TTEC Tax ?

Re: TTEC Tax ?

Postby RedVEVO » May 1st, 2018, 11:09 pm

Les Bain wrote:I do. My household was trying to maintain a low light bill for some time but I took in a few lectures at a travelling German alternate energy exhibition that was in the country last year and got even more determined to get used to saving energy before the country became forced to do so.

Give us some tips .. Why you so ?

German technology - ah listening :D

boxy

Postby boxy » May 2nd, 2018, 10:06 am

Inverter technology AC units LED bulbs are what basically cuts your energy bill by 3/4 the rest is simply turning off lights when not in use. This isn't rocket science everyone knows filament bulbs cost less to purchase but pulls the most electricity.

To the guy complaining about government not paying their bills u do realize that it's much more complicated than that right? when say the ministry of health has salaries to pay and meds to purchase and medical equipment to maintain why would they take that money to pay an entity that belongs to their "sister ministry" when they can do so later when they have it to spare? Dunno why some people simply talking rubbish without using common sense.

Postby RedVEVO » May 2nd, 2018, 10:12 am

boxy wrote:Inverter technology AC units LED bulbs are what basically cuts your energy bill by 3/4 the rest is simply turning off lights when not in use. This isn't rocket science everyone knows filament bulbs cost less to purchase but pulls the most electricity.

To the guy complaining about government not paying their bills u do realize that it's much more complicated than that right? when say the ministry of health has salaries to pay and meds to purchase and medical equipment to maintain why would they take that money to pay an entity that belongs to their "sister ministry" when they can do so later when they have it to spare? Dunno why some people simply talking rubbish without using common sense.

This is the MOST BS statement I read today :shock:

PNM Accounting ..
And it's no accountability .

matix

Postby matix » May 2nd, 2018, 10:32 am

To the guy complaining about government not paying their bills u do realize that it's much more complicated than that right? when say the ministry of health has salaries to pay and meds to purchase and medical equipment to maintain why would they take that money to pay an entity that belongs to their "sister ministry" when they can do so later when they have it to spare? Dunno why some people simply talking rubbish without using common sense.[/

You serious?

Postby hydroep » May 2nd, 2018, 10:37 am

Paying (or not paying) bills across State entities calls into question the efficiency of management of both the debtor and creditor institutions as well as the central government. What is it that they're spending their allocations on that they cannot balance their budgets? Board of directors/managers being paid too much? Are they wusses when it comes to dealing with the unions?...etc...etc...etc.

"Yuh spinning top in mud" if the monies from any rate hike is going to be put into the hands of incompetents without implementing a plan to improve the situation...:|

boxy

Postby boxy » May 2nd, 2018, 11:03 am

RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:Inverter technology AC units LED bulbs are what basically cuts your energy bill by 3/4 the rest is simply turning off lights when not in use. This isn't rocket science everyone knows filament bulbs cost less to purchase but pulls the most electricity.

PNM Accounting ..
Ahhh right I forgot they would have magically been efficient in paying bills between 2010-2015 how silly of me

Postby RedVEVO » May 2nd, 2018, 12:42 pm

boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

PNM Accounting ..
Ahhh right I forgot they would have magically been efficient in paying bills between 2010-2015 how silly of me

It's TT Citizens who have to " call out " this act of stupidity where because certain ministries or business do not pay their TTEC bill .. then the solution by " Le Hunte Ketchup " is to raise the TTEC Rates for EVERYBODY due to the inefficiency of "arseness."

" Le Hunte Ketchup" should of stayed in Ghana since he learnt this "arseness" from Ghana .

Postby De Dragon » May 2nd, 2018, 12:55 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

PNM Accounting ..

It's TT Citizens who have to " call out " this act of stupidity where because certain ministries or business do not pay their TTEC bill .. then the solution by " Le Hunte Ketchup " is to raise the TTEC Rates for EVERYBODY due to the inefficiency of "arseness."

" Le Hunte Ketchup" should of stayed in Ghana since he learnt this "arseness" from Ghana .

A man really advocating an across the board rate hike because the Government cannot pay its bills? :lol: :lol:

matix

Postby matix » May 2nd, 2018, 12:58 pm

That's the pnm logic

Postby Les Bain » May 4th, 2018, 10:04 am

RedVEVO wrote:
Les Bain wrote:I do. My household was trying to maintain a low light bill for some time but I took in a few lectures at a travelling German alternate energy exhibition that was in the country last year and got even more determined to get used to saving energy before the country became forced to do so.

