Iceberg the size of T&T just broke off of Antarctica

Sundar

Re: Iceberg the size of T&T just broke off of Antarctica

Postby Sundar » July 14th, 2017, 12:10 pm

sMASH wrote:
Sundar wrote:Fresh water would decrease the salt content in the ocean and more readily evaporates hence more violent storms? Correct me peeps/climatologists

that would be dependent on the variance of heat capacity due to changing salinity. It may be a factor, but the amount of sunlight reflected back into space by the ice would have a grewter impact on heating up, making it negligible by comparison.

Yes it may, but to significant amount when compared yo other things.

So the salinity content of the water varies the heat capacity of the water according to your theory, therefore it affects the rate of evaporation which in turn affects precipitation volume.

Postby sMASH » July 15th, 2017, 6:33 am

it should, but thr amount would be so small.in comaprison to other factors that it would be considered negligible whether it increawss or decreases evapoation.
The way to counter that evaporation, would mean implementing measures to reduce ice melt , which is reduction of global warming, which is already being undertaken.

But extra / reduced evaporation due salinity reduction would be overwhelmed by evaporation due to increased sea temperature. So it would not be an efficient use of resources to look into that... Imo.

And it would be easy to calculate on a small scale how salinity affects heat capacity and thus rate of evaporation in a lab.

Postby sMASH » July 15th, 2017, 6:46 am

Fresh water should have a higher heat capicty than saline solutions. Thus the more water that melts, will dilute the seawater, increaseing its heat capacity.
That would mean that the sea will not heat up as much as quickly as before. So the evaporation will not occur as quickly.
But we don't see that, we see an increase in weather events and strengths. So the other factors play a more dominant role.

Postby maj. tom » July 15th, 2017, 7:06 am

Yes, and read this
Recent research shows that Arctic sea ice is melting faster than expected. As the Earth continues to warm and Arctic sea ice melts, the influx of freshwater from the melting ice is making seawater at high latitudes less salty and hence less dense. In fact, data shows that the North Atlantic has already become fresher over the past several decades. Unless the temperature of the water decreases enough to compensate for this freshening of the surface water, the surface water will become less dense, and this less dense water will not be able to sink and circulate through the deep ocean as it does currently. The melting of the Arctic sea ice therefore has the potential to disrupt or slow down the Global Ocean Conveyor.
https://scied.ucar.edu/longcontent/melt ... irculation

If the rise in global temperature is rapid enough there can be changes in the Global Ocean Conveyor of thermohaline circulation. When the earth pulls out of an ice-age, this probably happens until the circulation can re-regulate to adjusted temperatures.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shutdown_ ... irculation

Two of the five worst extinction periods in Earth's history occurred when this happened in the past, it is hypothesised.
"It has been suggested that oceanic overturn caused or contributed to the late Devonian and Permian–Triassic extinctions."

I guess we will not live to know eh?

Postby desifemlove » July 16th, 2017, 12:19 pm

so mr. big wuk chooses to be reasoned? apart from judging randomers, and gets pissed off when they judge him..lol. i see his temple as a lil kid taught him sheit after all.

Postby desifemlove » July 16th, 2017, 12:29 pm

i don't see how that can affect sea levels. and if it did, it would have melted significantly once it reached tropical/equatorial regions.

That said, what is the government (and this to BOTH parties) doing about climate change? much of T&T's habitable regions are in flat-lying regions. This includes Diego Valley, Town, the east-west corridor, chaguanas, couva, and deep south. either UNC/PNM will do f-all, or we all have to live in the mountains and central range, and have to travel by boat from Chancellor Hill to Toco.

VII

Postby VII » July 16th, 2017, 12:55 pm

The shape of the planet has been changing from day one,man cannot prevent or contribute to this,this is the Earth evolving and changing shape. Man in his arrogance believes he can influence such,he cannot.

People fail to realize that nothing remains the same,even our own species is evolving everyday and what we are today is definitely not our final iteration as a species.

How entitled and arrogant that man believes some how that the earth is his,we're just here temporarily and will eventually be wiped out if we can't adapt each and every time,events such as this is just a microcosm of what's to come,the world is a work in progress and is in constant cycle,it just happens that we were lucky to be in a cycle that allowed us to flourish,but that's all temporary,a time will come when our ability to flourish would be severely challenged. The continents as we know them today weren't always that way,do you guys have any idea of the events that's necessary to make those changes,do you think we can survive that?

