Re: WTF!- $43.00 a lb for food now!?

Postby pugboy » March 16th, 2018, 7:14 pm

Per pound is big business
The working class like to eat good and willing to spend the money
You will never see 1% or hardly any Chinese eating at per pound places....

Postby sMASH » March 16th, 2018, 7:22 pm

allyuh see on fb, the guy selling tomatoes and baigan 5lb/20?

from rio claro....

the amount of dig eye goin on up north, is like everybody might be looking like zetski profile pic...

Postby X_Factor » March 16th, 2018, 10:20 pm

generally all produce is average priced or below average except for hot pepper and pimentos at the moment

imagine spending 43$/lb for $1.50 potatoes that has been boiled with salt and some grated cheeze

those breakfast sheds that sell the sada roti,
ideally their prices should fluctuate based on market prices

Postby Gem_in_i » March 16th, 2018, 10:49 pm

1/4 sada roti is how much? $5?
Saw in jta ytday, 2 dalpurie for $19.95

Postby paid_influencer » March 16th, 2018, 10:58 pm

1/4 sada is $10-$12

you mostly paying for rent, not flour or tomato.

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2018, 11:05 pm

Kronik wrote:Viaa in marabella sells for by the pound, I can't remember the price, but I think it was like 20 something a pound
Food is not bad actualky.

I still find smokey joes is the best

Postby Gem_in_i » March 16th, 2018, 11:06 pm

paid_influencer wrote:1/4 sada is $10-$12

you mostly paying for rent, not flour or tomato.

:shock: :shock:
For the piece of roti alone? :shock:

Postby X_Factor » March 16th, 2018, 11:17 pm

^ that is with some sort of vegie

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » March 17th, 2018, 7:32 am

so we burning tyres or what ?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » March 17th, 2018, 8:19 am

dean_spleen09 wrote:so we burning tyres or what ?

Negative keep your tyres to breed mosquito or throw in river to cause flood. This is Trinidad nobody going to do one facking thing, we are one set of blow hards and posers.

Just now price gonna be 50 dollars and line gonna be longer. All they will do is blame Rowley or Kamla

Me I done say I grow my own food and ganga and hunt manicou so facking those food place and delete police to, we waste the most money on TTPS

Postby pugboy » March 17th, 2018, 10:23 am

as I said before, why is it you never see 1% or chinee buying food per pound ?

gencon

Postby gencon » March 17th, 2018, 12:23 pm

i going and buy chinese yes. $36 and you a big container ram packed with food. 10 piece ah chicken.

where that place in Duncan village that selling roti for $15??

Postby 88sins » March 17th, 2018, 1:11 pm

pugboy wrote:as I said before, why is it you never see 1% or chinee buying food per pound ?

cuz, u could ask this question till u turn more blue than papa smurf Trini chupidees will still take the bait.
You can teach almost anyone almost anything, but common sense isn't one of those things that can be taught, & fools aren't readily capable of learning.

But price nonsense aside
Ever notice, most ppl will eventually get some srs belly wuk after buying food at one point in time in their life or another form one place or the other, but you hardly ever hear anyone say they got sick from something they made at home?
& even after getting sick, they will continue to buy food. maybe not from the place they feel/know they got the runs, but they won't stop or cut back on buying food outside instead of preparing their meals at home.

Postby 88sins » March 17th, 2018, 1:11 pm

pugboy wrote:as I said before, why is it you never see 1% or chinee buying food per pound ?

cuz, u could ask this question till u turn more blue than papa smurf Trini chupidees will still take the bait.
You can teach almost anyone almost anything, but common sense isn't one of those things that can be taught, & fools aren't readily capable of learning.

But price nonsense aside
Ever notice, most ppl will eventually get some srs belly wuk after buying food at one point in time in their life or another form one place or the other, but you hardly ever hear anyone say they got sick from something they made at home?
& even after getting sick, they will continue to buy food. maybe not from the place they feel/know they got the runs, but they won't stop or cut back on buying food outside instead of preparing their meals at home.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 17th, 2018, 5:24 pm

Common sense....why go to the grocery every month and still buy food everyday?

