DVSTT wrote:How does one become part of the fabled 1%?
pugboy wrote:tbh folks who buy breakfast could save a lot more if they simply ate cereal or oats + a banana
healthier for the body as well as pocket
we have a bad culture of making a big calorie deal out of breakfast meals, doubles, sada, bake etc
in north america many get by on a cup of coffee and a single donut/bagel
if you cook on weekends, cook and pack/freeze for at least a few meals during the week
src1983 wrote:Invest savings one time once out of site out of mind.
Have a pension And try to have a small portfolio at the same time. These things help greatly. Always ensure you have access to your cash readily. You don't know when you may need it for emergency. So it's good to throw some money market funds in there
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I hate to hearing working people make excuses because of their children...when something not going right, blame the child...you signed up for that responsibility when yuh lay down and take yuh piggy...your child is your responsibility not a burden or something to be used as excuses....
reach tuh work late...blame the child
can't meet a deadline...blame the child
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:...another thing I don't understand is people who take out huge loans to buy expensive arse vehicles and still struggling to meet ends meet...and to top of that, the vehicle selling after a few years.
What they do at home is what u would usually experience in the workplace.shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Comments are not biased..i agree men complain...but some women do it more
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I hate to hearing working people make excuses because of their children...when something not going right, blame the child...you signed up for that responsibility when yuh lay down and take yuh piggy...your child is your responsibility not a burden or something to be used as excuses....
sickbad wrote:Golden rule is have rent/mortgage come in <=30% of income, and if you an save 10% of whatever comes in, you real good.
airuma wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I hate to hearing working people make excuses because of their children...when something not going right, blame the child...you signed up for that responsibility when yuh lay down and take yuh piggy...your child is your responsibility not a burden or something to be used as excuses....
This is as sad as calling in sick the day after you had one too many the evening before! This "abuse" certainly makes things difficult for parents who are genuinely "slowed down" by the fact that they have "dependents".
Thankfully, there seems to be more awareness about the challenges faced by parents. One example is an advertisement with a man asking to take the day off and then the camera shifts to his toddler in a crib. How exactly does he take a day off from that? Children do not plan and parents have to share alot of their time with their children if they want to raise them up right.
I felt truly sorry for that man who was arrested when the child drowned in POS (east dry river I think). The man was trying, school starts at 8:30am and he has to be at work for 8:00am, maybe 9:00am. Depending on the distance between school and work, he may have to drop them of very early (and risk increasing their exposure to bullies) to make it to work on time. One may say he could hare a school van, or use the school maxi-taxi. But then, who stays with them while they wait for the transport if he is a single parent? Then we have the pick up, school finishes at 2:30 - 3:00pm and work will finish at 4:00 - 5:00pm.
I must say that I respect Fitzgerald Hinds for giving his support to this man!
The fact remains, if we are to preserve the existence of human beings, we need productive, goodwill people to make AND properly raise children. Not what is happening now.... some of us happy with getting cheap/ free HDC houses and having children for different men to get maintenance money to dress up, lime and make more children!
To answer the OP question, it's not how much you make, it's what you do with it. I have seen people with very small income live a comfortable life, especially people who do farming. IMHO, the social life does not have to be at the movies, bar, club etc. It should just be time spent with your close friends at your home/ apt. Cook your own food, even if it costs the same, it will certainly save you on the medical bills. Limit your visits to the grocery, the more you go there, the more likely you will buy unnecessary things. Buy only what you need and be sure to compare prices of 1. things you buy often, 2. things that are expensive. Don't keep too much money in your wallet, if you have the money, you might be tempted to spend it. A budget is probably the most effective thing but it has a steep learning curve if you are not too disciplined. And of course, some of the posts before have very good suggestions.
teems1 wrote:sickbad wrote:Golden rule is have rent/mortgage come in <=30% of income, and if you an save 10% of whatever comes in, you real good.
If you're buying a 1.5m starter house in central, usually 150k downpayment and a 1.35m loan.
A 30 year loan at 6% interest rate would be $8093.93 per month. For that $8093 to be 30%, that would mean the total income after tax for the household is $26,976 or approximately 27k.
The average income per household in TT is far below 27k.
adnj wrote:Rent Prices in San Fernando are 72.03% lower than in Miami, FL
Restaurant Prices in San Fernando are 49.28% lower than in Miami, FL
Groceries Prices in San Fernando are 44.06% lower than in Miami, FL
Average salaries in Trinidad are about 80% lower than Miami, FL
Average salary in Trinidad about TT$6,000 per month
Average salary in Miami, FL about TT$29,000 per month
The cost of living is a comparative bargain but the average worker is getting paid less than a living wage.
teems1 wrote:If you're buying a 1.5m starter house in central, usually 150k downpayment and a 1.35m loan.
A 30 year loan at 6% interest rate would be $8093.93 per month. For that $8093 to be 30%, that would mean the total income after tax for the household is $26,976 or approximately 27k.
The average income per household in TT is far below 27k.
src1983 wrote:
This is where value for money comes in
If you in Miami and I give you US1000, you could get an iPhone and still have money to lime this weekend
If you in Trinidad and I give TTD1000 you can't even get a proper me 2
pugboy wrote:i recall buying a computer back in 1993 for $29,000 from a place in south
maj. tom wrote:economy stimulation? yuh mean taxation. That is all PNM know. Then bawl how the Treasury empty. That is all slave massah teach dem.
pugboy wrote:i recall buying a computer back in 1993 for $29,000 from a place in south
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Comments are not biased..i agree men complain...but some women do it more
cracker wrote:I believe there was a post about this issue sometime ago but I have to say that to maintain a decent lifestyle in this country is becoming very expensive!!! When you look at the cost of living, insurance premiums, gas, food, shelter/rent I really don't know some people are surviving. On the topic of food, at one point in time it's like every day I was spending $100 and the grocery (I do buy in bulk mind you). Even if you are socializing with friends or taking out your companion some where nice for example the movies. That could easily run up to $400 or more. The cost of tickets , food gas to reach there etc. A general question what type of earnings does one have to make on a monthly basis to maintain your life style. Keep in mind that it's not my intention to make a this post political. If you don't like pnm/ unc you can say so if you want but that's really your business. What are your thoughts?