I believe the humanoid species have been reset already and will be again,no human or other guests on this planet can influence such vast physical mutations,all what we do can affect our own survival,but not the survival of the planet.

In the meantime enjoy the ice float..

Postby matr1x » July 16th, 2017, 1:42 pm

VII wrote:The shape of the planet has been changing from day one,man cannot prevent or contribute to this,this is the Earth evolving and changing shape. Man in his arrogance believes he can influence such,he cannot.

People fail to realize that nothing remains the same,even our own species is evolving everyday and what we are today is definitely not our final iteration as a species.

How entitled and arrogant that man believes some how that the earth is his,we're just here temporarily and will eventually be wiped out if we can't adapt each and every time,events such as this is just a microcosm of what's to come,the world is a work in progress and is in constant cycle,it just happens that we were lucky to be in a cycle that allowed us to flourish,but that's all temporary,a time will come when our ability to flourish would be severely challenged. The continents as we know them today weren't always that way,do you guys have any idea of the events that's necessary to make those changes,do you think we can survive that?

I believe the humanoid species have been reset already and will be again,no human or other guests on this planet can influence such vast physical mutations,all what we do can affect our own survival,but not the survival of the planet.

Umm, have you left Trinidad in your life?

This is the ignorance as an environmentalist, we dealing with frequently.

Postby desifemlove » July 16th, 2017, 1:45 pm

s/he has a point though. global warming is a fact, but we still have to adapt to it, we cannot reverse it.

VII

Postby VII » July 16th, 2017, 2:17 pm

matr1x wrote:
VII wrote:The shape of the planet has been changing from day one,man cannot prevent or contribute to this,this is the Earth evolving and changing shape. Man in his arrogance believes he can influence such,he cannot.

Umm, have you left Trinidad in your life?

This is the ignorance as an environmentalist, we dealing with frequently.

Went to more than one school out of Trinidad...

Have you left your own anus in your life? lol..

Typical of some of us,you don't understand so you insult,lol maybe your view is a bit tunneled, my position supersedes global warming and superficial environmental issues, in other words whatever effects global warming presents it only affects inhabitants,the planet will be ok,no human intervention can influence the long term physical progression of the planet,it will only affect our preferred ways of living.

This only further supports my point,I never once denied global warming,but only a close minded fool would forget that that ice was once water and will inevitably and ultimately return to such with or without us and despite the fact that it would present some inconvenience to our cushy way of life near low lying areas if we still around (we as in the human species,shiish!!). So keep building near water ,the environmentalist will save the day. Oh the inconvenience!!

But the planet doesn't give a hell about all that,and I'm not only talking about global warming geez..

Your'e view is as limited as our lifetimes,allow history and common sense to broaden your view,you're no more a lover protector or enabler of or investor in the environment than my household and I,your accolades of paper made from the proceeds of deforestation would mean nothing if a solar flare or space fart strikes.

Postby matr1x » July 16th, 2017, 9:10 pm

If you think its superficial then that is you.

You think life on the planet and the planet are 2 distinctly different things and there is the issue.

The impact of 7 billion people is more than.you think. Support of them is even more of an impact. When on a remote island, you can find human trash, it's a clear indicator of human impact.

Its a quality of life issue.

Postby sMASH » July 17th, 2017, 7:23 pm

Think about the earth, not as a limitless expanse of wide open lands, seas and skies.
Think of earth as a small round aquarium where any pollution gets cycled around where it affects some spot inside the bowl unless it's absorbed or converted some way.

That is earth currently.

We are on a small spaceship floating in space, and it's the only one we have.
We can't control the whole thing, but the little we can we should.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » July 18th, 2017, 4:39 am

xtech wrote:
greggle71 wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:And that is just South of the bottom of South America, if it were to "drift" northwards into our waters, could it make a difference in our oceans temperature ?

Correct, it may also affect sea levels

Can you explain how a melting iceburg is this gonna cause the sea levels to rise? Because I was thought melting glaceirs did that.

Do the Saudis drink sea water?

The issue with melting sea ice is that the sea ice acts like a plug for the glaciers, limiting the speed the glaciers flow out to sea.
Similar to what happens when a glacier flows out to sea and impacts the ground.
That grounding acts to restrict the glacial flow.
While the break up of the ice sheet would not directly affect sea levels as that ice is floating, the accelerated release of glacial ice has the potential for significant sea level rise.
The bad news is the ice sheets are melting in both the arctic and antarctic.