Sorry, been busy. You can check out the exhibit's page here but there's really no big secret to being energy efficient. It's mostly following the elementary practices told to young children plus keeping up with energy efficient product developments.

http://www.energiewende-global.com/en/

Postby RedVEVO » May 4th, 2018, 12:40 pm

Les Bain wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Sorry, been busy. You can check out the exhibit's page here but there's really no big secret to being energy efficient. It's mostly following the elementary practices told to young children plus keeping up with energy efficient product developments.

http://www.energiewende-global.com/en/

Thanks - Kool :D

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » May 4th, 2018, 12:56 pm

But these govt institutions can't pay when is "small money" light bill according when it goes up workers going home to pay light bill in govt offices then

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » May 4th, 2018, 12:57 pm

*According to le hunt

Postby RedVEVO » May 4th, 2018, 1:29 pm

wickedtuna wrote:*According to le hunt

That's the ppm logic = Ghana Logic

boxy

Postby boxy » May 4th, 2018, 1:48 pm

wickedtuna wrote:But these govt institutions can't pay when is "small money" light bill according when it goes up workers going home to pay light bill in govt offices then
govt institutions pay commercial rates and their "small money" rates well..... have u ever seen lights off at the hospital? a police station? fire station? schools? Government buildings on the whole? if you already don't turn your lights and AC off as a residential customer when not in use and these institutions sometimes run 24 hour operations can u fathom their monthly bills? You expect a public servant to cater about conserving energy in a govt building?

Postby RedVEVO » May 4th, 2018, 1:56 pm

boxy wrote:
wickedtuna wrote:But these govt institutions can't pay when is "small money" light bill according when it goes up workers going home to pay light bill in govt offices then
govt institutions pay commercial rates and their "small money" rates well..... have u ever seen lights off at the hospital? a police station? fire station? schools? Government buildings on the whole? if you already don't turn your lights and AC off as a residential customer when not in use and these institutions sometimes run 24 hour operations can u fathom their monthly bills? You expect a public servant to cater about conserving energy in a govt building?

Boxy you are correct :D

Le Hunte Ketchup should conserve with his own people ( i.e. Ministries ) before blaming average green man and raising TTEC rate .

boxy

Postby boxy » May 4th, 2018, 2:07 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:

Le Hunte Ketchup should conserve with his own people ( i.e. Ministries ) before blaming average green man and raising TTEC rate .
to be fair the hike in T&TEC bill has been floating since KPB was the prime minister. it isn't now T&tec has been under strain. OWTU made sure that the wage bill is up to the time and well Just like how T&tec is being owed money T&tec probably owing just as much if not more to Petrotrin.

Postby RedVEVO » May 4th, 2018, 2:13 pm

boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:

to be fair the hike in T&TEC bill has been floating since KPB was the prime minister. it isn't now T&tec has been under strain. OWTU made sure that the wage bill is up to the time and well Just like how T&tec is being owed money T&tec probably owing just as much if not more to Petrotrin.

No strain with TTEC just mismanagement and increase of administrative costs.

It is time to privatize TTEC .

This "social good" is turning out to be a dark nightmare .

boxy

Postby boxy » May 4th, 2018, 2:15 pm

You do realize that electricity is subsided right? So... by privatizing said entity u give the majority shareholder the ability to dig out yuh eye and raise price like KFC with a sad story

Postby RedVEVO » May 4th, 2018, 2:21 pm

boxy wrote:You do realize that electricity is subsided right? So... by privatizing said entity u give the majority shareholder the ability to dig out yuh eye and raise price like KFC with a sad story

Technically by raising TTEC rate you are attempting to eliminate the subsidy .

TTEC is plagued by cronyism .

boxy

Postby boxy » May 4th, 2018, 2:24 pm

I think u need to rework your mathematics. By raising the rate they will remove part of the subsidy even if they remove all you seriously think a big firm gonna be running the country only Electricity company just to break even?

That private firm going and be Colm Imbert x 10 talking rubbish bout they in riot yet. Heck The firm might be owned by he family

Postby RedVEVO » May 4th, 2018, 2:33 pm

boxy wrote:I think u need to rework your mathematics. By raising the rate they will remove part of the subsidy even if they remove all you seriously think a big firm gonna be running the country only Electricity company just to break even?

