SAS HDD Recovery

Re: SAS HDD Recovery

Postby nervewrecker » June 5th, 2023, 9:44 pm

Got back what I can, should be able to get back the rest in the field tomorrow.

Got hooked up with this guy cold fusion, he has a fb page. Ted v2 put me into him.

He also threw in a pair of nvme ssd on the house to help the situation as my external hd looks like it's no longer reputable.

Postby redmanjp » June 5th, 2023, 9:50 pm

if u have a network use 1 computer or server as a backup server- u doh even have to buy expensive software. u can use Robocopy which is built-in to Windows. Use ChatGPT to find out how to use it in a script to copy data to the backup server and create a scheduled task to run it every night.

iashtonramdeen

Postby iashtonramdeen » August 14th, 2024, 4:50 am

Sorry for reviving this thread. But what data recovery software is the best? And more importantly, free.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » August 14th, 2024, 7:35 am

Recuva is a good place to start

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2024, 12:27 pm

having an issue with users accidentally deleting files on their shared drive- happens every few weeks. our backup solution keep failing so trying to get that sorted out and recycle bin is not an option for deletion via a share (Microsoft i hope u fix this).
also restricting users to edit and not delete via NTFS is not a solution as MS Office apps need delete permissions in order to delete tmp files (Microsoft again!) :roll:

trying to implement Volume shadow copies on each drive now so that older versions of each file are available if any file goes poof.

Davidmaha

Postby Davidmaha » August 15th, 2024, 3:46 am

SalvageData. Depending on your situation, I think it should recover at least 70% of the files if not more.
Last edited by Davidmaha on August 19th, 2024, 3:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby stev » August 15th, 2024, 11:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:having an issue with users accidentally deleting files on their shared drive- happens every few weeks. our backup solution keep failing so trying to get that sorted out and recycle bin is not an option for deletion via a share (Microsoft i hope u fix this).
also restricting users to edit and not delete via NTFS is not a solution as MS Office apps need delete permissions in order to delete tmp files (Microsoft again!) :roll:

trying to implement Volume shadow copies on each drive now so that older versions of each file are available if any file goes poof.

oof....I was never able to recover files that were deleted from shared drives....if you do, let me know what worked.

The only thing that actually works for me is volume shadow copy.

Postby redmanjp » August 16th, 2024, 12:03 pm

stev wrote:
redmanjp wrote:having an issue with users accidentally deleting files on their shared drive- happens every few weeks. our backup solution keep failing so trying to get that sorted out and recycle bin is not an option for deletion via a share (Microsoft i hope u fix this).

oof....I was never able to recover files that were deleted from shared drives....if you do, let me know what worked.

The only thing that actually works for me is volume shadow copy.

some years ago another admin tried R-studio recovery on a file server- it had limited results- some files he got back others he either couldn't or they were corrupted. and u have to run it on the server itself not on a workstation that connects to the share. also run it ASAP as the server is constantly writing to the drive- the more time that passes that it does that the less chance of recovery.