Postby rspann » March 17th, 2018, 6:28 pm

I have some workers coming from Penal everyday and all six of them are walking with their roti and talkarie everyday. They eat some in the morning when they arrive and the rest at lunchtime. They buy a soft drink to wash it down . I guess they don't know about food by the pound. They all own their own homes though ,I guess it's paying off.

Postby zoom rader » March 17th, 2018, 6:35 pm

rspann wrote:I have some workers coming from Penal everyday and all six of them are walking with their roti and talkarie everyday. They eat some in the morning when they arrive and the rest at lunchtime. They buy a soft drink to wash it down . I guess they don't know about food by the pound. They all own their own homes though ,I guess it's paying off.

Desi go beat up when he hear Penal ppl owning their own home without a waterdown degree

Postby sMASH » March 17th, 2018, 6:47 pm

rspann wrote:I have some workers coming from Penal everyday and all six of them are walking with their roti and talkarie everyday. They eat some in the morning when they arrive and the rest at lunchtime. They buy a soft drink to wash it down . I guess they don't know about food by the pound. They all own their own homes though ,I guess it's paying off.
And the pnm approach to that isssssss,, tax deh MC.

Mai goal is to reach that point... Kinda half way there... I buy food like 3 or 4 times a week.. Want to cut that back even farther.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 17th, 2018, 7:06 pm

Never had the cause to buy bkfast or lunch for work...bank acct looks healthier each month...

Postby rspann » March 17th, 2018, 7:16 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Never had the cause to buy bkfast or lunch for work...bank acct looks healthier each month...

Ent ? I have workers from north who buy breakfast, lunch and dinner. they are the ones who take money every day though.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 17th, 2018, 8:34 pm

A decent bkfast is about $25 with a drink...lunch about $40 dinner the same....let's say $100 a day...do the math...idk how people does do that nah...

Then there are those with the 7-10 year loan for the cerato and accent but drinking lipton bkfast lunch and dinner then watching yuh sada like corbeaux around a dead dog..

Priorities

gencon

Postby gencon » March 17th, 2018, 9:29 pm

i does carry lentil or black eye to work everyday, with ah lil bit ah rice and some chicken or turkey. the bulk of the meal is legumes. and i don't eat breakfast on weekdays for the most part. cheap and healthy.

Postby pugboy » March 17th, 2018, 9:53 pm

Eat little live long

Postby rspann » March 17th, 2018, 9:57 pm

pugboy wrote:Eat little live long

Chinese proverb.

gencon

Postby gencon » March 17th, 2018, 10:01 pm

rspann wrote:
pugboy wrote:Eat little live long

Chinese proverb.

it works.

gencon

Postby gencon » March 17th, 2018, 10:04 pm

genetically lentils are great for me. i put plenty okra in it when i pressure cooking it, the lentils help normailise my cholesterol and the okra staves off diabetes.

Postby De Dragon » March 18th, 2018, 6:12 am

I make almost all my own food. When I do buy outside, its with the family mostly dinners. I like to know what's going in my food where I can.

Postby SR » March 18th, 2018, 7:22 am

Food by the lb is always geared towards profit and masked by the marketing of giving the consumer choices on variety and quantity. Last week in siparia a lunch consisting of macaroni pie callaloo stew chicken and fresh salad with a drink costed $31. weighed about 1 1/2 lbs. Food was freshly made and was good old home style cooking. Outside of POS lunches are much cheaper and many times better quality.

Postby goalpost » March 18th, 2018, 9:01 am

The place in trincity mall by Jmalones selling food for 45/lb

Postby K74T » March 18th, 2018, 9:04 am

SR wrote:Food by the lb is always geared towards profit and masked by the marketing of giving the consumer choices on variety and quantity. Last week in siparia a lunch consisting of macaroni pie callaloo stew chicken and fresh salad with a drink costed $31. weighed about 1 1/2 lbs. Food was freshly made and was good old home style cooking. Outside of POS lunches are much cheaper and many times better quality.

Which place in Siparia is that?