fatboy slim wrote:It is really simple just restructure wasa, make improvements on their operations, provide superb service to customers and increase the rates.
rspann wrote:Redman ,in theory it's a good business idea , it can make money , and you're correct on those points . But if they can't manage their mandate right now ,which is to provide water to the country , everybody ,then why do you think they'll be successful with this venture?
De Dragon wrote:That's what this clown came from Ghana to do? WASA needs to reduce the millions of leaks on its transmission systems, demand and receive payment from State agencies owing it hundreds of millions, and cut out the corruption and mismanagement. No one wants WASA bottled water, because well, it is WASA, and will always be looked upon with scepticism. I mean, would you buy toothpaste from Bright Bowl? They might make the best toothpaste in the world if they tried, but come on, it's Bright Bowl.
Again you are not from heredesifemlove wrote:stupid idea. so the government making water to sell. part of the issue is the state is too large.
Redman wrote:rspann wrote:Redman ,in theory it's a good business idea , it can make money , and you're correct on those points . But if they can't manage their mandate right now ,which is to provide water to the country , everybody ,then why do you think they'll be successful with this venture?
Spann....you misrepresenting what Im saying-leave that for ZR nah.....Ive stated 2x that I disagree with the idea...but applaud the approach of the Minister in looking at all options and to use some data to make decisions.
Its nice to see them fellas doing stuff based on some analysis.
WASA is a state enterprise that suffers from the same thing every state enterprise suffers from:
-A Bloated employee roster-created by union agreements that are settled not for the benefit of the co/employees....but for the political optics.
-A social/political mandate-foisted upon it by the political directorate at the time
A Business that is founded on a subsidized product-that restricts your cash flow AND forces you to keep supplying regardless.
So what you get in hand is a % of the economic value and then you depend of subventions from the gortt.
So you are in a position where Govt loading yuh tail up with unnecessary employees,then telling you that you have to do xyz(regardless of the sense) and then the same gortt starving you of cash flow.
So on a day to day basis you have little cash to operate a capital intensive biz.
PNM=UNC=NAR=NJAC=DLP=ABC=LOL
Where we are today
Based on what was stated in the JSC meetings and thus far remains unchallenged..
..The CEO stated that much of the needed network improvement and maintenance was deferred between 2010-2015.
..Work that should have been done by internal staff was contracted out-overpriced and poorly done....and a ton of unpaid contractor debt was on the books.So WASA paying staff and contractors to get the same amount of work done.
....That WASA has 3000 approx in 2010 as a result of a planned reduction.....down from 5000. in 2015 the roster was back up to 5000.Pre 2010 it was determined that 5000 employees was exponentially more per gallon of produced water than similar utilities world wide.
Today you have a OLD neglected network that is located along congested roads.
This old network cannot sustain the pressures required to get much of the water to where it needs..And if you try the network will fail at a faster rate.
They have had to pay down debt,reduce contractor involvement while restructuring internal staff to deal with work, start new projects,keep an increasing maintenance tempo going, and try to rationalize the co,
all with a entrenched level of corruption that setting fires on one side while refusing to put out others.
Based on the above-I would say its a tough mandate to get to where they supposed to be.
While I disagree with the idea of introducing a ANOTHER state enterprise into private sector biz,(GORTT is way too big arredy) (3X)
I see the potential
WASA cannot sell water to the public at its economic cost.
WASA can sell bottled water at much higher prices.
If WASA could sell 5% of its volume for market rates-it might be able to 'self subsidize'20-25% of its loss making volumes.Whatever the numbers the principle remains-Every Gallon that is profitable is a gallon that can pay for a subsidized gallon....less money from the GORTT
The bottle water market can absorb another player-
In my mind WASA Bottled water should just be for export-another lucrative market,infinite in size -and it will generate USD.
You have no experience in Trini. More so you are confuse that UNC is a Hindu party , it's ok you are allowed to be confused as you femaledesifemlove wrote:lol. so coz i don't live in your country, i cannot comment? i comment from my experiences, and yes, wasa has no riht selling sheit.
either it set up a strictly commercial department selling this, like bmobile, or it divest all commercial ventures, and uses the revenues for insfrastructre improvements. i dont' trust WASA under any government to procure, bottle, store, and source bottled water well enough. not when there are already big competitors on the market, from Coke, Blue waters, etc.
look, don't get mad coz i cussed up yuh party/religion. UNC could have still been in power now, if the corruption or perceived corruption was not as high as under PNM. if allyuh complain why UNC has more open baccahanal than PNM, then see the content of the people in yuh party. it's a first step.
What he said...rspann wrote:WASA don't have water to supply customers that they already have, but they want to bottle something they don't have ? Makes a lot of sense.
Redman wrote:Managed properly?
I think they trying...but nothing happens quickly.
And
I was answering spanns questions.
Bottled water isn't dependent on the entire network not leaking.
That and a lazy work forceRedman wrote:There is no shortage of water....it's the transmission network that is the problem....
Our aquifers are in good shape
zoom rader wrote:You have no experience in Trini. More so you are confuse that UNC is a Hindu party , it's ok you are allowed to be confused as you femaledesifemlove wrote:lol. so coz i don't live in your country, i cannot comment? i comment from my experiences, and yes, wasa has no riht selling sheit.
either it set up a strictly commercial department selling this, like bmobile, or it divest all commercial ventures, and uses the revenues for insfrastructre improvements. i dont' trust WASA under any government to procure, bottle, store, and source bottled water well enough. not when there are already big competitors on the market, from Coke, Blue waters, etc.
look, don't get mad coz i cussed up yuh party/religion. UNC could have still been in power now, if the corruption or perceived corruption was not as high as under PNM. if allyuh complain why UNC has more open baccahanal than PNM, then see the content of the people in yuh party. it's a first step.
Stick to UKIP
And the bottles?....the environmental concern with bottled water is never the water...smhRedman wrote:In this case water is a renewable resource,environmentally friendly, and forex generation is possible.
I still don't like the idea of another state enterprise entering into competition with the private sector.