Video Games (PS4, Wii, X-Box, PSP, 3DS) now 40% import duty

2NR Smurf

Re: Video Games (PS4, Wii, X-Box, PSP, 3DS) now 40% import duty

Postby 2NR Smurf » November 12th, 2017, 9:06 am

aaronb27 wrote:
pete wrote:Smurf only way to know is to put the commodity code into the customs system and see what the duty is.

I jus logged in and checked. See screenshot below

Again, thats consoles and machines, my question is about the actual games, i.e. discs & cartridges

aaronb27

Postby aaronb27 » November 12th, 2017, 9:28 am

2NR Smurf wrote:
aaronb27 wrote:
pete wrote:Smurf only way to know is to put the commodity code into the customs system and see what the duty is.

I jus logged in and checked. See screenshot below

Again, thats consoles and machines, my question is about the actual games, i.e. discs & cartridges

Since there is no specific tariff code for parts of video game consoles (discs, cartridges, controllers, etc) they will fall under the same code as the video game console which is 9504.50.00. This is because they were made and intended specifically for use with the console. Whether or not it is presented with or without the console itself. However customs tend to bend this rule alot to their advantage, making you pay duty when you should not. For example tv wall mount brackets, tv parts are free of duty however customs always make you pay duty on it under articles of steel. Customs always have their own interpretation of the tariff and always willing to fight you til d end.

aaronb27

Postby aaronb27 » November 12th, 2017, 9:30 am

megadoc1 wrote:Hey i think the minister cleared up the issue read here
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-11- ... -permanent

thanks alot for this info. i will keep checking customs system to see when they make the change.

Postby mero » November 12th, 2017, 9:43 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:What did your gaming PC cost vs a console?

considering my PC uses a old core i5 and all I had to do was buy a GTX 1060 for $1300 and I can run all the latest games at 60 FPS TWICE THE SPEED of a PS4 which costed $4000 at launch. I would say yup a hell of a lot cheaper
Can the guys with a PS3 just buy a new GPU and continue playing their next gen games? nope!!! Not to mention how much more powerful a gtx 1060 is compared to a PS4

Even the Xbox one X fail hard because the CPU is a tablet CPU which is why Destiny 2 cannot run above 30 fps. While a shitty intel Pentium can run Destiny 2 at 60 fps.

And this isn't even taking into consideration the $70 TT a month for online on a console where as PC is FREE!!!

Also the 2 best FPS games in the world CS GO and Battlegrounds are on PC. CS GO is the number 1 ESPORT FPS in the world

Steups, all this and you never answer the man question properly. What did your gaming PC cost? Not what yuh graphics card cost

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 12th, 2017, 9:44 am

mero wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:What did your gaming PC cost vs a console?

considering my PC uses a old core i5 and all I had to do was buy a GTX 1060 for $1300 and I can run all the latest games at 60 FPS TWICE THE SPEED of a PS4 which costed $4000 at launch. I would say yup a hell of a lot cheaper
Can the guys with a PS3 just buy a new GPU and continue playing their next gen games? nope!!! Not to mention how much more powerful a gtx 1060 is compared to a PS4

Even the Xbox one X fail hard because the CPU is a tablet CPU which is why Destiny 2 cannot run above 30 fps. While a shitty intel Pentium can run Destiny 2 at 60 fps.

And this isn't even taking into consideration the $70 TT a month for online on a console where as PC is FREE!!!

Also the 2 best FPS games in the world CS GO and Battlegrounds are on PC. CS GO is the number 1 ESPORT FPS in the world

Steups, all this and you never answer the man question properly. What did your gaming PC cost? Not what yuh graphics card cost

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 12th, 2017, 1:33 pm

Cost was approx $560 USD I built this myself during the PS3 Era.

Some years later after PS4 gen was released I replaced the video card with a GTX 1060 which was an additional $200 USD so say $760 over the span of 6 years. For $760 I getting a 10 year lifespan and far more power than that of a PS4 or Xbox One X since that uses a tablet CPU which is why it can't run destiny 2 above 30 fps while a crappy Intel Pentium can hit 60 fps

My core i5 will last me easily until the year 2025

In comparison two consoles would be $800 USD for sh!t performance and an addition of online paywall which is $60 US per year X 10 years which will equal to $600 USD plus $800 USD which equals $1400 USD.

Therefore with PC gaming at half the price it is significantly cheaper and more powerful than console gaming. Who even pays for online though? that is like paying for internet twice.

And unlike many fighting game players (Street Fighter 5 and Tekken 7 etc) who had to buy new Arcade Sticks for their PS4 hence rendering their PS3 sticks useless, on my PC i could continue using my PS3 fightstick and even if the game didn't support the PS3 stick, it was a simple matter of downloading something known as JoyToKey which makes ANY fightstick work on ANY game.

I also run Emulators on my PC so I play all the Nintendo Wii, PS2 and Gamecube games for free.

elpresidente

Postby elpresidente » November 13th, 2017, 1:40 pm

“Imbert said the Government had adjusted one of the measures in the order, removing the increase in taxes on gaming consoles after the people who used consoles made representations.

"We always listen. The people in the industry made representation and showed that video game consoles were captured in the taxation. We decided we did not want a situation where a child’s toy would be subjected to taxes so we took that out. We listen to sense. We listen to intelligence, but we don't listen to nonsense."

The issue was cleared up.

http://guardian.co.tt/news/2017-11-11/i ... -permanent

Postby Ben_spanna » November 13th, 2017, 2:11 pm

If you ever had to deal with customs- you would realise that many of them are absolute faking Idiots, and that correcting them, even with proof comes at the cost of aggravating them and behaving like even bigger idiots who wannna beat up dem chest for yuh.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 13th, 2017, 2:44 pm

40% Duty is simply too high for video game consoles but whatever. Just remember this 40% you paying in addition to the 12.5% VAT is going into the hands of corrupt and crooked politicians like Imbutt himself so he can run racket.

Its funny my PNM padner in Tobago sold his console and switched over to PC Gaming just so he could defend the PNM.

Postby Ben_spanna » November 13th, 2017, 3:12 pm

Dem current gobbment people don't need no console..they playing real life SIMS with the people of T&T, forking dem up for fun tuh see what happens next! :roll:

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:40% Duty is simply too high for video game consoles but whatever. Just remember this 40% you paying in addition to the 12.5% VAT is going into the hands of corrupt and crooked politicians like Imbutt himself so he can run racket.

Its funny my PNM padner in Tobago sold his console and switched over to PC Gaming just so he could defend the PNM.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 15th, 2017, 9:49 am

So this plus the 7percent online tax...wdmc

quattro

Postby quattro » January 4th, 2019, 12:44 am

This is still 40%?

Edit: Yes it’s still 40%.

trd3740

Postby trd3740 » June 27th, 2019, 10:43 pm

Looking for a cronusmax or m4 converter for ps4

Postby Spitfir3 » June 28th, 2019, 11:58 am

combine that with Trumps's tariff and it going and be real pressure
could get away with digital download but those who looking to buy new consoles ban yuh belly from now