WTK: which restaurants have the best steaks?

Re: WTK: which restaurants have the best steaks?

Postby pugboy » December 20th, 2017, 6:52 am

his supply is new zealand

Postby *KRONIK* » December 20th, 2017, 7:09 am

This is the whole ribeye, boneless

Postby pugboy » December 20th, 2017, 7:25 am

you got that by his place in cunupia ?

btw he is still in hospital I think, he has had multiple surgeries to try and reconstruct his arm which was mangled in a car accident.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 20th, 2017, 7:45 am

pugboy wrote:you got that by his place in cunupia ?

btw he is still in hospital I think, he has had multiple surgeries to try and reconstruct his arm which was mangled in a car accident.

Nah
But its the same type he uses.
A buddy of mine organises a case and we split it.
Yea. He said he will be in the cast/braces for another whole year with multiple surgeries inbetween

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » August 28th, 2023, 3:35 pm

Bumping this thread post covid.

Who's still in business and has the best?

Postby gastly369 » August 28th, 2023, 3:46 pm

Syberfraggle wrote:Bumping this thread post covid.

Who's still in business and has the best?
Ah fedup look for good steaks in TT yes

Only disappointments

Postby MaxPower » August 28th, 2023, 3:58 pm

Trinis cannot cook steaks.

Ask for a medium rare and its either medium well or well done…if they get it right it’s just pure luck.

I cook my steaks myself in Trinidad with the assistance of youtube.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 28th, 2023, 4:50 pm

Had a good bone-in ribeye at Prime once - but that was back then.
Honestly just make it at home
Much cheaper and you get it exactly how you want it - one of the the tricks is really high heat.
Blooms has some good cuts

Postby A172 » August 28th, 2023, 4:51 pm

hard rock had the best local steak

seahorse inn in tobago has the title currently

Postby pugboy » August 28th, 2023, 5:02 pm

what thickness steaks allyuh talking bout?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 28th, 2023, 5:49 pm

A172 wrote:seahorse inn in tobago has the title currently

Forgot about that one!

Postby alfa » August 28th, 2023, 6:30 pm

Had a delightful one at trellis restaurant in south recently. Also there's a small cafe called crust to crumb that has a bess steak and eggs combo for breakfast. Two of the best I had so far

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » August 28th, 2023, 6:52 pm

Might be a bit biased here, but the Irishman is still the steak champion for me!

death365

Postby death365 » August 29th, 2023, 12:21 pm

wait hard rock close down ? i real outa it

who had the franchise ? where all the branded mech now? i want ah jersey, who to check to get it ??

A172 wrote:hard rock had the best local steak

Postby alfa » August 29th, 2023, 1:23 pm

death365 wrote:wait hard rock close down ? i real outa it

who had the franchise ? where all the branded mech now? i want ah jersey, who to check to get it ??

A172 wrote:hard rock had the best local steak

Since before COVID they close. Trotters is now occupying the spot. Some of the most bland food I every ate was from trotters

Postby teems1 » August 29th, 2023, 1:31 pm

shottah_crew wrote:Might be a bit biased here, but the Irishman is still the steak champion for me!

Usually I'm a fan of supporting local, but the best local beef is still far behind the imported stuff from somewhere like Bloom's or the butcher next to the mosque on the Caronia Savannah.

If it's from the US, get a good Prime or Choice ribeye. I would avoid Select. If it's from NZ, I'd go for the best quality.

The imported stuff in Massy/Xtra Foods is usually Select and has been frozen for months. You would struggle to get a decent steak there.

Overall the best steak right now is the one you make at home.

Get a good cast iron skillet or grill. and season it well and maintain it by cleaning properly. Never use soap on it.

There are Lodge ones for sale at many places. Thaw the steak in the fridge for a 2 days, and then bring to room temp a 30-45mins before cooking it. Don't thaw it by immersing it in cold water.

Generously season with kosher salt. A lot of the salt stays in the pan or falls off, so you'll be fine.

I prefer to cook to rare but many Trinis find that too raw and prefer medium./medium rare. The thickness will dictate the time to cook in the pan so it's better to go by temperature with an instant read thermometer or feel on the steak instead of a fixed time per side

Let it rest on a wire rack and tent with foil for a good 10mins.