize is any equal to basic humanity towards others?

There was no need to judge, just go read what the people closest to him, have said about him? And PLEASE stop being so defensive, to the point of desperate insecurity about everything under the sun? I already stated that he was gifted literarily. What more did you need?

It's funny you landed on my comment, when the one above mine was even more critical/descriptive? Iz almost as if you can sense that I'm trying my best to avoid you at all cost and thought it best to drag me into one of your attention grabbing tantrums?

Too personal a comment for me girlie man :D
Stop wearing pink thong panties.

Who the F .. cares about what people SAY about a genius ?
You listen to gossip :roll:

His excellent literary works is what matters :!:

Winner takes ALL with a Noble Prize.

airuma

Postby airuma » August 13th, 2018, 1:54 pm

Redman wrote:He was a great author.
And and arsehole.

Neither takes away from the other.

Correct but unfortunately one may have added to the other.
I agree he made offensive statements but I'm not sure if he was ever a diplomat, one might argue that being knighted made him a diplomat though. Either way, did he negatively affect the lives of people other than those closest to him, like ALL of our politicians and ALL of those who exercise control over our governments?

Postby RedVEVO » August 13th, 2018, 2:35 pm

airuma wrote:
Redman wrote:He was a great author.
And and arsehole.

Neither takes away from the other.

Correct but unfortunately one may have added to the other.
I agree he made offensive statements but I'm not sure if he was ever a diplomat, one might argue that being knighted made him a diplomat though. Either way, did he negatively affect the lives of people other than those closest to him, like ALL of our politicians and ALL of those who exercise control over our governments?

Ok let me break this down for those dim wits .

Those who think negative are pure losers when come to VS Naipaul .
He was Knighted and won a Noble Prize for his criticism .
With an international audience.

Read his books, he was critical on many subjects such
as how people think, act and live. It's not humor .

Can Rowley or Kamla have such an achievement ?

hassanvoyeau

Postby hassanvoyeau » August 14th, 2018, 7:49 am

All the bad things being said about Naipaul and being amplified, I don't see it. We want to have our cake and eat it too is what I am getting from this. I have full confidence in his ability to describe (be critical) of himself like he did for other things. Show me where he describes himself and that is what I will accept. What I am seeing is second hand rhetoric and opines.

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2018, 8:10 am

The man seemed to be disgusted by Trinidad and where he came from. No need for Governments to start pandering to half the story of a "hero" just because he is now dead. Trinidad was really proud of him, but he had total revulsion for us island people.

Should not let it become an issue like Columbus, a man who did great things, but also hiding who he really was. Let all the truth be known and let people praise or criticize how they want. In the end the man lived his life however he did, had his fame and genius, and now he is gone. It's half and half, just like how all of us live our own lives.

hassanvoyeau

Postby hassanvoyeau » August 14th, 2018, 9:48 pm

"Writing has to change the writer. It isn't just writing a book; it is an experience for the writer and an education too" - VS Naipaul (interview with Bhoe Tewarie)

I so get this as a blogger, a photographer (writing with photos), a poet, commentator, content creator ...

It is for me and the reader/viewer

Postby RedVEVO » August 14th, 2018, 10:04 pm

hassanvoyeau wrote:All the bad things being said about Naipaul and being amplified, I don't see it. We want to have our cake and eat it too is what I am getting from this. I have full confidence in his ability to describe (be critical) of himself like he did for other things. Show me where he describes himself and that is what I will accept. What I am seeing is second hand rhetoric and opines.

It's a Trini's negative view point of people who are successful .

The more successful you are the more you are critiqued.

Education is fiercely envied . Anybody can make money $$.

Even the useless Trini politicians attempt to separate private and public.

Trini judge the nonessentials that life has to offer but yet ignore the important.

Can you really blame Naipaul for being ashamed of his roots ?

Is Trinidad really a civilized and educated society ?

hassanvoyeau

Postby hassanvoyeau » August 15th, 2018, 7:09 am

No words / Nightpaul (by Hassan Voyeau)

What to write?
Dark at night
Would it be write?
This is my plight
Passage write
I see daylight

*Passage - brief portion of a written work
*Write > right > rite
*Rite of passage - ceremony and marks the transition from one phase of life to another
*Based on true story - started this poem in the night and finished it early morning
*My brain thinks things that I am not aware of
*Million dollar poem thing
*Poem writing was not going to resume until 2019 but inspiration from Naipaul (Nightpaul). I was actually thinking about using nightpaul somehow on the first one but couldn't make it work.
*One of his books was Middle Passage so it fits perfectly
*I consider this the best poem I have written to date and inspired by Naipaul's legacy

#HasuPoetry

Postby RedVEVO » August 15th, 2018, 2:57 pm

"Naipaul’s profound idea of the “half-made society”

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/08/15/vs-nai ... e-world-2/

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 16th, 2018, 7:51 pm

waste ah forkin time cudnt make it here so at 18 years gone in the white man place and still wah say he is trini. trinis shud be shame to know he.

