Churchill Roosevelt Highway Extension to Manzanilla (CRHEM) Project.

Re: Churchill Roosevelt Highway Extension to Manzanilla (CRHEM) Project.

Postby rspann » September 24th, 2017, 12:29 pm

You really don"t understand politicians. The existing highway and hospital is in the wrong constituency, and the wrong party started it, why finish/use them to make the other party look good?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 24th, 2017, 12:36 pm

Who is responsible for that very poor recent paving of the westbound lane of the CRH to in front of NIHERST? Really poor work by any person or group who got paid for those works.

stikid09

Highway construction to Manzanilla begins next week

Postby stikid09 » September 24th, 2017, 7:04 pm

The Ministry of Works and Transport will be hosting an official sod turning ceremony on Tuesday for the Churchill Roosevelt Highway Extension to Manzanilla (CRHEM).

Scheduled for 10am at the Forestry Division's Cumuto Pine Nursery, Main Road Cumuto, the ceremony will be chaired by Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan while Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley will deliver the feature address.

The highway extension project is to be done on a phase basis with Phase 1 being a 14 km stretch from Cumuto Junction to the Toco Main Road.

Three major interchanges; at the Churchill Roosevelt Highway (CHR)/Cumuto; Cumuto Junction; and Eastern Main Road, Sangre Grande are expected to be constructed.

The proposed route commences at the proposed Cumuto Interchange #2 about 8km southeast of the CRH. It is proposed that the highway will proceed east of Wallerfield, south of the Aripo Savannah, north of the Town of Sangre Grande and subsequently proceed in a south easterly direction to end just beyond the Toco Main Road.

Express understands there were six bids for the project, which is being awarded in small packages. Package 1A was awarded to CALCO Construction while Package 1B is yet to be awarded

Chairman of National Infrastructure Development Company (Nidco) Herbert George has stated there's an estimated cost of ranging between $2-$5 billion for the new highway from Sangre Grande to Toco.

Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170922 ... -next-week

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 24th, 2017, 8:51 pm

That project will never be completed by our contractors..that project is another point fortin highway issue...but food will be eaten and the public will be no better of...

Some cyat in this ched talk about future economic prospects with this highway...this can be derived if they finish the existing highway and open the hospital

Paw Patrol

Postby Paw Patrol » September 24th, 2017, 9:07 pm

Highways seem to be the new stadium craze. i dont think this is needed at all. money could have been spent better

Postby Dizzy28 » September 24th, 2017, 9:22 pm

cornfused wrote:Who is responsible for that very poor recent paving of the westbound lane of the CRH to in front of NIHERST? Really poor work by any person or group who got paid for those works.

Contracted were Seereram, Coosal and mr 72 on that project

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 24th, 2017, 10:14 pm

they going to run this highway through the aripo Savannah,,,sad

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 24th, 2017, 10:19 pm

Aripo savannah will be fine.. not like they destroying it.. we need this highway! allyuh acting like allyuh care about the environment now.. when allyuh flinging yuh bottles and wrappers out d window.

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 24th, 2017, 10:25 pm

Zetski wrote:Aripo savannah will be fine.. not like they destroying it.. we need this highway! allyuh acting like allyuh care about the environment now.. when allyuh flinging yuh bottles and wrappers out d window.

How will the savannah not be destroyed if the highway is being constructed through it??

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 24th, 2017, 10:32 pm

Specialist Baboons wrote:
Zetski wrote:Aripo savannah will be fine.. not like they destroying it.. we need this highway! allyuh acting like allyuh care about the environment now.. when allyuh flinging yuh bottles and wrappers out d window.

How will the savannah not be destroyed if the highway is being constructed through it??

Valencia stretch.. yuh see any of d forest damaged? what sheit yuh asking me? a lil highway ain't gonna cause harm to anything.

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 25th, 2017, 1:48 am

lol......the area does not need the highway,,,,,are you an idiot??? have you seen the level of squatting within the valencia and toco reserves with roads come settlement, gardening bushfires, cutting off wildlife with the roads seperating further species........either u a party stooge, a dunce or you are benefitting financially......

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 25th, 2017, 5:52 am

why exactly do we need this highway??? there are no traffic worries heading to toco, only bad roads...as streetbass said, just pave the existing road...it's common sense...PNM gov't prefer to pay millions to do a plan than use an ounce of common sense.

Postby pete » September 25th, 2017, 6:01 am

Isn't the goal to put a ferry terminal in Toco? So right now the roads may be adequate for current traffic but if you add that increase they won't be able to cope.

