Guyana Oil & Gas

DMan7

Re: Guyana Oil & Gas

Postby DMan7 » March 9th, 2022, 6:36 pm

I doh see how voting for a certain party or not is going to help T&T discover new oil and gas fields to increase our production capacity. :|

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2022, 6:42 pm

timelapse wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Time to move to Guyana.
Stay here and deal with the consequences of voting PNM

Postby MaxPower » March 9th, 2022, 7:00 pm

DMan7 wrote:Time to move to Guyana.

The 1% took the head start years ago and you would be surprised of how many others have invested there already.

If you looking for land now, all the prime locations forecasted to boom are already taken.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 9th, 2022, 7:01 pm

Couldn't have afforded it back then anyways, ah well maybe next life yes.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 9th, 2022, 7:07 pm

it have plenty new developments going on. the market booming.

Postby nervewrecker » March 10th, 2022, 8:14 am

y'all do know that most of the more established Trinidad companies already setup shop over there right?

Have a look at some of these companies website's.

Trini's maybe tote cuz our indian chariots are used for running taxi in Guyana.

Any chance to go there and work I gone yes.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 10th, 2022, 9:15 am

nervewrecker wrote:y'all do know that most of the more established Trinidad companies already setup shop over there right?

Yup even the less established ones are trying to do the same.

Postby Chimera » March 10th, 2022, 9:20 am

Junior sammy son gone and marry a whole Guyanese . He real committed to the cause.

Postby toyolink » March 10th, 2022, 3:34 pm

This present situation in Guyana must have every average Guyanese head spinning with all those who may appear to be suddenly jumping 'on-board'.
One would hope that the manner in which the new national pie is shared avoids the possibility of feelings of resentment and distrust directed towards those who are perceived as opportunists.
Guyana does have a history of expressing their dissatisfaction with domestic acts of violence.
Those who fail to heed the lessons in history may well face a repeat of the same.
Personally, Guyana and its people deserve to all enjoy a significant improvement in the quality of their lives and finally be in a position to accomplish their dreams.

dogg

Postby dogg » July 18th, 2022, 2:09 pm

Expose: China in Guyana

VII

Postby VII » July 18th, 2022, 2:16 pm

Have a feeling Guyana in for a serious case of Dutch Disease and future failure..they even scrap plans to thoughfully manage their new found resources and train locals etc through a local petro management company so they can just cash in asap instead.... making it easier to cash in on the corruption and make the way for exxon to eat and run..

If yuh think here corrupt you ain't see nothing yet, they can screw this up big time and are actually expected to .

Heard what's in that vid is just the tip of the iceberg..as usual the regular citizens are gonna be screwed in the end ..good luck to them.

dogg

Postby dogg » July 18th, 2022, 2:23 pm

Some of the Chinese companies mentioned ^^^ do a LOT of business in TnT.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » July 18th, 2022, 2:38 pm

VII wrote:Have a feeling Guyana in for a serious case of Dutch Disease and future failure..they even scrap plans to thoughfully manage their new found resources and train locals etc through a local petro management company so they can just cash in asap instead.... making it easier to cash in on the corruption and make the way for exxon to eat and run..

If yuh think here corrupt you ain't see nothing yet, they can screw this up big time and are actually expected to .

Heard what's in that vid is just the tip of the iceberg..as usual the regular citizens are gonna be screwed in the end ..good luck to them.

+1 on this.

Trinis know about bobol.

Guyanese could teach bobol in university and have it down to a science

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » July 18th, 2022, 2:43 pm

Last time I was there. Was in a taxi going back to the hotel.

Police pull up by the traffic light and stop the car.

Officer ask me, left or right?

Confused, I say what?

He say left or right, more aggressively.

I say, well boss I going straight.

Man say, trini is either yuh left something for me or I write yuh a ticket.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 18th, 2022, 2:46 pm

Animal Pak wrote:Last time I was there. Was in a taxi going back to the hotel.

Confused, I say what?

If you were in a taxi what ticket was he going to write you up for?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 18th, 2022, 3:57 pm

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » July 18th, 2022, 4:10 pm

Confused, I say what?

Who knows, but what I do know is I not giving no police attitude in a foreign country at 1 in the morning

matix

Postby matix » July 18th, 2022, 4:28 pm

dogg wrote:Expose: China in Guyana

Vice journalists are simply the best.

Postby Chimera » July 18th, 2022, 4:58 pm

Confused, I say what?

Not wearing seatbelt. Obscene language. Drunk and disorderly conduct. Etc

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 18th, 2022, 5:27 pm

Is corruption in TT and guyana the result of the indo populations that immigrated here? Not trying to sound racists or kick up a jeps nest but if these two countries didn't have indo populations would they still be viewed as "corrupt? You don't see the other caribbean countries with non indo populations having the same sort of problems in terms of corruption as TT and Guyana? In India etc it is just viewed as a way of life. So if it is normalised culturally, then is it still "corruption"?

Is it also due to the fact that you have two competing races that go up against each other. So the bobol may be based on tribalism. An indian police officer might try to extort an african taxi driver and vice versa. Or an afro manager might higher another afro employee based on racism against other races? All of this resulting in an economic advantage for either race etc?

If indos came to the caribbean with "bobol" practices that common in India etc, can we really call those practices as corrupt? Or are these now OUR practices as well. We cyah trace corruption amongst slaves as slaves never owned or were in control of anyting. The british hid their corruption well so I doubt the slaves or indentured labourers were even aware of what was going on. Did corruption start after 1962? Are we naive to believe that there was no corruption and bobol pre 1962?