Daran

Postby Daran » August 17th, 2018, 9:18 am

screwbash wrote:waste ah forkin time cudnt make it here so at 18 years gone in the white man place and still wah say he is trini. trinis shud be shame to know he.

Lol wut?

sotf

Postby sotf » August 17th, 2018, 11:53 am

hydroep wrote:I remember the time he "rough up" a SAGHS student for asking what was in his opinion a stupid question...:|

Eccentricity is not an excuse for being an arsehole.

R.I.P.

I remember this, he said that he expected better questions from the students or something to that effect. Total douche move. Regardless of his accomplishments in literature and the fact that he was our only Nobel laureate, that did not give him the right to act like that. The students looked forward to meeting him and asking questions. Instead they had to hear that crap. Then the next clown, Sat Maharaj, stood up and said that the students would work on better questions for the next time. He did not defend the students.

Additionally, I always got the impression that V.S. had a certain disdain for the country.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 17th, 2018, 1:34 pm

RedVEVO wrote:" .. Among his widely quoted comments: He called India a "slave society," quipped that Africa has no future, and explained that Indian women wear a colored dot on their foreheads to say "my head is empty." He laughed off the 1989 fatwa against Salman Rushdie as "an extreme form of literary criticism ... "

https://www.msn.com/en-xl/europe/europe ... li=BBKxOg5

He was 100 % correct .

Because you're Knighted by the queen doesn't mean you damn the bridge you crossed. Such an ungrateful filth. where is he now? same grave as any normal person.

Postby RedVEVO » August 25th, 2018, 4:49 am

Sundar wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:" .. Among his widely quoted comments: He called India a "slave society," quipped that Africa has no future, and explained that Indian women wear a colored dot on their foreheads to say "my head is empty." He laughed off the 1989 fatwa against Salman Rushdie as "an extreme form of literary criticism ... "

https://www.msn.com/en-xl/europe/europe ... li=BBKxOg5

He was 100 % correct .

Because you're Knighted by the queen doesn't mean you damn the bridge you crossed. Such an ungrateful filth. where is he now? same grave as any normal person.

When you are Knighted it shows a certain level of excellence you have attained in life .

It is due to a higher education, contribution to society etc.

Not know what you mean by "ungrateful" or " filth " :?

He was a literary genius . His personal life is his own .

Postby De Dragon » August 25th, 2018, 6:25 am

sotf wrote:
hydroep wrote:I remember the time he "rough up" a SAGHS student for asking what was in his opinion a stupid question...:|

Eccentricity is not an excuse for being an arsehole.

R.I.P.

I remember this, he said that he expected better questions from the students or something to that effect. Total douche move. Regardless of his accomplishments in literature and the fact that he was our only Nobel laureate, that did not give him the right to act like that. The students looked forward to meeting him and asking questions. Instead they had to hear that crap. Then the next clown, Sat Maharaj, stood up and said that the students would work on better questions for the next time. He did not defend the students.

Additionally, I always got the impression that V.S. had a certain disdain for the country.

I remember this and thinking "what did he expect from teenagers"? Was he really expecting some deep profound questions in the land of "how dat mek yuh feel"?

Postby RedVEVO » August 25th, 2018, 11:12 am

randolphinshan wrote:

He was a visionary .

He grow up humble and poor.

And before a PNM or UNC speech break him - he gone foreign :!:

If Panday had stayed in London - he would have been Knighted .

If Warner had stayed in Germany - he would of been FIFA President .

Rowley ? Kamla ?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » August 25th, 2018, 5:08 pm

screwbash wrote:waste ah forkin time cudnt make it here so at 18 years gone in the white man place and still wah say he is trini. trinis shud be shame to know he.

They bury/ burn this kant as yet ? If not we could add RedVEVO also :fadein:

Postby RedVEVO » August 25th, 2018, 5:36 pm

Naipaul was a genius , he was brilliant.

You cannot burn a genius even with a brilliant flame .

He will live in the hearts of other geniuses.