That private firm going and be Colm Imbert x 10 talking rubbish bout they in riot yet. Heck The firm might be owned by he family

Think again FPL (Miami).
Efficiency.

boxy

Postby boxy » May 4th, 2018, 3:24 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
boxy wrote:I think u need to rework your mathematics. By raising the rate they will remove part of the subsidy even if they remove all you seriously think a big firm gonna be running the country only Electricity company just to break even?

Think again FPL (Miami).
Efficiency.
I did think maybe if u put (Trinidad) in them brackets u might feel diffrently

Postby RedVEVO » May 5th, 2018, 1:32 pm

boxy wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Think again FPL (Miami).
Efficiency.
I did think maybe if u put (Trinidad) in them brackets u might feel diffrently

TTEC should be privatized .

Gov't cannot handle management .

FPL is private . They have a nuclear generator .

TTEC should install a nuclear generator in Tobago.

Maybe then it can be of use to mankind.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 5th, 2018, 1:52 pm

So... At current rates it takes quite a while for a solar setup to break even. We also have zero legislation in place as far as I know to sell power back to the "grid". The solar systems also require refreshing over time... Batteries and panels have limited use and are made from nasty chemicals/materials. It's nice but with the rates as they are and without proper systems in place there won't be many adopters of the technology

Postby RedVEVO » May 5th, 2018, 2:01 pm

kamakazi wrote:So... At current rates it takes quite a while for a solar setup to break even. We also have zero legislation in place as far as I know to sell power back to the "grid". The solar systems also require refreshing over time... Batteries and panels have limited use and are made from nasty chemicals/materials. It's nice but with the rates as they are and without proper systems in place there won't be many adopters of the technology

Natural gas .. we have plenty , sun come and go :D

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 5th, 2018, 3:21 pm

We might have it under ground... Currently we need more production to the surface...

The sun actually isn't going anywhere... We however only spinning

Postby The_Honourable » June 11th, 2019, 4:05 pm

T&TEC owed 700 million by customers

Pub­lic Util­i­ties Min­is­ter Robert Le Hunte says out­stand­ing pay­ments owed to the Elec­tric­i­ty Com­mis­sion (T&TEC) for the sup­ply of ser­vices is ap­prox­i­mate­ly $700 mil­lion—with the ma­jor­i­ty of ar­rears owed by Gov­ern­ment di­vi­sions.

In con­firm­ing the fig­ure fol­low­ing a query by the T&T Guardian re­cent­ly, Le Hunte said the amount owed by house­hold con­sumers made up the small­est amount—$100 mil­lion.

Among the re­main­ing $600 mil­lion, the largest sum owed is from gov­ern­ment di­vi­sions. This is fol­lowed by in­dus­tri­al/com­mer­cial con­sumers, Le Hunte added.

Le Hunte, how­ev­er, de­clined to give the fig­ure owed by Gov­ern­ment de­part­ments.

He said, “T&TEC does a good job in man­ag­ing their re­ceiv­ables. The amount out­stand­ing rep­re­sents $700 mil­lion out of an­nu­al sales of $3.1 bil­lion.

“This, in turn, rep­re­sents about 82 days’ sales, which com­pares favourably to WASA where the (re­ceiv­able) fig­ure rep­re­sents 365 days sales. I’m very com­fort­able with T&TEC’s per­for­mance in this area. Where gov­ern­ment agen­cies owe T&TEC, arrange­ments are in place to fa­cil­i­tate an or­der­ly re­duc­tion.”

He added, “WASA, on the oth­er hand, needs to step up their lev­el of re­cov­er­ies, where the ma­jor­i­ty of out­stand­ing re­ceiv­ables are in the do­mes­tic cus­tomer group with lim­it­ed re­pay­ment plans in place.”

Com­ment­ing on the cur­rent sit­u­a­tion, Op­po­si­tion MP Gan­ga Singh —a for­mer Pub­lic Util­i­ties min­is­ter —said res­i­den­tial and com­mer­cial cus­tomers were the cat­e­gories of clients who tra­di­tion­al­ly paid their bills and gov­ern­ment de­part­ments his­tor­i­cal­ly didn’t.

