Homeless Dominicans invited to T&T

Re: Homeless Dominicans invited to T&T

Postby sMASH » September 22nd, 2017, 5:38 am

U Hadda help the people, but just until they get back on their feet.... and before they decide to vote here

Postby 88sins » September 22nd, 2017, 6:18 am

As long as those that come here aren't a burden on our already weak economy & infrastructure I see no problem with Dominicans coming in for a short while until they can rebuild their nation. but as mentioned before, getting them out afterwards might be a whole other issue entirely
& I really hope while they here measures are put in place to restrict them & other non nationals from leaving here with our very limited supply of forex. let's all face the truth, nobody that coming here to work & live temporarily to get money to rebuild their own country eh leaving here with TT currency, is USD, CAD, Euro & GBP, they moving with when they leaving.

xtech

Postby xtech » September 22nd, 2017, 6:19 am

These people are not poor Haitians.....they coming with money to spend

Postby RASC » September 22nd, 2017, 6:23 am

You guys think these are some backayard peasants flooding the gates?
Majority of Dominicans would be considered lower middle to middle middle income in Trinidad and Tobago.
They're coming with money, desires for food, clothing and reestablishment of themselves...not hand outs.

Postby crazybalhead » September 22nd, 2017, 6:34 am

Xenophobia and basic geographical ignorance dread.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 22nd, 2017, 6:38 am

if you speak to the older folks who were around in the 70s and 80s when them Grenadians came in, they would tell you they all felt that it would have been a good thing until 9mths later...everybody was of the opinion they could work hard etc etc and well you all know the rest

Postby j.o.e » September 22nd, 2017, 6:39 am

This thread shows the selfish idiots Trinis really are. A country is devastated and all y’all could study is if a politician doing it to bring in voters.
If we sent money people would say “Where the money coming from?”
All the political bickering, I wonder if your ’party card’ will save you if you’re in dire times.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 22nd, 2017, 6:43 am

Pal, it have people who could barely help themselves these days, so idk wah you talking about..again, why not try and assist your own first

bess almera

Postby bess almera » September 22nd, 2017, 6:55 am

Well said j.o.e

As the saying goes- Who in the kitchen feels the heat!
Keep praying we are never placed in a similar situation.

boxy

Postby boxy » September 22nd, 2017, 7:00 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Pal, it have people who could barely help themselves these days, so idk wah you talking about..again, why not try and assist your own first

Your statement holds no weight bro who are the people who can't help themselves? U saw the devastation in Dominica? Can you seriously compare their situation with them? These people are not simple peasants they are literally refugees from the climate they are doctors lawyers engineers plumbers etc.
I watch on the news some years ago as protestors preventing Syrians from escaping death from their country Civil War by trying to find refuge in neighboring countries I seriously didn't expect to see the utter xenophobia and outright in some cases racist remarks certain Trinidadians making on Fb.

Then this hen Ian Allyene who suppose to be a voice for the voiceless further making the issue ferverous by highlighting a section of the E&B act and saying maybe rowley should ask every Trinidadian to donate a brick instead.

Postby sMASH » September 22nd, 2017, 7:04 am

j.o.e wrote:This thread shows the selfish idiots Trinis really are. A country is devastated and all y’all could study is if a politician doing it to bring in voters.
All the political bickering, I wonder if your ’party card’ will save you if you’re in dire times.

I will draw comparison to when Merkel decided to allow Syrians into Germany t help them. I appreciated the help, but thought that they should have screened the people, put restrictions on them, and extra policing.
The Germans and the middle east people have very different cultures,. The middle east people tend to be hard knock like Jamaica. Germans tend to be nice.. Then there were actual miscreants going in as refugees.
Then u heard about the assaults on the Germans by the Syrians.

Th concern there was criminal behavior.

The concern with Dominicans is voter padding. It happened before it can happen again.

We can and should help, but we don't need to be foolish and naive about it.

Postby MaxPower » September 22nd, 2017, 7:12 am

Postby maj. tom » September 22nd, 2017, 7:16 am

So if they come here, who is going to rebuild their own country? Trinidad needs to send aid and help rebuild, not give them a place to run away from. It's not a war zone with shells and bullets falling all the time is it?

Postby MaxPower » September 22nd, 2017, 7:22 am

But it is a war zone majestic.thomas...

Postby nervewrecker » September 22nd, 2017, 7:24 am

I will open my home if they open their legs

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » September 22nd, 2017, 7:50 am

nervewrecker wrote:I will open my home if they open their legs

Well said killa.

boxy

Postby boxy » September 22nd, 2017, 7:54 am

maj. tom wrote:So if they come here, who is going to rebuild their own country? Trinidad needs to send aid and help rebuild, not give them a place to run away from. It's not a war zone with shells and bullets falling all the time is it?

Where are children babies humans for that matter going to stay while their country struggles to rebuild bro?