Maybe by now this is just part of the culture and a a way to get things done in both countries? If it is now cultural then it may not even be corruption anymore. Just a thought.

Postby matr1x » July 18th, 2022, 5:45 pm

All cultures have corruption.

China famous dynasties tend to collapse with inevitable corruption. Africa only knows corruption

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 18th, 2022, 5:47 pm

matr1x wrote:All cultures have corruption.

China famous dynasties tend to collapse with inevitable corruption. Africa only knows corruption

But is it a "way of life" or is it identified as corruption?

Is it still wrongdoing if it is commonly accepted by the majority population?

Postby matr1x » July 18th, 2022, 6:11 pm

Redress10 wrote:

They know it as the only way things ever get done

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » July 18th, 2022, 11:40 pm

Redress10 wrote:Is corruption in TT and guyana the result of the indo populations that immigrated here? Not trying to sound racists or kick up a jeps nest but if these two countries didn't have indo populations would they still be viewed as "corrupt? You don't see the other caribbean countries with non indo populations having the same sort of problems in terms of corruption as TT and Guyana? In India etc it is just viewed as a way of life. So if it is normalised culturally, then is it still "corruption"?

Is it also due to the fact that you have two competing races that go up against each other. So the bobol may be based on tribalism. An indian police officer might try to extort an african taxi driver and vice versa. Or an afro manager might higher another afro employee based on racism against other races? All of this resulting in an economic advantage for either race etc?

If indos came to the caribbean with "bobol" practices that common in India etc, can we really call those practices as corrupt? Or are these now OUR practices as well. We cyah trace corruption amongst slaves as slaves never owned or were in control of anyting. The british hid their corruption well so I doubt the slaves or indentured labourers were even aware of what was going on. Did corruption start after 1962? Are we naive to believe that there was no corruption and bobol pre 1962?

Maybe by now this is just part of the culture and a a way to get things done in both countries? If it is now cultural then it may not even be corruption anymore. Just a thought.

This is very interesting. I will be honest and say I disagree whilst agree. Maybe it's my ignorance of the historical timelines and the day to day economics of the other islands as comparison but I do understand the references you are making.

The elephant in the room is that both India and African States were grossly known for highly corrupt leaders in the past and to date.

I await the more knowledgeable tuners analysis.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » July 18th, 2022, 11:48 pm

Redress10 wrote:

Engrained in our genetic code ? What about the Douglas? Lol

Corruption has become an eco system built over decades. In the case with our little island, the corruption eco system has really been built by one generation of both races over decades. The question is how will this ecosystem be broken down and rebuilt again with proper checks and balances by the next generation. Or will the cycle continue passed down form generation to the next.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 19th, 2022, 1:13 am

Laughs in every petro state on the African continent!!!!!
Redress10 wrote:Is corruption in TT and guyana the result of the indo populations that immigrated here? Not trying to sound racists or kick up a jeps nest but if these two countries didn't have indo populations would they still be viewed as "corrupt? You don't see the other caribbean countries with non indo populations having the same sort of problems in terms of corruption as TT and Guyana? In India etc it is just viewed as a way of life. So if it is normalised culturally, then is it still "corruption"?

Postby matr1x » July 19th, 2022, 1:49 am

Asians love their corruption. Even if something is free, the will look to jump the line to get it

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 19th, 2022, 2:14 am

matr1x wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

They know it as the only way things ever get done

Correct. So "corruption" viewed the way we view it might be a white/euro centric concept that they use to feel a sense of moral superiority. If indos had a culture of giving gifts/inducements to authorities to get this done then this may be "culture" rather than corruption.

When America went to Afghanistan they didn't go empty handed to the local tribal leaders to buy up support. They carried money, alcohol and food for the village leaders. Was this a bribe or an inducement? Culturally were the village elders expecting some sort of gift etc to get their support? We can't downplay culture here.

The real corruption amongst our culture might be when somebody pay a bribe/inducement and the person pockets the money and don't return the favour.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 19th, 2022, 2:25 am

MDtuner70 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

Engrained in our genetic code ? What about the Douglas? Lol

Corruption has become an eco system built over decades. In the case with our little island, the corruption eco system has really been built by one generation of both races over decades. The question is how will this ecosystem be broken down and rebuilt again with proper checks and balances by the next generation. Or will the cycle continue passed down form generation to the next.

Not so much engrained but just cultural practices that may be different to what is viewed in western/european countries. Now mind you western companies/countries when doing business in the developing world see no problem paying bribes/inducements to get things done but will stay and point fingers at the developing world which is usually brown/black ppl and call them corrupt.

How many times on US tv shows etc do we see ppl using money as an inducement. For e.g a journalist or reporter bribing hospital staff for medical records etc by either flashing the money or placing it in some inconspicuous place like between the pages of a book or magazine. Let's just say that is normalized in US, is that corruption as well?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 19th, 2022, 2:32 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Laughs in every petro state on the African continent!!!!!

Thing with that is Europeans created countries and moved borders resulting in tribalism. So we on the outside may view it as corruption but what they may in fact be doing is securing their tribes.

I'm sure you can't tell a tutsi from a hutu but Rwanda had a whole genocide and civil war between these two. Would a tutsi quicker extort a hutu whilst giving a leg up to a fellow tutsi? If a hutu police officer realises a fellow hutu did some minor traffic violation and look past it, is that corruption? Or is that some sort of gift based on cultural and racial affinity?