Claiming car insurance without person info

Premchand1976

Re: Claiming car insurance without person info

Postby Premchand1976 » September 5th, 2018, 3:51 pm

sMASH wrote:At what point in the process do u have to pay the excess.
I got into an accident last year and no mention of excess came up.
Reported to police, reported to my insurer at the time bankers, then taken to the other guy's insurer which was capital.

car fixed up, back on the road after a week. I got my money after a month and a half, The majority of the claim.
If you have full comprehensive and the estimate is lower than or maybe a little higher than your excess your company will send you directly to the liable party insurer to claim. This way, you don't lose your no claim discount ( especially is your renewal date is close ) and you are settled in full ( excess, loss of use , loss of earnings etc )

As long at the adjuster sees the vehicle, conforms the damages and takes his pics, you can proceed to repair your vehicle on your own......your claim will be settled by the insurer soon enough after the adjuster sees the damages

Postby sMASH » September 5th, 2018, 10:29 pm

Fully comprehensive?

Hoss, I is a sufferer. Third party all the way.

I think for my first accident, I did the running around to the other party's insurer as well, and didn't pay no excess.not even mentioned. That time I was with capital and other guy was with gulf.

Sounds like that excess is just the running round fee.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » September 6th, 2018, 2:44 am

Some third party policies carry an excess and it's payable ONLY if there is a claim against your policy ( if you are wrong in accident )

GG, tatil, etc.....no third party excess but premiums kinda high.

Motor one, and few other companies charge smaller premiums with an excess of 750-1500 payable at the time of an incident.

Postby sMASH » September 6th, 2018, 9:08 am

Oh.
I was right in both accidents.

shameemh

Postby shameemh » September 6th, 2018, 9:26 am

Insurance is there for a reason, use it! There are systems in place and people dont wanna use them, then they wud say the system fail them. How hard is it to say, nah bredda lewwe go by d station? An if he dont want to go, simply report it as a hit and run!

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » September 6th, 2018, 6:04 pm

shameemh wrote:Insurance is there for a reason, use it! There are systems in place and people dont wanna use them, then they wud say the system fail them. How hard is it to say, nah bredda lewwe go by d station? An if he dont want to go, simply report it as a hit and run!
9 out of 10 agreements to settle outside the police station / insurance company usually ends up being settled in the Insurance company. When accident fresh. The wrong one does be quick to say they will settle as cash payment and when you carry your estimate for them, they does want to carry you by their backyard straightener and get a lower estimate etc etc...and thats where the problem starts.

Report to insurance always and let the settle your claim. Their client can always choose to settle you based on the insurance company figure OR repay their insurer the amount that was paid to you to protect their No Claim Discount.

Smash, because you had third party and was right , no excess is payable by you. Had you been wrong and your company had to fix so wine else car, you would have to pay it BEFORE they paid the other person's claim.

Postby sMASH » September 6th, 2018, 6:44 pm

Tnx.. Understand.