Hiker found dead

Re: Hiker found dead

Postby Chimera » August 23rd, 2017, 10:37 am

his friends/family saying he was an experienced hiker so when he was getting cramps and he tell them to go ahead that he will meet them...they listened to him

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 23rd, 2017, 2:09 pm

They. Say he was found 600ft down a precipice

Postby nervewrecker » August 23rd, 2017, 2:28 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:his friends/family saying he was an experienced hiker so when he was getting cramps and he tell them to go ahead that he will meet them...they listened to him
Same thing I heard.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 24th, 2017, 12:25 am

matix

Postby matix » August 24th, 2017, 12:58 am

That looks insanely unsafe for that helicopter to be that low

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2017, 5:35 am

how on earth did they find the body though, if it was 600ft down a precipice
how do you know which part of a cliff to go down and start looking

Postby SMc » August 24th, 2017, 5:39 am

^^^ That pilot is a boss- on another note shouldn't they have them stretcher on a winch things that pretty much every other search & rescue outfit has?

Postby Redman » August 24th, 2017, 6:19 am

Make the hike organizers foot the bill for rescues that are due to negligence.

If they left him behind....slackness.....

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » August 24th, 2017, 6:52 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:his friends/family saying he was an experienced hiker so when he was getting cramps and he tell them to go ahead that he will meet them...they listened to him
Same thing I heard.

So the moral off the story is Keep yuh arse home....

Postby ismithx » August 24th, 2017, 7:05 am

How an experienced hiker gets cramps? Serious question, if you are really an experienced hiker you supposed to know the science of avoiding cramps something not adding up

Postby j.o.e » August 24th, 2017, 7:47 am

ismithx wrote:How an experienced hiker gets cramps? Serious question, if you are really an experienced hiker you supposed to know the science of avoiding cramps something not adding up

Eh? The body will respond with cramps at a moments notice, experience has nothing to do with that. Athletes of professional level get cramps, he's a regular guy who hiked for fun, he can catch a cramp. Maybe what he thought was a cramp might have been something else, that is possible.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » August 24th, 2017, 7:59 am

yunno i have some experience in de bosh...

even if u in a large group, u can fall behind the leading group and you can end up in the middle, with persons infront you and behind you out of the line of sight.

so u could be in the middle and fall off a drop and persons may pass they very spot and not notice you dead down there.

bignog

Postby bignog » August 24th, 2017, 8:02 am

Rowley turn lagahoo .....no one is safe

Postby Redman » August 24th, 2017, 8:05 am

Monkey Man wrote:yunno i have some experience in de bosh...

even if u in a large group, u can fall behind the leading group and you can end up in the middle, with persons infront you and behind you out of the line of sight.

so u could be in the middle and fall off a drop and persons may pass they very spot and not notice you dead down there.

Yep

But those that doing this commercially can't avoid their responsibilities.

Postby pugboy » August 24th, 2017, 8:33 am

that's why they will prob have a document to sign next time

hunters in yankeeland use gps tracker collars on their dogs
time to start using that here

few ppl in this country would have attempted any kind of strenuous activity 10hrs long
yet so many are experts

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 24th, 2017, 8:56 am

that pilot is ah boss doh

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 24th, 2017, 11:34 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:that pilot is ah boss doh

Same thing I was saying! I sure he done get a wuk foreign and buss out of T&T already!

Postby Chimera » August 24th, 2017, 11:46 am

that was risky as hell tho

what was the point of putting so much people life in danger

they dont have baskets and winches?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 24th, 2017, 11:52 am

You all saying pilot is a boss but what if something went wrong there...we would be saying he is a fool for going so low....
Another classic example how trinidad has no safety measures in place...that could have been disaster......
Baskets and winches....u mean we don't even have that in trinidad.....
What the airguard does do then when training for search and rescue...

gundelero

Postby gundelero » August 24th, 2017, 11:55 am

let's see what the autopsy report says....

Postby Chimera » August 24th, 2017, 12:00 pm

apparently since the TTAG helicopters are grounded, they use these helicopters for everything, even for things they not equipped for

from what i reading on fb, the air guard helicopters are properly equipped and they would usually carry out this sort of retrieval

Postby 16 cycles » August 24th, 2017, 12:30 pm

have to weigh trekking outta the bush with a cadaver vs chopper recovery risks....

that said....happy we have pilots at that skill level....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 24th, 2017, 12:31 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:apparently since the TTAG helicopters are grounded, they use these helicopters for everything, even for things they not equipped for

from what i reading on fb, the air guard helicopters are properly equipped and they would usually carry out this sort of retrieval

Chopper used here belongs to noc..and these are nothing close to those belonging to AG

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 24th, 2017, 2:30 pm

Skies really quite with choppers since 2015 or so... :mrgreen:

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » August 24th, 2017, 3:25 pm

ADONI wrote:Skies really quite with choppers since 2015 or so... :mrgreen:

Not in my area :rofl:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 25th, 2017, 2:44 am

gundelero wrote:let's see what the autopsy report says....

Broken neck

Postby Gem_in_i » August 25th, 2017, 3:36 am

On FB seeing so many people asking why his dil didnt stay back with him or check on him etc. All kind of theories about her.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 5th, 2017, 7:08 am

hearing Island Hikers membership were suspended