Call­ing on the Gov­ern­ment to say how much gov­ern­ment di­vi­sions par­tic­u­lar­ly, owe T&TEC, Singh added, “T&TEC is very ef­fi­cient in dis­con­nect­ing res­i­den­tial and com­mer­cial cus­tomers for non-pay­ment of bills, ex­cept in the crime ‘hotspot’ ar­eas. If the pub­lic doesn’t know which de­part­ments owe T&TEC the most—and I’m sure it’s gov­ern­ment de­part­ments—it places T&TEC in a bad po­si­tion as they can’t take the puni­tive sanc­tion of dis­con­nec­tion.”

Singh said for­mer Peo­ple’s Part­ner­ship fi­nance min­is­ter Lar­ry Howai had once al­lo­cat­ed monies to gov­ern­ment di­vi­sions in such a way that util­i­ties like T&TEC and WASA had to be paid and the mon­ey couldn’t be used for any­thing else.

“It isn’t fair that res­i­den­tial and com­mer­cial cus­tomers should car­ry the bur­den of pay­ing their T&TEC rates—and suf­fer the dan­ger of be­ing dis­con­nect­ed im­me­di­ate­ly if they lapse some­where —when gov­ern­ment de­part­ments which owe the most to T&TEC are shield­ed on how much they owe. Gov­ern­ment di­vi­sions should set the ex­am­ple in rate pay­ing. But if they’re pro­tect­ed they’ll nev­er pay their rates.”

He added, “Al­low­ing gov­ern­ment de­part­ments to con­tin­ue hav­ing ar­rears with T&TEC (or WASA) is an­oth­er form of tax­a­tion on house­hold­ers and oth­er cus­tomers who end up sub­sid­ing T&TEC op­er­a­tions if Gov­ern­ment de­part­ments don’t pay their bills —it’s un­fair.”

Not­ing that T&TEC (and WASA) have been seek­ing to pre­pare rate hike ap­pli­ca­tions in re­cent months, Singh al­so ques­tioned if hik­ing rates was fair to the pub­lic in cir­cum­stances where Gov­ern­ment di­vi­sions owed T&TEC the bulk of its ar­rears. He said it cre­ates a “po­lit­i­cal­ly in­duced in­ef­fi­cien­cy which will im­pact neg­a­tive­ly on T&TEC, and house­hold­ers and oth­er cus­tomers should not be bear­ing the bur­den when T&TEC has in­ef­fi­cien­cies such as high gov­ern­ment de­part­ment ar­rears.”

Source: http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ttec-owe ... ed9ade660b

Postby zoom rader » June 11th, 2019, 5:30 pm

What pnm failed to tell citizens is who owes TTEC.

Beetham and laventille steal electricity every single day. What has PNM done to procecute these criminals?

Postby bluefete » June 11th, 2019, 6:55 pm

So wait. In one year T&TEC's outstandings went from $225 million to $700 million? In ONE YEAR?

That is a $475 million increase - IN ONE YEAR!

Or is Le Hunte lying through his you know what?

The_Honourable wrote:T&TEC owed 700 million by customers

Pub­lic Util­i­ties Min­is­ter Robert Le Hunte says out­stand­ing pay­ments owed to the Elec­tric­i­ty Com­mis­sion (T&TEC) for the sup­ply of ser­vices is ap­prox­i­mate­ly $700 mil­lion—with the ma­jor­i­ty of ar­rears owed by Gov­ern­ment di­vi­sions.

In con­firm­ing the fig­ure fol­low­ing a query by the T&T Guardian re­cent­ly, Le Hunte said the amount owed by house­hold con­sumers made up the small­est amount—$100 mil­lion.

Among the re­main­ing $600 mil­lion, the largest sum owed is from gov­ern­ment di­vi­sions. This is fol­lowed by in­dus­tri­al/com­mer­cial con­sumers, Le Hunte added.

RedVEVO wrote:Although the T&T Electricity Commission (T&TEC) has spent more $60 million in the last five months to improve its service, it is hampered by $225 million in arrears, with business and government entities among the biggest debtors.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-04- ... 25-million

" .. T&TEC has applied to the Regulated Industries Commission for a review of its rates.
Le Hunte said the rates citizens paid for electricity was one-sixth of the average paid in other Caribbean countries .. "

Is this another form of "taxation" ?