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 25th, 2017, 6:59 am

Zetski wrote:

Valencia stretch.. yuh see any of d forest damaged? what sheit yuh asking me? a lil highway ain't gonna cause harm to anything.

So this highway just gonna magically appear THROUGH the aripo savannah without destroying it’s natural ecosystem?
You do know that the savannah was declared an environmentally sensitive area!

Postby rspann » September 25th, 2017, 7:43 am

SOUTH of the Aripero Savannah.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 25th, 2017, 7:44 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:they going to run this highway through the aripo Savannah,,,sad

Isn't the intended route south of the defined savannah boundaries,?

Daran

Postby Daran » September 25th, 2017, 8:13 am

This is certainly not a priority for the country. Looking at Google Earth and plotting the path this highway saves little to no time to grande. Manzan is a small community who mainly travel to Grande as well. It'll be nice if they save 10 mins on their travel time but seriously there are much more pressing matters.

Also as everyone who lives grande is saying. There is not much road traffic to warrant a highway.

Postby rspann » September 25th, 2017, 8:21 am

This highway is very important. You cannot thief big unless mega spending is happening.

Postby MaxPower » September 25th, 2017, 8:22 am

desifemlove wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Local contractors with links will get Jobs....the rest will eat dust..

corruption is part ofe life. youre really an unconfident mongoloid, ent?

Lmao, dont you have stuff to google, copy, paste and act smart?

Invest in penis pump na, tuner not satisfying you, it just bobolizes you...damn peasant

Postby De Dragon » September 25th, 2017, 9:38 am

Zetski wrote:

Yes, that road was built on a conveniently bare stretch right through the forested area :roll: Like you trying to bowl out the other PNM sheep for top sheep here on this forum.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 25th, 2017, 10:10 am

building the highway and completing it are two different things

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 25th, 2017, 1:24 pm

rspann wrote:SOUTH of the Aripero Savannah.

You just ruined my fun with the uninformed PM jet ski......

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 25th, 2017, 1:50 pm

Of course they won't run the highway through the aripo savannah.. daz common sense.. but allyuh dont have any, allyuh only have sheit brains like DelusionalDesi.

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2017, 7:54 pm

How is it that the contractor who collect a set of money for maracas upgrade and walk away leaving maracas in a worser condition and requiring more taxpayers money to fix could be given a huge contract like this ?

If you carry your cheap car by a mechanic and he firetruck it up and still get paid
Would you carry your Bentley there after?

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2017, 8:47 pm

pete wrote:Isn't the goal to put a ferry terminal in Toco? So right now the roads may be adequate for current traffic but if you add that increase they won't be able to cope.

Exactly.

If the ferry terminal moves to Toco, the distance traveled will drop from 161 kms to 46 kms. You will cut the time to travel by at least half and the number of trips possible per ferry will double. The cost to carry goods will drop and the number of people likely to travel will likely increase.

All of the traffic that is heading in to POS for the ferry starts driving through Sangre Grande. You need a road. (And the traffic in Port of Spain improves.)

Postby rspann » September 26th, 2017, 8:51 pm

You not taking into consideration the trucks now have to drive to Toco to carry the goods? That cost will rise.

Postby rspann » September 26th, 2017, 8:54 pm

[quote="pugboy"]How is it that the contractor who collect a set of money for maracas upgrade and walk away leaving maracas in a worser condition and requiring more taxpayers money to fix could be given a huge contract like this ?

You have to ask?

Postby pugboy » September 26th, 2017, 9:22 pm

Yeah but I didn't expect them to go back by the car tief from spring village according to inshan

Postby The_Honourable » September 26th, 2017, 9:54 pm

PM turns sod for construction of Manzanilla Highway

The sod was turned today for the extension of the Churchill Roosevelt highway from Cumoto to Manzanilla. Prime Minister, Dr. Keith Rowley made it clear that unjustified valuations for lands will not be accepted. He also warned contractor Kalco Limited about finishing the project on time and at industry standard.

No Favouritism In Award Of Government Contracts

A notice to contractors: There will be no Government handouts based on friendship.

It comes from Prime Minister, Dr. Keith Rowley, who says all contractors will have to go through the tendering process should they wish to bid for a project.

His comments come in light of what he said was rampant wastage by contractors under the last regime.

PM Rowley Blasts "Rogue" Valuations Officers

Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley has accused the last administration of inflating land valuations for their own interest.

He also knocked the Valuations Office, which he described as “rogue” for allowing past Government officials to value their properties at four times their worth.

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 26th, 2017, 10:19 pm

unc not even making a fuss cuzz i am sure they got contracts under some hidden scheme