TriniTuner.com | Latest Event:
Ted_v2 wrote:Yuh know how much to replace the Cv boots by them?
Im fedup of not getting good quality replacement boots, nor good metal ties when i purchase a replacement boot.
I aint mind spending a lil 250 to do 4 boots, one of my outer and one of the inner leaking.
rspann wrote:
A rack is real simple to repair because it's just seals that really go bad. The thing is ,if you make mistake while opening it ,you can damage the housing. Seen it happen already. There is a spot that they punch when they assemble it that has to be drilled out to open otherwise it can gouge the housing. It can be spot-welded after you get through. The side seals that cause leaking from within the boots (the ones on the shaft) are easy to change once it is opened , and the chromed parts have to be inspected for corrosion and pits. If there is any pitting on the chromed surfaces the seals cannot keep in the fluid. These parts can be re-chromed ( not regular chroming , it's a hard chrome ).
The seals on the valving (pinion) is much easier. You just unbolt it and change the seals. You can get seals from any good hydraulic supply company ,like Hydraulic Components.
jackal wrote:So I bought a T30 Xtrail last week and started to carry out all the required work before using it. So happens that the rack has a small leak. So I took out the rack thinking that a rack is reasonable about 2k, turns out a rack is 3.5k and above.
I not going to pay that and you only have 1 week guarantee.
So I did some research, bought the seals for under $300 and had it change out. Problem is that the big end nut is damaged from a previous repair and I would not be able to carry out another repair in the future. The nut is not available locally.
So I am looking for a rack that some one has replaced so I can get the nut.
Some of the things that I have learned so far.
It can be repaired as long as you have not damaged the inside walls of the rack. This will cause the rack center to pass.
The next thing is that if the shaft is damaged, it can be re-chromed.
You need to put some thing on the gears on the shaft before sliding on the seals to prevent it cutting.
And the forth thing, you can get almost any part for any vehicle from this site.
https://partsouq.com/en
It is a little expensive on the shipping, but man you getting you parts.
rspann wrote:
I replaced one last week ,you can get the old one. I'll PM you next week.
*KRONIK* wrote:daron wrote:*KRONIK* wrote:daron wrote:*KRONIK* wrote:You can check out constant velocity tt in san fernando
http://constantvelocitytt.com/contact.php
The rebuild/repair steering racks and velocity joints
Any one did any steering rack with them ? Quote me $2400 for Toyota Corolla
Thanks
Yea
My rav4 cost 2377.00
Was the service good & how long you did it any issue
Service was quick
Took 1day
They thoroughly cleaned the rack and repainted it and changed the boots and put new clamps.
Got 3months warranty.
Rack went to sheit after 6 months.
I just ordered a brand new rack from toyolink yesterday.
Points to note:
1) my mechanic did the removal and reinstallation.
2) my mechanic took off one of the boots to count the teeth and claimed they didnt centre the shaft.
3) the had told me that my rack was too far gone and the repair wont give me much service and the inner shaft had gotten some irrepairable damage.
4) i work is a semi-offroad environment and my steering rack gets a lot of abuse.