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » September 22nd, 2017, 8:05 am

Swear trinis only read headlines, lemme break it down oui.. If yuh have family /friends in Dominica and yuh want to help, you can can If you don't, you don't have too. Easy

EDIT: If yuh dunno Dominica is not Dominican Republic or vice versa, you prob wouldn't understand what I wrote, ignore.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » September 22nd, 2017, 8:08 am

I'm here waiting for this thread to turn NSFW...please

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 22nd, 2017, 8:20 am

Actually the PM move smart, it’s only if we’re willing to open our doors to the Dominicans then all well and good. So he’s helping without providing money...

So these Dominicans are educated as stated by some with money, but after the devastation they lost EVERYTHING... Banks were destroyed and mattresses gone too, where will their money be?
Some saying they’ll come here to work, trinis getting retrenched from their jobs monthly, unemployment rate has increased to what %?

Dominica isn’t going to be rebuilt overnight, after let’s say they come, they acquire a lil job, things start to look up, you really think they’re just gonna return to their island?

Postby 88sins » September 22nd, 2017, 8:47 am

RASC wrote:You guys think these are some backayard peasants flooding the gates?
Majority of Dominicans would be considered lower middle to middle middle income in Trinidad and Tobago.
They're coming with money, desires for food, clothing and reestablishment of themselves...not hand outs.

When a man house mashup, & almost all worldly possessions gone & what remains is badly damaged, if he seeking refuge in another mans country, what you really feel he walking with? you say they coming with money to spend, I srsly doubt that, & how much yuh feel the average Dominican have to spend in savings? I srsly doubt it's enough to get here & pay for food, clothes, housing, medical care, etc for an 6 months. & even if they can do it, what they gonna have left to spend to build back their own when time for them to return to their own nation?

Not saying don't help, just be careful how we help, & put things in place to safeguard us from possible negative consequences.

Postby zoom rader » September 22nd, 2017, 9:01 am

I doubt very much that Dominicans will want to come here. Maybe the dregs of Dominicans might come and end up hiding in trini.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » September 22nd, 2017, 9:01 am

j.o.e wrote:This thread shows the selfish idiots Trinis really are. A country is devastated and all y’all could study is if a politician doing it to bring in voters.

So how much will you be taking in your home?

Postby Les Bain » September 22nd, 2017, 9:02 am

This is good. I working on my Dominican accent to slip out easy after the budget read.

Homeless Dominicans invited to T&T

Postby sMASH » September 22nd, 2017, 9:18 am

^^ Sound like ah plan

boxy

Postby boxy » September 22nd, 2017, 9:31 am

RASC wrote:You guys think these are some backayard peasants flooding the gates?

When a man house mashup, & almost all worldly possessions gone & what remains is badly damaged, if he seeking refuge in another mans country, what you really feel he walking with? you say they coming with money to spend, I srsly doubt that, & how much yuh feel the average Dominican have to spend in savings? I srsly doubt it's enough to get here & pay for food, clothes, housing, medical care, etc for an 6 months. & even if they can do it, what they gonna have left to spend to build back their own when time for them to return to their own nation?

Not saying don't help, just be careful how we help, & put things in place to safeguard us from possible negative consequences.

Take into consideration that people who choose to come have family and friends who are wiling to help NGO'S churches conglomerates cooperate citizens who have branches or stakes up the Caribbean will try to help
A struggling citizen is not expected to help but there may actually have good Samaritans who believe they are their brothers keeper and choose to have people in their homes. Heck there could be medical practitioners who can come here and make a difference maybe not.

When they return to build their homes banks in their country will provide special mortgages for them to rebuild like any other country/state that has been devastated by a natural disaster. Some people have insurance too.

To the dude that mention that a bank was destroyed so how they going to get their money/savings to spend here. Your savings is not physically in the bank when u put it their it becomes digital and can be accessed anywhere in the world even if the physical structure has been leveled.

Postby toyolink » September 22nd, 2017, 10:06 am

The offer made by the PM is laudable, however providing for displaced people after a disaster requires quite a bit of planning and organization by all concerned.
Failure to deal with physical and emotional needs in a reasonable manner can create grave difficulties for all concerned.
If we doing this we must all be accommodating and if we cant lets find another way.

Postby MaxPower » September 22nd, 2017, 10:10 am

To avoid complications, cud have just send some supplies and call that Jorge...save the finances bullcrap, cud damn well send a lil aid rather than have the country beating up...

Postby Dizzy28 » September 22nd, 2017, 10:27 am

I wonder if Herbert Volney will take in a few......isn't he Dominican by parentage??

kstt

Postby kstt » September 22nd, 2017, 10:57 am

Are we sacrificing potential foster homes (current newpaper ads for volunteers) for Dominicans at the expense of our own citizens?

I think Trinidadians rather go Dominica than have the PNM in government!!
Last edited by kstt on September 22nd, 2017, 11:00 am, edited 1 time in total.